6

TOP 5 (+1) DES ACTIVITÉS PHYSIQUES EN GRÈCE CENTRALE

READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour boire un café grec

Des montagnes recouvertes de sapins, des lacs et des rivières scintillants, la vie des villages traditionnels... chaque minute passée en Grèce centrale donne envie d'activité physique.

À quelques heures de route d'Athènes, se trouve un monde à la fois lointain et accessible. Vous le découvrirez sous son plus beau jours hors des mois d'été. Combien d'autres raisons vous faut-il pour le visiter ? En voici cinq pour le printemps et l'automne... et une en bonus pour l'hiver !

Du kayak sur le lac Kremasta

Le lac Kremasta

Avec l'eau et la nature verdoyante de la montagne, il est bien normal de démarrer à votre rythme. Montez à bord d'un kayak avec votre moitié ou formez une flottille avec vos amis, puis lancez-vous sur le lac Kremasta. Le plus grand lac artificiel de Grèce a été formé par l'endiguement de plusieurs rivières. Ceci a créé un site d'une beauté naturelle exceptionnelle, en favorisant la riche biodiversité d'une zone maintenant protégée par Natura 2000.

Rafting & Kayaking around Lake Kremaston - video

Printemps ou automne ? À vous de choisir, mais prenez le temps d'explorer les rives, qui sinuent comme la côte égéenne. Si vous avez de la chance, vous verrez le pont Manoli, du XVIIe siècle, visible seulement à certains niveaux de l'eau.

Du rafting sur la rivière Krikeliotis

La rivière Krikeliotis

À présent, accélérez le rythme et rendez-vous au Krikeliotis (ou Trikeriotis) pour du rafting. L'itinéraire que nous vous proposons démarre au célèbre monastère de Proussos et serpente à travers 9 km d'une vallée étroite bordée d'arbres. Il sinue pendant deux heures sur des rochers et des pierres, qui créent des rapides de niveau 3 quand les montagnes environnantes perdent leur neige, au printemps. En une minute, votre taux d'adrénaline grimpe en flèche ; l'instant d'après, vous naviguez tranquillement, accompagné par le chant des oiseaux. Le seul scintillement de la lumière du soleil sur la neige fondue teintée de vert en vaut le détour. Une expérience magnifique, adaptée aux adolescents comme aux adultes. 

Une randonnée à la grotte noire... et au-delà

Mavri Spilia (la grotte noire)

Une campagne si belle est parfaite pour la randonnée. Quelle que soit la période de l'année, les possibilités de marche ne manquent pas. Le trajet jusqu'à la chute de Panta Vrechi (« (où) il pleut toujours ») est remarquable, mais pour une expérience un peu différente, rendez-vous à Mavri Spilia (la grotte noire), sur un chemin qui démarre du monastère de Proussos. Vous marcherez une demi-heure en passant par des ponts en bois et de petites cascades pour atteindre la grotte, connue comme cachette durant les occupations turque et allemande.

Hiking to the Black Cave

À partir de ce point, des panneaux indiquent la Via Ferrata, étroit sentier littéralement creusé dans la paroi rocheuse. Avec de superbes paysages et quelques cascades à admirer, ce parcours circulaire de 4h est adapté à tout âge à partir de 12 ans. Vous pourrez peut-être vous baigner dans un bassin - prévoyez de quoi nager.

Une visite des villages d'Eurytanie

Eurytanie

Avec leurs maisons de pierre et leurs pavés, les villages d'Eurytanie sont trop pittoresques pour ne pas être explorés un à un. Que diriez-vous d'un parcours romantique pour les découvrir ?

Le plus grand, avec une population d'environ 200 habitants et plusieurs possibilités d'hébergement, est Megalo Chorio (le « grand village »), construit en amphithéâtre à l'ombre du mont Chelidona, à 720 m. d'altitude. Un musée du folklore y montre la riche histoire de la région, mais vous trouverez autant de bonheur à écouter la rivière Karpenisiotis qui traverse le village.

winter_village_hopping_in_evritania

Vous pourrez poursuivre sur quelques centaines de mètres dans la forêt, pour arriver à Mikro Chorio (le « petit village », vous l'aurez deviné), avec sa population de 20 habitants. On ne vous dit que ça !

Koryschades, autre village à 4 km de Karpenisi, a abrité le premier gouvernement grec après la Seconde Guerre mondiale (l'histoire est racontée dans un musée local). Citons également Tornos, dissimulé parmi les sapins et les petits vignobles. De nombreux sentiers vous permettront d'explorer la campagne, avant de rentrer vous régaler d'un plat du village.

