Leonidas Giannakopoulos - Eternal traveler, Metaxourgeio
COVER STORY

Где найти лушее уличное искусство в Афинах?

By Awesome Athens Experiences
READING TIME
За чашечкой греческого кофе

Афины – один из старейших городов во всём мире, колыбель демократии и цивилизации, город с богатейшей историей. 

Афины – один из старейших городов во всём мире, колыбель демократии и цивилизации, город с богатейшей историей. Прославленный город античности продолжает жить в современном мире, вбирая в себя культурные тенденции современности и адаптируя их под свой собственный характер. Разумеется, что современное уличное искусство и урбанистическая культура граффити тоже являются частью этих тенденций.  Это шаблонные надписи, граффити «дикого стиля», политические лозунги активистов, наклейки и переводные рисунки, а также настенная роспись общественных зданий, создаваемая в рамках более обширных проектов. Если Вы любите искусство и урбанистическую культуру, Вам будет интересно познакомиться с этой не столь известной стороной Афин. Но каждый район сможет поведать Вам свою, особую историю.

Но каждый район сможет поведать Вам свою, особую историю.

 

Керамикос и Гази

Как древности соседствуют с урбанистической субкультурой

Район Керамикос и его название связаны с античным кладбищем и гончарными мастерскими, располагавшимися здесь в древние времена. И сегодня это место, где прошлое и настоящее сплетаются в своеобразном единстве. Прогуливаясь по здешним улочкам, Вы встретите сразу несколько впечатляющих росписей размером во всю стену. Но многие работы талантливых греческих и зарубежных городских художников спрятаны на маленьких пешеходных улочках этого района.
Совсем рядом находится и район Гази, где в 19 веке работала газовая электростанция города. Сегодня на территории бывшего завода находится известный культурный центр «Технополис». Известность району добавляют также замечательные кожаные изделия местных мастеров, а также шоколадная фабрика Pavlidis, которая уже десятки лет работает на ул. Пиреос.

На старом здании трамвайного депо (OSY) можно увидеть замечательную работу «Последняя вечеря в Афинах», наполненную социальным смыслом. Это работа выдающегося афинского уличного художника Ино. Неподалёку Вы встретите ещё одну неожиданную работу под названием «Свобода», а также плод более раннего сотрудничества между Ино и Аива под названием «Контроль доступа», в котором ощущаются влияния научно-фантастической дистопии.

екомендуем добавить к такой экскурсии лучшее «сувлаки» города из шашлычной  Elvis или фантастические закуски в кофейнях-ресторанчиках «Loui», «Sabir», «Kabethon» и в исторической кофейне «Kanaria». После такой прогулки  Вы сразу поймёте, почему Керамикос так притягателен.

Метаксургио

Путешествие в прошлое и будущее Афин

Недалеко от района Керамикос находится Метаксургио – один из тех районов вокруг афинского центра, которые активно развивались промышленно в 19 веке. Многие могут сказать, что этот район Афин сегодня потерял свой былой уровень. Но не стоит забывать, что здесь есть великолепные архитектурные образцы, а также прекрасная площадь Авди, где много замечательных ресторанчиков и кафе: : престижное кафе «Seychelles», таверна «Авго ту Коккора» («петушиное яйцо»), ресторан тайской кухни «Tamarind», а также бары  «Синий попугай» и «Саорса».

Фестиваль афинского искусства «Малый Париж» проходит именно в этом районе. Ведь здесь находятся великолепные настенные росписи. Обязательно посмотрите на знаменитую работу «Знание говорит, а мудрость слушает», выполненную балийским художником Wild Drawing. Также  отыщите работу художника Simpleg под названием «Так много книг, но так мало времени». Примерно в 300 метрах оттуда находится прекрасная, но доступная таверна «Типографос», на фасаде и в залах которой тоже есть работы Simpleg. Советуем прогуляться и до центрального вокзала Лариссис, где Вы сможете увидеть огромную роспись «Вечный путешественник», выполненную Леонидом Яннакопулосом. Эта произведение унесёт Вас в особое путешествие мыслей!

