The old town of Kavala
EXPERIENCE

Erkundung der reichen Geschichte und Traditionen von Kavala

Von den kulturellen Einflüssen im Osten und Westen, den Bergen im Norden oder dem Meer im Süden - Kavala bietet den Besuchern eine berauschende Mischung von Erlebnissen, die sich am besten zu Fuß zeigen
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Dauer
Ganzen Tag
Nach Jahreszeit
Das ganze Jahr über

OVERVIEW

Kavala ist an der Kreuzung zwischen Ost und West in Nordgriechenland gebaut. Es war Neapel für die alten Griechen und Christoupolis für die Byzantiner und ist im Laufe der Zeit unter venezianischer und osmanischer Herrschaft vergangen. Die Römer erkannten ihre strategische Bedeutung und nahmen sie in ihre wichtige Handelsroute über Egnatia auf.

Es waren die Osmanen, die im 16. Jahrhundert nach der Zerstörung Kavalas am Ende der byzantinischen Herrschaft mit der Wiederherstellung der Infrastruktur begannen. Aber auch seine jüngere Geschichte als prosperierendes Zentrum des Tabakanbaus im späten 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhundert zeigt sich, insbesondere in den ehemaligen Tabaklagern.

Die Einflüsse dieser reichen Geschichte erzählt man auf den Straßen der Altstadt und darüber hinaus. Man hört es in der Architektur und spürt es im Willkommen einer wahrhaft multikulturellen Stadt. Und Sie können es im Essen probieren - die würzigen, süßen und pfeffrigen Einflüsse von Tabakhändlern, die von ihren Reisen oder Siedlern aus Kleinasien zurückgekehrt sind. Sie müssen den gewürzten Pilaw und natürlich die frischen Meeresfrüchte überall in der Stadt oder im kleinen Hafen von Sfageia, 10 Minuten vom Zentrum entfernt, probieren.

Mit Hügeln im Norden und der Ägäis im Süden hat Kavala die seltene Fähigkeit, einen Berg-und-Meer-Charme zu bieten. Ziehen Sie sich also bequeme Schuhe an und machen Sie sich auf den Weg.

Weiterlesen Read Less

DON'T MISS

Die Prager Altstadt

Bei einem Spaziergang durch die Altstadt - und insbesondere durch das Viertel Panagia - können Sie mühelos die 2.500-jährige Geschichte von Kavala miterleben. Ruhige asphaltierte Straßen, bunte Häuser mit Holzbalkonen und blumengeschmückte Innenhöfe ergänzen sich mit einem herrlichen Blick auf das Meer.

Kamares-Aquädukt

Das Gewölbte Aquädukt 270 m lang und 25 m hoch (am höchsten Punkt) war einst die Lebensader der Stadt und ist heute das Wahrzeichen der Stadt. Es war eines der Hauptwerke der bürgerlichen Infrastruktur der Osmanen und soll an derselben Stelle auf einem römischen Aquädukt errichtet worden sein. Es lieferte in den frühen Jahrzehnten des 20. Jahrhunderts das Stadtwasser.

Die Akropolis

Der Gipfel der Halbinsel, auf der sich der Panagia Bezirk der Altstadt befindet, wird von der Akropolis von Kavala dominiert, die im 15. Jahrhundert über einer byzantinischen Akropolis an derselben Stelle errichtet wurde. Sie diente als Festung zur Kontrolle der wichtigsten Handelsstraße und wurde im 2. Weltkrieg von Besatzungstruppen genutzt...Die Ansichten der Ägäis von hier sind erhaben.

L’ imaret

Das Imaret wurde Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts von Mehmet Ali (Gründer der letzten ägyptischen Dynastie) als Geschenk an seinen Geburtsort Kavala erbaut und diente den Osmanen als religiöse und pädagogische Einrichtung. Es wurde später in ein Museum umgewandelt und seitdem in ein Luxushotel umgebaut. Nehmen Sie sich Zeit, um die malerische Gegend mit ihren ausgezeichneten Tavernen zu erkunden.

Der alte Leuchtturm

Die Altstadt von Kavala schließt mit einem Besuch des alten Leuchtturms am Wasser ab - oder noch besser, wenn Sie die Stufen direkt unterhalb der Felsen von Panagia nehmen, wo Sie den Gerüchen und Geräuschen des Meeres näher kommen An einem guten Tag kann man bis zur Insel Thassos sehen.

