8

LES 8 EXPÉRIENCES LES PLUS MYTHIQUES À MT OLYMPE

READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour boire un café grec

Terre des 12 dieux de l'Olympe, le Mt Olympe has always intrigued those who have stood before it. And since it was first scaled in 1913, people have found ever-more ingenious ways to conquer its many peaks, valleys and ravines. The question is … are you ready to find your inner Zeus?

Un accueil chaleureux à Litohoro

Tout commence à Litohoro. La ville la plus proche du Mt Olympe est en partie montagneuse (construite dans les contreforts) et en partie côtière (à une courte distance des longues plages de sable de Piérie). Beaucoup de choses à voir, que vous soyez à l'ombre sur la placette principale, sur le point de vous installer dans un meze coloré, ou que vous exploriez l'architecture macédonienne traditionnelle et les maisons à balcons en bois dans les ruelles.

Litochoro village

Ne partez pas sans avoir goûté à leurs desserts. La rivière Énipeas passe par là, mais l'essentiel de votre attention se portera sur la montagne en arrière-plan.

Une très belle promenade à la gorge d’Enipeas

Votre initiation au Mt Olympe se veut douce, mais c'est aussi l'une des excursions les plus mémorables sur cette montagne légendaire. Partant de Myli (400 m d'altitude), juste à la sortie de Litohoro, un itinéraire de 9 km suit la magnifique vallée de la rivière Enipeas. 

Découvrez les sentiers de randonnées du Mt Olympe

A beautiful introduction in the Enipeas Gorge

Le sentier très boisé (qui fait partie du sentier européen longue distance E4) vous emmène sur des ponts en bois qui traversent la gorge. Vous passez par Agio Spilaio (où St Dionysios vécut en tant qu'ascète) et le monastère d'Agios Dionysios du 15ème siècle et, peu avant Prionia (1 100 m d'altitude), vous trouverez une série de bassins de plongée et de belles chutes d'eau. N'oubliez donc pas de prendre votre maillot de bain. 

Gravir le trône de Zeus

Ensuite, le plus important... Il existe des itinéraires vers une multitude de pics, dont les plus populaires sont ceux de Prionia (le point le plus élevé accessible en voiture) au refuge de Spilios Agapitos et sur le Plateau des Muses (la vue est à la hauteur du nom) à une altitude de 2 650 m (une randonnée de 8,3 km au total). Vous pouvez passer la nuit au refuge et continuer jusqu'à Skala, ou même Mytikas (à 2 917m, le point le plus haut). Une autre option consiste à partir de Gortzia (en quittant la route Litohoro-Prionia) jusqu'au refuge de Pestrostrouga et à continuer vers la Vallée des Muses par là. Ce n'est pas obligatoire, mais un guide est préférable.

Faire du Canoë le long de la gorge d’Orlias

Les choses deviennent plus techniques à présent que vous remplacez les chaussures et les bâtons de randonnée par du matériel de canyoning et de trekking en rivière. Il existe de nombreux prestataires d'expérience qui proposent le matériel et le savoir-faire, les gorges d'Orlias étant une destination privilégiée. 

Faire du Canoë à la gorge d’Orlias au Mt Olympe

Prepare for water sliding, fly-foxing, abseiling and plenty more adrenaline-filled fun at Orlias Waterfall

Préparez-vous aux toboggans aquatiques, au fly-foxing, aux descentes en rappel et à bien d'autres activités pleines d'adrénaline en descendant le ravin, avec de la verdure, des lacs et des cascades tout au long du parcours. La chute d'Orlias constitue le plus grand et le meilleur bassin de plongée dans lequel on puisse se baigner. C'est un défi, mais elle convient également à tous les niveaux, certains prestataires prenant les enfants en charge.

Dans les villages, où les dieux deviennent des locaux

Réduisons maintenant le rythme cardiaque en explorant les villages autour de l'Olympe. L'authenticité et la paix règnent dans les Paléos Panteleimonas, à 500 m au-dessus du golfe Thermique. C'est peut-être le plus joli village, avec une vue non seulement sur le mont Olympe, mais aussi sur le château vénitien de Platamonas et sur le littoral. À Palei Pori, toutes les rues étroites semblent mener à la placette, avec son immense platane et son église byzantine, ainsi que l'église d'Agios Athanasios de Palea Skotina, qui date du 14ème siècle. Quel meilleur cadre pour prendre un café ou pour se procurer des produits locaux, comme du miel ou du thé de montagne ? 

Rouler en Vélo vers les nuages

Là où se trouve une montagne, on y trouve le VTT. En effet, il existe deux montagnes qui se prêtent parfaitement à la pratique du vélo, le Mt Kissavos voisin ayant également d'excellentes pistes. 

