The Arkadi Monastery in Rethymno has an architecture and history that will captivate you
EXPERIENCE

Visite du monastère d'Arkadi en Crète

Le monastère d'Arkadi, près de Réthymnon, un bel exemple d'architecture de la Renaissance issue de la domination vénitienne en Crète, cache également de nombreux récits de sacrifices extraordinaires durant la révolution contre les Ottomans.
Thrace region-id="pin-13"; Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
1 heure
Par saison
Toute l’année

APERÇU

Érigé à seulement 23km à l’est de Réthymnon, sur un plateau fertile des pentes du mont Psiloritis, le monastère Arkadi possède une architecture et une histoire riches et captivantes. Plusieurs versions existent quant à sa fondation, et la plus répandue indique que ce monastère tient son nom d'un moine appelé Arkadios qui aurait créé un monastère composé d'une petite chapelle et de quelques cellules au 11ème siècle ap. J.C. 

La structure actuelle semblable à une forteresse (il s’agit d’un monastère-fort) a été achevée au 16ème siècle après J.-C. Et, à l’heure actuelle, une poignée de moines vivent encore dans leurs cellules et poursuivent les travaux.

L’histoire du monastère d'Arkadi est d’une grande richesse. Au cours des 16ème et 17ème  siècles, il a servi de centre d'apprentissage et de copie de manuscrits en Crète, il a également abrité un atelier de broderie d'or dont les étoffes et les vêtements sacerdotaux ont été vendus aux églises et aux monastères du monde entier. 

Mais par dessous tout, le monastère constitue un symbole de liberté et de sacrifice, d’ailleurs des artistes grecs et internationaux tels que Theodoros Vryzakis et Giuseppe Lorenzo Gatteri l‘ont démontré en créant des chefs-d'œuvre illustrant les actes héroïques des 964 combattants rebelles, des femmes et des enfants barricadés à l'intérieur du couvent alors qu'ils étaient assiégés par les Ottomans en 1866, et qui ont préféré faire exploser le dépôt de poudre à canon plutôt que de se rendre à l'ennemi.  

Le monastère est aujourd’hui ouvert au public, accueillant les visiteurs et les pèlerins, et permettant à ceux qui le souhaitent de passer la nuit dans l’une des cellules. Si vous êtes à Réthymnon ou dans la région, pendant vos vacances en Crète, une visite au monastère est un incontournable, ne serait-ce que pour ressentir l’aura unique qui émane de ce lieu. 

Lire la suite Read Less

A NE PAS RATER

Les points forts du monastère d'Arkadi 

Le Katholikon (église principale)

Au cœur de la cour intérieure centrale du monastère (l'Atrium) se trouve le Katholikon (comme est souvent nommée l'église principale des monastères orthodoxes), construit en 1587 sur le site d'une petite église dédiée à Saint Constantin et Sainte Hélène ainsi qu’à la Transfiguration du Christ Sauveur. La basilique comportant deux ailes est un exemple classique de l'architecture de la Renaissance, en raison de la présence vénitienne en Crète à cette époque, et particulièrement influencée par les géants de l’architecture que sont Sebastiano Serlio et Andrea Palladio. Autour du périmètre de la cour, sont disposés les cellules et les espaces de stockage des moines. 

L'Autel (réfectoire)

Le réfectoire est une partie intégrante de l'histoire du monastère d'Arkadi. Construit en 1687 sur le côté nord du monastère, et n’ayant subi aucun changement depuis, est surtout connu comme étant le lieu du massacre de 1866 lors duquel 36 jeunes hommes ont été tués par des Ottomans. On peut toujours y voir quelques impacts de balles et des marques d’épées sur les tables et les chaises en bois. 


 

La Poudrière

La poudrière était un dôme, une structure oblongue détruite par l'explosion de 1866. La seule partie restée intacte abrite aujourd’hui un magnifique tableau de l’artiste Maravas, inspiré par le célèbre tableau de Theodore Vryzakis, Le monastère d’Arkadi, aujourd’hui conservé à la Galerie nationale, comportant une inscription commémorative sur l’événement connu sous le nom d’Holocauste du monastère d’Arkadi. 

Le Musée

Près de la porte ouest, le musée abrite des objets qui retracent la longue histoire du monastère d’Arkadi, dont des manuscrits, des étoffes sacrées, des vêtements sacerdotaux, des icônes post-byzantines et des armes datant de l’époque de la Révolution grecque. 

La Galerie

La Galerie abrite des œuvres d'art d'artistes anciens et récents, inspirés par le sacrifice ayant eu lieu pendant le siège, et d'autres œuvres représentant l’itinéraire historique et spirituel du monastère à travers les siècles. 

Lire la suite Read Less

Réservez votre voyage

Comment se rendre au monastère d'Arkadi à partir de Réthymnon ou de La Canée ?

  • Le monastère d'Arkadi est situé à 35 mn (22 km) en voiture de Réthymnon et à 1h20 (81 km) de La Canée. 
  • Vous pourrez également prendre un car à Réthymnon ou à La Canée (avec changement à Réthymnon).

