Святая гора Афон

Путешествие в «Сад Богородицы»
Scroll
Сегодня
SUN
MON
TUE
WED
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Афонские монастыри, крупнейшее и наиболее важное монашеское государство на православном Востоке. Место благочестивое, сакраментальное, вечное

Знаковое для религии место – Святой Афон. Монашеское государство Святого Афона, находящееся на крайнем и самом скалистом полуострове области Халкидики, является вторым наиболее важным местом паломничества после Иерусалима для более, чем 300 миллионов православных христиан со всего мира. Это государство основано в 972 г.

Сегодня на Афоне расположено 20 монастырей, которые образуют автономную область в составе греческого государства, однако в непосредственной церковной юрисдикции Константинопольского Патриархата. Женщинам сюда вход запрещен, зато любой взрослый мужчина может посетить Святую Гору независимо от его вероисповедания или национальности, достаточно получить разрешение-визу Диамонитирион.

Стоит увидеть на Святой Горе

На пороге «небес»

Урануполис - "небесный город " на берегу моря, являющийся вратами, ведущими на Святой Афон. Более тысячи человек живут здесь у подножия Святой Горы в тени впечатляющей башни Просфори. Важный летний курорт Греции город Урануполис является последним мирским местом, откуда посетители и паломники отправляются по морю на кораблике навстречу неожиданному и чарующему миру – Святой горе Афону, которую называют «Садом Богородицы».

Исторические монастыри, скиты и кельи и святые обители

На Святой горе Афон находится 20 больших монастырей, функционирующих как религиозные общины. В помещениях меньших размеров, таких как скиты, кельи, и святые обители живут небольшие братства, аскеты и отшельники. Здесь нет асфальтированных дорог, но зато есть множество лесных дорог и тропинок.

Путешественники – паломники

Путешественники или паломники находят здесь теплый прием и удивительно вкусную еду. Прием пищи здесь в определенное время, в зависимости от времени молитв и религиозных обрядов. Пища, будь то духовная или материальная, здесь не продается, мясо здесь не едят, а оливковое масло, молочные продукты, сыр и рыбу разрешено есть только по вторникам, четвергам и в выходные дни.

Наблюдаем жизнь монахов и божественную природу

На Святом Афоне у вас появится уникальный шанс, независимо от вашей веры, религии или мировоззрения и убеждений, услышать подлинные византийские гимны в исполнении замечательных голосов, которые чтят христианскую музыкальную традицию. Можно также насладиться красотой природы этого уголка Греции, прогуливаясь пешком от монастыря к монастырю, пересекая пейзажи несравненной природной красоты с редкой флорой и фауной или помочь монахам в их повседневной деятельности на фоне впечатляющих видов природы.

Первый и самый большой монастырь

Монастырь Великой Лавры является старейшим и крупнейшим на Святой горе Афон. Он был основан Пресвятым Афанасием Афонским в 962 году на самой крайней точке полуострова. Его архитектура является типичным образцом позднего византийского стиля, а библиотека содержит третью по величине коллекцию византийских рукописей в мире.

Скрытые сокровища Святой Горы

Реконструкция монастыря Зигос

Если вы хотите узнать (в том числе женщины), каким был настоящий Афонский монастырь 10-го века, то вам стоит уделить несколько часов вашего отпуска, чтобы посетить руины монастыря Зигос, находящегося поблизости от Урануполиса. Монастырь Зигос один из старейших на Афонском полуострове и его реконструкция весьма тщательна.

Один из старейших виноградников Европы

Всего в 20 минутах ходьбы от монастыря Иверон находится одна из важных достопримечательностей этой области известная винодельня Милопотамос. За последние два десятилетия монахи Святой Обители Святой Евстафия возродили один из старейших виноградников в Европе и создали коллекцию отборных вин, которые неоднократно получали награды на международных выставках.

Восхождение на вершину Святой Горы Афон

Лучший способ достичь пика горы Афон (2033 м) – это пройти через монастыри Великая Лавра и Керасия. Вы можете выбрать легкий или средней трудности маршрут, прогуляться по дубовой, каштановой роще и еловому лесу до высотной альпийской зоны и скалы Преображения Спасителя. Вид на Эгейское море и Македонию из часовенки на вершине просто захватывает дух. 

Ouranopolis, the ‘heavenly city’ by the sea, is also the gateway to Mount Athos

Domaine Porto Karras, the largest organic vineyards in Greece

По винным тропам Халкидики

Познакомьтесь с удивительным сочетанием традиционного и современного виноделия Халкидики. И всё это на фоне великолепной природы: от пологих холмов Кассандры до монастырей на горе...
Alikes, one of most beautiful and popular beaches on the island, looking onto the Sithonia peninsula

Отправляясь на Амульяни – единственный островок близ Халкидики

Сердце замирает, когда Вы ступаете на берег единственного обитаемого островка близ Халкидики, предвкушая отдых на золотом песчаном побережье и на тихих близлежащих крохотных островках.
  • На пороге «небес»
  • Исторические монастыри, скиты и кельи и святые обители
  • Первый и самый большой монастырь
  • Реконструкция монастыря Зигос
  • Один из старейших виноградников Европы
  • Восхождение на вершину Святой Горы Афон
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Halkidiki's exotic crystal clear waters

Халкидики: Экзотика никогда не была так близко

В какой бы части полуострова Халкидики вы не путешествовали, увлекательное сочетание природы, замечательной еды и вдохновляющей культуры будет вашим проводником
HALKIDIKI exotic beaches

Самые лучшие Пляжи Халкидики

Экзотический рай в северной Греции
Moni Arkadiou, Crete

Религия в Греции

Монастыри, соборы, храмы, святые места. Трепет, набожность и благочестие

Mount Athos

The holy mountain, a religious beacon
Scroll
Today
WED
THU
FRI
SAT
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
The largest and most important monastic state in the Orthodox East is also named ‘the garden of the Virgin Mary’, laying claims to be the best cultural tour in northern Greece

The largest and most important monastic state in the Orthodox East is also named ‘the garden of the Virgin Mary’. The monastic state of Athos, which occupies the easternmost, wildest ‘leg’ of the three-pronged Halkidiki peninsula, Mount Athos is the second-most important religious place of pilgrimage, after Jerusalem, for the more than 300 million Orthodox Christians worldwide.

