Famous Keranos waterfall drops 70m among plane trees that were seeded centuries hence
Scroll
Aujourd'hui
22°
FRI
21°
SAT
21°
SUN
19°
MON
19°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Dans cette ville de Macédoine, avec ses cascades, ses quartiers et des habitants chaleureux, vivez votre propre conte de fées

Des cascades à l’intérieur d’une ville - un voyage à la magie de l’eau! Oui ! Ces petits miracles sculptés par la rivière Edesseos ont le pouvoir de vous enchanter. En vous promenant, vous arriverez au Musée de l’Eau à ciel ouvert, unique en Grèce. Ici, vous découvrirez des secrets “aquatiques” majeurs. Ce sont eux qui ont fait vivre les métiers à tisser et les moulins, base industrielle d’Edessa.

Un passé glorieux avec ses églises byzantines et ses maisons macédoniennes se dévoile devant vous lorsque vous vous promenez à Varossi. Retour dans le présent où la ville d’Edessa saura vous divertir le soir dans le quartier de Katarraktakia (petites cascades) et vous nourrir des spécialités locales à Flamouria. Profitez d’Edessa, elle saura vous combler de manière ininterrompue telle une fontaine de jouvence qui ne cesserait jamais de jaillir.

Attractions à Edessa

Edessa: une ville avec des cascades, des fées et des platanes

Suivez la rivière Edesseos, également connue sous le nom de Botha, et ses affluents qui coulent à travers cette ville de Macédoine. Vous découvrirez sept cascades, mais une se distingue particulièrement. Dans la nature magnifique de la Macédoine, la célèbre cascade de Keranos chute de 70 m entre les platanes centenaires. Vous serez envoûté par la brume magique qui enveloppe le parc verdoyant, en particulier lorsqu’il s’éclaire la nuit et vous vous tiendrez extasiés devant elle à la contempler jusqu’à ce que vous découvririez la fée qui apparaît dans ses eaux. Découvrez la Grèce du Nord à travers un voyage qui regorge de magie!

Des sources historiques au Musée de l’Eau à ciel ouvert

L’industrie d’Edessa était alimentée par l’eau. Des moulins de toutes sortes, des métiers à tisser et six usines étaient exploités ici au XIXe siècle, apportant prospérité à la ville. La force qui les fit fonctionner est commémorée dans le Musée de l’Eau à ciel ouvert de la ville, une de ses plus intéressantes attractions. Visitez le moulin à eau de Giannakis avec son aquarium/ reptilarium. C’est le premier en Grèce à avoir des poissons d’eau douce ainsi que des serpents, des tortues, des anguilles, des crabes et même des bébés crocodiles. Toutes les créatures de l’eau viendront vous souhaiter la bienvenue à Edessa!

“Voyage” à Varossi l’aristocratique

Il s’agit d’un quartier à flanc de colline constitué de nombreuses grandes maisons anciennes d’un style d’architecture particulier que vous allez rencontrer dans toute la Macédoine. L’ambiance singulière du quartier est soulignée davantage par les vieilles églises byzantines (du XIVe siècle) avec leurs intéressantes fresques, telles que l’église de la Dormition de la Vierge et l’église des Saints Pierre et Paul accentuent l’atmosphère particulière du lieu.

Petites cascades, grande fête

Ce quartier avec ces petites cascades est le cœur de la ville. Les jeunes s’y rassemblent pour s’amuser et le bruit qu’ils font rivalise avec celui de l’eau qui tombe. De petits ponts parsemés dans la verdure, des cafés et des tavernes proches de la rivière créent un cadre enchanteur au nord de la Macédoine. Les habitants revendiquent qu’il existe en tout 71 ponts à Edessa, petits et grands, dans la ville. En vous promenant, vous pourrez vous amuser à les compter pour vérifier cette affirmation.

Les trésors cachés d’Edessa

Le site archéologique de Longos

De très belles maisons, des magasins intéressants et de sublimes chapiteaux de colonnes. Les vestiges de la cité antique d’Edessa que vous découvrirez parmi les champs fertiles de Longos, vous introduisent au passé de cette ville pittoresque de la Grèce du Nord.

Le lac d’Agra

À seulement 8 km de la ville d’Edessa vous rencontrerez un des paysages parmi les plus singuliers de la Grèce du Nord: la zone humide exceptionnelle du lac d’Agra. Ici aussi, l’eau est en vedette. Des espèces d’oiseaux rares y vivent parmi les roseaux aux alentours.

Une poussée d’adrénaline

Vous recherchez une poussée d’adrénaline? Edessa vous récompensera. Essayez le base jump à Psilos Vrachos (Rocher Haut). Si vous voulez quelque chose d’un peu plus calme, faites de l'équitation à travers la cité antique et les chutes d’eau, du vélo autour de la ville, une randonnée dans les bois environnants de Gavaliotissa, la colline 606 et les marécages de l’Agra, ou tout simplement promenez-vous dans la ville. En Macédoine, l’action ne s’arrête jamais - et Edessa est déterminée à vous convaincre à ce sujet.

