Berg Athos

Eine reise zu dem garten der jungfrau Maria
Scroll
Heute
13°
MON
14°
TUE
13°
WED
12°
THU
12°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Der “Garten der Jungfrau Maria” ist die größte und bedeutendste Mönchsrepublik im Orthodoxen Osten

Die Mönchsrepublik Athos. Im östlichen, wildesten “Finger” der Halbinsel von Chalkidiki zeigt die Religion ihre unübersehbare Präsenz. Der Berg Athos ist nach Jerusalem der zweitwichtigste Pilgerort für die weltweit über 300 Millionen Orthodoxen Christen.

Mit über 20 Klöstern bildet Athos eine autonome Region im griechischen Staat, fällt aber spirituell unter die Souveränität des Ökumenischen Patriarchats von Konstantinopel. Obwohl die Region der Jungfrau Maria gewidmet ist, ist Frauen der Eintritt verwehrt. Nichtsdestotrotz können Erwachsene mit einer Diamonitirion oder Aufenthaltsgenehmigung, unabhängig von Geschlecht oder Religion, den Heiligen Berg besuchen.

Besuchen Sie den Berg Athos

An der Schwelle zum Himmel

Ouranopolis, die „himmlische Stadt“ am Meer, ist auch das Tor zum Berg Athos. Mehr als tausend Menschen leben hier am Fuße des Heiligen Bergs und im Schatten des strengen Prosfori-Turms. Ouranopolis ist ein wichtiger Ferienort in Nordgriechenland und der letzte weltliche Ort für Reisende, bevor sie die Schiffe zum Klosterreich besteigen. Hier warten auch ihre Frauen auf sie, sehnsüchtig in das verbotene Gebiet schauend.

Historische Klöster, Klausen, Zellen und Rückzugsorte

Die 20 unterschiedlich alten Klöster der Athos-Halbinsel bilden religiöse Kommunen. Es gibt auch weniger streng organisierte Einrichtungen – Klausen, Zellen und Rückzugsorte, wo Einzelne als Einsiedler, Eremiten oder in kleinen Bruderschaften leben. Über die Halbinsel verlaufen keine asphaltierten Straßen, aber ein ausgedehntes Netzwerk aus Waldwegen und Wanderpfaden zwischen den Klöstern.

Als Entdecker Pilgern

Ob als Pilger oder als Besucher, die Mönche heißen Sie willkommen und bieten einfache Unterkünfte und überraschend gutes Essen an. Mahlzeiten werden aber je nach Gebetszeiten und religiösen Pflichten zu ungewöhnlichen Uhrzeiten gereicht. Nahrung – spirituelle und materielle – wird angeboten, nicht verkauft. Aber man muss mit den Mönchen fasten, die niemals Fleisch essen und nur an Dienstagen, Donnerstagen und am Wochenenden Olivenöl, Milchprodukte, Käse und Fisch essen. Während der vier Fastenzeiten leben sie sogar vegan.

Erleben Sie das Leben der Mönche und die paradiesische Natur

Nur hier bietet sich Besuchern, egal welcher Religion oder Philosophie sie angehören, die einmalige Chance, echte byzantinische Choräle zu hören. Die Mönche singen mit bewundernswerter Hingabe zur christlichen Musiktradition. Entdecken Sie ausserhalb der Gebetszeiten die wunderschöne Natur Griechenlands. Auf den Wanderwegen zwischen den Klöstern präsentiert sich ein unglaublicher Reichtum an seltener Flora und Fauna der makedonischen Natur. Die Mönche nehmen auch gerne Hilfe bei ihren täglichen Aufgaben an.

Das erste und grösste Kloster

Das Kloster Megisti Lavra ist das größte und älteste auf Athos. Es wurde im Jahr 962 n. Chr. von dem Mönch Athanasios, dem Athoniten an der Spitze der Halbinsel gegründet. Die Architektur ist typisch für die spät-byzantische Festungsbauart. In der Bibliothek lagert die drittgrößte Sammlung der Welt an byzantinischen Manuskripten.

