Iconic white rock cliffs and volcanic formations near the famous beach of Platys and Makrys Gialos
COVER STORY

Les Îles Ioniennes: Des îles où le vert émeraude rencontre un bleu paradisiaque

READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour savourer une salade grecque

Explorez les îles Ioniennes les mois qui entourent la haute saison estivale et profitez de ces incroyables couleurs, de façons que vous n’auriez jamais imaginées.

De l’action à Zakynthos

Peut-être avez vous vu les Grottes Bleues ou l’épave de Zakynthos… mais vous ne les avez probablement jamais approchées en kayak ! Explorer Zante peu avant ou après l’été est l’excuse parfaite pour être actif en vacances, quoi que vous décidiez de faire : explorer la côte, enfiler un scaphandre (les grottes du lac de Keri sont un must pour les plongeurs), ou louer un vélo tout terrain pour aller dans les collines. Mais l’activité la plus gratifiante se fait à pied : une randonnée vers le sommet de Vrachionas, 756 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Vous adorerez le calme village de Gyri, aux deux tiers du chemin. Mais la vraie récompense se trouve au sommet, avec la vue de 360° !

Découvrez la Fleur du Levant

Passage par les villages de Corfou

On n’a pas vraiment besoin d’une excuse pour un séjour à Corfou, au début ou à la fin de l’été. Cependant, en plus de l’immense nombre de plages et de la vieille ville, culturellement fascinante, nous avons autre chose à vous proposer : un tour des villages. Dans toute l’île sont disséminés des douzaines de villages… Certains sont montagneux, d’autres côtiers, mais tous sont plus charmants qu’on ne pourrait l’exprimer.

Depuis la grappe de maisons de pierre (et les huit églises !) de Palia Perithia, au nord-est, jusqu’à Agios Matheos au sud-ouest (à peu de distance à pied du monastère de Pantokrator), les options sont infinies.

Lakones (au nord-ouest) offre une vue en hauteur sur les plages et les baies de Palaiokastritsa. Sinarades (au centre) est le principal producteur de vin de l’île. Tout près se trouve Pelekas, d’où vous pouvez partir en randonnée jusqu’à l’observatoire du Kaiser et admirer des vues panoramiques.

Les villages se succèdent encore et encore… Ano Garouna et Varypatades sont éloignés (et, pour cette raison, moins visités) ; quant à Gastouri (sur la côte est), il est remarquable à cause du palais de l’Achilleion, tout proche, qui fut bâti à la fin du 19ème siècle par l’impératrice d’Autriche Élisabeth de Bavière.

Sur Corfou, les plus beaux lieux pour votre Instagram

Un petit goût de Kefalonia

Quand on sort manger à Kefalonia, il ne faut pas longtemps avant que la conversation s’oriente vers le vin. L’île peut être fière de ses spécialités, à la fois dans le domaine de la nourriture et des boissons. Ses fromages (la feta piquante, le doux manouri blanc et le kefalotiri à pâte dure) sont célébrés à juste titre. Vous adorerez aussi l’huile d’olive.

Mais il faut absolument que vous consacriez du temps à la découverte des vins de l’île. Le Mavrodafne est rouge, doux et solide, le Muscat est blanc et doux… et le roi des vins à Kefalonia est sans nul doute le Robola, blanc et sec. Originaire de l’île, il est parfaitement adapté aux pentes où poussent les vignes. Ne manquez pas de visiter l’établissement vinicole de Robola !

Découvrez Kefalonia dans toute sa diversité

wine_ionian_islands

Après Lefkada… découvrez la magie de Meganisi

Des vacances ne seraient pas complètes sans une nouvelle découverte. Ainsi, en plus de visiter Lefkada (Leucade), n’hésitez pas à aller sur les îles à l’est de ses côtes… MeganisiKalamos et Kastos. À 25 minutes en bateau, Meganisi compte seulement trois villages et une population d’à peine plus d’un millier d’habitants… Mais vous ne saurez pas par où commencer.

Les plages, pour la plupart accessibles à pied ou en bateau, rivalisent de beauté – une beauté d’un autre monde. Agios IoannisFanariSpiliaBarbarezou et Limonari… Quant aux trois villages de l’île, Katomeri est le plus grand d’entre eux, mais il n’en est pas moins paisible. Vathi est probablement le plus pittoresque. Enfin, vous serez envoûté par les bosquets d’oliviers et de noyers qui environnent Spartochori.