Омония

Переплетение социальных сословий и культур

Эта старейшая площадь Афин была основана в 1862 году, когда главы противоборствующих политических групп, распри между которыми привели к кровавым стычкам по всей стране, собрались на этом месте и дали клятву единства (именно это означает слово «омония»). В последние годы площадь значительно обновилась. Прогуливаясь здесь, Вы увидите самый многокультурный район Афин и также полюбуетесь на несколько известных росписей.

Величественные руки Бога, молящегося за афинских жителей, были выполнены в 2011 году в подражание мотивам Альберта Дюрера – великого художника эпохи Возрождения. Здесь же находится и ещё один шедевр от руки Ино под названием «Ослеплённый». Это портрет могучего мужчины, неосознанно приближающегося к своей гибели, будучи ослеплённым своей страстью к деньгам и богатству.  На соседних улочках есть ещё несколько скрытых шедевров, как например мифические создания художника Krah, который после десяти лет художественной деятельности в Лондоне продолжает смешивать мифологию, поп-культуру и футуризм.

Псирри

Уличное искусство в районе преступников и героев

С чего начать описание этого исторического района афинского даунтауна? Псирри являлся центром ночных развлечений ещё в 19 веке, притягивая к себе как магнит всех жителей Афин – от самых бедных до самого короля Отто! Но это был также один из самых престпуных районов Афин до тех пор, пока его не очистили от внезаконников, собиравшихся здесь в 70-х годах 19 века. С тех пор Псирри переживал множество трансформаций от богатых подьёмов до упадков. Но сегодня он опять в расцвете, благодаря своей неформальной атмосфере и широкому выбору ресторанов и ночных развлечений. По собственному опыту, советуем начать прогулку с чашечки кофе в «Upside Down», а затем отведать вкуснейшую «бугацу» (сладкий пирог) в кафе «Thessaloniki».

Уличное искусство можно увидеть повсюду в районе Псирри. Это крупные и более мелкие работы греческих и зарубежных мастеров граффити. Среди них выделим такие имена, как Димитрис Таксис, австрийский сюрреалист Ruin и бразильский художник Rimon. Здесь Вы увидите мечтательный портрет Симони (один из наиболее старых в Афинах), исторические фрески на площади Ироон (что значит «героев»), работу Ино под названием «Апокалипсис сегодня», а также свежайшую, яркую роспись художников Soteur и Gerain под названием «LuvnRoll». Особенно выделим произведение «Все собаки попадают в рай», представляющее собой портрет известного городского пса Луканикоса, ставшего символом свободы и неповиновения во время массовых демонстраций в годы последнего греческого кризиса.

Монастираки

Район, в котором есть всё! Даже уличное искусство.

Площадь Монастираки – одна из самых популярных площадей города, расположенная вблизи самых важных архитектурных памятников. Это место можно назвать связующим звеном между разными историческими вехами афинской истории. Крошечная церковь Богородицы Пантанассы, построенная в 10 веке, дала название всей площади. Здесь также находится мечеть Тзистаракис. Весь облик площади на величественном фоне Акрополя, возвышающимся позади, придаёт этому месту особый фотогеничный шарм.

С этого места начинается условно называемый Торговый треугольник Афин. Здесь Вы встретите прекрасные ночные бары, такие как «Clumsies», ресторан ливанской кухни «Feyrouz», а также одно из самых знаменитых мест ночного развлечения и искусства в духе андеграунд  - «Six Dogs». Прямо на углу можно увидеть одну из наиболее полюбившихся работ уличного искусства в Афинах – великолепную панду художника Neidness. В этих же окрестностях есть и другие работы таких художников, как One Bran, Gospel и Bassment Rats. Кроме этого, обратите внимание на роспись «Икарус», выполненную художником Никосом Цунакасом в сотрудничестве с группой творческой подсветки Beforelight.

Эксархия

Философские и революционные лозунги

Это, пожалуй, самый оживлённый, богемный и бунтарский район Афин. С начала 20-ого столетия Эксархия был излюбленным местом отдыха для студентов и местом жительства многих творческих личностей города. Стена многих зданий этого района просто «закиданы» политическими лозунгами и рисунками граффити, наполненным мощным символическим смыслом.

