The entire Old Town is a UNESCO World Heritage Site
EXPERIENCE

Découvrez l’atmosphérique vieille ville de Corfou

Des forteresses vénitiennes et des manoirs britanniques, aux palais majestueux et aux esplanades françaises, une promenade dans la vieille ville de Corfou est telle une exploration d'un musée en plein air.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
Toute la journée
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

Les Byzantins, les Vénitiens, les Français et les Britanniques ont tous régné sur Corfou. Le résultat donne une histoire unique qui se perpétue à travers toutes ses églises, ses palais et ses places ainsi que l' architecture des bâtiments situés entre les deux forteresses vénitiennes de la vieille ville.

Le résultat est un héritage culturel et artistique qui se fait encore sentir aujourd'hui. Non seulement dans les cafés, les tavernes et les bistrots à la mode et le long des petites rues piétonnes appelées cantounia, mais aussi dans l'art et la musique qui font la renommée de Corfou et dans l'esprit des habitants qui vaquent à leurs occupations quotidiennes. 

Toute la vieille ville est classée au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, avec une authenticité et un romantisme qui vous laisseront sous le charme. 

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

Vous pouvez ajouter et assortir selon vos intérêts et votre temps, mais il faut savoir que pour une promenade complète vous devez passer par: 

Le parlement Ionien  

Nous commençons par le Parlement Ionien, sur la rue Moustoxides (la plus large de la vieille ville de cantounia), où les représentants de la région ont voté pour l'unification des îles Ioniennes avec le reste de la Grèce au 19ème siècle. Avant cela, Corfou avait été un protectorat de la Grande-Bretagne pendant près de 50 ans.

La Mairie

Tourner à gauche dans Guildford Street (du nom du philhellène britannique qui, entre autres, a rétabli l'Académie Ionienne). Vous arriverez sur une place qui abrite l’immeuble de la mairie, anciennement un club de noblesse et le Théâtre de St Giacomo. Vous trouverez également la cathédrale catholique de San Giacomo du 16ème siècle. La place et les rues environnantes sont un centre de cafétérias et de restaurants, avec de nombreuses boutiques et une vie nocturne bien animée.

Casa Parlante

En remontant la rue Nikiforou Theotoki se trouve la Casa Parlante, un manoir du 19ème siècle qui est aujourd'hui un musée recréant la vie d'une noblesse durant cette période glorieuse de l'histoire de Corfou.

L’ église d’Agios Spyridon 

Autour du bloc se trouve Agios Spyridon, une église du 15ème siècle, avec un impressionnant clocher, qui abrite les reliques du saint patron de l'île, Spyridon, qui aurait chassé la peste de l'île. Les reliques font partie d'une procession chaque dimanche des Rameaux. Sortez par la voie qui vous emmène dans le cantouni d'Agios Spyridonas, avec ses souvenirs et ses produits locaux.

Liston cosmopolite et La place de Spianada 

La route sur laquelle vous vous trouvez se termine à Liston, qui fait partie de la Spianada, la place principale de la vieille ville. Avec sa colonnade du 19ème siècle modelée sur la rue de Rivoli à Paris, Liston est un territoire de défilé, parfait pour un expresso et une pose. Mais prenez un moment pour vous promener dans la Spianada remplie d'herbe, avec sa fontaine et son café et ses espaces ouverts (où prennent place des concerts et même des matchs de cricket).

L’ ancienne forteresse  

Construite sur une colline marquant l'extrémité orientale de la ville, l'ancienne forteresse a été commencée par les Byzantins et terminée par les Vénitiens, lorsqu'elle a été transformée en île. Marchez sur le canal, en passant par les portes et continuez jusqu'à l'église de Saint Georges. Montez maintenant jusqu'à la croix au sommet de la forteresse et profitez des vues panoramiques. Il y a une bibliothèque publique, une collection byzantine et un café dans l'enceinte de la forteresse, ainsi qu'un petit port de plaisance.

Jardins du Boschetto & Jardin du peuple

A côté de l'ancienne forteresse se trouvent les jardins du Boschetto, parfaits pour une belle promenade avec vue sur la forteresse. Si vous voulez que la verdure continue, dirigez-vous vers le Jardin du Peuple, qui fait partie du Palais de Saint Michel et Saint Georges.

 

Palais de Saint Michel et Saint Georges

A l'origine siège de l'Ordre des Chevaliers de Saint-Georges et de Saint-Michel, ce fut autrefois un palais du gouverneur britannique et une résidence d'été pour la famille royale grecque. Aujourd'hui, il abrite le Musée d'Art Asiatique. Les palais se trouvent au-dessus du petit Faliraki, avec sa petite plage parfaite pour une baignade matinale. C'est aussi un endroit idéal pour un cocktail d'été en soirée avec vue sur le fort illuminé.

