Exploring the beauty of Lake Kremaston by kayak
EXPERIENCE

Découvrez la beauté du lac Kremasta en kayak

Shutterstock/ by ollirg
Si l'idée de découvrir la beauté marine de la Grèce centrale vous séduit, alors une journée en kayak ou en canoë sur le lac Kremasta aux allures d’un fjord est certainement faite pour vous (à seulement 1h30 de Karpenisi et des villages d'Eurytanie)
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
2 - 3 heures
Par saison
Avril - octobre

OVERVIEW

Tous ceux qui ont eu la chance de découvrir la beauté des montagnes et des villages traditionnels d'Eurytanie ne seraient pas surpris d'apprendre qu'elle recèle un autre secret, quasi inconnu du reste du monde. Le lac Kremasta, situé à la frontière occidentale de la Grèce centrale, sous la chaîne de montagnes d'Agrafa, est un joyau caché incontesté de la Grèce continentale. Créé par un projet hydroélectrique des années 1960 visant à endiguer quatre rivières (l'Agrafioti, l'Acheloos, le Tavropos et le Krikeliotis), c'est le plus grand lac artificiel du pays et un endroit d'une beauté naturelle exceptionnelle, idéal pour une exploration en canoë ou en kayak en famille ou en groupe d'amis.

Plus un fjord qu'un lac, il est parsemé d'îlots qui apparaissent ou disparaissent selon le niveau de l'eau et est entouré de pins et d'autres verdures si propres à Eurytanie. L'eau est d'un bleu intense qui reflète l'humeur des saisons. On pourrait parfois la confondre avec la mer, surtout en été, lorsqu'elle s'offre à la baignade rafraîchissante. 

Située en grande partie entre deux ponts (Kremasta ou Episkopis et Tatarnas), c'est un plan d'eau de 81 km2, il est donc préférable de rejoindre un circuit organisé. Votre guide vous expliquera la richesse de la biodiversité d'une région qui fait partie du réseau Natura 2000 de biotopes protégés par l'environnement.  

Vous pourrez également remonter la rivière Agrafiotis, où se trouve le pont Manolis, un arc de pierres qui unit les rives de la rivière depuis plus de 300 ans. Contrairement à d'autres vieux ponts (et à certains bâtiments) qui ont été recouverts d'eau lors du projet de barrage, le pont Manolis est soit partiellement submergé, soit entièrement dévoilé selon l'heure de votre visite.
 

Lire la suite Read Less
Done
Done
Done
Done
Accommodation

Levanta Hotel Megalo Chorio

Karpenissi

Surrounded by the lush forests of Evritania, Levanta is a traditionally built, with stone and wood, guesthouse, housing 10 elegant rooms with modern faciliti...

Official online rates

  • Depuis Karpenisi, dirigez-vous vers les villages d'Eurytanie ou suivez les indications pour le lac. Vous pouvez également vous rendre à votre point de rencontre, si vous avez réservé un circuit organisé. 
  • Il y a 55 km (1h30) de route entre Karpenisi et le pont du Kremasta (ou Episkopis).
     

A Karpenisi

Depuis Athènes

Depuis Thessalonique

  • Par voiture: 321km (4h)

La plupart des excursions organisées se déroulent d'avril à octobre, lorsque les conditions météorologiques sont favorables.

Chaque saison est différente au lac Kremasta. La nature est plus vivante au printemps, tandis que les étés sont les plus propices à la baignade dans le lac. C'est en automne que le paysage devient le plus atmosphérique.

  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver
  • La plupart des excursions organisées durent 2 à 3 heures 
  • Il vaut la peine de consacrer plus de temps à l'expérience (une demi-journée ou même une journée entière) pour découvrir les joyaux qui se trouvent dans et autour du lac.
  • Les excursions organisées comprennent l'équipement et une collation légère.
  • L'expérience est adaptée aux enfants de plus de 6 ans.
  • Ne manquez pas l'occasion de voir le lac depuis le village de Fidakia (point de vue de Tsangaralona), où vous pouvez prendre la parfaite photo pour Insta. Il y a également une taverne traditionnelle qui sert des délices locaux.
  • Le monastère des Tatarnas, situé juste au nord du lac, mérite d'être visité. Il contient des objets de famille datant du 13ème siècle et vous offre une autre vue fabuleuse sur le lac. 
  • Vous y trouverez des tavernes et d'autres points de vue autour du lac, notamment depuis les deux ponts et le village d'Agios Georgios. Vous y trouverez également des tavernes spécialisées dans la pêche à la truite grillée.

Que prendre:

  • Karpenisi est la ville la plus proche, avec un large choix de logements et d'options de divertissement.
  • Il existe de nombreux hôtels et pensions ailleurs en Eurytanie, notamment dans les villages de Megalo et MikroHorio, Proussos, Koryschades.
     

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Le charme du canoë sur le lac Kremasta est qu'il s'agit d'un environnement sauvage et préservé, aidez nous à le garder ainsi.

