Get a whole new perspective on Halkidiki by travelling to the birthplace of one of the Fathers of Western Philosophy
EXPERIENCE

Folgen Sie den Spuren von Aristoteles

Betrachten Sie Chalkidiki aus einer ganz neuen Perspektive, indem Sie zur Geburtsstätte eines der Väter der westlichen Philosophie reisen – und stellen Sie unterwegs einige seiner Theorien auf die Probe
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Dauer
1 - 2 Tage
Nach Jahreszeit
Das ganze Jahr über

OVERVIEW

Zweifellos sind es die Strände und die exotische Landschaft, die einem in Chalkidiki sofort ins Auge fallen. Aber, wenn es um den Geist geht, dann gibt es gewiss kaum etwas Vergleichbares wie das Erbe von Aristoteles

Der großartige Philosoph (und Biologe, Metaphysiker, Logiker, Linguist, politischer und ökonomischer Theoretiker…) wurde an den Küsten der östlichsten Halbinsel von Chalkidiki, in Stagira, geboren. Und nach einem Aufenthalt in Athen, wo er in Platons Akademie gelehrt hat, wurde er von Philipp II. von Makedonien 343 v. Chr. in sein Heimatland zurückberufen, um dessen Sohn, Alexander den Großen, in Sachen Ethik, Staatsführung und vieles mehr zu unterrichten. 

Dadurch verdient die antike Stadt Stagira durchaus ihren Platz in der Kulturidentität von Chalkidiki, neben den Klöstern, Schlössern, Weingütern und anderen Sehenswürdigkeiten der Region. In der Tat war Aristoteles in der Renaissance einfach als “der Stagirit” bekannt – wenn er nicht, neben Platon, als einer der beiden Väter der westlichen Philosophie genannt wurde. 

Er hat praktisch jeden Aspekt des westlichen Denkens beeinflusst und die Peripatetische (oder umherwandernde) philosophische Schule gegründet, die nach der Gewohnheit genannt wurde, Vorlesungen in den Wandelgängen zu halten. Was für eine größere Motivation könnte es also geben, um einfach loszuziehen und Chalkidiki auf eine kaum vorstellbare Weise zu erkunden?

Weiterlesen Read Less

DON'T MISS

Antikes Stagira 

Die Geburtsstätte von Aristoteles wurde im 7. Jahrhundert v. Chr. von Siedlern aus der Insel Andros gegründet. Da Stagira gleich außerhalb der Stadt von Olympiada im nordöstlichen Chalkidiki lag, wurde es von Philipp II. besetzt, nachdem seine Bewohner zuerst auf die Seite der Athener und später auf die Seite der Spartaner während der Peloponnesischen Kriege getreten waren. Zunächst wurde es demzufolge zerstört, anschließend aber auf Alexanders Wunsch hin aus Respekt für Aristoteles neu erbaut. Unter den Artefakten gibt es Überreste von byzantinischen Mauern und eine antike Zitadelle, die Häuser, eine Agora und den Turm vom antiken Stagira. 

Aristoteles-Park

In der Nähe von Stagira befindet sich ein dem großartigen Mann gewidmeter Park. Mit Aussicht auf den Golf von Ierissos und (an klaren Tagen) auf das Berg Athos, gibt es den Besucherinnen und Besuchern eine interaktive Einsicht in viele der physikalischen Phänomene, die von Aristoteles als “Physik” bezeichnet wurden, und zwar anhand von Instrumenten: Ein Prisma, optische Platten, ein Kompass, eine Sonnenuhr, Parabolspiegel und Windräder, alles unter den wissenden Blicken der Statue von Aristoteles.   

Weiterlesen Read Less
  • Mit dem Auto vom Thessaloniki Flughafen:
    • Aristoteles-Park: 80km (1 St. 20 Min.)
    • Antikes Stagira: 113km (1 St. 30 Min.)
  • Das Erlebnis kann man das ganze Jahr über genießen. 
  • Museen und Kulturstätten:

Aristoteles-Park

  • März-Oktober täglich von 8:30-20:30 geöffnet
  • Tickets: €2 
  • Es ist möglich, den Park im Winter zu besuchen, wenn es das Wetter erlaubt, aber es kann sein, dass einige Instrumente bedeckt sind.  

Mehr Informationen

Antikes Stagira

  • Es gelten saisonabhängige Öffnungszeiten. 

Mehr Informationen

  • Herbst
  • Frühling
  • Sοmmer
  • Winter
  • Höchstwahrscheinlich werden Sie einen Mietwagen brauchen, um das Antike Stagira und weitere naheliegende Sehenswürdigkeiten zu besuchen.
  • Vergessen Sie nicht, etwas Zeit am Ende für einen Besuch zum Strand oder zu einem Weingut zu lassen. Ihre gesamte Tour wird  dann vermutlich 1-2 Tage dauern. 

VERANTWORTUNGSVOLL REISEN

Bitte helfen Sie uns, den Zauber unseres Erbes für künftige Generationen zu bewahren, indem Sie alle Grundregeln für den Besuch archäologischer Stätten befolgen.

