5

5 RAISONS DE NE PAS MANQUER KAVALA

READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour manger une tranche de pastèque

Kavala est toute en mélanges inattendus : histoire et culture, monuments architecturaux et cours fleuries, plages organisées et trésors naturels. Il suffit de savoir où regarder.

Kavala ne dissimule pas ses secrets. Ils sont partout - dans les bâtiments, les monuments, les magasins, la nourriture, les sites archéologiques et les plages. Cachée au nord-est de la Grèce, cette ville côtière, qui mêle sans effort Orient et Occident, possède un don pour récompenser ses visiteurs. Aisément accessible en avion ou par la route, elle vous révélera un aspect bien différent de la Grèce.

Remontez le temps dans la vieille ville

La vieille ville de Kavala est passée maîtresse dans l'art des voyages temporels. Avec un charme naturel, le quartier de Panagia résume 2500 ans d'histoire. Les cultures se mêlent dans l'architecture, les demeures multicolores sont dotées de balcons en bois et de cours fleuries: vous en découvrirez plus à chaque pas dans les rues pavées. En montant à la forteresse perchée sur la colline (qui a appartenu aux Lombards, aux Francs, aux Byzantins et aux Ottomans), vous serez récompensé par une vue sublime sur la mer Égée. L'imaret, en contrebas, possède à juste titre un statut iconique. Construit au début du XIXe siècle comme présent pour sa ville natale par Mehmet Ali, fondateur de la dernière dynastie égyptienne, il a été rénové et transformé en hôtel - vous pourrez y manger ou y prendre un verre.

Les entrepôts de tabac vides ou rénovés sont également emblématiques - un souvenir de l'époque où Kavala était renommée en tant que grande exportatrice internationale de tabac, au début du XXe siècle. Il en va de même pour l'aqueduc voûté de Kamares, long de 270 mètres, autrefois essentiel à la ville. Enfin, votre visite ne sera pas complète sans une charmante promenade jusqu'au vieux phare. Quelle meilleure façon de terminer votre journée qu'avec une vue panoramique sur la mer et - par temps clair - sur Thassos.

Explorez un littoral de plages

Après cette marche, vous aurez bien mérité une journée à la plage. Il y a des endroits où bronzer partout le long de la côte, mais commençons à Nea Peramos, à une demi-heure de voiture, avec ses nombreux cafés, tavernes, hôtels et bien sûr, sa plage de sable animée. Quelques kilomètres plus loin, c'est encore mieux. La plage d'Ammolofi attire les baigneurs de très loin, et pour cause : avec ses 3 km de sable fin et ses eaux claires, elle répond à toutes les attentes. Elle est dotée d'ombre, de chaises longues et de bars de plage. Elle ressemble en fait à trois baies naturelles, ce qui vous permet de vous installer dans des endroits à l'écart et au calme. Enfin, dans la direction opposée, à 45 minutes à l'est de Kavala, se trouve Ammoglossa Keramotis, près de laquelle des bateaux démarrent pour Thassos à toute heure de la journée. Cette courbe exotique de sable bordé de pins se fond dans la mer Égée. L'eau peu profonde est idéale pour les familles.

Expérimentez des saveurs inoubliables

Le passé multiculturel de Kavala se reflète inévitablement dans ses saveurs. L'Orient rencontre l'Occident, le sucré se mêle au salé, les herbes aux épices... Tout y est, que vous dégustiez des plats traditionnels ou plus modernes. Vous adorerez les goûts d'ici, que vous préfériez les pilafs épicés ou les kourambiedes en forme de demi-lune (des biscuits aux amandes couverts de sucre glace). La région est connue pour ses petits producteurs et ses excellents produits, du miel aux fromages, en passant par le kiwi et l'asperge. Le poisson et la viande sont des aliments de base, étant donné l'environnement de Kavala. 23 domaines viticoles y produisent 99 sortes de vins. Vous vous verrez certainement offrir un ou deux verres pour déguster l'ouzo ou le tsipouro distillés sur place. 

Unearth the past in a single archaeological site

Philippi

Si vous souhaitez approfondir votre voyage dans le temps, rendez-vous à 25 minutes au nord de Kavala, à Philippes. Colonie établie par des habitants de Thasos en 360 av. J.-C., ville fortifiée fondée par l'un des rois les plus puissants de Macédoine, site d'une bataille romaine décisive, lieu où se rendit l'un des apôtres les plus importants des débuts du christianisme... Philippes a tout vu. Ce site est classé au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO ; vous pouvez le visiter, avec son musée et son théâtre. Tous tirent leur nom de la ville fondée par Philippe de Macédoine. Des pièces sont toujours jouées dans le théâtre en été. Le musée raconte l'histoire de la région, depuis les colons de Thassos jusqu'à la bataille romaine de Philippes en 42 av. J.-C., puis à l'arrivée de l'apôtre Paul, qui fonda la première église chrétienne en Europe en l'an 50.