Campiello

Continuez dans le Campiello, le quartier le plus ancien et le plus atmosphérique, avec son labyrinthe de cantounia étroites, de puits sculptés, de places pittoresques et de hauts bâtiments avec des balcons souvent décorés de pots et de cordes. Admirez le puit vénitien qui se trouve en face de l'église de la Panagia Kremasti et de l'église métropolitaine.

Le Musée de Dionysios Solomos 

En direction du nord, vous trouverez un musée consacré au poète national grec Dionysios Solomos, dont l'Hymne à la liberté a été adapté en hymne national grec. La maison dans laquelle il a vécu, écrit et est mort a été détruite pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, mais elle a été restaurée et transformée en musée.

La Nouvelle Forteresse

De là, il y a une courte marche vers l'ouest jusqu'à la Nouvelle Forteresse (la Fortezza Nuova vénitienne du 16ème siècle), qui était autrefois reliée à la Vieille Forteresse par un mur.

Le quartier juif

En retournant sur la route côtière, vous descendez les rues Xenofontos et Velissariou, qui flanquent le côté ouest de la vieille ville, jusqu'à la synagogue. La communauté juive de Corfou, qui date du 12ème siècle, a été persécutée pendant les occupations nazies mais a joué un rôle important dans l'histoire et la vie quotidienne de l'île. La région dispose d'excellentes tavernes. 

La promenade se termine à l'église d'Agia Sophia au bas de Velissariou, d'où vous tournez à gauche dans la rue Evgeniou Voulgareos et vous marchez jusqu'à l'Annunziata du 14ème siècle (vous la reconnaîtrez à son clocher). Le Parlement Ionien et la Place Spianada sont à quelques minutes de là. 

Lire la suite Read Less

Vous pouvez commencer votre visite à pied où vous voulez, mais si vous choisissez le Parlement Ionien, vous pouvez l'atteindre en voiture, en taxi ou à pied, selon votre lieu de séjour. 

  • Depuis le port
    A la nouvelle forteresse : 1.9km (bus No16)
    A la place de St Michael et St George : 2.8km (bus No2)
     
  • Depuis l’aéroport  
    A l’ancienne forteresse : 2.4km
    A la place de Spianada et Liston : 2.2km (bus No.15 vers la place Saroko ensuite à pieds)

Corfou dispose d'un bon réseau de bus en ville et dans toute l'île.
Pour plus d’information 

  • La vieille ville est magique à tout moment de l'année et prend une atmosphère différente à chaque saison.
  • Elle peut être bondée en été, c'est pourquoi nous vous conseillons de la visiter pendant les périodes plus calmes et plus fraîches (mai-juin et septembre-octobre). 
  • Pâques est une expérience particulièrement spéciale à Corfou. 
  • Si vous visitez en été, commencez votre visite à pied tôt ou dans l'après-midi pour éviter la chaleur et la foule. 
  • Les horaires d'ouverture et les prix d'entrée des musées et autres sites culturels peuvent varier selon les saisons. 
  • Vous pouvez décider des sites à visiter quand vous y êtes, ou réserver une visite qui inclut l'entrée à une sélection (€40-€60). 
  • Les visites privées coûtent beaucoup plus cher. 

Musées et sites culturels:

  • Casa Parlante: Horaires d’ouverture en été 10h00-18h00 tous les jours. Ouvert en hiver sur demande. Ne convient pas aux visiteurs à mobilité réduite.  Plus d’informations 
  • Le Musée d’Art siatique: Plus d’informations
  • L’ Ancienne Forteresse: Accès limité pour les personnes à mobilité réduite. Plus d’informations 
  • Les Jardins Boschetto et le Jardin du People: Ouvert tous les jours de: 9h00 au coucher de soleil.
  • Le Musée de Dionysios Solomos: Tickets €1. Ne convient pas aux visiteurs à mobilité réduite. 

 

Pâques est une expérience particulièrement spéciale à Corfou. 

  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver
  • Vous aurez besoin d'une journée complète pour compléter la visite à pied, avec des repos et un déjeuner entre temps.
  • Ou vous pouvez répartir le tour sur quelques jours.
  • La plupart des visites organisées durent 3-4 heures et certaines visites privées peuvent durer une demi-journée.

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Veillons tous à préserver la magie des villages, des villes et des cités grecs pour les générations à venir.