Suivez les consignes de sécurité de votre guide, notamment en ce qui concerne la consommation de nourriture et d'alcool avant votre expérience.
N'oubliez pas de garder vos poubelles avec vous jusqu'à ce que vous y trouviez une benne.
Utilisez une bouteille d'eau réutilisable pour minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Respectez l'environnement local en ne perturbant pas la flore et la faune et en n'enlevant pas les roches et autres matériaux naturels.
Vérifiez toujours la météo et ne vous aventurez pas dans des activités qui dépassent vos capacités ou votre condition physique.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Taking to the slopes and exploring the natural beauty of Greece’s most modern ski resort

Des sports d’hiver sur le mont Parnasse

The villages of Evritania overflow with everything magical about Central Greece

Le tour des villages dans les montagnes d’Eurytanie

You pass a couple of waterfalls and some plunge pools big enough to take a dip, especially refreshing in summer

Une randonnée aux gorges de la grotte noire en Eurytanie

Located above the temple of Apollo, the ancient theatre looks over the entire sanctuary and a valley of olive trees

Ressentez l'aura du site archéologique de Delphes de renommée mondiale

Samos aerial view

Du kayak de mer pour découvrir la magie de Samos

Taking to the slopes and exploring the natural beauty of Greece’s most modern ski resort

Des sports d’hiver sur le mont Parnasse

Just the setting catapults this experience into once-in-a-lifetime territory, surrounded by the thick forest and gushing waters

Faire du Canoë à la gorge d’Orlias au Mt Olympe

Exploring the beauty of Lake Kremaston by kayak
EXPERIENCE

Exploring the beauty of Lake Kremaston by kayak

Shutterstock/ by ollirg
If the idea of exploring the water-filled beauty of Central Greece appeals, then spending a day kayaking or canoeing on the fjord-like Lake Kremaston (just 1hr30min from Karpenisi and the villages of Evritania) is just for you.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
2 - 3 hrs
Season
April - October

OVERVIEW

Anyone who has experienced the alpine beauty and traditional villages of Evritania won’t be surprised to learn that it holds another secret, virtually unknown to an international audience. Lake Kremaston lies on the western border of Central Greece, below the Agrafa mountain range, and is an undisputed hidden gem of mainland Greece. Created by a 1960s hydroelectric project to dam four rivers (the Agrafioti, Acheloos, Tavropos and Krikeliotis), it is the country’s largest artificial lake and a place of wonderful natural beauty, ideal for exploring by canoe or kayak as a family or group of friends. 

More like a fjord than a lake, it is dotted with islets that appear or disappear depending on the water level and is surrounded by the pine trees and other greenery so characteristic of Evritania. The water is an intense shade of blue, reflecting the mood of the seasons. There are times you could mistake it for the sea, especially in the summer when it offers itself for a cooling swim.

Largely set between two bridges (Kremaston or Episkopis and Tatarnas), it is an 81km2 body of water so it’s best to join an organised tour. Your guide will tell you all about the rich biodiversity of a region that is part of the Natura 2000 network of environmentally protected biotopes.

You might also be taken up the Agrafiotis River, where you’ll find the Manolis Bridge, an arch of stones that united the banks of the river for more than 300 years. Unlike other old bridges (and some buildings) that were covered with water during the damming project, the Manolis bridge is either partially submerged or fully revealed depending on the time of your visit.

Read More Read Less
  • From Karpenisi, head towards the villages of Evritania or follow signs to the lake. Alternatively, make your way to your meeting point, if you’ve booked an organised tour. 
  • It is 55km (1hr30min) by road from Karpenisi to Kremaston (or Episkopis) Bridge.

To Karpenisi

From Athens

From Thessaloniki

  • By car: 321km (4hr)

Most organised excursions run from April to October when the weather conditions are best.

Each season is different at Lake Kremaston. Nature is most alive in spring, while the summers are best for swimming in the lake. The landscape becomes most atmospheric during autumn.

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • Most organised excursions last 2-3hrs 
  • It’s worth dedicating more time to the experience (half or even a whole day) to explore the gems within and around the lake.
     
  • Organised excursions include equipment and a light snack.
  • The experience is suitable for 6+ years old.
  • Don’t miss the opportunity to see the lake from the village of Fidakia (Tsangaralona viewpoint), where you’ll get the perfect Insta shot. There’s also a traditional taverna here, serving local delicacies.
  • It’s worth visiting the Tatarnas Monastery, just north of the lake, which contains heirlooms dating from the 13th century and gives you another fabulous view of the lake. 
  • You’ll find tavernas and other viewpoints around the lake, especially from the two bridges and the village of Agios Georgios. There are tavernas here specialising in grilled trout.

What to pack:

  • Karpenisi is the closest town, with a wide choice of accommodation and entertainment options.
  • There are plenty of hotels and guesthouses elsewhere in Evritania, including the villages of Megalo and Mikro Horio, Proussos, Koryschades.

Plan your trip

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

The charm of canoeing in Lake Kremaston is that it is a wild and unspoilt environment, so please help keep it that way.

Follow the safety instructions of your guide, including food and alcohol consumption before your experience.
Don’t forget to keep any rubbish with you until you reach a bin.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect the local environment by not disrupting the flora and fauna or removing rocks and other natural materials.
Always check the weather and don’t attempt anything that is beyond your abilities or physical condition.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
You pass a couple of waterfalls and some plunge pools big enough to take a dip, especially refreshing in summer

Hiking the Black Cave gorge in Evritania

The villages of Evritania overflow with everything magical about Central Greece

Village-hopping in the mountains of Evritania

Located above the temple of Apollo, the ancient theatre looks over the entire sanctuary and a valley of olive trees

Feel the aura of Delphi’s world-famous archaeological site

Just the setting catapults this experience into once-in-a-lifetime territory, surrounded by the thick forest and gushing waters

Canyoning the Orlias Gorge on Mt Olympus

You pass a couple of waterfalls and some plunge pools big enough to take a dip, especially refreshing in summer

Hiking the Black Cave gorge in Evritania

You pass along a deep gorge full of nature, admiring extraordinary-coloured water and plane trees

Rafting in the shadow of the extraordinary Meteora