Heute
10°
WED
THU
10°
FRI
13°
SAT
13°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Burgen, Olivenhaine und Strände, ein versteinerter Wald und vogelreiche Feuchtgebiete im Land des Ouzo

Sie befindet sich im Nordosten der Ägäis zwischen Anatolien und dem Westen liegt die Geburtsstätte der Dichter Sappho und Alkaios, des naiven Malers Theophilos und des Romanciers Myrivilis. Die drittgrößte Insel Griechenlands am Rande des Mittelmeeres besitzt eine seltene, natürliche Schönheit, architektonische Wunder, einen versteinerten Wald und eine mittelalterliche Festungsstadt. Olivenbäume prägen das Landschaftsbild der Insel, in die sich zwei tiefe, fast geschlossene, fischreiche Buchten einkerben.

Weitere Attraktionen sind die lebendigen, traditionellen Dörfer und endlosen Strände. Besichtigen Sie eine Ouzo-Destillerie und probieren Sie exquisite Köstlichkeiten, begleitet von einem Schluck Ouzo. Das sind nur einige der Besonderheiten, die Sie auf dieser faszinierenden Insel erwarten, die der Nobelpreisträger Odysseas Elytis mit einem „Platanenblatt, das jemand ins Meer warf“ verglichen hat.

Besichtigen Sie auf Lesvos

Einmal rund um Lesbos

Starten Sie die Tour in Mytilini, dem wichtigsten Hafen und der größten Stadt. Von dort aus geht es zur Nordküste, nach Molivos und Petra. Dann fahren Sie nach Westen zum Eressos und Sigri, um den versteinerten Wald zu sehen, bevor Sie nach Süden bis Plomari aufmachen, wo die Ouzo-Destillerien sind, und vollenden Ihren Besuch im Bergdorf Agiassos. Das sind ein paar der schönsten Seiten von Lesbos, aber für die Strände, Vogelschutzgebiete, Meeresfrüchte und Spas brauchen Sie dann noch ein bisschen mehr Zeit. Bewundern Sie ein paar der schönsten Ausblicke der Ägäis.

Mytilini. Das Kultur-und Handelszentrumb

Die wahre Hauptstadt von Lesbos und ein Besuchermagnet in der östlichen Ägäis ist Mytilini. Stattliche, alte Gebäude reihen sich entlang der Uferpromenade mit der eindrucksvollen Kirche von Agios Therapon als Herzstück. All dies wird von der franko - byzantinischen Burg gekrönt, die sich aus einem Pinienwald auf dem Hügel erhebt.

Als Drehscheibe des kulturellen und geschäftlichen Lebens der Insel gibt es in Mytilini viel zu tun: ob ein Besuch im antiken Theater, in den osmanischen Bädern, der Moschee oder ein Spaziergang durch die Straßen mit wunderschönen, neoklassizistischen Gebäuden, die mit einem anatolischen Touch gebaut wurden, oder ein Ausflug in das archäologische Museum, die Teriade-Sammlung moderner Meister, das Theophilos -Museum, in Bibliotheken, Galerien und Ausstellungen. Langweilig wird es hier nicht.

Molivos, die Burg an der Ägäis

Die schöne, mittelalterliche Festungsstadt kann es mit vielen europäischen Burgen aufnehmen, ebenso eindrucksvoll in Griechenland ist nur Monemvasia im Peloponnes. Die Häuser sind sicher an einer steilen Felswand gebaut, mit Blick auf das Mittelmeer. Die Struktur und das Aussehen der Stadt und ihrer Burg aus dem 13. Jahrhundert blieben im Laufe der Jahrhunderte unverändert. Auf einem Spaziergang die Gassen herunter reihen sich wunderbare Steinhäuser und Villen im anatolischen Stil mit bunten Türen und Fenstern, geschlossenen Holzbalkonen sowie eleganten, türkischen Brunnen.

Der versteinerte Wald, ein seltenes Phänomen

Es gibt nur sehr wenige Orte auf der Welt, wo man versteinerte Bäume sehen kann, die vor Millionen von Jahren lebten. Nehmen Sie sich Zeit, um den „Park“, der 1985 zum geschützten Naturdenkmal erklärt wurde, und das angrenzende Museum, wo Sie mehr über die faszinierende Geologie der Insel erfahren können, zu besuchen.

