The mastic fields come alive from mid-June to early July when the soil is levelled and the white powder (calcium carbonate) is placed around the trunks
EXPERIENCE

Erkunden Sie die Mastix-Traditionen von Chios

Entdecken Sie die außerordentliche Auswirkung des tränenförmigen Harzes und die Mastix-Dörfer, die die Quintessenz von Chios erfassen.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Dauer
2 - 8 Stunden
Nach Jahreszeit
Juni - August

OVERVIEW

Es erfordert viel Phantasie, das Harz des Mastixbaums in ein kommerzielles Phänomen zu verwandeln. Glücklicherweise ist Phantasie jedoch etwas, an dem die Einwohner von Chios unbegrenzten Vorrat haben. Nicht nur haben sie es im Laufe der Jahrhunderte geschafft, es in verwirrend viele Produkte umzuwandeln (von Kaugummi bis hin zu einem Heilmittel gegen Geschwüre); sie haben dabei auch eine einzigartige Kulturidentität entwickelt.

Willkommen in der Welt von “Masticha Chiou” – dabei verweist der Name darauf, dass Mastix auf der Insel von Chios in der Nordägäis produziert wird. Eigentlich braucht man nicht so konkret zu sein, denn, obwohl der Baum auch anderswo im Mittelmeer angebaut wird, niemand anders ist dessen Kultivierung so nahe gekommen. Und zwar in solchem Maße, dass UNESCO den Mastix-Anbau von Chios in seine Liste von Immateriellen Kulturerben aufgenommen hat, um auf seine Bedeutung aufmerksam zu machen und die Zukunft eines Verfahrens abzusichern, das seit der byzantinischen Zeit weitgehend unverändert geblieben ist. 

Nicht etwa, dass die Zukunft des Mastix-Anbaus gefährdet ist; mit rund 5.000 in Gemeinden und Genossenschaften organisierten Produzenten unter mehr als 20 Mastix-Dörfern („Mastichochoria“) kann davon nicht die Rede sein. Dazu zählen die wunderschön erhaltenen Mesta, Pyrgi und Armolia, doch die Liste ist viel länger. 

Es ist einfach nicht möglich, Chios zu verstehen, ohne den Mastix-Anbau näher kennenzulernen und das dem berühmten Harz gewidmete Museum (und die Produktionsstätte, wenn möglich) zu erkunden. 

Während der Erntezeit auf den Mastix-Feldern können Sie das Kentima beobachten – den waagerechten oder diagonalen Schnitt, von dem der Saft abfließt. Es dauert etwa 15-20 Tage, bis das nach Pinien duftende Harz zu tränenförmigen Stücken austrocknet, die anschließend zu einem Aroma für Kaugummi, Zahnpasta, Brötchen, Süßigkeiten, Likör und anderen essbaren Produkten bearbeitet werden, die Sie probieren können. Und darüber hinaus, auch zu einem Wirkstoff für wissenschaftlich geprüfte Gesundheitsprodukte und Kosmetik. 

Vor allem werden Sie jedoch mit einem Gefühl gehen, dass dies tatsächlich eine “Dorf-Angelegenheit” ist: Handgemachte Erntewerkzeuge, und Einheimische, die in einer Reihe das wertvolle Harz nach dem Austrocknen sortieren.

Weiterlesen Read Less

Um die Mastix-Felder während der verschiedenen Anbauphasen zu besuchen, müssen Sie sich einer geführten Gruppe anschließen, die Sie entweder zum Dorf (bzw. zu den Dörfern) hinbringt oder sich mit Ihnen dort verabredet.

Vom Ort Chios nach:

Pyrgi (Mastix-Museum)

  • Mit dem Auto: 25km (40 Min.)
  • Mit dem Bus (KTEL)

Mesta

  • Mit dem Auto: 35km (50 Min.)
  • Mit dem Bus (KTEL)

Armolia

  • Mit dem Auto: 20km (30 Min.)
  • Mit dem Bus (KTEL): 

Mehr Informationen - KTEL Chios

Kampos (Mastix-Produktionsstätte)

  • Die Mastix-Felder werden von Mitte Juni bis Anfang Juli lebendig, wenn der Boden eingeebnet und der weiße Puder (Kalziumkarbonat) um die Stämme verteilt worden ist, um das Sortieren zu erleichtern, sobald das Harz hinunterfällt. 
  • Um das Ernteverfahren zu beobachten, besuchen Sie die Gegend Mitte August, obwohl eine zweite Ernte im September häufig erfolgt. Das Sortieren des Mastix beginnt 2-3 Wochen nach der Ernte. 
  • Geführte Touren: €18 - €60, je nach Paket. 

Mastix-Museum (Pyrgi)

  • Das ganze Jahr über täglich (außer dienstags) geöffnet 
  • Eintritt: €4 (ermäßigt €2)

Mehr Informationen

Mastix-Produktionsstätte (Kampos)

  • Geführte Touren werden angeboten, aber nur auf Anfrage.