Gardez les rues propres en utilisant les poubelles mises à votre disposition et en cas de besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Utilisez une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Respectez les monuments culturels et les reliques. N’utilisez pas de flash si vous voyez une pancarte qui l’interdit.
Soutenez les petites boutiques familiales et les producteurs locaux en choisissant un souvenir local fait main.
Respectez les plantes et les animaux.
Ayez l’esprit curieux et n’hésitez pas à demander des bons plans aux habitants
Respectez les autres visiteurs et les habitants.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Corfu old town and Spianada square from above

Découvrez les spécialités de Corfou

Meganisi-An island of just three villages and a population of around 1000

Explorez le monde magique au-delà de Nydri à Leucade

Famous for its seafood, Loggos is a must for a seaside lunch or dinner

Ressentez le rythme de Paxos en allant de village en village

Approaching the exotic Voutoumi beach, Antipaxos island

Une excursion en bateau à la petite île exotique Antipaxi

La Grotta beach, Corfu

Un voyage en bateau à Paradise Beach à Corfou

A bird's eye view of Navagio beach

Un voyage en bateau à la baie du naufrage à Zante

Ηopping between villages is the perfect follow-up to enjoying the lively atmosphere of the towns and beautiful beaches of Paros

Une escapade dans les villages de Paros

Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility

Une visite du temple de Déméter à Naxos

View of Acropolis and Odeon of Herodes Atticus

Découvrez en une promenade les richesses culturelles d’Athènes

The Museum of Cycladic Art presents us with artwork so elegant that it still influences fashion trends today

Visitez le musée d'art cycladique à Athènes

Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens is a gem of a museum and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making

Visitez le musée d'art contemporain Goulandris à Athènes

You can appreciate the museum’s stature even before you enter, with its imposing 19th-century neoclassical facade

Voyagez dans le temps au musée archéologique national d’Athènes

The entire Old Town is a UNESCO World Heritage Site
EXPERIENCE

Exploring the atmospheric Old Town of Corfu

Hide Video
From Venetian fortresses and British mansions, to stately palaces and French esplanades, a walking tour around Corfu’s Old Town is like exploring an open-air museum.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Full day
Seasons
All year round

OVERVIEW

The Byzantines, Venetians, French and British all ruled over Corfu. The result is a unique history that lives on through all the churches, palaces and squares and the architecture of the buildings located between the two Venetian fortresses of the Old Town.

The result is a cultural and artistic heritage that can still be felt today. Not just in the cafes, tavernas and trendy bistros and along the pedestrianised little roads called cantounia, but in the art and music for which Corfu is famed and in the spirit of the locals going about their daily lives.

The entire Old Town is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, with an authenticity and romance that will leave you completely charmed.

 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

You can mix and match according to your interests and time, but a walking tour covering the highlights would include:

Ionian Parliament

We start at the Ionian Parliament, on Moustoxides Street (the widest of the Old Town’s cantounia), where representatives of the region voted for the unification of the Ionian Islands with the rest of Greece in the 19th century. Before that, Corfu had been a protectorate of Britain for almost 50 years.

Town Hall

Turn left into Guildford Street (named after the British philhellene who, amongst other things, re-established the Ionian Academy). You’ll reach a square housing the Town Hall, formerly a club for noblemen and the Theatre of St Giacomo. You’ll also find the 16th-century Catholic cathedral of San Giacomo. The square and surrounding roads are a hub for cafeterias and restaurants, with great shopping and nightlife.

Casa Parlante

Heading up to Nikiforou Theotoki Street is the Casa Parlante, a 19th-century mansion that’s now a museum recreating the life of a nobleman during this golden period in Corfu’s history.

Church of Agios Spyridon

Around the block is Agios Spyridon, a 15th-century church, with an impressive bell tower. It houses relics of the island’s patron saint, Spyridon, who is said to have expelled the plague from the island. The relics form part of a procession every Palm Sunday. Leave by the exit that takes you into the Agios Spyridonas cantouni, with its souvenirs and local products.

Cosmopolitan Liston and Spianada Square

The road you are on ends at Liston, part of the Spianada, the Old Town’s main square. With its 19th century colonnade modeled on Paris’ Rue de Rivoli, Liston is catwalk territory, perfect for an espresso and pose. But take a moment to walk through the grass-filled Spianada, with its fountain and café and open areas (where concerts and even cricket matches are played).

The Old Fortress

Built on a hill marking the eastern end of the city, the Old Fortress was started by the Byzantines and finished by the Venetians, when it was turned into an island. Walk over the canal, through the gates and on to the Church of St George. Now climb to the cross at the top of the fortress and enjoy the panoramic views. There’s is a public library, a Byzantine collection and a café within the grounds, as well as a small marina.

