Épidaure

Un théâtre, tel une thérapie de l’âme
The ancient theatre of Epidaurus, A Unesco World Heritage Site
Scroll
Aujourd'hui
11°
MON
TUE
WED
THU
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Un magnifique théâtre antique à nouveau en fonctionnement, un site archéologique exceptionnel, le célèbre sanctuaire antique d’Asclépios et une nature grandiose apaisante

Vous êtes dans le Péloponnèse, au creux de l'ancien théâtre d'Épidaure. Depuis les gradins supérieurs du théâtre antique, vous pouvez admirer le spectacle enivrant de l’horizon et atteindre un niveau de sérénité inégalé. Il est facile de comprendre le choix de nos ancêtres pour bâtir le plus célèbre sanctuaire d’Asclépios à cet endroit. En baissant le regard, vous verrez les gradins, les bancs, l’orchestre et la structure réservée à la scène.

Oui, c’est le plus beau théâtre antique en plein air du monde, au berceau même du divertissement (en grec «psichagogia» à savoir «agogi» – l’éducation – de la psychè – l’âme) car en effet le théâtre fut construit dans le but de divertir, et essentiellement les malades, dans un but thérapeutique. Aujourd’hui ce théâtre pourtant antique est à nouveau en fonctionnement. Depuis 1955, des spectacles exceptionnels de tragédies antiques y trouvent leur place tout naturellement. Quel que soit l’objectif de votre passage, pour une simple visite ou pour un spectacle, se rendre sur ce site archéologique unique, classé au patrimoine mondial par l’UNESCO, constitue encore de nos jours une thérapie du corps et de l’esprit et mérite absolumentle détour.

Attractions à l'Ancienne Épidaure​

L'ancien théâtre d'Épidaure: monument de l’héritage culturel mondial

Le célèbre théâtre au sanctuaire d’Asclépios à Épidaure est un des monuments les plus importants de la Grèce antique et une attraction d’envergure mondiale du monde actuel. Associant acoustique parfaite, élégance et proportions symétriques, il a été construit approximativement vers 340 - 330 av. J.-C. pour que les malades soignés à l’Asclépion puissent voir des représentations théâtrales.

Il fut utilisé au moins jusqu’au IIIe siècle après J.-C. Imaginez le déroulement des concours de musique, de chant et de pièces de théâtre qui avaient lieu ici-même tous les quatre ans, au printemps, ainsi que d’autres tragédies présentées et associées à la vénération d’Asclépios et voyagez dans le temps!

Un théâtre animé: voyage au mythe contemporain

Depuis 1955, traditionnellement, l’ancien théâtre d’Épidaure occupe une place primordiale au parcours culturel de la Grèce contemporaine puisqu’il accueille des représentations théâtrales tragiques illustres avec la participation des plus grands acteurs, réalisateurs, chorégraphes, compositeurs grecs et étrangers ainsi que des spectacles d’opéra, de danse et des concerts de musique classique. Parmi les spectacles les plus célèbres on trouve celui de l’Opéra National Hellénique qui présenta «Norma» de Bellini en 1960 et celui de «Médée» de Cherubini, présenté l’année suivante, avec la diva Maria Callas sous la direction du metteur en scène Alexis Minotis et des costumes et décors realisés par Yiannis Tsarouchis.

L’Asclépieion d’Épidaure: la “matrice” de la médécine dans le Péloponnèse

Au Péloponnèse, dans cette région verdoyante au climat doux qui regorge d’eaux thermales, a été construit le sanctuaire d’Asclépios. Siège du dieu guérisseur de l’antiquité et centre thérapeutique principal du monde hellénique et romain. Sa notoriété a franchi les frontières de l’Argolide et le site fut considéré comme étant le berceau de la médecine. Ses monuments constituent des chefs-d’œuvre mondialement reconnus de l’art de l’antiquité grecque et un témoignage remarquable de la pratique de la médecine dans la Grèce Antique et du monde connu d’alors. La vénération d’Asclépios fut établie ici au VIe siècle av. J.-C.