Du vélo de montagne en Eubée

Mont Dirfys

Nous nous dirigeons maintenant vers l'est, en Eubée, de l'autre côté de la Grèce centrale. Outre le fait qu'elle est la deuxième plus grande île du pays, mais reliée au continent par un pont, elle possède aussi la caractéristique d'être montagneuse. Alors, grimpez sur un vélo et dirigez-vous vers ses hauteurs !

Le parcours que nous vous proposons commence dans le village de Steni, au coeur de l'Eubée, à 1h45 d'Athènes. Il existe de nombreux chemins sur les pentes du mont Dirfys, qui passent par une forêt de pins, de sapins et de châtaigniers, avant de redescendre vers le village de Kampia. Vous remonterez ensuite le long du le mont Olympe (mais pas celui des dieux), en passant devant de petites églises, des rivières et des ruisseaux chantants, pour revenir à Steni. Au total, vous aurez parcouru 25 km en 4 heures, avec une dénivellation de plus de 1000 mètres - assurez-vous d'être suffisamment en forme pour relever le défi !

Des sports d'hivers sur le Parnasse

Mont Parnasse

Qui aurait cru qu'à trois heures d'Athènes à peine, vous pourriez enfiler vos skis et mettre vos lunettes de protection ? Le mont Parnasse abrite la plus grande station de ski du pays. Il vaut la peine d'y passer quelques jours pour skier ou faire du snowboard en famille ou entre amis. Avec 19 pentes et plusieurs manières d'y monter (dont une télécabine), c'est un bonus fantastique (et peu coûteux) à toutes vacances d'hiver en Grèce.

Winter Sports on Mt. Parnassos - video

Pour les soirées, Arachova, cosmopolite, répond à toutes les attentes : hôtels, restaurants, vie nocturne. Et si vous considérez qu'il faut un peu de culture pour être vraiment en Grèce... le site archéologique de Delphes (l'oracle et tout le reste) se trouve à 10 km à peine. Que demander de plus ?
Le célèbre site archéologique de Delphes

Des plaisirs en plein air en Grèce centrale

Ce n'est pas ce que à quoi vous vous attendiez en Grèce, n'est-ce pas ? Des plaisirs de printemps, d'automne et d'hiver pour les couples, les amis et les familles... Chacun peut y trouver ce qui lui plaît, quels que soient son âge et ses capacités. Il vous suffit d'un point commun : l'amour du plein air et de la nature. Si cela vous correspond, la Grèce centrale est faite pour vous !

@CentralGreece #gettingactive

 

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 destinations grecques incroyables à voir absolument

5 raisons de ne pas manquer Kavala

Giola lagoon the natural pool carved into the rock by the sea in Thassos

5 raisons de ne pas manquer Thassos

Snorkeling in the Blue Caves of Zakynthos

9 raisons d'aimer Zakynthos

10 conseils d'habitants pour visiter Samos

Vlacherna monastery and Pontikonisi in Corfu

Top 8 des choses à faire sur Corfou

Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 destinations grecques incroyables à voir absolument

Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Rafting & Canyoning: Destinations populaires en Grèce

The Tholos of Athena pronaia, originally consisted of 20 Doric columns arranges around 10 Corinthian columns

Les 10 sites archéologiques de Grèce les plus importants

Discover the wonder of the acropolis museum

Les plus populaires musées archéologiques de Grèce

The lovely settlement of Frikes, with a sense of luxury

Les 10 plus célèbres destinations de luxe en Grèce

6

TOP 5+1 WAYS TO GET ACTIVE IN CENTRAL GREECE

READING TIME
As long as it takes to drink a Greek coffee

Fir tree-clad mountains, glistening lakes and rivers, and traditional village life… every minute spent in Central Greece fills you with the urge to get active.

Just a few hours’ drive from Athens, it’s a world that’s as accessible as it is remote. And it’s at its best outside the summer months. How many more reasons do you need to visit? Well here are five for spring and autumn… and a bonus for winter!

Kayaking on Lake Kremaston

Lake Kremaston

With all that mountain greenery and water, it’s only right you set off at your own pace. So hop into a kayak with your other half, or perhaps make up a flotilla with friends, and take to the water on Lake Kremaston. Greece’s largest artificial lake was formed by the damming of several rivers, creating not only a site of outstanding natural beauty but also adding to the rich biodiversity of an area now protected by Natura 2000.

Rafting & Kayaking around Lake Kremaston - video

Spring or autumn, it’s your choice, but take your time exploring banks that curve like the Aegean coastline. If you’re lucky, you’ll see the 17th century Manoli Bridge, visible only at certain water levels.

