Вергина

В колыбели Македонии
The immense armour of King Philip II, displayed in evocatively dimmed light
Scroll
Сегодня
31°
MON
29°
TUE
25°
WED
28°
THU
31°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Выдающийся памятник культурного наследия и район потрясающей природной красоты. В Македонии вас ждет одно из самых важных археологических открытий 20-го века

Вы находитесь в Северной Греции на краю македонской долины. В предгорьях Пиерии. Вы входите в гробницу,  следуя указанному маршруту. По мере того, как вы оставляете дневной свет позади, пространство, в которое вы входите, начинает вызывать все более сильные эмоции. Еще несколько шагов и вы станете свидетелем величия Древней Греции: одна из самых замечательных археологических находок в Греции и самое важное открытие в Македонии откроет вам свои секреты.

Темнота вызывает благоговение, экспонаты ярко освещены, пурпурный цвет символизирует кровь усопших царей. Музей царских гробниц Эгона (Вергины) как защитная оболочка окружает важные археологические находки, первые из которых были обнаружены археологами в 1997 году. Нетронутая могила Филиппа II, царя Македонии и отца Александра Македонского, была обнаружена в этом регионе наряду с разными другими ценными находками и другими захоронениями. Это одно из самых интересных археологических открытий века в Европе.

Стоит увидеть в Вергине

Гробница Филиппа II в Вергине

Новость об обнаружении Манолисом Андроникосом нетронутых гробниц царя Филиппа II и Александра IV, сына Александра Македонского и Роксаны, всколыхнула мировое сообщество археологов. Гробница македонского царя огромна, ее двухкамерный фасад напоминает храм. Полуколонны и пилястры поддерживают дорический архитрав и фриз с триглифами и метопами. В специальном помещении была обнаружена знаменитая золотая урна с костями усопшего царя. 

Музей царских гробниц

В месте проведения археологических раскопок в Мегали Тумба. Построенный под землей и засыпанный снаружи землей музей в Вергине подобен древнему кургану. Поддерживая постоянные условия температуры и влажности, подземное здание защищает древние памятники: царские гробницы, великолепные фрески «Похищение Персефоны» и «Царская охота», уникальные оригинальные работы великих художников классической древности, дошедшие до наших дней.

В темном помещении определенно доминируют древние артефакты. Страх перед смертью, слава царской власти, эмоции, которые вызывает трагический конец царского рода Тименидов, — вот идеи, лежащие в основе создания этого удивительного музея. 

Золотая урна и венок: две поразительные находки

Одним из самых важных экспонатов музея в Вергине, да всей Греции, является золотая урна, которая весит 11 килограммов. В ней помещались останки покойного царя. На ее поверхности выделяются «македонская звезда», растительный орнамент и розетки по обеим сторонам. Золотой венок из дубовых ветвей является наиболее ценным венком, дошедшим до нас из греческой античности. Он состоит из 313 листьев и 68 желудей. 

Могила царевича

В последней части экспозиции вы можете увидеть находки из третьей гробницы, которая, вероятно, принадлежит Александру IV, сыну Александра Македонского и Роксаны, убитого Кассандром в 310 году до нашей эры. В центре внимания находится, конечно же, серебряная урна, содержащая останки молодого царевича в окружении шедевров из слоновой кости. 

Эгон (Вергина): колыбель рода Тименидов

Эгон (Вергина), оплот македонцев, был и колыбелью династии Тименидов, правившей Македонией на протяжении четырех столетий и давшей человечеству Филиппа ΙΙ и его сына, Александра Македонского. В границы древнего города входят стены с воротами и башней, дворец, театр, рынок со святилищем Эвклиас, святилище Матери богов Кивели (Цыбелы), постройки, здания, частные дома. Археологические раскопки находятся в нескольких минутах ходьбы от музея Эгона (Вергины) — они находится под защитой ЮНЕСКО как выдающийся Памятник Всемирного Культурного Наследия и как местность потрясающей природной красоты.