Palea Epidavros, station balnéaire cosmopolite

Ce petit village côtier du Péloponnèse, avec ses magnifiques plages a vu le jour grâce aux représentations au théâtre antique et des dizaines de yachts et de voiliers accostent désormais son quai. Des acteurs ainsi que des amoureux du théâtre l’ont choisi comme lieu de rencontre de leurs vacances et de nombreuses célébrités ont construit leurs villas dans cette région plantée d’oliviers et d’agrumes.

Nea Epidavros: une petite ville pittoresque au cœur du Péloponnèse

Cette agglomération traditionnelle déploie ses différents quartiers sur des flancs rocheux. Le petit port abrité du vent dispose d’un port de plaisance et vous pourrez contempler les gorges de Vothyla depuis la forteresse vénitienne.

Lygourio: un village à l’histoire longue

Construit aux pieds verdoyants du mont Arachnaio, ce village est particulièrement animé en été grâce au Festival d’Épidaure. Ses sites dévoilent la longue histoire de la région ainsi que le rôle important que le village y a joué. Au sommet du village, vous pouvez voir les ruines des murs de l’antique Lissa.

Les trésors cachés de l’Ancienne Épidaure

Le Petit Théâtre d’Épidaure

Construit à la fin du IVe siècle, le Petit Théâtre d’Épidaure a été découvert en 1972 après avoir passé 23 siècles dans l’oubli, réduit au silence. Les bancs du théâtre et les trônes portent des inscriptions nommant les donateurs et associent le monument à Dionysos. Il a rouvert ses portes pour la première fois en 1995 à l’occasion des spectacles du Festival d’Athènes «Juillet musical».

Voyage aux endroits préférés des légendes de l’art

Dans plusieurs tavernes de la région, tout est là pour rappeler le passage des grands acteurs et réalisateurs qui venaient pendant les longues périodes de répétition et ensuite après les premières représentations de leurs spectacles au théâtre d’Epidaure. La tradition se poursuit...

Le musée d’histoire naturelle Kotsiomyti

Le musée se trouve à l’entrée du village de Lygourio et présente des objets rares qui mettent en valeur la richesse paléontologique, naturelle et minérale du Péloponnèse et de toute la Grèce plus largement. Sa pièce la plus impressionnante est une ammonite ancienne de 235 millions d’années qui a été découverte sur le site du théâtre antique à Épidaure.

  • L'ancien théâtre d'Épidaure: monument de l’héritage culturel mondial
  • L’Asclépieion d’Épidaure: la “matrice” de la médécine dans le Péloponnèse
  • Palea Epidavros, station balnéaire cosmopolite
  • Nea Epidavros: une petite ville pittoresque au cœur du Péloponnèse
  • Le Petit Théâtre d’Épidaure
  • Le musée d’histoire naturelle Kotsiomyti
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
The Tholos of Athena pronaia, originally consisted of 20 Doric columns arranges around 10 Corinthian columns

Les 10 sites archéologiques de Grèce les plus importants

Au pays qui a engendré la civilisation occidentale, chacun des vos pas est un voyage à l’histoire
Discover the wonder of the acropolis museum

Les plus populaires musées archéologiques de Grèce

Découvrez douze des plus populaires musées archéologiques majeurs en Grèce
Poseidon Temple at Cape Sounion near Athens, Greece

Soleil, plage et culture en Grèce

Des vacances au bord de la mer inspirées par les trésors de l’art grec ancestral et la lumière grecque

Ancient Epidaurus

Nature and drama in perfect harmony
The ancient theatre of Epidaurus, A Unesco World Heritage Site
Scroll
Today
SUN
10°
MON
11°
TUE
10°
WED
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
A living ancient theatre, a one-of-a-kind archaeological site and the famous Asclepius of antiquity – all within a natural landscape that makes for an ideal beach and culture holiday

You are in the Peloponnese, in the concave of the ancient theatre of Epidaurus. From the upper tier,  peace and tranquillity reign over the horizon and you understand immediately why the ancients chose this place to construct the famous Asclepion (or holistic healing centre) of Epidaurus. Now take a deep breath and look around at the grandstand and the stage down below, from which you can hear the proverbial pin drop.

