10

10 ВАРИАНТОВ БЕЗУМНОГО ОТПУСКА НА ЛЕФКАДЕ

READING TIME
За кусочком дыни
sponsored by Chamber of Lefkada

Остров Лефкада, наверняка, знаком Вам, даже если Вы никогда здесь не бывали. Его пляжи обычно занимают лучшие позиции в мировых рейтингах, рекламируя волшебную красоту Ионического моря. Широкие песчаные пляжи, изумрудные воды – и  всё это на фоне белых скал или зелёного леса. Чуть менее известны пешие тропы и деревушки этого острова. Лефкада очень удобный курорт: добраться сюда можно на самолёте (аэропорт Актио) или на машине из Афин всего за 4 часа или из Салоник за 4 часа 30 минут.

Порто Катсики – не пляж, а супермодель!

Если пляжи Лефкады выстроить на подиуме, то Порто Катсики по праву станет супермоделью острова. Ландшафт этого места просто завораживает: отвесные скалы и вид на пляж и море с высоты птичьего полёта. 

Волшебный пляж Порто Катсики ждёт Вас

Porto Katsiki beach from above

Добираясь сюда, Вы останетесь под впечатлением от открывающихся перед Вами морских видов. Чтобы спуститься к пляжу, нужно пройти 100 ступенек, выдолбленных в скале. Сюда также можно добраться морским путём из деревни Нидри или Василики. Какой бы путь Вы ни выбрали, фотосессия гарантирована!

 

Пляж Эгреми или побережье Карибского моря?

Двухкилометровая песчаная гряда Эгреми считается самым завораживающим место во всём Средиземноморье. Минутку! А может, это побережье Карибского моря? Именно такое впечатление создаёт это удивительное место, сочетающее кристально чистые воды изумрудных оттенков и белый искрящийся песок. Разумеется, что это самый популярный пляж острова и его визитная карточка. Красоту пляжа завершают отвесные скалы на заднем плане. Добраться сюда можно из деревень Нидри и Василики. 

 

Космополитский стиль пляжа Катизма

Самый космополитский по стилю пляж Лефкады – это Катизма, отличающийся особенно активными ритмами. Здесь Вас ждут все удобства – не только шезлонги  и зонтики, пляжные бары и рестораны, но также центр морских видов спорта. 

Проведите весь день на пляже Катизма

Lefkada’s most cosmopolitan beach is a firm favourite because of its unique vibe

Поэтому не удивляйтесь, что над  Вами будут пролетать серфингисты на парашют-крыле, спускающиеся к морю с близлежащего холма.  Оставшись здесь до вечера, Вы сможете полюбоваться одним из красивейших закатов в мире.

Каждый день что-то новенькое

Волшебство отпуска на Лефкаде заключается ещё и в том, что каждый день Вы можете выбирать новый пляж в зависимости от настроения и Ваших увлечений. К западу от центра находится три песчаных пляжа Авали, Мегали Петра и Каваликефта (около деревни Каламитси). Недалеко также есть уютный пляжик Агиос Никитас, который очень любят отдыхающие с семьями. Самы близким к городу Лефкада является пляж Ай Яннис, притягивающий любителей винд- и кайтсерфинга. А на южной стороне острова стоит отметить пляж Агиофилли с его потрясающей лагуной и лазурными водами. Нельзя не упомянуть и пляж  Василики, расположенный возле одноимённой деревни, который также любят серфингисты, съезжающиеся сюда на ежегодный фестиваль морских видов спорта.

Замок на фоне моря

Если вы приедете на остров на машине, то первое, что поразит Вас, будут совсем не пляжи.  Проезжая по понтонному мосту, соединяющему материковую часть с островом, Вы заметите руины замка, который расположен на небольшом островке. Советуем вернуться сюда, чтобы познакомиться с этим прекрасным образцом средневековой архитектуры. Крепость, известная под названием Агия Мавра, была построена венецианцами в 13 веке. Не забудьте прихватить с собой купальник, потому что рядом с крепостью есть пляж Амоглосса, который идеально завершит культурную программу дня.