Tabaklager und Museum

Es gibt viele leere und renovierte Tabaklager in der Hauptstadt, in denen stimmungsvolle Fotos entstehen. Unter denen, die Sie besuchen können, das Städtische Tabaklager ist eines der interessantesten, und wurde in einen kulturellen Ort angepasst. Es gibt auch die Tabaklager von Régie , das jetzt ein dreistöckiges Einkaufszentrum ist. Und das Tabakmuseum mit Artefakten und Archivdokumenten über den Anbau und die Produktion von Tabak und seine sozioökonomischen Auswirkungen auf Kavala.

Ein Spaziergang am Wasser

One of the simple pleasures of visiting Kavala is to take a stroll by the sea. From the Old Town, follow the waterfront all the way to the Faliro Park by the Archaeological Museum. As an extra tip, get yourself a box of half moon-shaped kourabiedes (icing sugar-coated almond confectionary), find a park bench overlooking the sea and nibble away.

Weiterlesen Read Less

Vom flughafen

  • Kavala kann zu jeder Jahreszeit besucht werden und bietet zu jeder Jahreszeit etwas anderes.
  • Die ideale Jahreszeit, um die Stadt und die umliegende Landschaft zu besuchen, ist Frühling und Sommer, wo Sie auch die Strände und sogar die Insel Thassos entdecken können.
  • Museen und kulturelle Stätten:

Tabakmuseum -Öffnungszeiten

  • Sommer (Juni-September): Montag-Freitag 8: 00-16: 00 Uhr, Donnerstag 17: 00-21: 00 Uhr, Samstag-Sonntag 10: 00-14: 00 Uhr
  • Winter (Oktober-Mai): Montag bis Freitag von 8 bis 16 Uhr, Samstag von 10 bis 14 Uhr
  • Tickets: 2 € (1 € ermäßigt)
  • Mehr Informationen
  • Herbst
  • Frühling
  • Sοmmer
  • Winter
  • Die Länge Ihres Spaziergangs liegt ganz bei Ihnen, aber die hier beschriebenen Attraktionen können leicht an einem Tag besichtigt werden.
  • Die meisten Hotels und Geschäfte befinden sich im Zentrum, sodass Sie genügend Zeit haben, die Stadt zu erkunden.

VERANTWORTUNGSVOLL REISEN

Versuchen wir, den Zauber der griechischen Dörfer, Kleinstädte und Städte für die künftigen Generationen zu bewahren.

Halten Sie die Straßen so sauber wie möglich, indem Sie die dafür vorgesehenen Abfalleimer verwenden, oder gegebenenfalls Ihren Müll mitnehmen und behalten, bis Sie einen Abfalleimer finden.
Benutzen Sie eine wiederauffüllbare Wasserflasche, um Ihren Kunststoffverbrauch zu minimieren.
Respektieren Sie die Kulturstätten und Überreste, und machen Sie keine Blitzlichtaufnahmen, wenn diese durch ein entsprechendes Schild verboten werden. Es ist zum Schutz der Denkmäler.
Versuchen Sie womöglich kleine, selbständige Familienunternehmen und lokale Produzenten zu unterstützen, indem Sie etwas Handgemachtes und Lokales nach Hause mitnehmen.
Respektieren Sie Pflanzen und Tiere.
Respektieren Sie die anderen Besucher und die Einheimischen.
Seien Sie neugierig und fragen Sie auf jeden Fall die Einheimischen nach Tipps.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·
The theatre was central to Philippi’s history

Eine Tour durch die archäologische Stätte von Philippi

Explore the footpaths up Mt Ipsarion

Die besten Wanderwege von Thassos entdecken

View of traditional tavern in Pythagoreio

Village-Hopping auf Samos, vom Berg bis hin zur Küste

View from Lycabetus hill in Athens

Füllen Sie Ihre Lungen mit den unerwarteten Grünflächen Athens

You know you’re in the heart of the Cyclades when you’re in Ermoupoli, the port-town of Syros

Ein Spaziergang durch das bunte Ermoupoli auf Syros

Idyllic landscape of Kalamata's Marina at sunset

Ein Spaziergang durch die aufstrebende Stadt von Kalamata

The old town of Kavala
EXPERIENCE

Exploring the rich history and traditions of Kavala

In whichever direction you look – to the cultural influences to the east and west, the mountains to the north or the sea to the south – Kavala offers visitors an intoxicating mix of experiences that are best revealed on foot.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Full day
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

A city by name but a town by look and feel, Kavala is built at the crossroads between East and West in northern Greece. It was Neapolis to the Ancient Greeks and Christoupolis to the Byzantines, and has over time passed under Venetian and Ottoman rule. The Romans, meanwhile, understood its strategic importance and included it along their all-important Via Egnatia trade route. 