В парке Наварино Вы увидите огромную работу итальянского художника Blu, известного своими политическими комментариями. Эта настенная роспись повествует историю общественной солидарности, самоорганизации и коллективной деятельности. Вокруг площади также есть росписи Wild Drawing. Кульминационной работой можно считать произведение «Для бедных нет земли», навеянное влиянием экономического кризиса на жизнь простых людей. Почти повсюду можно заметить и великолепные женские фигуры от Sonke, которые являются тонким добавлением к общему пейзажу.

После знакомства с произведениями уличного искусства советуем передохнуть и остановиться на чашечку кофе или стаканчик спиртного в баре «Podilato» (что значит «велосипед»), а  также отведать критских деликатессов в кафе «Oxo nou». И конечно!!! Не забудьте попробовать «сувлаки», которое готовят в шашлычной «Пригипас». Это незабываемо!

Пирей

Уличное искусство у самого моря

Будучи одним из самых значимых портов в Европе, Пирей представляет собой увлекательный городской ландшафт на морском побережье. Его знаменитые районы Кастелла, Зеа и Микролимано известны всем. Это не первое место, которое приходит на ум, когда мы говорим об уличном искусстве. Однако, если присмотреться, здесь тоже можно найти ряд прекрасных настенных произведений. В районе Труба, имевшего раньше низкий социальный статус, сегодня находится одно из самых впечатляющих произведений Ино под названием «Потерянная», изображающее девушку, потерянную в кручине собственных мыслей. Также в самом порту, на ул. Акти Посидонос  Вы увидите ещё одну, более старую работу Ино под названием «У нас есть сила», на которой изображён мальчик, глядящий в уста философа Демокрита.

Кроме того, стоит обратить внимание на захватывающую роспись 2014 года, выполненную группой Urban Act, а именно уличными художниками Same84 и Apset на знаменитом здании SILO. Что же вдохновило этих художников? Греческая корабельная традиция и морские легенды, конечно. В заключение, добавим только, что выбор ресторанов и баров в Пирее просто бесконечен. В частности, можем рекомендовать традиционную морскую таверну «Yperokeaneio» в районе Хатзикириакио.

Рентис

Между овощным рыком и фабриками

Район под названием Агиос Иоаннис Рентис не то место, которое обычно рекомендуют туристам. С 40-х годов 20-го века он больше известен своим огромным овощным рынком, а также как вспомогательный район Пирея, в котором находились разные фабрики и промышленные объекты. Именно поэтому это один из наименее населённых районов города.

На первый взгляд кажется, что смотреть здесь будет нечего. Однако в 2019 году группа уличных художников и мастеров граффити нашло здесь поле воплощения своих идей. Таким образом, на стенах зданий этого района появились красочные изображения, такие как навеянные любовью и мечтами фигуры художника Yiakou, интересные комбинации шрифта и рисунков от руки MamboAthens, шокирующие шрифты граффити художника Born, огромные портреты архитектора и художника Think, волшебный реализм от руки Chrysolie, а также несколько работ греческого мастера метаморфоз – художника Ахиллеса. Неплохое собрание, не правда ли?

Академия художеств

Новое поколение афинских уличных художников

Многие уличные художники города являются выпускниками Академиии художеств, расположенной на ул. Пиреос. Поэтому где как ни здесь можно полюбоваться работами греческих художников. Работы заменяются очень быстро, поэтому художникам в граффити приходится действовать с соответствующей скоростью. В последний раз, когда мы были там, нам посчастливилось увидеть работы французского художника Goin, полные скрытых смыслов о деньгах и обществе. (И сам художник называет себя прежде всего активистом и бунтарём). Мы также видели портрет франзуско-конголезского художника Kouka Ntadi, известного своими крупными настенными росписями, основанными на мотивах африканских племён.

Во дворике академии тоже множество творческих работ, как например маленький оленёнок – визитная карточка художника Yiakou,  внеземные насекомы от руки Soul Thief, а также впечатляющее изображение, выполненное художником Wild Drawing в сотрудничестве с татуажистом Billy82cmk.