Infos cars au départ de Réthymnon et de La Canée

Comment se rendre à Réthymnon depuis l'aéroport ?

  • Réthymnon se trouve à environ 1h en voiture (72km) de l'aéroport de La Canée et à 1h15 (81km) de l'aéroport d'Héraklion. 
  • Vous pourrez prendre un car pour Réthymnon depuis l'aéroport de La Canée. Depuis l'aéroport d'Héraklion, vous devez d'abord vous rendre au port d'Héraklion et prendre de là-bas un car pour Réthymnon. 

Infos cars au départ d’Héraklion

Quel est le meilleur moment de l’année pour visiter le monastère Arkadi ? 

  • Le monastère est ouvert au public toute l'année. 
  • Vous pouvez visiter le monastère Arkadi à Réthymnon et l'île de la Crète à tout moment de l'année, mais vous l’apprécierez davantage au printemps ou en automne lorsque le temps est plus doux et que l’afflux des visiteurs a diminué. 

Discover Greece tip: Si vous venez pendant les mois d’été, en juillet et août, le matin ou la fin d'après-midi est le moment le plus propice pour une visite agréable. 

  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver
  • Il vous faudra environ une heure pour visiter toutes les pièces et tous les bâtiments du monastère.
  • Le prix de l'entrée est de 3 € et gratuit pour les enfants de moins de 16 ans. 
  • Les groupes organisés peuvent demander une visite gratuite guidée par un moine. 
  • Horaires d'ouverture du monastère et du musée: Ici
  • Un café se trouve juste à côté du monastère. 
  • Quelques églises sont disséminées autour du monastère. 
  • De nombreux sentiers de randonnée sillonnent les gorges d'Arkadi, toutes proches, alors que le petit village d’Amnatos vous attend également pour une petite visite. 
  • Ainsi, vous pourrez passer une journée dans la région en visitant le site archéologique d’Éleftherna et en flânant dans la ville de Réthymnon.
  • Surtout n'oubliez pas qu’une tenue correcte est exigée pour la visite au monastère.

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Aidez-nous à préserver la magie de notre héritage pour les générations à venir, en suivant les règles de base lors des visites de sites archéologiques.

Utilisez les poubelles mises à votre disposition et si besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez un
Si vous voyez une pancarte interdisant de photographier avec flash, merci de la respecter. C’est une mesure destinée à la protection des artéfacts.
Optez pour une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Les animaux domestiques (autres que les chiens guides) ne sont pas autorisés dans les sites culturels et les musées.
Respectez les autres visiteurs et les moines.
Il est strictement interdit de fumer.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

Stay connected with Greece

Greek Lines hoop earrings

Greek Lines hoop earrings

200€
chania

Où pratiquer des sports nautiques à La Canée ?

Une balade à pied dans la vieille ville de La Canée

Minoan Palace of Phaistos Festos, Crete

Découvrez le Palais minoen de Phaistos en Crète

The Greek village of Loutro in Crete, Greece

Profitez d’une excursion en bateau jusqu'à la jolie carte postale de Loutro

Amazing view of a beach on Koufonisi island with turquoise waters

Une excursion en bateau vers l'île désert de Koufonisi en Crète

The Venetian Harbour of Rethymno, is the ideal place to enjoy fresh fish in a seaside taverna

Une promenade pédestre à la vieille ville de Réthymnon

Agora Modiano Food Market in Thessaloniki

Une visite du marché Modiano, le marché alimentaire central de Thessalonique

Une balade à pied dans la vieille ville de La Canée

Explore the Asia minor refugee past of Kavala

Voyage en Asie Mineure et retour à Kavala

You’ll find plenty more examples of Tinos’ famed marblework in the windows and doors, as you wander the streets of Pyrgos

Explorez les plus beaux villages de Tinos

The Atrium of the Muses in the gardens of the Athens Megaron

Le Palais de la musique d'Athènes (Mégaron)

Minoan Palace of Phaistos Festos, Crete

Découvrez le Palais minoen de Phaistos en Crète

The Arkadi Monastery in Rethymno has an architecture and history that will captivate you
EXPERIENCE

A tour of the Monastery of Arkadi in Crete

The Arkadi Monastery, near Rethymno, is a handsome example of Renaissance architecture from Crete’s Venetian rule, but it also hides tales of extraordinary sacrifice during the revolution against the Ottomans
Thrace region-id="pin-13"; Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1 hour
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

Just 23km east of Rethymno, on a fertile plateau on the slopes of Mt Psiloritis, the Arkadi Monastery has an architecture and history that will captivate you. Several versions exist as to how it was founded, including the most prevalent that it was named after a monk named Arkadios who established a monastery made up of a small chapel and a few cells in the 11th century AD. 

The current fortress-like structure (it’s referred to as a monastery-castle) was completed in the 16th century AD and a handful of monks still live in the cells and continue its work.

The Arkadi Monastery has a rich history. During the 16th and 17th centuries, it served as a centre of learning and copying manuscripts in Crete, and it housed a gold-embroidery workshop whose fabrics and vestments were sold to churches and monasteries around the world. 