Verborgene Schätze auf dem Berg Athos

Das wiederaufgebaute Kloster Zygos

Wer wissen möchte, wie ein Athonisches Kloster im 10. Jahrhundert n. Chr. aussah, sollte EIN PAAR Stunden von seinem Urlaub hier verbringen. Sogar Frauen dürfen die Ruinen von Zygos, ganz in der Nähe von Ouranoupolis besuchen. Es ist eines der ältesten Klöster der Gegend und mit Sorgfalt und Hingabe wiederhergerichtet.

Ein ehrwürdiger Weinberg

Nur 20 Minuten zu Fuß von dem Kloster Iviron entfernt liegt das Weingut Mylopotamos. In den vergangenen zwei Jahrzehnten haben die Mönche des Agios Efstathios einen der ältesten europäischen Weinberge wieder zum Leben erweckt und eine Reihe international anerkannter Weine hervorgebracht.

Auf den Gipfel des Heiligen Berges

Der beste Weg zum Gipfel des Athos (2033 m) führt über das Kloster Megisti Lavra und Kerasia. Es gibt leichte und mittelschwere Routen durch die Wälder aus Eichen, Kastanien und Tannen, die karge Landschaft oberhalb davon und den riesigen Felsen der „Verklärung des Heilands“ (Metamorphosis tou Sotiros). Von der Kapelle am Gipfel ist der Ausblick über die nördliche Ägäis und Makedonien atemberaubend.

Ouranopolis, the ‘heavenly city’ by the sea, is also the gateway to Mount Athos

Domaine Porto Karras, the largest organic vineyards in Greece

Erkunden Sie die Weinstraßen von Chalkidiki

Entdecken Sie eine Mischung aus Tradition und moderner Weinherstellung in einer wunderschönen Kulisse, von den niedrig gelegenen Hügeln von Kassandra bis zu den Klöstern auf...
Alikes, one of most beautiful and popular beaches on the island, looking onto the Sithonia peninsula

Nehmen Sie Kurs auf Ammouliani, die einzige bewohnte Insel von Chalkidiki

Das Tempo verlangsamt sich fast zu einem unwiderstehlichen Schneckentempo, wenn man zur einzigen bewohnten Insel von Chalkidiki hinüber hüpft, wo man an goldenen Sandstränden faulenzen...
  • An der Schwelle zum Himmel
  • Historische Klöster, Klausen, Zellen und Rückzugsorte
  • Das erste und grösste Kloster
  • Das wiederaufgebaute Kloster Zygos
  • Ein ehrwürdiger Weinberg
  • Auf den Gipfel des Heiligen Berges
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Halkidiki's exotic crystal clear waters

Chalkidiki: Exotik fühlte sich noch nie so nah an

Wo Sie auch immer in Chalkidiki hinreisen, eine faszinierende Mischung aus Natur, wundervollem Essen und inspirierender Kultur ist der Wegweiser
HALKIDIKI exotic beaches

Die besten strände von Chalkidiki

Ein exotisches paradies in Nordgriechenland
Moni Arkadiou, Crete

Religion in Griechenland

Klöster, Kirchen, Wallfahrtsorte und Pilgerreisen geben Einblicke in die orthodoxe Tradition

Mount Athos

The holy mountain, a religious beacon
Scroll
Today
14°
WED
14°
THU
14°
FRI
13°
SAT
12°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
The largest and most important monastic state in the Orthodox East is also known as ‘the garden of the Virgin Mary’, laying claims to be one of the best cultural tours in northern Greece

The monastic state of Athos, which occupies the easternmost and wildest ‘leg’ of the three-pronged Halkidiki peninsula, is the second-most important religious place of pilgrimage, after Jerusalem, for the more than 300 million Orthodox Christians worldwide.

Now hosting 20 monasteries, Mount Athos forms an autonomous region within the Greek state, with spiritually falling under the jurisdiction of the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople. Although it is dedicated to the Virgin Mary, all females are forbidden entry. But any adult male (or under-18-year-olds accompanied by their father) may visit the Holy Mountain, regardless of faith or nationality, by obtaining a  permit.

What to do in Mount Athos

On the threshold of heaven

Ouranopolis, the ‘heavenly city’ by the sea, is also the gateway to Mount Athos. More than a thousand people live here on the doorstep of the Holy Mountain and in the shadow of the massive, austere Prosfori Tower. An important holiday resort in northern Greece, Ouranoplis is the last worldly destination before the visitors board the boat to the monastic realm. 