Ну, а чтобы «переварить» и осмыслить всё увиденное, предлагаем заглянуть в лучшую таверну района Мосхато под названием «Медуза». Здесь Вас ждут невороятная кухня и лучшие цены!

Студенческий городок Политеха

Студенческие веяния и парк в самом сердце города

Последним пунктом нашего ознакомительного тура с уличным искусством Афин станет Политехнический университет, а именно его корпуса и подземная парковка.  Весь кампус занимает площадь в 920 000 кв.м., поэтому нам пригодится с собой карта, а также запас терпения и времени, чтобы обойти это место. Но поверьте, великолепные работы, которые ожидают Вас, будут достойным вознаграждением.

На территории кампуса находится две чудесные работы художника Wild Drawing. Одна из двух наше любимое произведение – «Дом ядов». Здесь также находятся ещё одни дорогие нашему сердцу работы – чёрно-белая роспись «Нежность» от руки Nozo1 и экспериментальная композиция граффити, выполненная  художниками Taish и Nique.

Раз уж Вы дошли до последнего пункта маршрута, было бы жаль не заглянуть в парк Гуди, расположенный всего в 5 минутах езды от кампуса. Это умиротверённое место даёт возможность расслабиться и отдохнуть в самом сердце Афин. Здесь Вы сможете полюбоваться ещё одним произведением Wild Drawing – анаморфотным изображением «Четыре стихии», навеянным четырьмя стихиями природы. Совсем неподалёку находится Национальная галерея художеств и скульптур, в которой собрано 150 выдающихся работ греческих скульпторов 19 и 20 веков.

Где найти лучшее уличное искусство в Афинах?

Разумеется, это неполный список уличных произведений в Афинах. В некоторых районах, таких как Псирри и Эксархия количество работ просто не счесть. Но мы постарались создать для Вас  путеводитель по районам, который увлечёт Вас и, может быть, сподвигнет к дальнейшим поискам такого искусства. До встречи на улицах Афин!

Awesome Athens Experiences

Done
Done
Done
Done
Accommodation

Marathon Beach Resort

Афины

A feast for the senses. Find yourself enjoying your vacation within a complex that blends art deco, tropical, mediterranean elem...

Official online rates

Accommodation

Athens Mansion Luxury Suites

Афины

Welcome to the dream world of the Athens Mansion Luxury Suites in the heart of Athens, that is here to offer you an idyllic jour...

Official online rates

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Noctua beer

Справочник о лучших сортах греческого пива, которое придаст свежести Вашему отпуску

When in Telendos, you must visit the family-owned tavernas where a fresh catch of seafood comes in every morning

Путеводитель по спиртным напиткам Греции: всё, что необходимо знать об узо

Gemista is a classic home-cooked dish

Гастрономический тур по Афинам

Hiking Balos trail

8 интересных вариантов активного отдыха в Греции

Nightlife in Athens

Путеводитель от местного жителя по ночной жизни Афин

Sunset in Serifos

12 самых романтичных направлений в Греции

When in Telendos, you must visit the family-owned tavernas where a fresh catch of seafood comes in every morning

Путеводитель по спиртным напиткам Греции: всё, что необходимо знать об узо

Take a long afternoon stroll in Hora

10 лучших идей для отпуска на острове Кифнос

If you are interested in exploring the other grape varieties, there are wineries around Lixouri

Гастрономический путеводитель по Кефалонии

The Peloponnese is one of Greece’s most geographically diverse and historically rich destinations. It’s also somewhere you’ll eat like a god

Гастрономический путеводитель по Пелопоннесу

Gemista is a classic home-cooked dish

Гастрономический тур по Афинам

Ask any local and they’ll tell you Crete is the undisputed No1 foodie destination in Greece

Гастрономический путеводитель по Криту

Leonidas Giannakopoulos - Eternal traveler, Metaxourgeio
COVER STORY

Where to find the best street art in Athens

By Awesome Athens Experiences
READING TIME
As long as it takes to drink a Greek coffee

One of the oldest cities in the world, full of history and the cradle of democracy and culture.

