Night view of Kavala's Acropolis, Old Town and Kamares
EXPERIENCE

Une promenade à la découverte de Kavala

Influences culturelles à l’est et à l’ouest, montagnes au nord, mer au sud... Où que l'on pose le regard, Kavala offre un mélange grisant d’expériences, dont on profite encore mieux à pieds.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
Toute la journée
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

Grande ville de nom, mais à l'aspect et à l'atmosphère d'une petite ville, Kavala est construite au carrefour entre l’est et l’ouest, dans le nord de la Grèce. Neapolis pour les Grecs de l’Antiquité, Christoupolis pour les Byzantins, elle a aussi connu les dominations vénitienne et ottomane. Les Romains avaient compris son intérêt stratégique et l’avaient incluse dans la Via Egnatia, leur importante route commerciale.

Ce sont les Ottomans qui ont commencé à restaurer ses infrastructures au XVIe siècle, après sa destruction sous la fin de la domination byzantine. Son histoire plus récente est également bien visible : Kavala était, à la fin du XIXe et au début du XXe siècle, un centre prospère de culture du tabac, ce qui se voit notamment dans ses anciens entrepôts de tabac.

En marchant dans les rues de la vieille ville et au-delà, on observe les influences de cette riche histoire, narrée partout. On l'entend dans l’architecture, on la sent dans l’accueil d’une cité vraiment multiculturelle... Et on la déguste aussi, avec toutes ces influences épicées, sucrées et poivrées des marchands de tabac qui revenaient de leurs voyages ou des colons d’Asie Mineure. Goûtez le pilaf épicé et le poisson frais, servi partout dans la ville ou bien dans le petit port de Sfageia, à 10 minutes du centre.

Avec ses collines au nord et la mer Egée au sud, Kavala possède un charme rare, à la fois montagnard et marin. Enfilez donc une paire de chaussures confortables et en route pour l'évasion!

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

La vieille ville

En vous promenant dans la vieille ville, et plus particulièrement dans le quartier de Panagia, vous aurez sans effort un aperçu des 2500 ans d’histoire de Kavala. Les tranquilles rues pavées, les maisons multicolores avec leurs balcons en bois et les cours fleuries sont complétées par une vue magnifique sur la mer.

L’aqueduc de Kamares

Cet aqueduc voûté, long de 270 mètres et haut de 25 mètres à son point le plus élevé, était autrefois essentiel à la ville. Aujourd'hui, il est devenu son monument principal. Ce fut l’une des infrastructures civiles majeures réalisées par les Ottomans. On pense qu’il a été construit sur un aqueduc romain qui se situait au même endroit. Il fournissait de l’eau à la ville durant les premières décennies du XXe siècle.

L’acropole

Le sommet de la péninsule sur laquelle a été construit le quartier de Panagia, dans la vieille ville, est dominé par l’acropole de Kavala, construite au XVe siècle sur une acropole byzantine. Elle a servi de forteresse pour contrôler l’importante route commerciale ; plus récemment, elle a été utilisée par l'occupation durant la deuxième guerre mondiale. Les vues sur la mer Egée y sont sublimes.

L’imaret

Construit au début du XIXe siècle par Mehmet Ali – le fondateur de la dernière dynastie égyptienne – comme présent pour sa ville natale, Kavala, l’imaret a servi aux Ottomans d’institution religieuse et éducative. Il a ensuite été transformé en musée, puis rénové pour devenir un hôtel de luxe. Prenez votre temps pour explorer le quartier pittoresque, qui possède d'excellentes tavernes.

Le vieux phare

Impossible de faire une promenade complète dans Kavala sans visiter le vieux phare au bord de l'eau. Mieux encore, vous pouvez emprunter l’escalier à ses pieds, sur les rochers de Panagia, où vous serez plus près des odeurs et des bruits de la mer. Par une belle journée, on peut voir jusqu’à l’île de Thassos.