Historic monasteries, cells and religious retreats

On the Athos peninsula, 20 monasteries of varying ages function as religious communities. There are also lesser establishments – hermitages, cells and retreats – where individuals live as anchorites or hermits or in small brotherhoods. You’ll find no asphalt roads here, but there is an extended network of forest trails and paths connecting the monasteries.

Either explorer or pilgrim

Whether you knock on a monastery door as an explorer or pilgrim, you’ll find a warm welcome, simple lodgings and surprisingly good food. But meals occur at odd hours, dependent on the times of prayers and religious duties. Nourishment here, both spiritual and material, is offered not sold, but you will have to fast with the monks, who never eat meat or allow olive oil, dairy products, cheese and fish to pass their lips on Tuesdays, Thursdays and weekends, and become vegans during the four major fasting periods. 

Communing with the monks and divine nature

This may be your only chance to hear genuine Byzantine hymns, sung by voices that honour the Christian musical tradition. And when you aren’t following the prayers, you have the choice of worshipping nature instead. Paths pass through places of unbelievable natural beauty and rare flora and fauna. Or you can choose to assist the monks in their daily tasks.

The first and greatest monastery

The monastery of Great Lavra is the oldest and largest on Athos. It was founded by the Blessed Athanasios the Athonite in 962 at the tip of the peninsula. Its architecture is a typical example of late-Byzantine fortress design and its library contains the third-largest collection of Byzantine manuscripts in the world.

Hidden Gems of Mount Athos

The restored Zygos Monastery

If you want to see what an Athonite monastery of the 10th century is like, you should spare a few hours of your holiday to visit the ruins of Zygos very close to Ouranoupolis. It’s one of the oldest monasteries in the area and has been restored with care and devotion.

A venerable vineyard

Just a 20-minute walk from Iviron monastery will take you to one of the most important attractions in the area, the Mylopotamos Winery. In the past two decades, the monks of the Holy Seat of Agios Efstathios have revived one of Europe’s oldest vineyards, creating a collection of internationally recognised fine wines.

Climbing to the top of the Holy Mountain

The best way to reach the peak of Mt Athos (2,033m) is via the Great Lavra monastery and Kerasia. You can choose from routes that vary between slight to moderate in difficulty, walking through forests of oak, chestnut and fir, beyond the timberline to the bare alpine zone and massive rocks of the Transfiguration of the Saviour (Metamorphosis tou Sotiros). From the chapel at the summit, the view over the North Aegean and Macedonia is astonishing.

Ouranopolis, the ‘heavenly city’ by the sea, is also the gateway to Mount Athos

Experience the best of Mount Athos

Get a whole new perspective on Halkidiki by travelling to the birthplace of one of the Fathers of Western Philosophy

Follow in the footsteps of Aristotle

Get a whole new perspective on Halkidiki by travelling to the birthplace of one of the Fathers of Western Philosophy – and test out a...
Domaine Porto Karras, the largest organic vineyards in Greece

Exploring the wine routes of Halkidiki

Discover a blend of tradition and modern winemaking in a beautiful setting, from the low-lying hills of Kassandra to the monasteries of Mt Athos
Alikes, one of most beautiful and popular beaches on the island, looking onto the Sithonia peninsula

Setting sail for Ammouliani, Halkidiki’s only island

The pace slows to an irresistible crawl as you hop over to Halkidiki’s only inhabited island, where you can laze on golden sandy beaches and...
  • On the threshold of heaven
  • Historic monasteries, cells and religious retreats
  • The first and greatest monastery
  • The restored Zygos Monastery
  • A venerable vineyard
  • Climbing to the top of the Holy Mountain
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Halkidiki's exotic crystal clear waters

Exotic never felt so close as in Halkidiki

A captivating blend of nature, wonderful food and inspiring culture guides the way in northern Greece
HALKIDIKI exotic beaches

The best beaches in Halkidiki

Welcome to an exotic paradise in northern Greece
Moni Arkadiou, Crete

The most important religious sites in Greece

Monasteries, churches, sacred places and pilgrimages tell of the long and enduring devotion to Orthodox Christianity in Greece