You’re in possibly the most beautiful open-air, ancient theatre in the world, the birthplace of Psychagogia, meaning entertainment – in the fullest sense of the word. The theatre of Epidaurus was built as a place for patients to have therapeutic fun and has become renowned for its extraordinary acoustics. Now a Unesco World Heritage Site, it is still a therapy for body and soul. And best of all, it is an ancient theatre that is still alive today as, since 1955, performances of ancient tragedies have found their natural home here, nowadays during the annual Athens and Epidaurus Festival.

What to do in Ancient Epidaurus

The theatre 

The ancient theatre of Epidaurus is one of the most important monuments of ancient Greece and a world-class attraction, combining perfect acoustics, elegance and symmetrical proportions. It was built around 340-333 BC so that the patients of the Asclepion could enjoy theatrical performances as part of their therapy and was in use in the 3rd century AD. Imagine it how it once was, when musicians, singers and actors performed here every four years in the spring, honouring Asclepius, the god of medicine.

A living theatre and modern myth

The ancient theatre has once again found a prominent position in modern Greek culture, hosting acclaimed ancient dramas, operas, symphonies and dance performances. Leading local and foreign actors, directors, set designers, choreographers, musicians and composers are all drawn to Epidaurus but the most famous of all performances were those of the Greek National Opera in the early 1960s when the legendary diva Maria Callas sang Bellini’s ‘Norma’ and Cherubini’s ‘Medea’.

The ‘mother’ of medicine 

This lush green landscape, with its numerous thermal springs, was the perfect location in which to build the Asclepion of Epidaurus – the headquarters of antiquity’s god-physician and one of the most important healing centres of the ancient Greek and Roman world. Its fame travelled beyond the borders of the Argolid and its monuments have become renowned masterpieces of ancient Greek art. 

Coastal and cosmopolitan Old Epidaurus

This seaside settlement in the Peloponnese, with its latticework of beaches, took life thanks to the performances in the ancient theatre. And every summer, dozens of yachts and sailboats moor at its harbour. Actors and theatre aficionados are drawn to it and many celebrities have built their villas here, among the citrus and olive groves.

Nea (New) Epidavros

A picturesque settlement spreading across the rocky slopes, this sheltered little harbour has an attractive marina. From the Venetian castle, you can admire the Vothylas Gorge. 

The historical town of Lygourio

Built at the foot of the Arachnaio Mountain chain, Lygourio comes to life every summer thanks to the annual festival. Its many sights are indicative of the long, rich history of the region. At the highest point of the village, you’ll see the ruins of the walls of ancient Lyssa.

Hidden gems of Ancient Epidaurus

The Little Theatre of Ancient Epidaurus

Built at the end of the 4th century BC, the little theatre of Ancient Epidaurus was discovered after 23 centuries of silence and oblivion, in 1972. The seats and thrones of the theatre are inscribed with the names of donors. Its first modern performance was for the Greek Festival, ‘Musical July’, in 1995.

Dine with the memories of legends

At a number of the traditional tavernas in the area, there are numerous reminders of the big names that have passed through here – actors, directors and opera singers, who dined between rehearsals and after the premieres of their great performances in the ancient theatre. The tradition lives on.

Kotsiomitis Museum of Natural History

At the entrance of Lygourio, you’ll find this museum, which features rare exhibits that showcase the mineral, paleontological and natural wealth of the Peloponnese and of Greece. Its most impressive exhibit is a 235 million-year-old ammonite found at the site of the ancient theatre.

  • The ancient theatre of Epidaurus
  • The Asclepion of Epidaurus
  • Old Epidaurus
  • Nea (New) Epidavros
  • Little Theatre of Ancient Epidaurus
  • Kotsiomitis Museum of Natural History
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Discover the wonder of the acropolis museum

The 12 most popular archaeological museums in Greece

Wandering through the museums of Greece and experiencing the scale of achievement on display allows us to immerse ourselves in everything that contributed to the birth to western civilisation.
Couple hiking in nature

Holidays for seniors in Greece

Spectacular beaches, thermal springs, spas: a dream of a lifetime has just begun in one of the most beautiful countries in the world
Poseidon Temple at Cape Sounion near Athens, Greece

Sun, sea and culture in Greece

All the pleasures of the beach combined with the chance to visit historic treasures, enhanced by the legendary Greek sunlight