The mastic fields come alive from mid-June to early July when the soil is levelled and the white powder (calcium carbonate) is placed around the trunks
EXPERIENCE

Знакомство с традиционным продуктом Хиоса - мастикой

Познакомьтесь с волшебным притяжением мастичной смолы, посетите деревушки, традиционно выращивающие мастику. Ведь мастика – это уникальный продукт острова Хиос.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
продолжительность
2 - 8 часа
По сезону
июня - Aвгуста

OVERVIEW

Трудно представить, как капли смолы мастичного дерева могут превратиться в привлекательный продукт. Но жители Хиоса не только обладают богатой изобретательностью, но и многовековыми знаниями в приготовлении мастики, применяемой от жевательных резинок до лекарственных препаратов от язвы. Мастика стала символом этого острова.

Мастика, производимая на острове Хиос в северном Эгейском море, зарекомендовала себя как уникальная торговая марка. Несмотря на то, что мастичные деревья встречаются и в других регионах Средиземного моря, нигде больше мастику не начали выращивать на профессиональном уровне. Стоит отметить, что ЮНЕСКО занесла выращивание мастики в список знаний, составляющих культурное наследие человечества, чтобы акцентировать внимание на значимость мастичного производства и дать возможность сохранить этот традиционный процесс, дошедший до нас практически без изменений с византийской эпохи.

Это совсем не значит, что будущее мастичного производства находится под угрозой, так как на сегодняшний день насчитывается 5000 фермеров, объединённых в различные кооперативы (двадцать в общем числе), известных под названием «мастичные деревушки». Среди таких деревушек можно выделить Места, Пирги и Армолия, которые также привлекают своей живописностью.

Невозможно понять характер Хиоса, не познакомившись с процессом выращивания мастики, а также не посетив его тематический музей (можно также побывать и на мастичной фабрике).

Во время сбора урожая в мастичных садах можно увидеть «кентима» - куски материала, раскладываемые под деревьями. Требуется около 15-20 дней, чтобы капающая смола превратилась в кристаллические кусочки, которые можно перемолоть и использовать для приготовления ароматных жевательных резинок, зубной пасты, хлеба, сладостей, ликёра и других съедобных продуктов, которые можно отведать на острове. Мастика используется в качестве активного элемента даже в лекарственных препаратах и косметике.

Однако самые незабываемые воспоминания останутся от посещения мастичных деревень и общения с местными жителями, занимающимися выращиванием этого драгоценного продукта.

Подробнее Read Less

Чтобы познакомиться с конкретным периодом выращивания и приготовления мастики, Вам будет необходимо присоединиться к какому-нибудь организованному туру, в рамках которого можно посетить деревни, в которых занимаются выращиванием мастики. 

От города Хиос до: 

Пирги (Мастичный музей)

  • На машине: 25 км (40 минут)
  • На междугороднем автобуе (KTEL): 

Места

  • На машине: 35 км (50 минут)
  • На междугороднем автобуе (KTEL): 

Армолия

  • На машине: 20 км (30 минут)
  • На междугороднем автобуе (KTEL): 

более подробная информация - КТЕЛ Хиос

Кампос (Мастичная фабрика)

  • Мастичные сады оживают в период с середины июня до начала июля, когда почву аокруг деревьев специально выравнивают и покрывают белым порошком (карбонатом кальция), чтобы облегчить сбор капающей мастичной смолы.
  • Чтобы понаблюдать за сбором урожая, Вам надо приехать в середине августа или во время второго сбора – в сентябре. Сортировка мастики начинается через 2-3 недели после её сбора.
  • Экскурсии с экскурсоводом: 18€ - 60€ в зависимости от тура.

Музей Мастики (Пирги)

  • Открыт ежедневно (кроме вторников) круглый год.
  • Стоимость билета: 4€ (льготная цена - 2€).

Более подробная информация

Мастичная фабрика (Кампос)

  • Экскурсии с экскурсоводом организуются по заказу туристов.

Более подробная информация

  • Осень
  • Весна
  • Летом
  • Зима

Прдолжительность экскурсии зависит только от Вас, но полноценный тур, который познакомит Вас с историей и традициями приготовления мастики, обычно включает следующее:

  • Мастичные сады: 2 часа – 2 часа 30 минут
  • Мастичный музей: 2 часа – 2 часа 30 минут
  • Мастичная фабрика: 45 минут – 1 час
  • Полный тур, включая ланч и посещение музея, обычно длится 6-8 часов.

Более подробная информация Ассоциация производителей мастихи на острове Хиос

See also

You might be interested in
In the Medieval villages of Chios, you'll find beauty in the details

Тур по средневековым деревушкам острова Хиос

Whether you visited Rhodes in antiquity, the Middle Ages or today, you’d be in for a culinary treat.