Скрытые сокровища Вергины 

Могила Персефоны

Построенная с особой бережностью из больших известняковых блоков эта могила является одним из величайших памятников своего рода и одной из самых важных достопримечательностей района. Немногочисленные образцы керамики, обнаруженные в ней, указывает на дату постройки – приблизительно 350-ый год до н. э. Могила принадлежала молодой женщине около 25 лет, умершей во время родов и похороненной здесь вместе со своим ребенком. 

Дворец Эгона (Вергины): одно из самых важных строений Древней Греции

У подножия акрополя Эгона на возвышенной террасе, доминантно расположенной и отмеченной древним дубом, сохранились впечатляющие руины дворца. Это строение было флагманом крупного строительного плана Филиппа II по застройке города-колыбели царской династии. 

Солнце Вергины

Откройте для себя секретный смысл символов, связанных с лучами «Солнца Вергины», которое изображено на золотой урне-ларнаке. Лучей всего 16. Четыре из них представляют 4 стихии природы – земли, моря, огня и воздуха. А остальные 12 лучей – это 12 олимпийских богов. 

Approaching Vergina tombs, you enter the raised mound or tumulus through an ominously dark passage, leaving daylight behind

Лучшее в Вергины

The immense armour of King Philip II, displayed in evocatively dimmed light

Познакомьтесь с древними гробницами царской династии Вергины!

Приглашаем Вас на экскурсию в столицу Македонского царства. Здесь Вы сможете увидеть гробницу царя Филиппа II, отца Александра Македонского. Этот археологический памятник находится под защитой...
  • Гробница Филиппа II
  • Музей царских гробниц
  • Могила царевича
  • Могила Персефоны
  • Дворец Эгона (Вергины)
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
The Tholos of Athena pronaia, originally consisted of 20 Doric columns arranges around 10 Corinthian columns

10 самых известных археологических мест Греции

В стране, где родилась культура, каждый ваш шаг – это путешествие по истории
Discover the wonder of the acropolis museum

Самые популярные Археологические музеи в Греции

Посетите 12 наиболее знаменитых археологических музеев в Греции
Couple hiking in nature

Отдых в Греции для всех возрастов

Чудесные пляжи, целебные источники, спа: мечта всей жизни становится реальностью в одной из самых красивых стран в мир

Vergina

Birthplace of Alexander and the great Macedonian dynasty
The immense armour of King Philip II, displayed in evocatively dimmed light
Scroll
Today
18°
FRI
19°
SAT
20°
SUN
20°
MON
19°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
An Unesco World Heritage Monument and a region of particular natural beauty: one of the most important archaeological discoveries of the 20th century

The ancient site of Aigai or ‘goats’, the curiously named first capital of the kingdom of Macedon, lies on the southwest edge of the plain of Macedonia in Northern Greece, in the foothills of Mt Pieria. Although there are open-air ruins, you have come here to see the extraordinary subterranean museum of Vergina and the tombs of the Macedonian dynasty. Here you’ll witness the grandeur of Ancient Greece; one of the most important archaeological finds in the country, and the most important in Macedonia, is ready to reveal its secrets.

Like everyone else, you enter the raised mound or tumulus through an ominously dark passage, leaving daylight behind, only to emerge in an open circular space where wonderful lighting illuminates some of the most extraordinary finds ever discovered. You feel a bit like archaeologist Manolis Andronikos, when he unearthed treasures emblazoned with the golden star of Macedon and knew he had stumbled upon the untouched tomb of Philip II, father of Alexander the Great.

This shell was erected over the tombs and the other invaluable finds to protect them from the elements in 1997. They represent one of the most astonishing archaeological discoveries in 20th century Europe.  

What to do in Vergina

The tomb of Philip II in Vergina

Manolis Andronikos’ discovery of the tombs of the Macedonian kings Philip II and Alexander IV in 1977 rocked the archaeological community and the world at large. Philip’s tomb is large, double-chambered and its facade resembles a Doric temple, with columns, a frieze and metopes carved in relief. The chamber concealed its famous golden larnax with the bones of the dead king intact for more than two millennia. 

