Paxi und Antipaxi

Die tropischen Ιnseln im Ιonischem Μeer
Boat passing next to Trypitos (also known as Kamara), a natural rocky arch at Paxos island
Scroll
Heute
11°
FRI
14°
SAT
13°
SUN
15°
MON
16°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Exotische Strände, spektakuläre Steilküsten, üppige Olivenhaine und einladende Fischerhäfen

Ganz gleich wie Sie hier ankommen, ob auf einem Segelboot, Schnellboot oder einer Fähre, Sie werden vom Charme dieser kleinen smaragdgrünen Insel wie gefesselt sein. Paxos und Antipaxos sind die Perlen des Ionischen Meeres. Was sich Ihnen hier bietet, ist ein wahrer Augenschmaus: Weiße Sand- und Kiesstrände mit glitzerndem Wasser, dahinter erstrecken sich uralte Olivenhaine, dichte Weinberge und ein einziges Grün, das sogar das Meer berührt. Ein einmaliges Erlebnis! Freuen Sie sich auf Ihren Urlaub auf Paxos und Antipaxos: Genießen Sie den Sonnenuntergang von den weißen Klippen bei Eremitis; erkunden Sie Höhlen und Bergpfade; Kosten Sie den örtlichen Wein – mit der Süße der Landschaft– und entspannen Sie sich in den Luxusvillen von Paxos.

 

Besichtigen Sie auf den Paxous 

Antipaxos: Ist das der Garten Eden?

Südlich von Paxos liegt die winzige, nur 3 km lange Insel Antipaxos. Dieses Eiland entspricht wohl am ehesten dem, was man allgemein unter „Paradies” versteht. Ein dichter Wald aus Mastixbäumen, Pinien, Myrten und Zypressen bedeckt die Hügel der Insel. Hier und da ein paar Weinreben. Gehen Sie auf Erkundungstour in diesem Garten Eden, wenn Sie der Anziehungskraft der Inselstrände widerstehen können.

Traumhafte exotische Strände

Türkisblaues, durchsichtiges Wasser, weiße Sandstrände. Merken Sie sich diese Strände: Orkos auf Paxos, Vrika und Voutoumi auf Antipaxos. Wenn Sie das ionische Meer bereisen müssen Sie diese unbedingt besichtigen. 

Eine Burg von Leonardo da Vinci

Die Burg von Agios Nikolaos auf der gleichnamigen Insel direkt gegenüber vom Haupthafen Gaios ist ein Meilenstein des Festungsbaus. Die Venezianer begannen mit dem Bau der Burg im Jahr 1423, um 1510 wurde sie fertiggestellt. Was ist ihr Geheimnis? Sie wurde nach Plänen erbaut, die aus der Feder keines geringeren als Leonardo da Vinci höchstpersönlich stammen und heute im Stadtarchiv aufbewahrt werden. Wie klein die Welt doch ist! 

Die Ferienwohnung, von der Sie immer geträumt haben

Die Unterkünfte auf Paxos entsprechen auch den kühnsten Urlaubsträumen. Wie wäre es zum Beispiel einmal mit einem abgelegenen, traumhaften Luxusferienhaus aus Stein gebaut, mit Privatpool und fantastischem Meerblick? 

Gaios, der versteckte Hafen und sein Geheimnis

Gaios ist der Haupthafen der Insel Paxos und gleichzeitig deren Hauptstadt. Gaios liegt so versteckt, dass man es beim Heranfahren erst sehr spät entdeckt. Es liegt in einem kleinen “Fjord”, der durch die Insel Agios Nikolaos geformt wird. Bei der Einfahrt in diese Einbuchtung taucht urplötzlich der zauberhafte Hafen von Gaios auf.

Das malerische Städtchen hat seine venezianische Bauart bewahrt und sticht mit vielen Prachtbauten hervor, wie etwa das alte Haus des Britischen Gouverneurs und die Kirche Agii Apostoli mit ihren beeindruckenden Zisternen. Flanieren Sie in den Gassen von Gaios mit ihren alten Geschäften und Cafés, von denen manche seit Jahrzehnten unverändert geblieben sind.