Rafting on Krikeliotis River

Krikeliotis River

Let’s up the tempo now and head to Krikeliotis (or Trikeriotis) River for some rafting. The route we’ve chosen starts near the famous Proussos Monastery and winds through 9km of narrow, tree-lined valley, twisting for 2hrs over rocks and stones that – as the surrounding mountains lose their snow during the spring months – create level 3 rapids. One minute your adrenaline levels are spiking, the next you’re gently meandering along to the twitter of birdsong. Just the sparkle of sunlight on the green-tinged meltwater is worth the ride. A really beautiful experience, suitable for teenagers and over.

Hiking to the Black Cave … and beyond

Mavri Spilia (Black Cave)

Such magnificent countryside is, of course, made for hiking. So whatever the time of year, walking options abound. The route to the hidden Panta Vrechi (Always Raining) waterfall is a highlight, but for something a little different you should head to Mavri Spilia (Black Cave) on a path starting near the Proussos Monastery. It’s a 30min trek across wooden bridges and past little waterfalls to the cave, famous as a hideout during the Turkish and German occupations.

Hiking to the Black Cave

From here, there are signposts to the narrow Via Ferrata path, literally carved into the rockface. With beautiful scenery and occasional waterfalls to admire, it’s a 4hr round trip suitable for ages 12 and over. You might even have a dip in a plunge pool so pack your swimmers.

Village hopping in Evritania

Evritania

With all those twee stone houses and cobblestones, the villages of Evritania are too picturesque not to explore one by one. So how about some romantic village hopping?

The largest, with a population of around 200 and the most accommodation options, is Megalo Chorio (Large Village), built amphitheatrically in the shadow of Mt Chelidona, at an altitude of 720m. There’s a folk museum cataloguing the area’s rich history, but you’ll be just as happy listening to the Karpenisiotis River rushing through the village.

winter_village_hopping_in_evritania

Or head up a couple of hundred metres, through the forest and into Mikro Chorio (you guessed it, Small Village) with a population of just 20. Enough said!

Elsewhere, Koryschades, 4km from Karpenisi, has the distinction of housing Greece’s first government after the World War Two (a story told in a local museum). And there’s Tornos, lost among fir trees and small vineyards. Multiple footpaths allow you to explore the countryside, before returning to tuck in to some soul-filling village fare.

Mountain Biking in Evia

Mt Dirfys

We’re off east now to Evia, on the other side of Central Greece. Apart from being Greece’s second biggest island but connected to the mainland by a bridge, Evia has another defining characteristic in being mountainous. So it’s time you hopped on a bike and headed for the hills.

Our proposed trail starts in the village of Steni, in the heart of Evia and just 1hr45mins from Athens. There are numerous paths up the slopes of Mt Dirfys, passing through a forest of pine, fir and chestnut trees before descending to Kampia village. You head up again, along Mt Olympus (not the one where the gods live), past little churches, rivers and gurgling brooks, before returning to Steni. You’ll have cycled 25km in 4hrs, with an elevation gain of more than 1,000m, so make sure you’re fit enough for the challenge.

Winter sports on Mt Parnassos

Mt Parnassos

Who would have thought that just three hours from Athens, you could be clicking on your skis and pulling down your goggles? Mt Parnassos houses Greece’s biggest ski centre and is definitely worth a couple of days skiing or snowboarding with family or friends. With 19 slopes and a variety of lifts (including a gondola), it’s a wonderful (and inexpensive) addition to any winter holiday in Greece.

Winter Sports on Mt. Parnassos - video

For the evenings, cosmopolitan Arachova ticks all the boxes (hotels, restaurants and nightlife). And if you’re thinking that it just wouldn’t be Greece without a bit of culture… the archaeological site of Delphi (Oracle and all) is only 10km away. What more could you want?
Delphi’s world-famous archaeological site

A world of outdoor fun in Central Greece

Not what you were expecting from Greece, was it? Spring, autumn and winter fun for couples, friends and families. Something for everyone, whatever your age and ability. You just need to have one thing in common… to love the outdoors and nature. If that’s you, Central Greece has got you covered.

@CentralGreece #gettingactive

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Popular destinations for Rafting & Canyoning

Strolling around in Molyvos town, Lesvos

The 10 best experiences in Lesvos

Famous for it's beautiful and romantic sunsets , Oia in Santorini

The top ten experiences in Santorini

Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Popular destinations for Rafting & Canyoning

Discover the wonder of the acropolis museum

The most popular archaeological museums in Greece

The lovely settlement of Frikes, with a sense of luxury

Most popular luxury destinations in Greece

Winter at Trikala Korinthias

Top Christmas Destinations

In central Evia there is Dirfis and its alpine landscapes

Central Greece: Tapping into a vital source