The awe-inspiring museum of the royal tombs

The Great Tumulus that covered the circle where the tombs were found was reconstructed to create the impression of an ancient grave monument. Maintaining constant temperatures and humidity, the subterranean construction shelters and protects these priceless finds. Apart from the royal tombs, you’ll see the brilliant frescoes depicting the Abduction of Persophone and the Royal Hunt, which are the only examples of the great artists of the Hellenistic period that have survived.

In this darkened space, the beautifully illuminated ancient objects stir a multitude of emotions; awe in the face of death, wonder at the power of the royal dynasty that inspired such creativity and admiration for the modern wizards who designed such a magnificent repository for these invaluable exhibits.

The gold larnax and the oak leaf wreath

One of the museum’s most important exhibits is the gold larnax, which held the bones of the dead king. It weighed 11kg. Emblazoned on its lid is the Macedonian sun or star and on its sides floral motifs and rosettes. The gold wreath is the most valuable crown we have from antiquity. It consists of 313 oak leaves and 68 acorns linked with unimaginable artistry by a master jeweller.

The Prince’s tomb

In the last section of the museum, you’ll witness finds from tomb III, which is thought to have contained the remains of Alexander IV, the son of Alexander the Great and Roxane, who was murdered by Kassander in 310 BC. At its centre lies the silver urn that held the cremated bones of the young prince, surrounded by exquisite ivory reliefs decorating the bier.

The birthplace of the kings of Macedon

Aigai, where the Macedonian kings originated, was the heartland of the Temenides, the dynasty that ruled Macedonia for four centuries and gave the world Philip II and his son Alexander the Great. The ancient city included the outer walls with a tower and entrance gate, the palace, a theatre, the agora with a shrine to Eukleia, the sanctuary of Cybele, mother of the gods, public buildings and private houses. The archaeological site lies close to the tumulus of Vergina and is a Unesco World Heritage Monument and a region of particular natural beauty.

Hidden gems of Vergina

The grave of Persephone

Built by expert masons using large limestone blocks, this tomb is one of the largest monuments of its type, and the most significant attraction in the area. The few pieces of pottery discovered within it indicate that it must date back to about 350 BC. The grave belonged to a young woman about 25 years of age who died in childbirth and was buried here with her newborn infant.

The Palace at Aigai: one of the most important buildings of Ancient Greece

Just below the hill crowned by the acropolis of Aigai, the impressive ruins of the royal palace dominate the area from a raised plateau marked by a venerable oak tree. Sumptuously decorated, it was indeed fit for the illustrious dynasty.

The Vergina Sun

Discover the mystical symbolism contained in the rays of the Vergina Sun, depicted on the golden larnax found in the famous royal tomb of Philip II and other members of Alexander the Great’s family. There are 16 rays in all. Four of them represent the natural elements – air, fire, earth and water  – and the remaining dozen are the 12 Olympian gods.

Approaching Vergina tombs, you enter the raised mound or tumulus through an ominously dark passage, leaving daylight behind

Experience the best of Vergina

The immense armour of King Philip II, displayed in evocatively dimmed light

Feel the majesty of Vergina’s Royal Tombs

Take a journey to the capital of the ancient Kingdom of Macedonia and explore the burial chamber of Philip II, father of Alexander the Great,...
  • The tomb of Philip II
  • Τhe royal tombs
  • The Prince’s tomb
  • The grave of Persephone
  • The Palace at Aigai
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Discover the wonder of the acropolis museum

The 12 most popular archaeological museums in Greece

Wandering through the museums of Greece and experiencing the scale of achievement on display allows us to immerse ourselves in everything that contributed to the birth to western civilisation.
Couple hiking in nature

Holidays for seniors in Greece

Spectacular beaches, thermal springs, spas: a dream of a lifetime has just begun in one of the most beautiful countries in the world
The Tholos of Athena pronaia, originally consisted of 20 Doric columns arranges around 10 Corinthian columns

10 of the most important ancient sites in Greece

In the country that gave birth to western civilisation, every step you take is a journey through history.