Boschetto Gardens & Garden of the People

Next to the Old Fortress are the Boschetto Gardens, perfect for a beautiful stroll with views of the fortress. If you want the greenery to continue, head to the Garden of the People, part of the Palace of St Michael & St George.

 

Palace of St Michael & St George

Originally the seat of the Order of Knights of Saint George and Saint Michael, this was once a British governor’s mansion and a summer residence for the Greek Royal Family. Today it houses the Museum of Asian Art. The palace sits above little Faliraki, with its tiny beach that’s perfect for a morning swim. It’s also a great spot for a summer evening cocktail with views of the lit-up Old Fortress.

Campiello

Continue into Campiello, the oldest and most atmospheric quarter, with its labyrinth of narrow cantounia, carved wells, picturesque squares and tall buildings with balconies that are often decorated with bougades (pots) and ropes. Check out the Venetian Well opposite the Church of Panagia Kremasti and the Metropolitan Church.

Dionysios Solomos Museum

Heading north, you’ll find a museum dedicated to Greece’s national poet, Dionysios Solomos, whose Hymn to Freedom was adapted into the Greek national anthem. The house in which he lived, wrote and died was destroyed during World War II but has been restored and converted into a museum.

New Fortress

From here it’s a short walk west to the New Fortress (the Venetian’s 16th century Fortezza Nuova), built on the hill of St Mark above the old port and once connected to the Old Fortress by a wall. The surrounding area is a lovely place to eat.

Jewish Quarter

Returning to the coast road, head down Xenofontos and then Velissariou streets, which flank the Old Town’s western side, until you reach the Synagogue. Corfu’s Jewish community, which dates from the 12th century, was persecuted during the Nazi occupation but played an important part in the island’s history and daily life. The area has some excellent tavernas. 

The walk ends at the church of at Agia Sophia at the bottom of Velissariou, from where you turn left into Evgeniou Voulgareos St and walk to the 14th century Annunziata (you’ll know it from its Bell Tower). The Ionian Parliament and Spianada Square are just a few minutes away. 

Read More Read Less

You can begin your walking tour wherever you like, but if you do choose the Ionian Parliament you can reach it by car, taxi or foot, depending on where you’re staying.

  • From the Port
    To the New Fortress: 1.9km (bus No16)
    To the Palace of St Michael and St George: 2.8km (bus No2)
     
  • From the airport 
    To the Old Fortress: 2.4km
    To Spianada Square and Liston: 2.2km (bus No.15 to Saroko Square and from there by foot)

Corfu has a good bus network within the town and from around the island.
More info

  • The Old Town is magical at any time of year and takes on a different atmosphere in each season.
  • It can get crowded in the summer so we suggest visiting in the quieter and cooler periods (May-June and September-October). 
  • If you do visit in the summer, start your walking tour early or in the afternoon to avoid the heat and crowds. 
  • Opening times and entry fees of museums and other cultural sites may vary between seasons. 
  • You can decide which sites to visit when you are there, or book a tour that includes entry to a selection (€40-€60). 
  • Private tours cost significantly more.

Museums and cultural sites:

  • Casa Parlante: Summer opening hours 10.00-18.00 daily. Open in winter upon request. Not suitable for visitors with disabilities. More info
  • Museum of Asian Art: More info
  • The Old Fortress: Limited access for visitors with disabilities.More info
  • Boschetto Gardens & Garden of the People: Opening hours: 9.00-sunset.
  • Dionysios Solomos Museum: Tickets €1. Not suitable for visitors with disabilities.

 

Easter is a particularly special experience in Corfu.

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • You will need a full day to complete the walking tour, with rests and lunch in between. 
  • Or you can spread it over a few days.
  • Most organised tours last 3-4 hours and some private tours can last half the day.

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages, towns and cities alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect the cultural monuments and relics and don’t use flash photography if there’s a sign forbidding it. It’s to protect the relics.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips
Respect the plants and animals.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

A walking tour of Skyros’ main town

A walking tour through the Hora of Mykonos

Nafplion town as seen from Palamidi Castle

Scale the heights of Palamidi Castle in Nafplio

Meganisi-An island of just three villages and a population of around 1000

Exploring the magical world beyond Nydri on Lefkada

Famous for its seafood, Loggos is a must for a seaside lunch or dinner

Feel the heartbeat of Paxi by village hopping

La Grotta beach, Corfu

A boat trip to Paradise beach in Corfu

A bird's eye view of Navagio beach

A boat trip to Shipwreck beach in Zakynthos