Meganisi, Lefkada, Greece

Votre odyssée sur Ithaque

Ithaque est, bien sûr, le territoire d’Homère… la patrie d’Ulysse et la deuxième plus petite île des sept îles Ioniennes principales. Lorsque vous serez là, faites le parcours de l’Odyssée (Odyssey Tour). Avec sa vue sur la plage de Polis, l’ancien port au temps du roi Ulysse, le village de Stavros abrite une maquette du palais d’Ulysse (appelé l’École d’Homère), conçue par le célèbre architecte italien Bruno Mazali. Nous pouvons aussi certainement vous tenter en vous proposant une visite à la Grotte des Nymphes (ou Marmarospilla, son nom plus prosaïque). La légende veut que ce soit là qu’Ulysse ait dissimulé les présents qu’il avait reçus du roi des Phéaciens, Alcinoos. Pour couronner le tout, rendez-vous à Piso Aetos et à l’ancienne acropole de la cité d’Alalkomenes. Les murs sont formés de pierres si grandes que les locaux les qualifient de cyclopéens. Si cela ne fait pas tourner votre imagination à plein régime, rien ne le fera.

Faites un tour sur l’île d’Ulysse

Your own private odyssey on Ithaca

À pleines voiles vers Paxos et Antipaxos

Une dernière aventure : s’abandonner sans complexe dans les couleurs irrésistibles de la mer Ionienne. Nous allons naviguer vers les îles de rêve de Paxos et d’Antipaxos, réunies sous l’appellation commune de Paxi. Gaios, le port principal de Paxos, est une première escale évidente, mais dirigez-vous aussi vers les petits ports pittoresques de Lakka et Loggos vers le nord et longez la rive occidentale, inaccessible en voiture. Ensuite, cap sur l’île d’Antipaxos, à seulement 1,5 km au large de la côte sud de sa jumelle. Là-bas, des plages exotiques rivalisent avec des cavernes marines pour attirer votre attention.

Vacances à Paxi

Joli parcours ! Maintenant, imaginez la lumière magnifique des mois de mai et de septembre-octobre en Grèce, et la griserie de découvrir tant de nouvelles histoires.

 Qui a dit que les bonnes choses sont à consommer avec modération?

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Myrtos beach, Kefalonia

Les 10 souvenirs inoubliables de Céphalonie que vous emporterez avec vous

Boat trip to Egremnoi beach

10 endroits de rêve sur Leucade

Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 destinations grecques incroyables à voir absolument

Snorkeling in the Blue Caves of Zakynthos

9 raisons d'aimer Zakynthos

Vlacherna monastery and Pontikonisi in Corfu

Top 8 des choses à faire sur Corfou

Aerial photo of competition sport paddle surfing or sup between 2 men in tropical waters of Vouliagmeni beach, Athens riviera, Attica, Greece

Surfing, ski nautique, wakeboard: les plus populaires des destinations en Grèce

The peak of Mt Olympus

Les 8 expériences les plus mythiques à Mt Olympe

Myrtos beach, Kefalonia

Les 10 souvenirs inoubliables de Céphalonie que vous emporterez avec vous

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Découvrez des lieux d’escapade voisins de Santorin

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 raisons d’explorer Karpathos

Kalymnos en 8 sommets inoubliables et profondeurs cachées

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 atouts d’Astypalée, votre meilleure découverte de l’été

Iconic white rock cliffs and volcanic formations near the famous beach of Platys and Makrys Gialos
COVER STORY

The Ionian islands, where emerald-green meets paradise-blue

READING TIME
As long as it takes to eat a Greek salad

Exploring the Ionian Islands in the months either side of high summer gives you the opportunity to enjoy every one of those incredible colours in ways you’ve never imagined.

Getting active on Zakynthos

You might have seen the Blue Caves or the shipwreck of Zakynthos… but we bet you’ve never approached them from a kayak! Exploring Zante in the months either side of summer is the perfect excuse to get active on holiday, whether that means exploring the coastline, strapping on a set of aqualungs (the caves of Lake Keri are a must for divers!), or hiring a mountain bike and heading for the hills. But possibly the most rewarding activity is on foot, hiking to the top of Vrachionas, 756 metres above sea level. You’ll love the sleepy village of Gyri two-thirds of the way up, but the real treat is the 360-degree view at the top.

Uncover the Flower of the East

Village-hopping on Corfu

You hardly need an excuse for an early- or late-summer island break to Corfu, but beyond the plethora of beaches and the culturally fascinating Old Town, we have another suggestion: village-hopping. Spread across the island are dozens of villages… some mountainous, some coastal, and all charming beyond words.

From the cluster of stone houses (and eight churches!) of Palia Perithia in the northeast, to Agios Matheos in the southwest (just a short stroll from the Pantokratoros Monastery), the opportunities are endless.

