Gerovassiliou winery
COVER STORY

Griechischer wein

READING TIME
Solange es dauert, um eine Scheibe Wassermelone zu essen

Die geschichtsträchtige Heimat des antiken Weingottes Dionysos heisst Sie in unzähligen griechischen Weingärten willkommen

 

Nicht ohne Grund hatten die alten Griechen einen Gott des Weins. Seit der Antike verbindet die Griechen eine ewige Liebe mit dem Wein. Sie gaben ihm sogar einen Patronen: Dionysos. Sorten, die schon lange in Vergessenheit geraten sind, werden wieder zu neuem Leben erweckt und reihen sich in die modernen und eizigartigen griechischen Weine ein.

Wein stand auf dem Tisch von Bauern und Herren in Griechenland. Müdigkeit wurde mit einem Glas aus den eigenen Weinbergen heruntergespült. Der gleiche griechische Wein, jetzt international bekannt und erhältlich, wird mit Stolz auf den Tisch gestellt, ob beim täglichen Abendbrot oder beim feierlichen Anlass.

Weingebiete in ganz Griechenland

Auf einer Tour durch die Weinlandschaften kommen die ehrwürdigen Weinberge richtig zur Geltung. Von Florina und Lemnos, von den Zagori Bergen in Epirus bis zu den südlichen Bergen in Heraklion auf Kreta können Weinliebhaber die Winzer treffen und die griechischen Trauben besser kennenlernen. Im September ist die beste Zeit für einen Abstecher während der Erntezeit. Kosten Sie die Weine, griechische Proddukte die Ihnen die Einheimischen Stolz anbieten werden.

Obwohl die Ursprünge des griechischen Weinbaus mit der Zeit verloren gingen, gibt es immer noch einzelne Rebsorten die plötzlich in Kleingärten auf Kreta, Santorini oder Karpathos wiederentdeckt werden. Mit Liebe und Sorgfalt wieder zum Leben erweckt sind die seltenen Weine in der ganzen Welt gefragt. Vithiano, Vilana und Moschato Spinas sind Beispiele dieser Rebsorten, die Kreta einen Platz auf der Weinkarte der Welt einbrachten. 

Die griechischen Weine  sind voll von Frucht, spritzig und mit milder Süße, ein Genuss mit jedem Schluck. Leichte, frische oder schwere und trockene Weine betören Körper und Sinne. Es gibt Wein für traditionelle Feiern, Süßweine für Hochzeiten, Schaumweine zum Anstoßen, gelagerte Weine für Connoisseure.

Gerovassiliou winery

Berühmte Rebsorten aus Griechenland

Viele wurden mit dem Siegel g.U. (geschützte Ursprungsbezeichnung) ausgezeichenet. Darunter Mantineia, Mavrodafne aus Kefalonia und Patras, Santorini, Monemvasia-Malvasia, Moschatos aus Lemnos, Naoussa, Nemea, Paros, Rapsani, Robola etc.

Auf Santorini trinken Kenner den Aufsehen erregenden Wein aus vulkanischer Erde, im Norden Griechenlands die vollmundigen, anhaltenden Rotweine und aromatischen Weißweine aus Drama, Imathia, Kilkis, Florina und Rodopi. Im Peloponnes geht kein Weg an den fruchtigen Roten aus Nemea und den frischen Weißen aus Mantineia vorbei, in Epirus gibt es den natürlich perligen, verspielten Zitsas, auf Santorini den mineralischen Assyrtiko.

Für Süßweine geht der Blick zu den Moschatos aus Lemnos und Samos, die perfekt als Digestif sind. Fragen Sie in der Taverne nach Mavrotragano, Xinomavro, Agiorgitiko und Kotsifali für Rotwein und Athiri, Moshofilero, Savvatiano und Roditis für Weißwein. Entdecken Sie den wunderbaren, reizvollen Wein aus  Griechenland und nehmen Sie eine berauschende Auswahl griechischer Weine mit nach Hause.

Winery in Crete
Done
Done
Done
Done
Accommodation

Pirrion Wellness Boutique Hotel

Zagori

Welcome to Pirrion Wellness Boutique Hotel “sweet hospitality”! A high-standard hosting hotel, a fairy tale, written on the mountains of Zagori - Epirus. One...

Official online rates

Accommodation

Aristi Mountain Resort & Villas

Zagori

Aristi Mountain Resort is a complex of stone buildings embodied with in traditional village of Aristi, across from the Towers of...