Mountain-biking at Mt Olympus

En ce qui concerne l'Olympe, les chemins qui entourent les pentes inférieures offrent le meilleur terrain - et vous pouvez également suivre la route goudronnée de Litohoro à Prionia. Mais rien ne vaut un chemin forestier - parmi les chênes, les sapins et les pins - et un arrêt à une source naturelle ou à un certain point de vue (montagne et mer). Si vous choisissez votre itinéraire avec soin (ou mieux encore, si vous vous joignez à un groupe), vous passerez une journée parfaite.

Escalader tel un dieu

C'est sûrement là-haut, avec tout ce que les dieux peuvent gérer. Les pics dénivelés, les ravins et les plis de l'Olympe offrent un cadre parfait pour l'escalade. Les possibilités sont nombreuses, certains prestataires proposent des itinéraires épiques de plusieurs jours. La crête de Xerolaki, sur le côté nord, est le site d'escalade le plus populaire, donnant accès au Plateau des Muses, et certains itinéraires vous emmèneront même jusqu'à Mytikas. Comme pour toutes les excursions sur l'Olympe, vous devez être particulièrement prudent car les conditions météorologiques peuvent changer rapidement. La mi-mai à octobre sont les meilleurs mois pour l'escalade, mais il faut d'abord se renseigner sur les conditions locales.

La nature … le véritable gardien du Mt Olympe

On peut donc le parcourir à pied, à vélo, dans des canyons et même l’escalader... mais il n'y a qu'un seul vrai conquérant de l'Olympe. La nature règne en maître ici, plus qu'aucun dieu ne pourrait jamais le faire. L'Olympe a été le premier parc national de Grèce (1938) et est un biotope protégé par Natura 2000.

National park at Mt Olympus

On y trouve plus de 1 700 types de plantes et d'arbres (un quart de toute la flore grecque) avant d'atteindre les prairies et les pâturages au-delà de la limite des arbres. Plus de 30 espèces de mammifères et 100 types d'oiseaux ont également été recensés... chevaux sauvages, chèvres, cerfs, renards, sangliers, écureuils, aigles, faucons... Travaillons ensemble pour que cela reste ainsi.

L’expérience du Mt Olympe

Il y a tant de façons différentes de découvrir les secrets du Mt Olympe et de prendre votre place dans le panthéon des 12 dieux. Alors, quel chemin choisirez-vous pour conquérir la montagne mythique du nord de la Grèce ?

Découvrez Olympe Maintenant

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Litohoro village is the starting point for day trips on the mountain

7 Bonnes raisons pour découvrir Piérie

Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 destinations grecques incroyables à voir absolument

5 raisons de ne pas manquer Kavala

Giola lagoon the natural pool carved into the rock by the sea in Thassos

5 raisons de ne pas manquer Thassos

Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Rafting & Canyoning: Destinations populaires en Grèce

Myrtos beach, Kefalonia

Les 10 souvenirs inoubliables de Céphalonie que vous emporterez avec vous

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Découvrez des lieux d’escapade voisins de Santorin

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 raisons d’explorer Karpathos

Kalymnos en 8 sommets inoubliables et profondeurs cachées

A little before you reach Koumaros, you pass Exomvourgo Castle, high up on a 640m conical hill

9 étapes pour découvrir Tinos dans toute son authenticité

Stroll along the maze of alleyways, through vaulted archways and past dazzlingly white and mostly immaculately maintained houses

9 façons de ressentir la spiritualité de Patmos

READING TIME
As long as it takes to drink a Greek coffee

Home of the 12 Olympian gods, Mt Olympus has always intrigued those who have stood before it. And since it was first scaled in 1913, people have found ever-more ingenious ways to conquer its many peaks, valleys and ravines. The question is … are you ready to find your inner Zeus?

A warm welcome in Litochoro

It all starts in Litochoro. The nearest town to Mt Olympus is part-mountainous (built in the foothills) and part-coastal (within touching distance of the long, sandy beaches of Pieria). There’s much to enjoy, whether you’re in the shade of the main square about to tuck into a colourful meze) or exploring the traditional Macedonian architecture and wooden-balconied houses in the alleyways.

Litochoro village

Don’t leave without sampling the desserts. The Enipeas River passes through, but most of your attention will be on the hulking mountain in the background. 

A beautiful introduction in the Enipeas Gorge

Your introduction to Mt Olympus is a gentle one, but it’s also one of the most memorable excursions on the fabled mountain. Starting at Myli (400m altitude), just outside Litochoro, a 9km route follows the gorgeous Enipeas River Valley.

Discover the hiking trails of Mt Olympus

A beautiful introduction in the Enipeas Gorge

The densely forested path (part of the E4 European long-distance trail) takes you over wooden bridges that crisscross the gorge. You pass Agio Spilaio (where St Dionysios lived as an ascetic) and the 15th-century Agios Dionysios Monastery and, shortly before Prionia (1,100m altitude) a series of plunge pools and beautiful waterfalls. So don’t forget to pack your swimsuit.

