Exploring the beauty of Lake Kremaston by kayak
EXPERIENCE

На каноэ по живописному озеру Кремастон

Shutterstock/ by ollirg
Если Вас привлекает идея познакомиться с водоёмом-сокровищем Центральной Греции – озером Кремастон, тогда прогулка на лодке или гребля на каноэ – это самый интересный вариант! Добраться сюда можно всего за 1,5 часа от города Карпениси.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
продолжительность
2 - 3 часа
По сезону
Апрель - октябрь

OVERVIEW

Все, кто когда-нибудь видели живописную красоту горной Эвритании и её традиционных деревушек, совсем не будут удивлены, что здесь их ждёт ещё одно природное сокровище, при этом приктически неизвестное туристам из других стран. Озеро Кремастон находится в западной части Центральной Греции, чуть ниже горной гряды Агафа. Озеро появилось, благодаря энергетическомц проекту 1960-ого года по созданию плотины на четырёх  близко расположенных горных реках – Аграфиотис, Ахелоос, Тавропос и Крикелиотис. Так было создано самое крупное в стране искусственное водохранилище – место удивительной природной красоты. Лодочная прогулка здесь с семьёй или друзьями – это гарантия незабываемых впечатлений! 

Пейзаж озера больше походит на фьорд. На поверхности озера раскиданы небольшие островочки, которые то виднеются, то исчезают в зависимости от уровня воды. Влкруг озера густой сосновый бор и пышный лиственный лес, который так характерен для Эвритании. Вода переливается насыщенными оттенками, отражая каждое настроение погоды. Иногда поверхность озера сильно напоминает море, особенно в летний период, когда так хочется окунуться в прохладную воду.

По краям озера находится два моcта – Кремастон или Эпископис и Татарнас. Площадь водной поверхности составляет 81 кв.км. Ввиду обширной территории, рекомендуем выбрать организовынный тур. Ваш гид сможет рассказать о богатой и разнообразной экосистеме озера, которое занесено в список защищяемых природных зон Natura 2000.

Интересно будет подняться и вверх по реке Аграфиотис, где Вы увидите арочный каменный мост Манолис, которому уже триста лет. В сравнении с другими мостами (и другими строениями), которые были затоплены водой во время строительства плотины, этот мост оставался всегда выше уровня воды.
 

Подробнее Read Less
  • От Карпениси направляйтесь к горным деревням Эвритании или следуйте дорожным указателям «К озеру». Если Вы заказали организованный тур, то Вас будут ждать в указанном пункте отправления.
  • Путь от Карпениси до озера Кремастон (или моста Эпископис) составляет  55 км (1 час 30 минут).
     

До Карпениси

Из Афин

Из Салоник

  • На машине: 321 км (4 часа)

Большинство организованных туров устраивается в период с апреля по октябрь, так как в это время погодные условия более благоприятные.

Каждое время года на озере Кремастон отличается своей красотой. Весной природа оживает яркими красками, в то время как летний период идеально подойдёт для купания в озере. Осенью же весь пейзаж становится просто завораживающим.

  • Осень
  • Весна
  • Летом
  • Зима
  • Большинство организованных экскурсий длится около 2-3 часов.
  • Рекомендуем остаться здесь на полдня или даже на целый день, чтобы совершить пешую прогулку вокруг озера.
  • Организованные экскурсии предоставляют необходимое снаряжение и небольшой обед.
  • Экскурсия подходит для детей от 6 лет и старше.
  • Ну упустите возможность взглянуть на озеро сверху, поднявшись до деревни Фидакия (смотровая площадка Тсанагаралона). Фотографии, сделанные здесь – гарантия фурора в социальных сетях. Здесь также есть традиционная таверна, в которой готовят местные рецепты.
  • Советуем посетить Монастырь Татарнас, расположенный к северу от озера, в котором хранятся реликвии с 13-ого века. Отсюда также открывается волшебный вид на озеро.
  • Вокруг озера Вы встретите несколько смотровых площадок, особенно красив вид с двух мостов и из деревушки Св. Георгий. Таверны этой деревушки готовят знаменитую форель на гриле.

Что взять с собой:

  • Карпениси является самым близким городом. Здесь есть широкий выбор гостиниц и развлечений.
  • В деревушках Эвритании также легко найти небольшие отели, чтобы остановиться с ночёвкой (Мегало и Микро Хорио, Пруссос, Коришадес).

РЕКОМЕНДАЦИИ ДЛЯ ОТДЫХАЮЩИХ

Гребля на каноэ на острове Кремастон прекрасна во многом тем, что даёт возможность очутиться посреди дикой и нетронутой природы. Помогите нам сохранить её именно такой для всех гостей Эвритании и для будущих поколений.

Следуйте рекомендациям о безопасности Вашего экскурсовода, включая ограничения на потребление определённой пищи и спиртных напитков перед таким мероприятием.
Не забывайте выбрасывать мусор только в мусорные баки.
Пользуйтесь многоразовыми ёмкостями для воды, чтобы уменьшить использование пластиковых бутылок.
Берегите местную экосистему, не вредите животному и растительному миру данной местности, унося с собой кусочки скал и другие природные материалы.
Всегда учитывайте прогноз погоды и не пытайтесь совершить то, что превышает Ваши физические способности или состояние.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Taking to the slopes and exploring the natural beauty of Greece’s most modern ski resort

Зимние развлечения на горе Парнас

And where there are mountains, there’s mountain biking.

На горном велосипеде по склонам Дирфиса на острове Эвбея

The villages of Evritania overflow with everything magical about Central Greece

Тур по горным деревушкам региона Эвритания

You pass a couple of waterfalls and some plunge pools big enough to take a dip, especially refreshing in summer

Пешком к Чёрной пещере через ущелья Эвритании

Located above the temple of Apollo, the ancient theatre looks over the entire sanctuary and a valley of olive trees

Окунитесь в атмосферу одного из самых знаменитых археологических памятников во всём мире!