Прогулка по городу

Особое место в городе занимает причал, который привлекает своим современным стилем и хорошей оснащённостью. Здесь имеется 600 якорных мест, на которых могут остановиться от надувных лодок до больших яхт. Прогуливаясь по набережной вдоль причала, дойдите до деревянного моста. Это одна из визитных карточек  острова, а также превосходное место, чтобы любоваться закатом. А прямо напротив расположена главная торговая улица города. Удивительно, что проходя по ней снова и снова, каждый раз находишь какой-нибудь новый магазинчик или кафе, которые в первый раз остались незамеченными.

Take a stroll around town of Lefkada and enjoy the sunset

 

Пешая прогулка к сказочному водопаду в Нидри

Выезжая за пределы города, Вы узнаете стороны острова, которых никогда бы не ожидали. Загородная местность не только полна зелени, но и довольно холмиста. Это значит, что здесь можно встретить даже водопад! Самый известный находится в конце тропы, начинающейся от деревни Нидри (или же Вы можете начать путь из деревни Рахи, чтобы укоротить маршрут). Водопады Нидри отличаются особой красотой. У основания образуется природный бассейн, в котором будет очень приятно искупаться в жаркий летний день. Кроме этого, интерес представляют тропы, уходящие от деревень Агиос Никитас и Василики.

Тур по зелёным деревушкам острова

Знакомясь с Лефкадой, не упустите возможность увидеть её живописные деревушки, особенно в районе Кария прямо по середине острова. Кария – это самая большая деревня района и самая оживлённая. Красивые домики, купающиеся в зелени, симпатичные улочки и кафе. 

Village-hopping in Lefkada

Недалеко от деревни находится монастырь Св. Иоанна Предтечи, построенный в 16 веке. А всего в 15 минутах отсюда расположена ещё одна деревушка – Эксанфия, построенная прямо на склоне горы Элати. Здесь можно вкусно пообедать, любуясь завораживающим видом на один из лучших морских пейзажей во всей Греции.

Вкус моря на вашем столе!

Кухня Лефкады во многом состоит из морепродуктов. Это треска, осьминог, каракатицы, угри, крабы и любимые местными жителями сардины. Весь этот ассортимент Вы легко найдёте в рыбных тавернах острова. Среди особых деликатессов стоит выделить «авготарахо» (закуска из икры трески), вяленые колбасы и чечевицу, которая до сих пор выращивается традиционным образом в горной  деревушке Эглуви.  Сюда, в Эглуви, стоит приехать, чтобы увидеть, как местные жители заботятся об этом сорте чечевицы, который знаменит своими вкусовыми качествами и быстрым приготовлением. На Лефкаде также производят прекрасное оливковое масло и вино. Некоторые винодельни острова открыты для посетителей.

Lefkadas' lentils are famed for their taste

Морская поездка на Меганиси и другие пляжи

И опять же мы возвращаемся к морю. На этот раз рекомендуем взять напрокат лодку со шкипером и отправиться в морскую поездку из деревни Нидри, чтобы увидеть те волшебные пляжи, о которых так много слышали! Наш путь лежит мимо островков Прингипонисья, расположенных в заливе Нидри, а далее к Меганиси  - зелёному ос тровку, напоминающему по форме кавычки, расположенному к югу от Лефкады. Здесь  масса красивых местечек, в том числе пещера Папаниколис и, конечно же, великолепные пляжи. Назовём лишь самые известные: Аферинос, Фанари, Порто Элья и Лимнонари. Но также Ай-Янни, Лутролимни, Амбелакия, Пасумаки...

Места волшебной красоты к югу от Нидри

Лучший отдых на Лефкаде

Природа щедро наградила Лефкаду своими красотами. Знаменитые на весь мир пляжи, зелёная природа, удобно местоположение. Это один из самых ярких островов Ионического моря.

Познакомьтесь с чудесной Лефкадой!