This is Athens. The ancient’s ‘glorious city’. And at the same time, a contemporary city that assimilates cultural trends and adapts them to its own character. It goes without saying that the modern urban religion of graffiti and street art is part of this: tags, throw-ups, wild style graffiti, political activist stencils, stickers, paste-ups and public art murals created for festivals and other projects. So if you love art and street culture, you’ll love discovering this lesser-known side of Athens.;

Every neighbourhood has a different story to tell.

 Keramikos & Gazi Exarhia
 Metaxourgio Piraeus
 Omonia Rentis
 Psyrri The School of Fine Arts
 Monastiraki The Polytechnic campus

 

 

Keramikos & Gazi

Ancient culture meets urban sub-culture

Keramikos owes its name to the cemetery and pottery workshops of ancient Athens located here. And today, it’s an area where the city’s past melds with the present. As you wander around, you can admire some of the city’s most impressive large murals and lose yourself in alleyways in search of hidden gems by talented Greek and international urban artists.

Just next door is Gazi, where in the mid-19th century residents could smell the characteristic trace of natural gas from the gasworks that powered most of the city. Today, the area is best-known for its cultural centre, Technopolis, but other standout features are leather goods from tanneries and the Pavlidis Chocolate Factory, still operating on Pireos Street.

In the old tram depot (OSY), you can admire the wonderful ‘Last supper in Athens’, full of social messages and one of the works of notable Athens street artist Ino. Nearby, you’ll encounter the striking ‘Freedom’ and an older collaboration between Ino and Aiva called ‘Access Control’, influenced by science fiction dystopias. Add to all this the best kalamaki (souvlaki) in town at Elvis and the fantastic meze at Loui, Sabir, Kabethon and historic Kanaria and you’ll understand why Keramikos is so dope.

 

Metaxourgio

A journey into Athens’ past and future

Close to Keramikos is Metaxourgio, one of the first neighbourhoods to be redeveloped outside Athens’ historic centre at the end of the 19th century. Many will tell you that this downtown area of Athens is run down. But just remember, there’s great architectural interest here and the amazing Avdi Square, where there are awesome places to eat and drink: the talk-of-the-town Seychelles, Avgo tou Kokkora (the Rooster’s Egg), the Thai restaurant Tamarind, the Blue Parrot and Saorsa for coffee and fantastic cocktails.

The Little Paris Art Festival of Athens takes place here, which accounts for some of the area’s fantastic public art murals. Must-see works include the iconic ‘Knowledge speaks, wisdom listens’ by Balinese graffiti artist Wild Drawing and the wonderful ‘So Many books, so little time’ by Simpleg. Around 300m away is the value-for-money Typografos taverna, which has works by Simpleg on the facade and inside. It’s worth walking as far as Larissis Train Station, where there’s a huge mural, ‘Eternal Traveler’, by Leonidas Giannakopoulos, a work that sweeps you away on its own special journey.

 

Omonia

A melting pot of social classes and cultures

The oldest square of Athens dates back to 1862, when the leaders of rival political groups whose divisions had led to bloody riots across the country, gathered here and took an oath of ‘unity’ (as Omonia translates). You have to take a stroll here, especially now that it’s undergone a kind of facelift, to witness one of the most multicultural areas of Athens and admire two landmark murals.

The huge hands of the God, praying for the Athenians since 2011 were inspired by the engraving of the Renaissance painter and engraver Albrecht Dürer, dominatges, and there’s Ino’s masterpiece ‘Snowblind’, a portrait of a mighty man unknowingly approaching his end but blinded by his addiction to money and power. There are also well-hidden secrets in the surrounding streets, such as the mythical creatures of Krah who, after a decade of artwork in London, continues to blend mythology, pop references and futurism.

 

Psyrri

Street art in the district of villains and heroes

Where do you start with this historic neighbourhood in downtown Athens? Psyrri was an entertainment hub as long ago as the 19th century when it was a magnet for all Athenians – from the poorest to King Otto himself. It was also one of Athens’ high-crime areas before it was cleansed of the outlaws that gathered here in the 1870s. Since then, Psyrri has gone through many cycles of prosperity and decline and is now firmly on the up again with its trademark relaxed atmosphere and multiple food and nightlife options. Personally, we love starting with coffee at Upside Down and moving on to an authentic bougatsa at Thessaloniki.