It was the Ottomans who began to restore Kavala’s infrastructure in the 16th century, after its destruction at the end of Byzantine rule. But so too is its more recent history as a prosperous tobacco-growing centre in the late 19th and early 20th century evident, notably in the former tobacco warehouses. 

The influences of this rich history are narrated as you walk the streets of the Old Town and beyond. You can hear it in the architecture and feel it in the welcome of a truly multi-cultural city. And you can taste it in the food – the spiced, sweet and peppery influences of tobacco merchants returning from their travels or settlers from Asia Minor. You have to try the spiced pilaf and, of course, the fresh seafood anywhere in the city or in the little port of Sfageia, 10mins from the centre.

With hills to the north and the Aegean Sea to the south, Kavala has the rare ability to offer a mountain-and-sea charm. So put on a comfortable pair of shoes and prepare to set out. 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

The Old Town 

A stroll around the Old Town – and particularly the district of Panagia – allows you to witness Kavala’s 2,500 years of history effortlessly. Quiet cobblestone roads, multi-coloured houses with wooden balconies, and flower-filled courtyards are supplemented by wonderful sea views.

The Kamares Aqueduct

The 270m long and 25m tall (at its highest point) arched aqueduct was once the town’s lifeline and is now its principal landmark. It was one of the major civic infrastructure works of the Ottomans and is believed to have been built on a Roman aqueduct on the same spot. It supplied the city’s water into the early decades of the 20th century.

The Acropolis 

The peak of the peninsula on which the Old Town’s Panagia district is built is dominated by the Acropolis of Kavala, constructed in the 15th century over a Byzantine acropolis on the same spot. It served as a fortress to control the all-important trade route and was used as recently as the 2nd World War by occupying forces. The views of the Aegean from here are sublime.

The Imaret

Built in the early 19th century by Mehmet Ali (founder of the last Egyptian dynasty) as a gift to his birthplace, Kavala, the Imaret served as a religious and educational institution for the Ottomans. It was later turned into a museum and has since been refurbished into luxury hotel. Take your time to explore the picturesque neighborhood, which has excellent tavernas.

The Old Lighthouse

No stroll around Kavala’s Old Town is complete with visiting the Old Lighthouse at the waterfront – or better still, taking the steps immediately below it onto the Rocks of Panagia, where you get closer to the smells and sounds of the sea. On a good day, you can see all the way to the island of Thassos.

Tobacco Warehouses and Museum

There are plenty of empty and renovated tobacco warehouses in the main town that never fail to produce atmospheric photos. Of those you can visit, the Municipal Tobacco Warehouse is one of the most interesting, having been adapted into a cultural venue. There is also the Régie Tobacco Warehouse, which is now a three-storey shopping mall. And the Tobacco Museum, with artefacts and archive material on the cultivation and production of tobacco and its socio-economic impact on Kavala.

A waterfront stroll 

One of the simple pleasures of visiting Kavala is to take a stroll by the sea. From the Old Town, follow the waterfront all the way to the Faliro Park by the Archaeological Museum. As an extra tip, get yourself a box of half moon-shaped kourabiedes (icing sugar-coated almond confectionary), find a park bench overlooking the sea and nibble away.

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

From the airport

  • By car or taxi: 31km (30 mins)
  • By bus: More Info 
     
  • Kavala can be visited at any time of year, with every season offering something different.
  • The ideal seasons to visit the city and surrounding countryside are spring and summer, when you can also discover the beaches and even the island of Thassos.
  • Museums and cultural sites:

Tobacco Museum - Opening times

  • Summer (June-September): Monday-Friday 8:00-16:00, Thursday 17:00-21:00, Saturday-Sunday 10:00-14:00 
  • Winter (October-May): Monday-Friday 8:00-16:00, Saturday 10:00-14:00
  • Tickets: €2 (€1 reduced) 
  • More Information
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • The length of your walk is entirely up to you, but the attractions described here can easily be done in one day.  
  • Most of the hotels and shops are in the centre, so you’ll have plenty of time to explore.

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages, towns and cities alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect the cultural monuments and relics and don’t use flash photography if there’s a sign forbidding it. It’s to protect the relics.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
Respect the plants and animals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
The theatre was central to Philippi’s history

A tour of the archaeological site of Philippi

Explore the footpaths up Mt Ipsarion

Explore the best hiking paths of Thassos

View from Lycabetus hill in Athens

Fill your lungs with the unexpected green spaces of Athens

If there’s a city that’s become synonymous with nightlife and entertainment, this is Thessaloniki

The best of Thessaloniki’s legendary nightlife scene

View of traditional tavern in Pythagoreio

Village-hopping in Samos, from mountain to coast