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Aerial photo of competition sport paddle surfing or sup between 2 men in tropical waters of Vouliagmeni beach, Athens riviera, Attica, Greece

Серфинг, водные лыжи, wakeboard: самые популярные направления в Греции

Easter pot smashing on Corfu

Пасха на Ионических островах

Porto Katsiki beach

Лучшие пляжи Ионических островов

Navagio beach from above

10 лучших пляжей в Греции

Coastal scenery with pale volcanic rocks near Sarakiniko beach in Milos island, Greece. Kimolos island can be seen in the distance.

Романтический отдых в Греции у моря

The peak of Mt Olympus

8 незабываемых впечатлений от горы Олимп

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Познакомьтесь с островами Кикладической цепочки близ Санторини!

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 причин, чтобы приехать на остров Карпатос

8 незабываемых моментов с острова Калимнос

Myrtos beach, Kefalonia

10 незабываемых мгновений с острова Кефалония

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 причин, чтобы Астипалея стала Вашим любимым летним островом

10

10 WAYS TO LET YOUR FEET (AND MIND) WANDER IN LEFKADA

READING TIME
As long as it takes to eat a slice of watermelon
sponsored by Chamber of Lefkada

You’ll have seen Lefkada even if you haven’t been. Its beaches routinely feature in Top 10 lists around the world, capturing everything magical about the Ionian Sea: generous swathes of sand, mesmerising blues and a backdrop of white cliffs and forest green. Less well known are the hiking paths and villages. And just to add to the appeal, Lefkada is easily reached by plane to Aktio airport or by car from Athens (4hrs) or Thessaloniki (4hr30min).

Discover the supermodel beauty of Porto Katsiki

If Lefkada’s beaches line up like a catwalk parade, then Porto Katsiki is its most-snapped supermodel. It manages to combine a dramatic cliff-side setting with a bird’s eye view of the beach and sea. 

Uncover the majesty of Porto Katsiki beach

Porto Katsiki beach from above

Head to the Caribbean beach of Egremni

The 2km stretch of sand at Egremni is considered one of the most impressive in the Mediterranean – or perhaps that should be the Caribbean because that’s what it will remind you of, with its combination of crystal-clear, turquoise-coloured water and white sand and shingle. Understandably, it’s a drawcard beach – although (like so many of Lefkada’s generously sized beaches) it more than handles its popularity. Reached by boat from Nydri or Vassiliki, it is completed by a cliff backdrop that has a way of locking in all that beauty.

 

Feel the cosmopolitan vibe of Kathisma

Lefkada’s most cosmopolitan beach is a firm favourite because of its unique vibe. You’ll find everything you need here – not just umbrellas & sunbeds but restaurants, beach bars and a water sports centre – and yet it still manages to generate a wild unspoilt beauty.

Enjoy a day on Kathisma beach

Lefkada’s most cosmopolitan beach is a firm favourite because of its unique vibe

Tick off the rest of the best

The beauty of holidaying in Lefkada is that you can choose a different beach every day, depending on your mood and interests, and still feel like you need to return to discover the rest. To the west, there’s the sandy trilogy of Avali, Megali Petra, Kavalikefta (near Kalamitsi village) and the cosy Agios Nikitas (a family favourite). Closest to Lefkada town is Ai Giannis (a magnet for wind- and kite-surfers) and to the south is Agiofylli, in a gorgeous bay and with blue-green water. And let’s not forget Vassiliki, near the village of the same name, loved by wind-surfers and for its annual international water sports festival.

Be greeted by the castle and the sea

That said, if you arrive by car, your first impression won’t be the beaches. It’s of the remains of the castle you see on an islet by the floating bridge as you cross from the mainland. You should come back to explore this excellent example of 13th-century fortress architecture, known as Agia Mavra to the Venetians. Don’t forget your swimsuit because right next door is Amoglossa, perfect for a sneaky dip after your cultural exploits.

Take a stroll around town

Grabbing your attention in town is the marina which, as well as being modern and well-equipped, holds more than 600 berths for an assortment of bobbing sailing boats and yachts. If you follow the waterfront around from the marina, you reach a wooden bridge (one of the island’s trademarks and a great sunset spot). And right opposite, you’ll find the start of the town’s main thoroughfare. It won’t matter how many times you stroll it, you’ll find another shop, cafe or bar you hadn’t noticed the last time.