Official online rates

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Take a tour of the Acropolis Museum

20 der besten Museen Athen

Must-try local products of Syros

Guide für griechische Spirituosen: Alles, was du über Tsipouro wissen musst

Noctua beer

Ein Guide zu den wichtigsten griechischen Bieren und Kleinbrauereien bringt Abwechslung in deinen Urlaub

Must-try local products of Syros

Guide für griechische Spirituosen: Alles, was du über Tsipouro wissen musst

When in Telendos, you must visit the family-owned tavernas where a fresh catch of seafood comes in every morning

Guide zu griechischen Spirituosen: Alles, was du über Ouzo wissen solltest

Harz an den Mastixsträuchern von Chios

Guide für griechische Spirituosen: Alles, was du über den Mastiha Likör wissen solltest

Noctua beer

Ein Guide zu den wichtigsten griechischen Bieren und Kleinbrauereien bringt Abwechslung in deinen Urlaub

Take a long afternoon stroll in Hora

10 beste Aktivitäten auf der Insel Kythnos

Gerovassiliou winery
COVER STORY

Greek wines come of age

READING TIME
As long as it takes to eat a slice of watermelon

With a history almost as old as the country itself, the homeland of Dionysus welcomes you to the magic its vineyards

Greeks have loved wine since antiquity. They even had a patron god for it, Dionysus, and some of his favourite varieties of grape have been revived to join the constellation of modern Greek and international varietals being grown and turned into excellent wines all over the country. 

Visit the vineyards 

You can visit highly acclaimed wineries all around Greece, from Florina and the Zagori mountains in Epirus to the hills south of Heraklion on Crete and Limnos in the northeast Aegean.

The best time to visit is September, when you can help bring in the harvest, choosing only the best bunches to ensure a premium vintage. Though the origins of Greek winemaking are lost in the mists of time, ancient varieties are still being revived, thriving in a solitary backyard somewhere in an island village on Crete, Santorini,, Karpathos or the like.

They have been retrieved, grafted onto other roots, lovingly cared for and have produced wines well worth sampling. Vithiano, Vilana and Moschato Spinas are examples of such varieties that have helped put Crete on the winemaking map. They produce magnificent wine, fruity and full of vitality yet soothing and sweet-tempered at the same time

Light and crisp or heavy and dry wine, they all share the ability to inspire moments as ripe as the fruit from which they were made. There’s a wine for every special occasion: traditional feasts and festivals, baptisms and weddings. 

Gerovassiliou winery

Famous Greek varieties

Many grape varieties have been awarded the prized PDO classification, among them Zitsa, Mantineia, Mavrodafne of Kefalonia and Patras, Santorini, Monemvasia-Malvasia, Moschatos of Limnos, Naoussa, Nemea, Paros, Rapsani, Robola. On Santorini, you’ll drink splendid wine from volcanic soils, while in northern Greece you’ll also be impressed by the long aftertaste of full-bodied red and aromatic white wine from other areas like Drama, Imathia, Kilkis, Florina and Rhodopi.

In the Peloponnese, you’ll sample fruity reds from Nemea and crisp whites from Mantineia, in Epirus naturally fizzy and playful Zitsas, on Santorini the flinty Assyrtiko, while for sweet wine you’ll turn to the Moschatos of Limnos and Samos which are ideal after-dinner drinks. 

Ask for Greek wine by name: Mavrotragano, Xinomavro, Agiorgitiko and Kotsifali for the reds and Athiri, Moschofilero, Savvatiano and Roditis for the whites. And don’t forget to take a bottle back home with you.

And of course, there’s retsina, the traditional Greek wine of old, from the Mesogeia area of Attica (near the airport), Viotia and Evia. Though much-maligned for what some tourists used to call its resemblance to turpentine, at its best, it makes the perfect accompaniment to classic Greek dishes. Usually made from the Savvatiano grape to which powdered pine resin has been added, it almost disappeared from the Greek table as the wine industry developed in the past two or three decades, but has recently been enjoying a comeback.

Winery in Crete

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Meet the Cycladic escapes neighbouring Santorini

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 reasons to make you want to explore Karpathos

Myrtos beach, Kefalonia

10 vivid memories you’ll be taking home from Kefalonia

Strolling through the port of Naoussa, you’re instantly struck by the remnants of the Venetian Castle (Kastelli)_Landscape

8 ways to get the most out of Paros

Hiking to the Black Cave and Via Ferrata

11 ways to reconnect with nature in Central Greece

Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 incredible places in Greece you have to see to believe

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Meet the Cycladic escapes neighbouring Santorini

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 reasons to make you want to explore Karpathos

8 unforgettable highs and hidden depths in Kalymnos

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 reasons why Astypalea will be your favourite summer hangout

A little before you reach Koumaros, you pass Exomvourgo Castle, high up on a 640m conical hill

9 steps to uncovering the authenticity of Tinos

Stroll along the maze of alleyways, through vaulted archways and past dazzlingly white and mostly immaculately maintained houses

9 ways to feel the spirituality of Patmos