Taking to the slopes and exploring the natural beauty of Greece’s most modern ski resort

Зимние развлечения на горе Парнас

And where there are mountains, there’s mountain biking.

На горном велосипеде по склонам Дирфиса на острове Эвбея

Just the setting catapults this experience into once-in-a-lifetime territory, surrounded by the thick forest and gushing waters

Спуск по каньону реки Орлиас на горе Олимп

You pass a couple of waterfalls and some plunge pools big enough to take a dip, especially refreshing in summer

Пешком к Чёрной пещере через ущелья Эвритании

Sea kayaking offers a unique water-level appreciation of Zakynthos’ extraordinary Blue Caves

Морская прогулка к волшебным Голубым пещерам острова Закинф

The most popular uphill trail of Pelion mountain is the trail of Centaurs

По пешим тропкам горы Пилион

Exploring the beauty of Lake Kremaston by kayak
EXPERIENCE

Exploring the beauty of Lake Kremaston by kayak

Shutterstock/ by ollirg
If the idea of exploring the water-filled beauty of Central Greece appeals, then spending a day kayaking or canoeing on the fjord-like Lake Kremaston (just 1hr30min from Karpenisi and the villages of Evritania) is just for you.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
2 - 3 hrs
Season
April - October

OVERVIEW

Anyone who has experienced the alpine beauty and traditional villages of Evritania won’t be surprised to learn that it holds another secret, virtually unknown to an international audience. Lake Kremaston lies on the western border of Central Greece, below the Agrafa mountain range, and is an undisputed hidden gem of mainland Greece. Created by a 1960s hydroelectric project to dam four rivers (the Agrafioti, Acheloos, Tavropos and Krikeliotis), it is the country’s largest artificial lake and a place of wonderful natural beauty, ideal for exploring by canoe or kayak as a family or group of friends. 

More like a fjord than a lake, it is dotted with islets that appear or disappear depending on the water level and is surrounded by the pine trees and other greenery so characteristic of Evritania. The water is an intense shade of blue, reflecting the mood of the seasons. There are times you could mistake it for the sea, especially in the summer when it offers itself for a cooling swim.

Largely set between two bridges (Kremaston or Episkopis and Tatarnas), it is an 81km2 body of water so it’s best to join an organised tour. Your guide will tell you all about the rich biodiversity of a region that is part of the Natura 2000 network of environmentally protected biotopes.

You might also be taken up the Agrafiotis River, where you’ll find the Manolis Bridge, an arch of stones that united the banks of the river for more than 300 years. Unlike other old bridges (and some buildings) that were covered with water during the damming project, the Manolis bridge is either partially submerged or fully revealed depending on the time of your visit.

Read More Read Less
  • From Karpenisi, head towards the villages of Evritania or follow signs to the lake. Alternatively, make your way to your meeting point, if you’ve booked an organised tour. 
  • It is 55km (1hr30min) by road from Karpenisi to Kremaston (or Episkopis) Bridge.

To Karpenisi

From Athens

From Thessaloniki

  • By car: 321km (4hr)

Most organised excursions run from April to October when the weather conditions are best.

Each season is different at Lake Kremaston. Nature is most alive in spring, while the summers are best for swimming in the lake. The landscape becomes most atmospheric during autumn.

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • Most organised excursions last 2-3hrs 
  • It’s worth dedicating more time to the experience (half or even a whole day) to explore the gems within and around the lake.
     
  • Organised excursions include equipment and a light snack.
  • The experience is suitable for 6+ years old.
  • Don’t miss the opportunity to see the lake from the village of Fidakia (Tsangaralona viewpoint), where you’ll get the perfect Insta shot. There’s also a traditional taverna here, serving local delicacies.
  • It’s worth visiting the Tatarnas Monastery, just north of the lake, which contains heirlooms dating from the 13th century and gives you another fabulous view of the lake. 
  • You’ll find tavernas and other viewpoints around the lake, especially from the two bridges and the village of Agios Georgios. There are tavernas here specialising in grilled trout.

What to pack:

  • Karpenisi is the closest town, with a wide choice of accommodation and entertainment options.
  • There are plenty of hotels and guesthouses elsewhere in Evritania, including the villages of Megalo and Mikro Horio, Proussos, Koryschades.

Plan your trip

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

The charm of canoeing in Lake Kremaston is that it is a wild and unspoilt environment, so please help keep it that way.

Follow the safety instructions of your guide, including food and alcohol consumption before your experience.
Don’t forget to keep any rubbish with you until you reach a bin.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect the local environment by not disrupting the flora and fauna or removing rocks and other natural materials.
Always check the weather and don’t attempt anything that is beyond your abilities or physical condition.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
You pass a couple of waterfalls and some plunge pools big enough to take a dip, especially refreshing in summer

Hiking the Black Cave gorge in Evritania

The villages of Evritania overflow with everything magical about Central Greece

Village-hopping in the mountains of Evritania

Located above the temple of Apollo, the ancient theatre looks over the entire sanctuary and a valley of olive trees

Feel the aura of Delphi’s world-famous archaeological site

Just the setting catapults this experience into once-in-a-lifetime territory, surrounded by the thick forest and gushing waters

Canyoning the Orlias Gorge on Mt Olympus

You pass a couple of waterfalls and some plunge pools big enough to take a dip, especially refreshing in summer

Hiking the Black Cave gorge in Evritania

You pass along a deep gorge full of nature, admiring extraordinary-coloured water and plane trees

Rafting in the shadow of the extraordinary Meteora