N'oubliez pas d'emporter vos jumelles

La rivière de Nestos

Enfin, vous ne pouvez être à Kavala sans vous diriger à 28 km vers l'est, en direction du Nestos. Après 230 km, la rivière arrive dans son dernier tronçon - mais pas avant de sinuer dans un delta de zones humides, de lacs, de lagunes, de dunes de sable et d'estuaires. Protégée par Natura 2000 et la Convention de Ramsar, elle abrite une flore et une faune variées (300 espèces d'oiseaux, 11 espèces d'amphibiens, 21 espèces de reptiles, de nombreux mammifères et plusieurs sortes de plantes). Inutile de vous dire de prévoir vos jumelles ! Mieux encore : pourquoi ne pas louer un canoë ou un radeau pour du rafting ? Vous ne serez pas déçu !

Kavala: Une ville aux racines profondément multiculturelles

Kavala, c'est tout cela... Un mélange d'expériences, à l'image de l'histoire et de la vie d'une ville qui a tant à raconter ! Chaque mois lui apporte une lumière différente. Ses plages de sable et ses zones humides à la nature abondante sont prêtes à vous accueillir même hors des mois d'été, sans compter la vieille ville avec ses bâtiments et monuments toujours prêts à en révéler davantage.

Bonus: Ce n'est pas parce que vous découvrez une ville imprégnée d'histoire et de culture que vous ne pouvez pas aussi profiter d'une île grecque dans ce qu'elle a de meilleur. À 12 km à peine de l'aéroport de Kavala, se trouve le port de Keramoti, d'où vous pourrez vous rendre sur Thassos. Cette île, au nord du pays, est un véritable bijou. Sa côte est garnie de plages de sable et ses pentes émeraude sont dotées de villages pittoresques.

 Thassos: L'île émeraude du nord de l'Égée

 

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 destinations grecques incroyables à voir absolument

Giola lagoon the natural pool carved into the rock by the sea in Thassos

5 raisons de ne pas manquer Thassos

Multiple footpaths allow you to explore the countryside of Central greece

Top 5 (+1) des activités physiques en Grèce centrale

Snorkeling in the Blue Caves of Zakynthos

9 raisons d'aimer Zakynthos

10 conseils d'habitants pour visiter Samos

Vlacherna monastery and Pontikonisi in Corfu

Top 8 des choses à faire sur Corfou

Giola lagoon the natural pool carved into the rock by the sea in Thassos

5 raisons de ne pas manquer Thassos

Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Rafting & Canyoning: Destinations populaires en Grèce

Holidays in Greece: Agios Sostis in Zakynthos island

Vacances en Grèce: Les ingrédients pour un séjour idéal

Sunset in Posidi, Halkidiki

Halkidiki: Un mirage en med

Arbres aux feuilles dorées en automne à Valia Κalda

Vacances d’automne en Grèce

5

5 REASONS YOU SHOULDN’T MISS KAVALA

READING TIME
As long as it takes to eat a slice of watermelon

Kavala is all about unexpected blends: History and culture, architectural landmarks and flower-filled courtyards, organised beaches and natural treasures. You just need to know where to look.

Kavala doesn’t hide its secrets. They’re everywhere… in the buildings, monuments, shops, food, archaeological sites and beaches. Tucked away in northeastern Greece, it’s a seaside city that effortlessly blends east and west and has a knack of rewarding its visitors. Easily reached by plane or road, it will reveal to you a very different face of Greece.

Go time travelling in the Old Town

When it comes to time travel, the Old Town of Kavala is a past master. The district of Panagia squeezes in over 2,500 years of history with effortless charm. With culture-blending architecture and multicoloured mansions with wooden balconies and flower-filled courtyards, every step on its cobblestoned streets reveals more. Climbing to the hilltop fortress (variously ruled by the Lombards, Franks, Byzantines and Ottomans), you are rewarded with sublime views of the northern Aegean. Below you, the Imaret has rightly taken on iconic status. Built in the early 19th century by Mehmet Ali (founder of the last Egyptian dynasty) as a gift to his birthplace, it has been refurbished as a hotel where you can have a bite or a drink.

But no less emblematic are the empty or renovated tobacco warehouses (a remnant of Kavala’s early 20th fame as a major international tobacco exporter). The same goes for the Kamares, the 270m-long arched aqueduct that was once the city’s lifeline. And no stroll is complete with an able right along the promenade to the charming and on to the Old Lighthouse. What better way to end the day than with panoramic views of the sea and – on a clear day –  Thassos.