Street art is everywhere in Psyrri, with large and small works by Greek and international graffiti artists, such as Dimitris Taxis, Austrian surrealist Ruin and Brazilian Rimon. You’ll find the dreamy portrait of Simoni (one of the oldest in Athens), the historical frescoes of Vasmou around Iroon (Heroes) Square, the Apocalypse Now of Inο and the brand new multicoloured murals of Soteur and Gera in the creative multi-space Luv n Roll. Special mention goes to ‘All dogs go to heaven’, a portrait of wonderful Loukaniko, the dog who became a symbol of rebellion and freedom from the days of demonstration during Greece’s debt crisis.

 

Monastiraki

The area that has everything (street art included)

Monastiraki is one of the most-visited squares of the centre, very close to the most important ancient sites. It’s also an important link between all the stages of Athens’ history, right up to modern times. The little church of Panagia Pantanassa, dating to the 10th century, gave its name to the square and (together with the Tzistarakis Mosque) gives the area its distinctive photogenic appeal, with the Acropolis as a backdrop.

From here begins the area defined as the Commercial Triangle of Athens, with amazing hangouts such as Clumsies (one of the finest cocktail bars in town), the Lebanese restaurant Feyrouz and Six Dogs (one of the city’s most emblematic underground spaces for entertainment and art). Right in the corner, is one of our favourite works of street art in Athens, the superb panda of urban artist Neidness. Within the area, there are many more works by artists such as One Bran, Gospel and Bassment Rats, as well as large murals such as ‘Ikarus’, a collaboration of artist by Nikos Tsounakas with the visual lighting group Beforelight.

 

Exarhia

Philosophy and rebellion written on the walls

The most lively, diverse, bohemian and rebellious neighbourhood of Athens. From the beginning of the 20th century, Exarhia was a favourite hangout of students and home to many important creative personalities. The walls of buildings here are ‘bombed’ with political slogans and exceptional graffiti wall art, full of powerful symbolism and messages.

In Navarino Park, there’s a huge (in both size and meaning) work of Italian artist Blu, known for his political commentary. The mural tells a story about the value of social solidarity, self-organisation and collective action. Around the square are many murals of Wild Drawing, culminating in ‘No land for the poor’, inspired by the impact of the economic crisis on the lives of ordinary people. The wonderful female figures of Sonke, which are literally everywhere, are the icing on the cake.

After your hunt for street art, you can relax for coffee or a drink in the classic hangout Podilato (Bicycle) and taste Cretan delicacies in Oxo nou. And one more thing. If you haven’t eaten a souvlaki at O Prinkipas (The Prince), you haven’t eaten a souvlaki!

 

Piraeus

Street art in the city by the sea

One of the most important ports in Europe, Piraeus offers a fascinating coastal urban landscape with famous districts such as Kastella, Zea and Mikrolimano. It might not be the first place you think of when you hear street art, but if you know where to look you’ll find very interesting artwork on buildings. In the once infamous Troumbas district, there’s one of Ino's greatest and most impressive works, ‘Lost’, starring a girl lost in the vortex of her thoughts. Also in the port, on Akti Poseidonos St, there’s another, older work by Ino, ‘We have the power’, portraying a little boy looking at the bust of the philosopher Democritus.

There’s also a stunning mural dating from 2014 from the Urban Act team (specifically the street artists Same84 and Apset) on the iconic SILO building. Their inspiration? Greece’s naval tradition and maritime myths, of course. It goes without saying that the food and drink choices in Piraeus are endless, but we can suggest Yperokeaneio in the Hatzikyriakeio district, a traditional little fish taverna that never disappoints!