Now hosting 20 monasteries, Mount Athos forms an autonomous region within the Greek state, while spiritually it falls under the jurisdiction of the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople. Although it is dedicated to the Virgin Mary, all females are forbidden entry. But any adult may visit the Holy Mountain, regardless of faith or nationality, simply by obtaining a Diamonitirion or residence permit.

What to do in Mount Athos

On the threshold of heaven

Ouranopolis, the ‘heavenly city’ by the sea, is also the gateway to Mount Athos. More than a thousand people live here on the doorstep of the Holy Mountain and in the shadow of the massive, austere Prosfori tower in its midst. An important holiday resort in Northern Greece, Ouranoplis is the last worldly destination before the would-be visitor boards the boat to the monastic realm. And this is where their women wait for them and look longingly at the forbidden territory.

Historic monasteries, cells and religious retreats

On the Athos peninsula, 20 monasteries of varying ages function as religious communities. There are also lesser establishments – hermitages, cells and retreats where individuals live as anchorites or hermits or in small brotherhoods. You will find no asphalt roads here, but there is an extended network of forest trails and paths connecting the monasteries.

Either explorer or pilgrim

Whether you knock on a monastery door as an explorer or pilgrim, you’ll find a warm welcome, simple lodgings and surprisingly good food. But meals occur at odd hours, dependent on the times of prayers and religious duties. Nourishment here, both spiritual and material, is offered not sold, but you will have to fast with the monks, who never eat meat or allow olive oil, dairy products, cheese and fish to pass their lips on Tuesdays, Thursdays and weekends, and become vegans during the four major fasting periods. 

Communing with the monks and divine nature

This will be your only chance, regardless of religion or personal philosophy and beliefs, to hear genuine Byzantine hymns, sung by admirable voices that honour the Christian musical tradition. During the times where you won’t be following the prayers, you can be worshipping nature instead, by discovering the unique beauty of this corner of Greece. Walk to the next monastery along paths that pass through places of unbelievable natural beauty and rare flora and fauna. Or you may choose to assist the monks in their daily tasks, with stunning Macedonian nature as a backdrop.

The first and greatest monastery

The monastery of Great Lavra is the oldest and largest on Athos. It was founded by the Blessed Athanasios the Athonite in the year 962 at the tip of the peninsula. Its architecture is a typical example of late-Byzantine fortress design and its library contains the third largest collection of Byzantine manuscripts in the world.

Hidden Gems of Mount Athos

The restored Zygos Monastery

If you want to see what an Athonite monastery of the 10th century is like, you should spare a few hours of your holiday – even if you’re a woman – to visit the ruins of Zygos very close to Ouranoupolis. It’s one of the oldest monasteries in the area and it has been restored with care and devotion.

A venerable vineyard

Just a 20minute walk from Iviron monastery will take you to one of the most important attractions in the area, the Mylopotamos winery. In the past two decades, the monks of the Holy Seat of Agios Efstathios have revived one of Europe’s oldest vineyards, creating in the process, a collection of internationally recognised fine wines.

Climbing to the top of the Holy Mountain

The best way to reach the peak of Mt Athos (2,033 m) is via the Great Lavra monastery and Kerasia. You can choose from routes that vary between slight to moderate in difficulty and you will walk through forests of oak, chestnut and fir, up beyond the timberline to the bare alpine zone and massive rocks of the Transfiguration of the Saviour (Metamorphosis tou Sotiros). From the chapel at the summit, the view over the North Aegean and Macedonia is mind blowing.

Ouranopolis, the ‘heavenly city’ by the sea, is also the gateway to Mount Athos

Experience the best of Mount Athos

Get a whole new perspective on Halkidiki by travelling to the birthplace of one of the Fathers of Western Philosophy

Follow in the footsteps of Aristotle

Get a whole new perspective on Halkidiki by travelling to the birthplace of one of the Fathers of Western Philosophy – and test out a...
Domaine Porto Karras, the largest organic vineyards in Greece

Exploring the wine routes of Halkidiki

Discover a blend of tradition and modern winemaking in a beautiful setting, from the low-lying hills of Kassandra to the monasteries of Mt Athos
Alikes, one of most beautiful and popular beaches on the island, looking onto the Sithonia peninsula

Setting sail for Ammouliani, Halkidiki’s only island

The pace slows to an irresistible crawl as you hop over to Halkidiki’s only inhabited island, where you can laze on golden sandy beaches and...
  • On the threshold of heaven
  • Historic monasteries, cells and religious retreats
  • The first and greatest monastery
  • The restored Zygos Monastery
  • A venerable vineyard
  • Climbing to the top of the Holy Mountain
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Halkidiki's exotic crystal clear waters

Halkidiki: Exotic never felt so close

Wherever you travel in Halkidiki, a captivating blend of nature, wonderful food and inspiring culture guides the way. A land blessed with Mediterranean sunshine and a generous touch of the exotic, looks forward to welcoming you throughout the year.
HALKIDIKI exotic beaches

The best beaches in Halkidiki

An exotic paradise in Northern Greece
Moni Arkadiou, Crete

Religious tourism in Greece

Monasteries, churches, sacred places and pilgrimages tell of the long and enduring devotion to Orthodox Christianity in Greece