Die Muse der Kunst und der Literatur

Im Laufe der Jahrhunderte hat Lesbos eine erstaunliche Reihe an brillanten Intellektuellen hervorgebracht: Arion, Terpander, Theophrast, Alkaios und Sappho aus der Antike; inspiriert wurden auch Theophilos, die Romanciers Ilias Venezis und Stratis Myrivilis, der Künstler Georgios Iakovidis, der Kunstkritiker und Verleger Teriade und sogar der Nobelpreisträger Odysseas Elytis  wird als Sohn der Insel gefeiert. Eine Sehenswürdigkeit die Sie auf gar keinen Fall auf Ihrem Urlaub verpassen sollten.

Versteckte Juwelen auf Lesvos

Die Kalloni-Feuchtgebiete,  ein Paradies für Ornithologen

Mehr als 252 Vogelarten finden Zuflucht in den Feuchtgebieten von Kalloni. Das Gebiet  gehört zu Europas zehn wichtigsten Lebensräumen für Artenvielfalt und -schutz von Vögeln.

Die Thermalquellen von Eftalous

Auf dieser Inse in der nord Ägäis werden Wunder wahr... Zwischen den von Unterholz überwachsenen Felsen – geologischen Skulpturen aus dem Meer – liegen die Thermalquellen von Eftalous. Das Wasser steigt aus unterirdischen Quellen bei einer Temperatur von 43.6-46.5 °C  hervor und soll therapeutische Kräfte haben. 

Das Stieropfer

Ein heidnisches Überbleibsel aus alten Zeiten. Dieses Ritual findet im Dorf Agia Paraskevi jedes Jahr im Juli statt. Ein gesunder Stier wird mit Blumenkränzen und Verzierungen geschmückt, bevor er geopfert und dann zubereitet und gegessen wird. Die Feierlichkeiten mit Reiterparaden und Tänzen dauern drei Tage.

Panoramic view of Mytilene town in Lesvos island

Erleben Sie das Beste von Lesvos

Look out for the largest petrified tree trunk, with a circumference of 13.7m

Lassen Sie die Zeit still stehen, im versteinerten Wald von Lesbos

Entdecken Sie die Überreste eines alten Ökosystems, das einst auf Lesbos aufblühte und heute einen der größten versteinerten Wälder der Welt darstellt.
A crystal clear liquid is poured into a glass and in drops an ice cube, instantly emitting magical swirls of white

Probieren Sie die Ouzo-Tradition von Plomari

Um die Geheimnisse der Ouzo-Herstellung von Lesvos zu entdecken, bedeutet, den Herzschlag des legendären griechischen Sommers abzuhören.
  • Einmal rund um Lesbos
  • Molivos, die Burg an der Ägäis
  • Der versteinerte Wald, ein seltenes Phänomen
  • Die Kalloni-Feuchtgebiete, ein Paradies für Ornithologen
  • Die Thermalquellen von Eftalou
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Aerial view of the Old stone bridge in Klidonia Zagoria in the autumn, Epirus, Western Greece. This arch bridge with elongated arch built in 1853.

Natur

Griechenlands Natur hat Reize zu jeder Jahreszeit
Strolling around in Molyvos town, Lesvos

Die 10 schönsten erlebnisse auf Lesvos

Authentische Eindrücke, Gerüche und Aromen schenken Ihnen den schönsten Urlaub Ihres Lebens.
Zante - Zakynthos

Endloser Griechischer sommer

Die griechischen Inseln und das Festland Griechenlands sorgen für unvergessliche Sommererlebnisse

Lesvos

A symphony of culture, food and natural beauty
Molyvos, a castle town overwatching the Aegean Sea
Today
16°
WED
14°
THU
14°
FRI
14°
SAT
15°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
With castles, noble mansions, olive groves and countless beaches, Lesvos – the North Aegean island famous as the home of ouzo and a world-famous petrified forest – is one of the most welcoming holiday spots in Greece.

Situated in the North Aegean, Lesvos was the birthplace of the poets Sappho and Alcaeus, the naïf painter Theophilos and the novelist Myrivilis. Greece’s third-largest island possesses a rare natural beauty, architectural marvels, a petrified forest, medieval fortress towns and a Mediterranean climate. Olive trees carpet much of its landmass, which is indented by two deep, almost closed, fish-filled bays.

Other attractions on Lesvos include lively traditional villages, beaches that stretch for miles, ouzo distilleries to visit and exquisite delicacies to accompany your drink. These are just some of the treats awaiting you on fascinating Lesvos, the island that Nobel laureate Odysseas Elytis compared to a “plane-tree leaf that someone threw into the sea”.
 