Mehr Informationen

  • Herbst
  • Frühling
  • Sοmmer
  • Winter

Es liegt an Ihnen, wie lange Sie die Geschichte und Tradition der Mastix-Produktion erkunden möchten, aber ein guter Leitfaden wäre folgender: 

  • Mastix-Felder: 2 St. – 2 St. 30 Min.
  • Mastix-Museum: 2 St. – 2 St. 30 Min.
  • Mastix-Produktionsstätte: 45 Min. – 1 St.
  • Das volle Erlebnis, darunter Tour auf den Mastix-Feldern, Mittagessen und Museum: 6-8 Stunden 

Mehr Informationen - Mastix-Anbauer Verband von Chios

In the Medieval villages of Chios, you'll find beauty in the details

Village Hopping durch das mittelalterliche Chios

Corfu old town and Spianada square from above

Genießen Sie eine kulinarische Tour durch Korfu

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Entdecken Sie die Wurzeln von Mykonos auf einer Agrotourismus-Tour

Rolling down hillsides and meandering through valleys, the vineyards of today are interwoven into the Heraklion landscape

Probieren Sie die Weinrouten von Heraklion

The mastic fields come alive from mid-June to early July when the soil is levelled and the white powder (calcium carbonate) is placed around the trunks
EXPERIENCE

Exploring the mastic traditions of Chios

Discover the extraordinary impact of the teardrop-shaped resin and the mastic villages that encapsulate the very essence of Chios.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
2 - 8 hrs
Season
June - August

OVERVIEW

It takes a lot of imagination to turn the resin of the mastic tree into a commercial phenomenon. Thankfully, however, imagination is something the people of Chios have in limitless supply. Not only have they succeeded over the centuries in turning it into a bewildering number of products (from chewing gum to a range of health products), but they’ve crafted a unique cultural identity in the process.

Welcome to the world of “mastiha Chiou”, referring to the fact that it is mastic produced on the North Aegean island of Chios. There’s no need to be that specific, of course, because despite the tree growing in other parts of the Mediterranean, no one else has come close to cultivating it. So much so that UNESCO has included Chios’ mastic cultivation on its list of Intangible Cultural Heritage, to raise awareness of its significance and safeguard the future of a process that has remained largely unchanged since Byzantine times.

Not that the future of mastic cultivation is in any danger, with an estimated 5,000 current producers arranged in communities and cooperatives amongst more than 20 “mastic villages” (the mastihohoria). Among them are Mesta, Pyrgi and Armolia, which are beautifully preserved, but the list is a long one.
It’s simply not possible to understand Chios without exploring its mastic cultivation, along with the museum (and, if you’re able, factory) dedicated to the famous resin.

At harvest time in the mastic fields, you’ll witness the kentima – the horizontal or diagonal cut from which the sap oozes. It takes around 15-20 days for the pine-scented resin to dry into teardrop-shaped pieces that can be processed into a flavouring for gum, toothpaste, breads, sweets, liqueur and other edible products you can try. And even as an active ingredient in scientifically tested health products and cosmetics.

At harvest time in the mastic fields, you’ll witness the kentima – the horizontal or diagonal cut from which the sap oozes. It takes around 15-20 days for the pine-scented resin to dry into teardrop-shaped pieces that can be processed into a flavouring for gum, toothpaste, breads, sweets, liqueur and other edible products you can try. And even as an active ingredient in scientifically tested health products and cosmetics.

Read More Read Less

To visit the mastic fields at the various stages of cultivation, you will need to join an organised group, which will either transport you to the village (or villages) included in the experience, or involve you meeting there.

From Chios town to:

Pyrgi (Mastic Museum)

  • By car: 25km (40mins)
  • By bus (KTEL)

Mesta

  • By car: 35km (50mins)
  • By bus (KTEL)

Armolia

  • By car: 20km (30mins)
  • By bus (KTEL)

More information - KTEL Chios

Kampos (Mastic Factory)

  • The mastic fields come alive from mid-June to early July when the soil is levelled and the white powder (calcium carbonate) is placed around the trunks, making sorting easier when the resin falls to the ground.
  • To witness the harvesting process, you will need to visit in mid-August, although a second harvest often follows in September. The sorting of the mastic begins 2-3 weeks after it has been collected.
  • Guided tours: €18-€60 depending on the package.

Mastic Museum (Pyrgi)

  • Open daily (except Tuesdays) all year round
  • Entry: €4 (reduced €2)

More info

Mastic Factory (Kampos)

  • Guided tours are offered but only upon request.

More info

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

How long you take exploring the history and tradition of mastic production is up to you, but a good guide is:

  • Mastic fields: 2hrs-2hrs30mins
  • Mastic Museum: 2hrs-2hrs30mins
  • Mastic Factory: 45mins-1hr
  • Full experience, including touring of the mastic fields, lunch and museum: 6-8hrs 

More info - The Chios Mastiha Growers Association

See also

You might be interested in
Limnos offers a large variety of wines, red and white, that have a distinctive taste thanks to the volcanic soils

Tap into the deep-rooted wine culture of Limnos

Rolling down hillsides and meandering through valleys, the vineyards of today are interwoven into the Heraklion landscape

Probieren Sie die Weinrouten von Heraklion

Wine-making can be traced here to before the eruption of its legendary volcano, more than 3,000 years ago

Sampling the wine routes of Santorini

Uncover the secrets of Messinia, through its most famous product

Following the olive route in Messinia