  • Des sources historiques au Musée de l’Eau à ciel ouvert
  • Une ville avec des cascades, des fées et des platanes
  • “Voyage” à Varossi l’aristocratique
  • Petites cascades, grande fête
  • Le site archéologique de Longos
  • Le lac d’Agra
Highlights

 

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Parnassos Ski Resort: Skiing in Greece with sea view

La Grèce en hiver

L'hiver lumineux de la Grèce vous accueille aux vacances d'hiver les plus fascinantes de votre vie
Tavern Pefkospilia

Cuisines locales en Grèce

Voyage aux saveurs locales de la cuisine traditionnelle grecque

Edessa

A city of wondrous waterfalls
Famous Keranos waterfall drops 70m among plane trees that were seeded centuries hence
Scroll
Today
21°
SAT
18°
SUN
13°
MON
17°
TUE
19°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
In this Macedonian city, with its welcoming locals, waterfalls and beguiling neighbourhoods, you will live your very own fairytale.

Waterfalls within a town? Travel to Macedonia and experience the magic of water. You’ll be charmed by these little miracles sculpted by the Edesseos River. As you wander around, you’ll come to the open-air Water Museum, the only one of its kind in Greece. Here you’ll be introduced to the force that once powered looms and mills of Edessa’s industrial heritage.

A glorious past of Byzantine churches and Macedonian houses unfolds around you as you stroll through Varosi. Back in the present, the city will entertain you in the evening at Katarraktakia (Little Waterfalls) and serve  you local delicacies in Flamouria. The town’s gifts flow as freely as its water; enjoy them as you would a cool, refreshing drink.

What to do in Edessa

Edessa: A city with waterfalls, plane trees and water nymphs

Follow the Edesseos River, also known as the Botha, and its tributaries flowing through this Macedonian town. You’ll discover seven waterfalls, but one in particular will stick in the mind. Famous Keranos drops 70m among plane trees that were seeded centuries hence. You’ll be spellbound as the magical mist envelops the verdant park, especially when lit up at night. Some swear they can see a water nymph at play in the tumbling waters. What about you? Travel to this magical destination in Northern Greece and find out!

Historic springs at the open-air Water Museum

Edessa’s industry was water-powered. Mills of all kinds, looms and six factories operated here in the 19th century, bringing prosperity to the town. The force that drove them all is commemorated in the museum, the city’s most fascinating attraction. Don’t forget to visit the Giannakis watermill with its aquarium and reptile house. It is the first in Greece to have fresh-water fish as well as snakes, turtles, eels, crabs and even baby crocodiles.

A trip to aristocratic Varosi

This is a hillside neighbourhood full of grand old houses in the Macedonian architectural style.14th-century Byzantine churches with interesting frescoes, such as the church of the Dormition of the Virgin and the church of Saints Peter and Paul, put the finishing touches on the special atmosphere.

Katarraktakia: small waterfalls and a big party

The neighbourhood with all the little waterfalls is in the heart of the city. Young people gather here to have fun and the noise they make gives the falling water a run for its money. Mini bridges amongst a riot of green foliage, cafes and tavernas near the river  create a delightful setting in northern Macedonia. The locals claim that there are 71 bridges of all sizes in Edessa. You’ll need a sturdy pair of walking boots to check if they’ve got their sums right!
 

Hidden gems of Edessa

Longos archaeological site

Ancient houses, shops, column capitals and games of noughts and crosses  scratched into the streets are among the remnants of ancient Edessa. You’ll find them among the fertile fields of Longos that will introduce you to the past of this picturesque city in Northern Greece.

Lake Agra

Just 8km away from the city of Edessa lies the unique wetland of Lake Agra. Here again, water is the main protagonist and rare bird species living in the surrounding reeds the attention-grabbing co-stars.

Time to get moving

Looking for an adrenalin rush? You’ve come to the right place. Try base jumping from Psilos Vrahos (Tall Rock). Want something a little more sedate? Try horse riding through the ancient city and waterfalls, cycling round town, hiking in the surrounding Gavaliotisa woods, hill 606 and the Agra wetlands  or, alternatively, just take a reflective stroll  around town. In Macedonia, the action never stops – and Edessa is determined to prove that to you.

  • The open-air Water Museum
  • Waterfalls, plane trees and water nymphs
  • Aristocratic Varosi
  • Katarraktakia
  • Longos archaeological site
  • Lake Agra
Highlights

Plan your trip

 

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Tavern Pefkospilia

Local cuisine in Greece

Explore the hidden parts of traditional Greek cuisine
Parnassos Ski Resort: Skiing in Greece with sea view

Winter holidays in Greece

Greece's bright light welcomes you to experience the most exciting winter holidays of your life