Explore a coastline of beaches

After all that walking, you’ve earned yourself a day on the beach. There are sunbathing spots right down the coast, but let’s start at Nea Peramos, around 30mins away by car, with its great collection of tavernas, cafes and hotels and, yes, a lively sandy beach. A few kilometres further along, it gets even better. Ammolofi Beach attracts sunbathers from far and wide – and with good reason. With 3km of fine sand and clear blue water, it ticks all the boxes and has sunbeds, shade and beach bars. In fact, it’s more like three natural bays, so you can spread out towards the quieter ends. And finally, in the opposite direction, 45mins east of Kavala, is Ammoglossa Keramotis, near where boats depart throughout the day for Thassos. This exotic curve of pine tree-fringed sand melts into the Aegean. The shallow water is ideal for families.

Spice up your life with tastes that stay with you

It wouldn’t be possible for Kavala’s multicultural past not to be represented in its tastes. East meets west, sweet meets savoury, spicy meets aromatic… It’s all there, whether you’re eating traditional food or something more modern. You’ll love the tastes here, whether you’re into spiced pilafs or half moon-shaped kourabiedes (almond-based biscuits covered with icing sugar). The region is well known for its small-scale producers and excellent products, from honey and a variety of cheeses to kiwi fruit and asparagus. From the surrounding and mountains, fish and meat are staples. And there are 23 wineries producing 99 types of wine. It goes without saying, of course, that you won’t be allowed to leave without being offered a glass or two of locally-distilled ouzo or tsipouro.

Unearth the past in a single archaeological site

Philippi

If it’s a deeper kind of time travel you’re after, then head 25mins north of Kavala to Philippi. A 360BC settlement of Thassian islanders, a fortified city founded by one of the most powerful kings of Macedonia, the site of a pivotal Roman battle and the location of one of the most important apostles of the early Christendom. Philippi saw it all. Now a UNESCO World Heritage Site, you can visit its Archaeological Site, Museum and Theatre – all named after the city created by Philip of Macedon. Plays are still staged in the theatre during the summer and the museum tells the story of the area, from the original settlers from Thassos to the 42 BC Roman battle of Philippi and the arrival of the Apostle Paul, who founded the first Christian Church on European territory in 50 AD.

Just don’t forget to pack your binoculars

Nestos River

Lastly, we couldn’t be here and not head 28km east of Kavala to the Nestos River which, after 230km enters its final stretch here – though not before meandering through a delta of wetlands, inland lakes, lagoons, sand dunes and estuaries. Protected by the Natura 2000 and the Ramsar Convention, it supports a wonderful variety of flora and fauna (300 bird species, 11 amphibian species, 21 reptile species and a large variety of mammals and plant life). Needless to say, pack a pair of binoculars. Better still, how about hiring a canoe or some gentle rafting? You won’t be disappointed.

Kavala: A city true to its deeply multicultural roots

So there we have it… Kavala, a blend of experiences reflecting the rich history and life of a city with a wonderful story to tell. Each month throws a different light on the city, with sandy beaches and nature-rich wetlands ready to greet you even beyond the high-summer months, and an old city with buildings and landmarks that stand ready to reveal all.

Bonus: Just because you’re discovering a city steeped in culture and history doesn’t mean you can’t also enjoy the best of Greek island life. Just 12km from Kavala airport is the port of Keramoti, from where you can hop over to Thassos. Greece’s northernmost island is an absolute gem, with a coastline of sandy beaches and an emerald-green mountainous interior with quaint villages.

Thassos: The emerald island in the Northern Aegean

Plan your trip

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
The peak of Mt Olympus

8 mythical experiences on Mt Olympus

Litohoro village is the starting point for day trips on the mountain

7 Olympian-sized reasons to discover Pieria

Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Popular destinations for rafting & canyoning

Favorite sunset spot-The Zongolopoulos Umbrellas

The 11 most popular experiences in Thessaloniki

Holidays in Greece: Agios Sostis in Zakynthos island

Getting started with a dream holiday in Greece

Sunset in Posidi, Halkidiki

Halkidiki, the Mirage in the Med

Nature… the true guardian of Mt Olympus

7 magical getaways just 60mins from Thessaloniki

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Meet the Cycladic escapes neighbouring Santorini

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 reasons to make you want to explore Karpathos

8 unforgettable highs and hidden depths in Kalymnos

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 reasons why Astypalea will be your favourite summer hangout

A little before you reach Koumaros, you pass Exomvourgo Castle, high up on a 640m conical hill

9 steps to uncovering the authenticity of Tinos