Les entrepôts et le musée du tabac

Il y a dans la ville plusieurs entrepôts vides et rénovés, qui ne manquent jamais de donner des photos à l'atmosphère particulière. Certains peuvent être visités ; parmi eux, l’entrepôt de tabac municipal est l’un des plus intéressants. Il est devenu un endroit culturel. Il y a aussi l’entrepôt de tabac « Régie », aujourd’hui un centre commercial à trois étages. Citons également le musée du tabac, qui présente des objets et des documents d'archives sur la culture et la production du tabac, ainsi que sur son impact économique à Kavala.

Une promenade en bord de mer

L’un des plaisirs simples quand on visite Kavala est de se promener au bord de la mer. Depuis la vieille ville, suivez le rivage jusqu’au parc Faliro, près du musée archéologique. Petit conseil supplémentaire : prenez-vous une boîte de kourambiedes (sablés aux amandes en forme de demi-lunes, enrobés de sucre), trouvez-vous un banc avec vue sur la mer et grignotez…

Lire la suite Read Less

Depuis l’aéroport

  • On peut visiter Kavala à toute période de l’année. Chaque saison a quelque chose de différent à offrir.
  • Les saisons idéales pour visiter la ville et la campagne environnante sont le printemps et l’été, lorsqu'on peut aussi découvrir les plages, voire l’île de Thassos.
  • Musées et sites culturels:

Le musée du tabac - Horaires

  • En été (de juin à septembre) : du lundi au vendredi de 8h à 16h, le jeudi de 17h à 21h, le samedi et le dimanche de 10h à 14h.
  • En hiver (d’octobre à mai) : du lundi au vendredi de 8h à 16h, le samedi de 10h à 14h.
  • Prix d'entrée : 2€ (1€ pour les tarifs réduits)
  • Plus d’informations
  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver
  • La longueur de votre promenade dépend de ce que vous voulez faire, mais les lieux mentionnés ci-dessus peuvent aisément être vus en une journée.
  • La plupart des hôtels et des magasins se situent dans le centre. Vous aurez donc beaucoup de temps pour découvrir la ville.

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Veillons tous à préserver la magie des villages, des villes et des cités grecs pour les générations à venir.

Gardez les rues propres en utilisant les poubelles mises à votre disposition et en cas de besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Utilisez une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Respectez les monuments culturels et les reliques. N’utilisez pas de flash si vous voyez une pancarte qui l’interdit.
Soutenez les petites boutiques familiales et les producteurs locaux en choisissant un souvenir local fait main.
Respectez les plantes et les animaux.
Ayez l’esprit curieux et n’hésitez pas à demander des bons plans aux habitants.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

The old town of Kavala
EXPERIENCE

Exploring the rich history and traditions of Kavala

In whichever direction you look – to the cultural influences to the east and west, the mountains to the north or the sea to the south – Kavala offers visitors an intoxicating mix of experiences that are best revealed on foot.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Full day
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

A city by name but a town by look and feel, Kavala is built at the crossroads between East and West in northern Greece. It was Neapolis to the Ancient Greeks and Christoupolis to the Byzantines, and has over time passed under Venetian and Ottoman rule. The Romans, meanwhile, understood its strategic importance and included it along their all-important Via Egnatia trade route. 

It was the Ottomans who began to restore Kavala’s infrastructure in the 16th century, after its destruction at the end of Byzantine rule. But so too is its more recent history as a prosperous tobacco-growing centre in the late 19th and early 20th century evident, notably in the former tobacco warehouses. 

The influences of this rich history are narrated as you walk the streets of the Old Town and beyond. You can hear it in the architecture and feel it in the welcome of a truly multi-cultural city. And you can taste it in the food – the spiced, sweet and peppery influences of tobacco merchants returning from their travels or settlers from Asia Minor. You have to try the spiced pilaf and, of course, the fresh seafood anywhere in the city or in the little port of Sfageia, 10mins from the centre.