What to do on Lesvos island

Circumnavigate the island for a first taste of Lesvos

Start your visit at Mytilini, the main port and biggest town of Lesvos, and from there cross to the northeast coast to check out Molyvos and Petra. Then head west to Eressos and Sigri, to see the petrified forest, before moving south to Plomari, where the ouzo factories are, and swinging inland to the mountain village of Agiassos. That’s Lesvos in a nutshell but we’ve left out the beaches, the spas, birdwatching in the wetlands, the long leisurely feasts of local seafood and some of the most breathtaking views in the Aegean.

Sample the ouzo tradition of Plomari

 

Discover the cultural and commercial hub of Lesvos

The true capital of Lesvos and a magnet for visitors in the North Aegean, Mytilini displays its handsome old buildings along the waterfront with the impressive church of Agios Therapon as the centrepiece. All of this is crowned by the Franko-Byzantine castle rising out of pinewood on the hill behind. 

As the hub of Lesvos’ cultural and business life, Mytilini offers a myriad ways to spend your time. Admire sights like the ancient theatre, the Ottoman baths or the mosque. Explore streets lined with wonderful neoclassical buildings with an Anatolian flavour. And track down rare treasures in the Archaeological Museum, the Teriade collection of modern masters and the Theophilos museum, as well as libraries, galleries and folklore exhibitions.
 

Marvel at the castle town of Molyvos

Molyvos can rival the most beautiful medieval fortress towns in Europe, while its only peer in Greece is Monemvasia, in the Peloponnese. And like it, its houses grasp onto the sides of a steep rock while turning their gaze to the Mediterranean. The structure and layout of the town and its 13th-century Genoese castle have remained unchanged over the course of centuries. As you stroll up and down its alleyways, note the stone houses and the Anatolian-style mansions with their brightly coloured doors and windows and enclosed wooden balconies, as well as the elegant Turkish fountains scattered throughout.
 

Learn about the fascinating Petrified Forest

One of the undoubted highlights of Lesvos and one of the very few places in the world where you can see trees lying where they fell millions of years ago. Take the time to visit the ‘park’, which was declared a Protected Natural Monument in 1985, and the adjacent museum, where you’ll learn about the island’s intriguing geology. 

Make time stand still in Lesvos’ Petrified Forest 


Be introduced to the muse of the arts and letters

Over the centuries, Lesvos has produced an astounding number of brilliant Greek intellectuals. Starting with Arion, Terpander, Theophrastos, Alcaeus and Sappho in antiquity, it also inspired Theophilos, novelists Ilias Venezis and Stratis Myrivilis, artist Georgios Iakovidis, art critic and publisher Teriade, and even claims Nobel laureate Odysseas Elytis as a native son.
 

Hidden gems of Lesvos island

Birdwatching at the Kalloni wetlands

More than 252 species of birds find refuge in Lesvos’ Kalloni wetlands. Not surprisingly, it ranks among Europe’s ten most important habitats for avian diversity and rarity.

 

Relaxing at the thermal springs of Eftalous

Between the brushwood-covered rocks – geological sculptures emerging from the sea – can be found the thermal waters of Eftalous. The water from the spring emerges from underwater springs at a temperature of 43.6-46.5 degrees Celsius and is renowned for its therapeutic properties.
 

Witnessing the sacrifice of the bull

A pagan throwback to ancient times, this island ritual is still enacted every July in the village of Agia Paraskevi. A healthy bull is decorated with wreaths of flowers and finery before being sacrificed and then cooked and eaten, amid parades on horseback, dancing and feasting for three days.

Read More Read Less

Experience the best of Lesvos

A crystal clear liquid is poured into a glass and in drops an ice cube, instantly emitting magical swirls of white

Sampling the ouzo tradition of Plomari

Look out for the largest petrified tree trunk, with a circumference of 13.7m

Make time stand still at the petrified forest of Lesvos

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Accommodation

Heliades Maisonettes

Lesvos

Heliades comprises of four 80 sq. meter townhomes and one 45 sq. meter one-bedroom apartment. All units offer views on the sea. Two townhomes and...

Official online rates

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
When in Telendos, you must visit the family-owned tavernas where a fresh catch of seafood comes in every morning

Greek Spirits Guide: Everything you need to know about ouzo

Learn everything you need to know about ouzo, Greece’s national drink: how it’s drunk, how it’s made, why it turns milky-white when you add water to it and why it tastes of Greek summer!
Aerial view of the Old stone bridge in Klidonia Zagoria in the autumn, Epirus, Western Greece. This arch bridge with elongated arch built in 1853.

Nature

Exploring Greece’s rich natural tapestry
Strolling around in Molyvos town, Lesvos

The 10 best experiences in Lesvos

The fragrances, flavours and ever-changing scenery of Lesvos provide the backdrop to unforgettable holidays in the North Aegean.