Die gesamte Insel ein einziger Olivenhain

Uralte, knorrige, verflochtene Olivenbäume bedecken Paxos und spenden der ganzen Insel Schatten. Für die Einheimischen sind diese Bäume geradezu heilig, ein Lebenselixier. Und die Geschichte dieser Olivenbäume reicht zurück in die Zeit, als die Venezianer über das Ionische Meer herrschten.

 

Versteckte Juwelen auf Paxous

Not macht erfinderisch: Die berühmten Zisternen

Auf einer Insel mit solch einer Wasserknappheit war Regenwasser wertvoll. So bauten die Inselbewohner monumentale Zisternen, um das Regenwasser zu speichern. Heute gelten diese raffiniert ausgeklügelten Kunstwerke, kulturelles Erbe von Paxos zu den wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten. 

In vino veritas: Der seltene Tropfen von Antipaxos

Süß und dunkel ist er, der lokale Wein von Antipaxos, der aus weniger bekannten Rebsorten wie etwa Pheidias oder Petrokodrynthos, hergestellt wird. Die Produktionsmenge ist nur sehr klein und daher ist er nicht in allen Bars und Restaurants zu finden, aber es lohnt sich danach zu suchen. 

Mit dem Boot die Westküste entlang

Der westliche Küstenabschnitt von Paxos ist ein wahres Naturwunder. Mit dem Boot können all diese Grotten erkundet werden, zum Beispiel die Höhle Ahai, die riesige Grotte von Ipapanti oder auch die Klippen von Eremitis. Besonders imposant ist Ortholitho, ein gewaltiger Felsen in Form eines Hinkelsteins – wie von Obelix –, der senkrecht auch dem Wasser ragt.

The little village of Lakka, a naturally safe harbour

Erleben Sie das Beste von Paxous

Famous for its seafood, Loggos is a must for a seaside lunch or dinner

Spüren Sie den Herzschlag von Paxi beim Dorfhopping

Durch die intensiven Farben, den Geschmack und den Charakter seiner Dörfer zeigt das winzige Paxi, dass es so viel mehr als eine Insel mit magischen...
Approaching the exotic Voutoumi beach, Antipaxos island

Eine Bootsfahrt zum winzigen, exotischen Antipaxi

Das wunderschöne, kleine Antipaxi nimmt die ganze Schönheit der Ionischen Inseln in sich auf und strahlt durch seine Buchten und Strände einen unwiderstehlichen Charme aus.
  • Gaios, der versteckte Hafen und sein Geheimnis
  • In vino veritas: Der seltene Tropfen von Antipaxos
  • Not macht erfinderisch: Die berühmten Zisternen
  • Die Burg von Agios Nikolaos von Leonardo da Vinci
  • Mit dem Boot die Westküste entlang
  • Die gesamte Insel ein einziger Olivenhain
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Porto Katsiki beach

Die besten strände in den Ionischen insel

Die Ionischen Inseln bieten eine reiche Auswahl an Stränden, die aus Farben bestehen, die kaum beschrieben werden können. Nur ein paar Highlights reichen aus, um Appetit zu machen.
Marathonisi, Zakynthos

Ionische inseln: Die Inseln, wo smaragdgrün auf paradiesblau trifft

Die Erkundung der Ionischen Inseln in den Monaten des Hochsommers gibt Ihnen die Möglichkeit, jede dieser unglaublichen Farben auf eine Weise zu genießen, die Sie sich nie vorgestellt haben.
Der Strand Votsi auf Alonnisos

Die 10 versteckten Juwelen Griechenlands

Unerforschte Inseln, reich an Geschichte, geheimen Stränden, seltener Schönheit. Entdecken Sie die Schätze der griechischen Inseln und erleben Sie authentische Momente.

Paxi and Antipaxi

The very best of the Ionian in miniature
Boat passing next to Trypitos (also known as Kamara), a natural rocky arch at Paxos island
Today
16°
SUN
18°
MON
18°
TUE
19°
WED
19°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Tropical beaches, spectacular cliffs, seas of olive groves and friendly harbours

Whether you arrive by sailing yacht, speedboat or ferry, you’ll be hooked by the charm of these two small, emerald isles: Paxi and Antipaxi, gems in the Ionian Sea. The beaches are legendary: white sand or pebbles lapped by glittering water. Behind them stretch grove upon grove of centuries-old olive trees, dense vineyards and untamed nature spilling down to the water’s edge. The sunset from the white cliffs at Eremitis has to be seen to be believed and exploring caves and hikes in search of historic cisterns are must-dos. This tiny island pair will remain etched in your memory forever.