Take a stroll around town of Lefkada and enjoy the sunset

 

Hike to the fairytale waterfall of Nydri

As you leave town, you discover something else about this island you weren’t expecting. It’s not just green but hilly, too, which means hiking paths and even the occasional waterfall in the valleys. The best known is at the end of a trail that starts at the seaside village of Nydri (or you can start at Rachi, for a slightly shorter walk). The Nydri Waterfalls, as they are known, are in an especially beautiful spot and form a plunge pool that’s great for a refreshing summer dip. Other walking paths to look out for start from the villages of Agios Nikitas and Vassiliki. 

Go village-hopping in the green interior

Whilst you’re exploring Lefkada, don’t miss the chance to discover the villages, especially around Karia, right in the heart of the island. Karia is the biggest of the villages and one of the most lively. Surrounded by greenery, it’s a cluster of impressive houses and atmospheric streets and cafes.

Village-hopping in Lefkada

Nearby is the 16th-century Monastery of Agios Ioannis tou Prodromou. And just 15mins away is the village of Exanthia, built amphitheatrically on the slopes of Mt Elati. It’s a great place to eat, with sweeping views of the sea that challenge any other in Greece. 

Tastes of the sea (and other local delicacies)

The food of Lefkada is dominated by seafood, with cod, squid, cuttlefish, eel, crab and sardines (a local favourite) just a few of the ingredients lighting up taverna dishes. Other delicacies are avgotaracho (made from cod roe), air-dried salami and the lentils still produced in the traditional way in the mountain village of Eglouvi. It’s worth visiting Eglouvi where you can meet the locals behind the lentils famed for their taste and quick-cooking properties. Lefkada also produces excellent olive oil and wine, with a couple of wineries that you can visit. 

Lefkadas' lentils are famed for their taste

Set sail for Meganisi (and yet more beaches)

Back to the sea we go before heading home. By hiring a sailing boat and skipper, you can set sail from Nydri and explore all those gorgeous beaches you’ve heard about. But so too can you head past the Pringiponisia isles in Nydri bay and head for Meganisi, a green speech mark-shaped island off the south coast of Lefkada. There’s plenty to see (meriting an overnight stay), including the Papanikolis Cave and – you guessed it – yet more beaches. Atherinos, Fanari, Porto Elia and Limnonari are the best known. But there’s also Ai-Gianni, Loutrolimni, Ambelakia, Pasoumaki… You get the picture. 

Explore the magical world beyond Nydri

Experience the best of Lefkada island

There’s nothing, it seems, that Lefkada doesn’t give generously. From its star-studded beaches to the richness of its nature and ease of access, it radiates everything magical about the Ionian islands.

Discover Lefkada now

Plan your trip

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Easter pot smashing on Corfu

Celebrate Easter in the Ionian

Porto Katsiki beach

The best swimming spots in 7 island gems in the Ionian

Navagio beach from above

10 of the best beaches in Greece

Iconic white rock cliffs and volcanic formations near the famous beach of Platys and Makrys Gialos

The Ionian islands, where emerald-green meets paradise-blue

Coastal scenery with pale volcanic rocks near Sarakiniko beach in Milos island, Greece. Kimolos island can be seen in the distance.

Sun, sea and romance in Greece

Aerial photo of competition sport paddle surfing or sup between 2 men in tropical waters of Vouliagmeni beach, Athens riviera, Attica, Greece

The most popular watersports destinations in Greece

Psarou beach on Mykonos

12 iconic beaches to love on Mykonos

Famous for its celebrity beaches, Mykonos has another side when it comes to beach life that it keeps away from the spotlight.

12 relaxing beaches chosen by locals on Mykonos

Nature… the true guardian of Mt Olympus

7 magical getaways just 60mins from Thessaloniki

The peak of Mt Olympus

8 mythical experiences on Mt Olympus

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Meet the Cycladic escapes neighbouring Santorini

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 reasons to make you want to explore Karpathos