 

Rentis

Between the vegetables and the factories

The district of Agios Ioannis of Renti isn’t what you’d call an expected recommendation for visitors to Athens. Since the 1940s, it’s been known mostly for its famous vegetable patches (producing seasonal veg all year round) and its huge vegetable market and as a suburb of Piraeus with factories, industrial buildings, markets rather than a place of residence. In this sense, it’s considered one of the most sparsely populated suburbs of Attica.

You would think there isn’t much to see here. However, sometime in 2019 a group of street artists and graffiti writers found a means of expression here. And so, on the walls of the area, you will find colourful imaginary in the form of figures by street artist Yiakou inspired by love, dreams and memories; the very interesting combo lettering and characters of MamboAthens; the striking graffiti letters of artist Born; the large portraits of the architect and artist Think; the magical realism of Chrysolie and some works of Greek master of anamorphosis, Achilles. Nod bad, right?

 

The School of Fine Arts

The next generation of Athens street artists

Many street artists have passed through the School of Finer Arts on Pireos Avenue, so it goes without saying that you can admire works from Greek and international artists here. The artwork gets replaced very quickly, so you have to be quick if you’re a graffiti artist. The last time we were here, we saw two impressive works of the French artist Goin, full of comments relating to money and society (he identifies himself as an Artivist & Troublemaker!) and a wonderful portrait of French-Congolese artist Kouka Ntadi, known for his big-scale murals inspired by African tribes.

There’s plenty of art in the courtyard, such as the characteristic little deer that is Yiakou’s trademark, the extra-terrestrial insects of Soul Thief and an impressive, hard-hitting collaboration of Wild Drawing and tattoo artist Billy82cmk.

And because all art needs to be digested to be appreciated, it’s good to know that in the Moshato district is one of the best fish tavernas of the city, I Medousa (Medusa). Unbelievable food and exceptional prices.

 

The Polytechnic campus

Student vibes and a park in the heart of the city

The last stop on your street art tour of Athens involves the buildings and the underground parking space of the city’s Polytechnic. The entire site is 920,000m2, so you need to have a plan, patience and time to explore it but believe us, you’ll be rewarded some with some exceptional works.

On the campus, there are two amazing murals of Wild Drawing, among them our much-loved ‘House of venom’. Also amongst our most-loved works are the black-and-white ‘Tenderness’ of Nozo1 and the experimental graffiti art compositions and characters of Taish and Nique.

And if you’ve got this far, it would be a shame not to pop down to Goudi Park, only 5mins away by car. The park is an ideal place to relax practically in the heart of the city and where you can admire another emblematic piece of work of Wild Drawing, the anamorphic ‘Four Elements’, inspired by the four elements of nature. Just next door is the National Sculpture & Art Gallery, displaying 150 representative works of Greek creative sculpture from the 19th and 20th centuries.

 

 

 

Where to find the best street art in Athens

Of course, this isn’t the only street art in Athens. In some districts, such as Psyrri or Exarhia the works are countless. What we tried to give you in this neighbourhood guide to Athens Street Art is a taste and a trigger for you to get searching. See you on the streets of Athens!

Discover Athens now
 

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
METROPE-photo-0 Offer
Accommodation

Electra Metropolis Athens

Athens

Inviting and brand new, “Electra Metropolis”, located in the heart of Athens is the place to stay whether you are here for business or pleasure....

Official online rates

Accommodation

Hilton Athens

Athens

Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens was built in 1963 and was fully...

Official online rates

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Museum of Greek Culture Shop

17 Greek designers for the most chic shopping in Athens

The Changing of the Presidential Guard by the Evzones (special guards) protecting the Tomb on the Unknown Solider

12 historical buildings in Athens for architecture lovers

Discover 12 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

11 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

When in Telendos, you must visit the family-owned tavernas where a fresh catch of seafood comes in every morning

Greek Spirits Guide: Everything you need to know about ouzo

Nightlife in Athens

A local’s guide to the Athens nightlife scene

Museum of Greek Culture Shop

17 Greek designers for the most chic shopping in Athens

The Changing of the Presidential Guard by the Evzones (special guards) protecting the Tomb on the Unknown Solider

12 historical buildings in Athens for architecture lovers

Discover 12 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

11 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

Night view of Metsovo

Discover the 11 best things to do in Metsovo