 

What to do on Paxi and Antipaxi

Antipaxi: The original Eden?

At only 3km in length, teeny Antipaxi (just south of Paxi) would fit most definitions of paradise. A dense forest of mastic, pine, myrtle and cypress trees covers it, interspersed with grapevines. Well worth investigating if you can bear to leave the beaches.

Splendid Ionian beaches

Peacock-blue translucent water, the whitest of white sand. Note these names: Orkos on Paxi, Vrika and Voutoumi on Antipaxi… beaches that should be top on your list of things to do.

A castle designed by Leonardo

The castle of Agios Nikolaos on the island of the same name, opposite the main port of Gaios, has landmark status. The Venetians began construction on this amazing attraction in 1423 and finished it in 1510. Its secret? It was built from plans prepared by none other than Leonardo da Vinci that are still preserved in the city’s archives. Small world!

The holiday home you’ve always dreamed of

The accommodation possibilities on Paxi are all you could hope for. Why not choose one of its attractive stone-built luxury homes with a private pool and a splendid sea view, hidden away amid lush vegetation?

Gaios, the hidden harbour and its secrets

The main port and capital of Paxi, Gaios is invisible right up to the last minute as you approach the island. It lies at the end of a “fjord” created by the islet of Agios Nikolaos, which suddenly opens up to reveal a fine harbour.

The town, which has held on to its original Venetian layout and architecture, boasts a number of prized possessions, like the old British governor’s mansion and the church of Agii Apostoli with an impressive cistern above it. Wander into the old shops and cafes, some unchanged since they first opened at the turn of the last century.

The whole island an olive grove

Centuries-old trees blanket Paxi. Gnarled and twisted into amazing shapes, they block out the sun, throwing their dense shade over the entire island. For the locals, these trees are sacred, their lifeblood, and their history goes way back to when the Venetians ruled the Ionian.

 

Hidden gems of Paxi and Antipaxi

Masterpieces of necessity: The famous cisterns

On an island with little water, rain was so precious that the islanders built monumental cisterns to store it. Today, they are considered part of Paxi’s cultural heritage, ingenious works of art.

In vino veritas: The rare wine of Antipaxi

Sweet and dark, this wine is made from little-known grape varieties like Pheidias and Petrokodrynthos. Production is on a small scale, so you won’t find it in every bar, but it’s worth tasting, so do seek it out.

Travel to the west coast by boat

This coast of Paxi is a wonderland of white cliffs and grottoes. By boat, you can investigate them all: the caves at Ahai, the vast grotto of Ypapanti, the cliffs at Eremitis. You’ll get your biggest surprise at Ortholithos. As its name implies, it’s an enormous rock in the shape of one of Obelix’s menhirs that rises straight out of the water.

Read More Read Less

Experience the best of Paxi and Antipaxi

Famous for its seafood, Loggos is a must for a seaside lunch or dinner

A day village-hopping in adorable little Paxos

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Accommodation

Torri E Merli Hotel Paxos

Paxi

The serene natural surroundings combined with the bohemian , chic , romantic ambience are much preffered by discerning guests looking for a special hideaway ...

Official online rates

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Porto Katsiki beach

The best beaches in the Ionian Islands

Boasting so many of the best beaches in Greece, the Ionian Islands offer a treasure trove of heavenly swimming spots, whether you’re looking for water sports, beach bars or total relaxation under the sun.
Vlacherna monastery and Pontikonisi in Corfu

8 top things to do in Corfu

With so many unforgettable things to do in Corfu, one visit is never enough. But there are some highlights you simply can’t afford to miss
Iconic white rock cliffs and volcanic formations near the famous beach of Platys and Makrys Gialos

Top things to do in the Ionian Islands

From action holidays on Zante and village-hopping on Corfu to the best food of Kefalonia and sailing to Paxos and Antipaxos, we’ve cherry-picked the top things to do in the Ionian Islands.