Berühren Sie bitte keine Überreste oder Monumente. Die natürlichen Öle der Finger können äußerst schädlich für die Artefakte sein.
Bleiben Sie auf den markierten Wegen und respektieren Sie die anderen Besucher.
Verwenden Sie die dafür vorgesehenen Abfalleimer, oder nehmen Sie gegebenefalls Ihren Müll mit, bis Sie einen Abfalleimer finden.
Wenn ein Schild mit der Aufschrift "Kein Blitzlicht" vorhanden ist, beachten Sie es bitte. Es ist zum Schutz der Denkmäler.
Benutzen Sie eine wiederauffüllbare Wasserflasche, um Ihren Kunststoffverbrauch zu minimieren.
Rauchen ist verboten.
In Kulturstätten sind Haustiere (außer Blindenhunde) nicht erlaubt.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·
Thessaloniki Archaeological Museum

Eine Tour im Archäologischen Museum Thessaloniki

Domaine Porto Karras, the largest organic vineyards in Greece

Erkunden Sie die Weinstraßen von Chalkidiki

Alikes, one of most beautiful and popular beaches on the island, looking onto the Sithonia peninsula

Nehmen Sie Kurs auf Ammouliani, die einzige bewohnte Insel von Chalkidiki

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

Ein Besuch zum zauberhaften Tempel des Poseidon in Sounion

Palaios Panteleiomonas is a centuries-old village whose inhabitants had chosen to relocate to the coast before returning to breathe new life into the village

Sagenhaftes Village-Hopping an den Hängen des Berges Olymp

Ηopping between villages is the perfect follow-up to enjoying the lively atmosphere of the towns and beautiful beaches of Paros

Entdecken Sie einen Zufluchtsort in den Dörfern von Paros

The villages of Evritania overflow with everything magical about Central Greece

Village Hopping in den Bergen von Evrytania

View of Acropolis and Odeon of Herodes Atticus

Der kulturelle Reichtum Athens in einem Streifzug

Get a whole new perspective on Halkidiki by travelling to the birthplace of one of the Fathers of Western Philosophy
EXPERIENCE

Follow in the footsteps of Aristotle

Get a whole new perspective on Halkidiki by travelling to the birthplace of one of the Fathers of Western Philosophy – and test out a few of his theories along the way
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1 - 2 days
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

There’s no question that it’s the beaches and exotic landscape that first catch the eye in Halkidiki. But as far as catching the mind is concerned, surely nothing comes close to exploring the legacy of Aristotle

The great philosopher (and biologist, metaphysicist, logician, linguist, political and economic theorist…) was born on the shores of Halkidiki’s easternmost peninsula, in Stagira. And after a stint at Plato’s Academy in Athens, he was called back to the land of his birth by Philip II of Macedon in 343 BC to teach his son, Alexander the Great, on matters of ethics and government and much else besides. 

In this way, Ancient Stagira deserves its place within Halkidiki’s cultural identity alongside the region’s monasteries, castles, wineries and other must sees. Indeed, during Renaissance times, Aristotle was known simply as ‘the Stagirist’ – when he wasn’t being called, along with Plato, one of the Fathers of Western Philosophy. 

He has influenced virtually every aspect of western thinking and famously founded the Peripatetic (or wandering) school of philosophy – so-called because of his habit of walking around whilst lecturing. So what greater motivation could there be than to get out there and discover Halkidiki in a way you might never have imagined.

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Ancient Stagira

The birthplace of Aristotle was founded in the 7th century BC by colonisers from the island of Andros. Located just outside the town of Olympiada, in northeastern Halkidiki, it was occupied by Philip II after its residents sided first with the Athenians and then the Spartans in the Peloponnesian Wars. Initially destroyed as a consequence, it was subsequently rebuilt at the request of Alexander out of respect for Aristotle. Amongst the artefacts are the remains of Byzantine walls and an ancient citadel, including houses, an agora and the tower of Ancient Stagira. 

Aristotle’s Park

Near Stagira is a park dedicated to the great man. With views across the Gulf of Ierissos and (on a clear day) the Mt Athos peninsula, it gives visitors a hands-on understanding of many of the physical phenomena Aristotle referred to as ‘the Naturals’, through instruments such as a prism, optical discs, a compass, a sundial, parabolic refractors and wind turbines – all under the knowing gaze of Aristotle in statue form.

Read More Read Less
  • By car from Thessaloniki Airport:
    • Aristotle’s Park: 80km (1hr20min)
    • Ancient Stagira: 113km (1hr30min)
  • The experience can be enjoyed all year round 
  • Museums and cultural sites:

Aristotle’s Park

  • March-October open daily 8:30-20:30
  • Tickets: €2 
  • It is possible to visit in winter, weather-permitting, but some of the instruments may be covered. 

More Info

Ancient Stagira

  • Seasonal opening hours apply. 

More Info

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • You will most likely need to hire a car to reach Ancient Stagira and other nearby attractions.
  • Don’t forget to leave time to visit the beach, and perhaps a vineyard, so your complete tour will likely take 1-2 days.

Plan your trip

 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of our heritage for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting cultural sites.

Refrain from touching any remains or monuments. The fingers’ natural oils can be extremely damaging to artefacts.
Stay on the marked paths and respect your fellow visitors.
Use the bins provided or, if need be, take your rubbish with you.
If there’s a “No flash photography” sign, please respect it. It’s to protect the monuments.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Smoking is prohibited.
No pets (other than guide dogs) are allowed in cultural sites.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
You can appreciate the museum’s stature even before you enter, with its imposing 19th-century neoclassical facade

Journey through time at the National Archaeological Museum in Athens

The Museum of Cycladic Art presents us with artwork so elegant that it still influences fashion trends today

A tour of the Museum of Cycladic Art in Athens

View of traditional tavern in Pythagoreio

Village-hopping in Samos, from mountain to coast

The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

A walking tour of Skyros’ main town

Domaine Porto Karras, the largest organic vineyards in Greece

Exploring the wine routes of Halkidiki

Alikes, one of most beautiful and popular beaches on the island, looking onto the Sithonia peninsula

Setting sail for Ammouliani, Halkidiki’s only island