With hills to the north and the Aegean Sea to the south, Kavala has the rare ability to offer a mountain-and-sea charm. So put on a comfortable pair of shoes and prepare to set out. 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

The Old Town 

A stroll around the Old Town – and particularly the district of Panagia – allows you to witness Kavala’s 2,500 years of history effortlessly. Quiet cobblestone roads, multi-coloured houses with wooden balconies, and flower-filled courtyards are supplemented by wonderful sea views.

The Kamares Aqueduct

The 270m long and 25m tall (at its highest point) arched aqueduct was once the town’s lifeline and is now its principal landmark. It was one of the major civic infrastructure works of the Ottomans and is believed to have been built on a Roman aqueduct on the same spot. It supplied the city’s water into the early decades of the 20th century.

The Acropolis 

The peak of the peninsula on which the Old Town’s Panagia district is built is dominated by the Acropolis of Kavala, constructed in the 15th century over a Byzantine acropolis on the same spot. It served as a fortress to control the all-important trade route and was used as recently as the 2nd World War by occupying forces. The views of the Aegean from here are sublime.

The Imaret

Built in the early 19th century by Mehmet Ali (founder of the last Egyptian dynasty) as a gift to his birthplace, Kavala, the Imaret served as a religious and educational institution for the Ottomans. It was later turned into a museum and has since been refurbished into luxury hotel. Take your time to explore the picturesque neighborhood, which has excellent tavernas.

The Old Lighthouse

No stroll around Kavala’s Old Town is complete with visiting the Old Lighthouse at the waterfront – or better still, taking the steps immediately below it onto the Rocks of Panagia, where you get closer to the smells and sounds of the sea. On a good day, you can see all the way to the island of Thassos.

Tobacco Warehouses and Museum

There are plenty of empty and renovated tobacco warehouses in the main town that never fail to produce atmospheric photos. Of those you can visit, the Municipal Tobacco Warehouse is one of the most interesting, having been adapted into a cultural venue. There is also the Régie Tobacco Warehouse, which is now a three-storey shopping mall. And the Tobacco Museum, with artefacts and archive material on the cultivation and production of tobacco and its socio-economic impact on Kavala.

A waterfront stroll 

One of the simple pleasures of visiting Kavala is to take a stroll by the sea. From the Old Town, follow the waterfront all the way to the Faliro Park by the Archaeological Museum. As an extra tip, get yourself a box of half moon-shaped kourabiedes (icing sugar-coated almond confectionary), find a park bench overlooking the sea and nibble away.

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

From the airport

  • By car or taxi: 31km (30 mins)
  • By bus: More Info 
     
  • Kavala can be visited at any time of year, with every season offering something different.
  • The ideal seasons to visit the city and surrounding countryside are spring and summer, when you can also discover the beaches and even the island of Thassos.
  • Museums and cultural sites:

Tobacco Museum - Opening times

  • Summer (June-September): Monday-Friday 8:00-16:00, Thursday 17:00-21:00, Saturday-Sunday 10:00-14:00 
  • Winter (October-May): Monday-Friday 8:00-16:00, Saturday 10:00-14:00
  • Tickets: €2 (€1 reduced) 
  • More Information
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • The length of your walk is entirely up to you, but the attractions described here can easily be done in one day.  
  • Most of the hotels and shops are in the centre, so you’ll have plenty of time to explore.

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages, towns and cities alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect the cultural monuments and relics and don’t use flash photography if there’s a sign forbidding it. It’s to protect the relics.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
Respect the plants and animals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
The theatre was central to Philippi’s history

A tour of the archaeological site of Philippi

Explore the footpaths up Mt Ipsarion

Explore the best hiking paths of Thassos

View from Lycabetus hill in Athens

Fill your lungs with the unexpected green spaces of Athens

If there’s a city that’s become synonymous with nightlife and entertainment, this is Thessaloniki

The best of Thessaloniki’s legendary nightlife scene

View of traditional tavern in Pythagoreio

Village-hopping in Samos, from mountain to coast