Кулинарный тур по острову Родос

Corfu old town and Spianada square from above

Понакомьтесь с гастрономической культурой Корфу!

Nemea viniculture and winemaking has centuries-long tradition

Знакомясь с винными тропами региона Немея

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Агротуристический тур познакомит Вас с корнями острова Миконос!

Rolling down hillsides and meandering through valleys, the vineyards of today are interwoven into the Heraklion landscape

Познакомьтесь с винными традициями Ираклиона!

The mastic fields come alive from mid-June to early July when the soil is levelled and the white powder (calcium carbonate) is placed around the trunks
EXPERIENCE

Exploring the mastic traditions of Chios

Discover the extraordinary impact of the teardrop-shaped resin and the mastic villages that encapsulate the very essence of Chios.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
2 - 8 hrs
Season
June - August

OVERVIEW

It takes a lot of imagination to turn the resin of the mastic tree into a commercial phenomenon. Thankfully, however, imagination is something the people of Chios have in limitless supply. Not only have they succeeded over the centuries in turning it into a bewildering number of products (from chewing gum to a range of health products), but they’ve crafted a unique cultural identity in the process.

Welcome to the world of “mastiha Chiou”, referring to the fact that it is mastic produced on the North Aegean island of Chios. There’s no need to be that specific, of course, because despite the tree growing in other parts of the Mediterranean, no one else has come close to cultivating it. So much so that UNESCO has included Chios’ mastic cultivation on its list of Intangible Cultural Heritage, to raise awareness of its significance and safeguard the future of a process that has remained largely unchanged since Byzantine times.

Not that the future of mastic cultivation is in any danger, with an estimated 5,000 current producers arranged in communities and cooperatives amongst more than 20 “mastic villages” (the mastihohoria). Among them are Mesta, Pyrgi and Armolia, which are beautifully preserved, but the list is a long one.
It’s simply not possible to understand Chios without exploring its mastic cultivation, along with the museum (and, if you’re able, factory) dedicated to the famous resin.

At harvest time in the mastic fields, you’ll witness the kentima – the horizontal or diagonal cut from which the sap oozes. It takes around 15-20 days for the pine-scented resin to dry into teardrop-shaped pieces that can be processed into a flavouring for gum, toothpaste, breads, sweets, liqueur and other edible products you can try. And even as an active ingredient in scientifically tested health products and cosmetics.

At harvest time in the mastic fields, you’ll witness the kentima – the horizontal or diagonal cut from which the sap oozes. It takes around 15-20 days for the pine-scented resin to dry into teardrop-shaped pieces that can be processed into a flavouring for gum, toothpaste, breads, sweets, liqueur and other edible products you can try. And even as an active ingredient in scientifically tested health products and cosmetics.

Read More Read Less

To visit the mastic fields at the various stages of cultivation, you will need to join an organised group, which will either transport you to the village (or villages) included in the experience, or involve you meeting there.

From Chios town to:

Pyrgi (Mastic Museum)

  • By car: 25km (40mins)
  • By bus (KTEL)

Mesta

  • By car: 35km (50mins)
  • By bus (KTEL)

Armolia

  • By car: 20km (30mins)
  • By bus (KTEL)

More information - KTEL Chios

Kampos (Mastic Factory)

  • The mastic fields come alive from mid-June to early July when the soil is levelled and the white powder (calcium carbonate) is placed around the trunks, making sorting easier when the resin falls to the ground.
  • To witness the harvesting process, you will need to visit in mid-August, although a second harvest often follows in September. The sorting of the mastic begins 2-3 weeks after it has been collected.
  • Guided tours: €18-€60 depending on the package.

Mastic Museum (Pyrgi)

  • Open daily (except Tuesdays) all year round
  • Entry: €4 (reduced €2)

More info

Mastic Factory (Kampos)

  • Guided tours are offered but only upon request.

More info

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

How long you take exploring the history and tradition of mastic production is up to you, but a good guide is:

  • Mastic fields: 2hrs-2hrs30mins
  • Mastic Museum: 2hrs-2hrs30mins
  • Mastic Factory: 45mins-1hr
  • Full experience, including touring of the mastic fields, lunch and museum: 6-8hrs 

More info - The Chios Mastiha Growers Association

See also

You might be interested in
Limnos offers a large variety of wines, red and white, that have a distinctive taste thanks to the volcanic soils

Tap into the deep-rooted wine culture of Limnos

Rolling down hillsides and meandering through valleys, the vineyards of today are interwoven into the Heraklion landscape

Probieren Sie die Weinrouten von Heraklion

Wine-making can be traced here to before the eruption of its legendary volcano, more than 3,000 years ago

Sampling the wine routes of Santorini

Uncover the secrets of Messinia, through its most famous product

Following the olive route in Messinia