Lakones (in the northwest) offers mountain views of the beaches and bays of Palaiokastritsa, and Sinarades (in the centre) is the island’s principal wine producer. Nearby is Pelekas, from where you can hike to the Kaisar Observatory and enjoy panoramic views.

The villages go on and on… Ano Garouna and Varypatades are remote (and therefore less visited), while Gastouri (on the east coast) is notable for the nearby Achilleion Palace, built at the end of the 19th century by Austrian Empress Elizabeth of Bavaria.

Meet the Grand Lady of the Ionian isles

A taste of Kefalonia

When it comes to eating out in Kefalonia, it doesn’t take long before the conversation turns to wine. The island has a proud tradition of food and drink. Its cheeses (piquant feta, white-smooth manouri and yellow-hard kefalotiri) are rightly celebrated. And you’ll love the olive oil.

But you should definitely dedicate time to getting to know the island’s wines. Mavrodaphne is red, strong and sweet, Muscat is white and sweet… and the king of wines on Kefalonia is, without doubt, the dry, white Robola. Native to the island, it is perfectly adapted to the slopes where the vines grow. A visit to a Robola winery is a must.

Discover the full diversity of Kefalonia

wine_ionian_islands

Beyond Lefkada… uncovering the magic of Meganisi

No holiday is complete without a new discovery. So as well as visiting Lefkada, you should head to the islands east of its shores… MeganisiKalamos and Kastos. A 25-minute boat trip away, Meganisi is an isle of only three villages and a population of little more than 1,000… but you’ll hardly know where to start.

The beaches, mostly reached by foot or boat, compete with each other for other-worldly beauty - Agios IoannisFanariSpiliaBarbarezou and Limonari… And of its three villages, Katomeri is the biggest, without being in any way busy. Vathi is the perhaps most picturesque, and you’ll be bewitched by the olive and walnut groves around by Spartochori.

Meganisi, Lefkada, Greece

Your own private odyssey on Ithaca

Ithaca is, of course, Homer territory… home of Odysseus and the second smallest of the seven main Ionian islands. So while you’re here, take an Odyssey Tour. With its view of Polis beach, the ancient harbour at the time of king Odysseus, Stavros village houses a scale model of Odysseus’ palace (known as the School of Homer), designed by the famous Italian architect Bruno Mazali. And surely we can tempt you with a visit to the Cave of the Nymphs (or Marmarospilia, according to its more prosaic name). LLegend has it that this is where Odysseus hid the gifts he received from King Alkinoos of the Phaeacians. And to top it all, head up to Piso Aetos and the ancient acropolis of the city of Alalkomenes. The boulders that make up the walls are so big they are known locally as Cyclopean. If that send your imagination into overdrive nothing will.

Take a tour of Odysseus’ isle

Your own private odyssey on Ithaca

Sailing to Paxos and Antipaxos

Our final adventure is unashamedly about luxuriating in the irresistible colours of the Ionian Sea. We’re off sailing to the dreamy islands of Paxos and Antipaxos, collectively known as Paxi. Gaios, the principal harbour of Paxos, is an obvious first port of call, but you should definitely head for the picturesque little harbours of Lakka and Loggos to the north, and down the length of the western shoreline, which is inaccessible to cars. And then on to twin isle of Antipaxos, just a mile off the southern coast, where exotic beaches do battle with sea caves for your attention.

Set sail to paired perfection

Quite a tour! Now imagine the beautiful light that radiates in the months of May and September-October in Greece, and the thrill of so many new stories to discover.

The question is: can you have too much of a good thing?

Plan your trip

 

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
You’ll have seen Lefkada even if you haven’t been. Its beaches routinely feature in Top 10 lists around the world, capturing everything magical about the Ionian Sea

10 ways to let your feet (and mind) wander in Lefkada

Mykonos has a unique way of making everyone who visits feel special

12 beach styles to love in Mykonos

Strolling around the cobblestone alleyways of the main town

12 Unforgettable things to do when in Mykonos

Hiking to the Black Cave and Via Ferrata

11 ways to reconnect with nature in Central Greece

Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 incredible places in Greece you have to see to believe

Halkidiki's exotic crystal clear waters

Exotic never felt so close as in Halkidiki

You’ll have seen Lefkada even if you haven’t been. Its beaches routinely feature in Top 10 lists around the world, capturing everything magical about the Ionian Sea

10 ways to let your feet (and mind) wander in Lefkada

Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 incredible places in Greece you have to see to believe

Easter pot smashing on Corfu

Celebrate Easter in the Ionian

Painted pots – some filled with water for extra acoustics – are thrown with aplomb from balconies

Celebrating Easter in Greece

Scuba cave diving

5 popular scuba diving destinations in Greece