But most importantly, the monastery is a symbol of freedom and sacrifice, with Greek and international artists such as Theodoros Vryzakis and Giuseppe Lorenzo Gatteri creating masterpieces depicting the heroics of the 964 rebel fighters, women and children who barricaded themselves inside the convent while under siege by the occupying Ottomans in 1866, finally setting the gunpowder depot alight rather than surrender to the enemy.

The monastery is open to the public, welcoming visitors and pilgrims, as well as visitors who choose to stay overnight in its cells. If you are in or near Rethymno during your holidays in Crete, a visit to the monastery is a must, if only to feel its unique aura. 
 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Highlights of the Arkadi Monastery 

The Katholikon (main church)

In the heart of the monastery’s central courtyard (the Atrium) is the Katholikon (as the main church of Orthodox monasteries is often called), built in 1587 on the site of a smaller church and dedicated to Saint Constantine and Saint Helen as well as the Transfiguration of the Saviour Christ. The two-aisled basilica is a classic example of Renaissance architecture, courtesy of the Venetian presence in Crete at the time, and specifically influenced by the grand architectural minds of Sebastiano Serlio and Andrea Palladio. Around the perimeter of the courtyard, you will find monk’s cells and storage spaces. 

The Altar (Dining Hall)

The Dining Hall is an indelible part of the Arkadi Monastery’s history. Built in 1687 on the north side of the monastery, it hasn’t changed since and is best known as the location of the massacre of 1866 when 36 young men were killed by Ottomans. You can still see some marks from bullets and swords on the wooden tables and chairs. 


 

The Gunpowder Depot

The Gunpowder Depot was a domed, oblong structure that was destroyed by the explosion of 1866. The only part that remains intact now houses a wonderful painting by the artist Maravas, who was inspired by Theodore Vryzakis’ famous painting The Monastery of Arkadi, now kept at the National Gallery with a commemorative inscription about the event known as the Holocaust of the Arkadi Monastery. 

The Museum

Close to the west gate, the Museum houses artefacts that trace the long history of the Arkadi Monastery, including manuscripts, holy fabrics and vestments, post-Byzantine icons and Greek Revolution-era weapons. 

The Gallery

The Gallery houses artwork by older and more recent artists, who were inspired by the sacrifice during the siege, and other works depicting the historical and spiritual journey of the monastery through the centuries. 
 

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

How do you get to Arkadi Monastery from Rethymno and Chania?

  • The Arkadi Monastery is 35min (22km) by car from Rethymno and 1hr 20min (81km) or Chania by car. 
  • Alternatively, you can catch a bus from Rethymno or from Chania (changing at Rethymno).

Bus info from Rethymno & Chania
 

How do you get to Rethymno from the airport?

  • Rethymno is approximately 1hr by car (72km) from Chania Airport and 1hr 15min (81km) by car from Heraklion Airport. 
  • You can get a bus to Rethymno from Chania Airport. From Heraklion Airport, you will first need to go to Heraklion Port and catch a bus to Rethymno from there. 

Bus info from Heraklion
 

When is the best time to visit Arkadi Monastery? 

  • The monastery is open to the public all year round. 
  • You can visit the Arkadi Monastery in Rethymno – and the island of Crete – at any time in the year, but you will enjoy it most in spring and autumn when the weather is milder and there are fewer people. 

Discover Greece tip: If you go in July and August, morning or late afternoon is best. 
 

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • It will take you about an hour to visit all the rooms and buildings of the monastery.
  • Price of admission is €3 and free of charge for children under 16. 
  • Organised groups are eligible for a free-of-charge tour by a monk. 
  • Opening hours of the monastery and museum: Here
     
  • There is a cafe right outside the monastery. 
  • There are several churches around the monastery. 
  • The nearby Arkadi Gorge has numerous hiking paths and the nearest settlement is the village of Amnatos. 
  • You can make a day of it by also visiting Ancient Eleftherna and strolling around the city of Rethymno.
  • Please remember to dress appropriately for your visit to the monastery.
     

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of our heritage for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting cultural sites.

Use the bins provided or, if need be, take your rubbish with you.
If there’s a “No flash photography” sign, please respect it. It’s to protect the monuments and museum exhibits.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
No pets (other than guide dogs) are allowed in cultural sites.
Respect your fellow visitors and the monks.
Smoking is prohibited.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€
chania

Where to enjoy water sports in Chania

Minoan Palace of Phaistos Festos, Crete

Explore the Minoan Palace of Phaistos in Crete

The Greek village of Loutro in Crete, Greece

Enjoy a boat trip to postcard-pretty Loutro

Amazing view of a beach on Koufonisi island with turquoise waters

A boat trip to Crete’s desert island of Koufonisi

Roman Collection of the Heraklion Archaeological Museum, Crete

The Archaeological Museum of Heraklion

Fiskardo village, Kefalonia

Explore the scenic villages of Kefalonia

Minoan Palace of Phaistos Festos, Crete

Explore the Minoan Palace of Phaistos in Crete

Finikas Ave. - Neratzia Castle, Kos, Greece

A stroll around the cultural landmarks of Kos town

Strolling around Agios Nikolaos, Crete

A walking tour of Agios Nikolaos in Crete