Ascend the Throne of Zeus

Now for the big one… There are routes to a multitude of peaks, with the most popular being from Prionia (the highest point reachable by car) to the Spilios Agapitos Refuge and on to the Plateau of the Muses (the view lives up to the name) at an altitude of 2,650m (a 8.3km hike in total). You can overnight in the refuge and continue to Skala, or even Mytikas (at 2,917m, the highest point). Another option is from Gortzia (turning off the Litochoro-Prionia road) to the Pestrostrouga Refuge and on to the Valley of the Muses that way. It’s not mandatory, but it’s worth having a guide.

Canyoning along the Orlias Gorge

Things get technical now as you replace hiking boots and pole for canyoning and river trekking equipment. There are plenty of experience providers offering the gear and knowhow, with the Orlias Gorge being a favoured destination. 

Canyoning the Orlias Gorge on Mt Olympus

Prepare for water sliding, fly-foxing, abseiling and plenty more adrenaline-filled fun at Orlias Waterfall

Prepare for water sliding, fly-foxing, abseiling and plenty more adrenaline-filled fun as you descend the ravine, with greenery, lakes and waterfalls along the way. The Orlias Waterfall creates the biggest and best plunge pool to swim in. It’s challenging but also suitable for all levels, with some providers taking children. 

Into the villages, where gods become locals

Let’s lower the heart-rate now by exploring the villages around Olympus. Authenticity and peace take over in Palaios Panteleimonas, 500m above the Thermaic Gulf. It’s perhaps the prettiest village, with views not just of Mt Olympus but of the Venetian castle at Platamonas and the coast. In Palaioi Poroi, all the narrow streets seem to lead to the square, with its huge plane tree and Byzantine church, and Ano Skotina’s church of Agios Athanasios dates to the 14th century. What better settings for a coffee or to pick up local products, like honey or mountain tea? 

Mountain-biking towards the clouds

Where there’s a mountain, there’s mountain biking. In fact, there are two mountains that are great for biking, with neighbouring Mt Kissavos also having excellent trails.

Mountain-biking at Mt Olympus

When it comes to Olympus, the paths around the lower slopes offer the best terrain – and you can also follow the asphalt road from Litochoro to Prionia.  But nothing beats a forest path – amongst oaks, firs and pines – and stopping at an occasional natural spring or viewpoint (mountain and sea). If you pick your route carefully (or better still, join a group), you’ll have the perfect day out. 

Rock climbing like a god

Surely, this is up there with anything the gods can manage. The jagged peaks, ravines and folds of Olympus provide a perfect setting for rock climbing. There are plenty of options, with some companies offering epic multi-day itineraries. The Xerolaki Ridge along the north side is the most popular climbing site, giving access to the Plateau of the Muses, and some itineraries will even take you up to Mytikas. As with all excursions on Olympus, you need to be especially careful as weather conditions change quickly. Mid-May to October are the best months for climbing but get local knowledge first.

Nature… the true guardian of Mt Olympus

So you can hike it, bike it, canyon it and rock climb it… but there is only one true conqueror of Olympus. Nature rules supreme here, more than any god could ever do. Olympus was Greece’s first National Park (1938) and is a Natura 2000-protected biotope. 

National park at Mt Olympus

There are more than 1,700 types of plant and tree (a quarter of all flora in Greece) before reaching the meadows and grasslands beyond the tree-line. More than 30 species of mammal and 100 types of bird have also been recorded… wild horses, goats, deer, foxes, wild boar, squirrels, eagles, falcons… Let’s work together to keep it that way.

Experience Mt Olympus

There are so many different ways to discover the secrets of Mt Olympus and take your place in the pantheon of the 12 gods. So which way will you choose to conquer the mythical mountain of northern Greece?

Discover Olympus now

Plan your trip

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Mount Olympus summit. The "Throne of Zeus" 2.919m

12 destinations that gave life to Greek mythology

Nature… the true guardian of Mt Olympus

7 magical getaways just 60mins from Thessaloniki

Litohoro village is the starting point for day trips on the mountain

7 Olympian-sized reasons to discover Pieria

Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 incredible places in Greece you have to see to believe

Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Popular destinations for rafting & canyoning

Nature… the true guardian of Mt Olympus

7 magical getaways just 60mins from Thessaloniki

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Meet the Cycladic escapes neighbouring Santorini

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 reasons to make you want to explore Karpathos

The charm of rock climbing in Kalymnos is that it is a completely unspoilt environment

8 unforgettable highs and hidden depths in Kalymnos

A little before you reach Koumaros, you pass Exomvourgo Castle, high up on a 640m conical hill

9 steps to uncovering the authenticity of Tinos

Stroll along the maze of alleyways, through vaulted archways and past dazzlingly white and mostly immaculately maintained houses

9 ways to feel the spirituality of Patmos