The Venetian Harbour of Rethymno, is the ideal place to enjoy fresh fish in a seaside taverna
EXPERIENCE

Ein Spaziergang durch die Altstadt von Rethymno

Die Altstadt von Rethymno erstreckt sich von ihrem venezianischen Hafen aus, über ein Labyrinth aus Gassen und den geschäftigen Straßen und schließt in sich das Leben, die Geschichte und die Traditionen der drittgrößten Stadt Kretas ein.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Dauer
Ganztägiger
Nach Jahreszeit
Das ganze Jahr über

OVERVIEW

Die Altstadt von Rethymno ist zum Teil venezianisch, zum Teil osmanisch, aber immer unverkennbar kretisch. Ein Spaziergang durch die ursprüngliche Siedlung der Stadt, auf halbem Weg zwischen Chania und Heraklion, an der Nordküste Kretas, lässt die Vergangenheit durch markante Gebäude, Straßenmärkte, stimmungsvolle Gassen und historische Denkmäler aufleben.

Sie werden erkennen, wie die Altstadt zu Kretas drittgrößter Siedlung wurde, die sich um 1300 vom Hafen aus ausbreitete, aber auch zu schätzen wissen, wie intim und farbenfroh die Altstadt mit kleinen Bars, Cafés und Concept Stores wirkt, die in renovierten Gebäuden eröffnet wurden. Natürlich gibt es immer noch Tavernen, in denen Sie traditionelles kretisches Essen und kretische Musik genießen können.

Verzierte, mit venezianischen Wappen geschmückte Türen, osmanische Moscheen mit Minaretten und Holzfassaden von Herrenhäusern sorgen für Aufmerksamkeit - bevor Sie am Ufer des berühmten Hafens landen.

Weiterlesen Read Less

DON'T MISS

Ethnikis Antistaseos Straße 

Der Torbogen des Guora-Tors - auch Megali Porta (großes Tor) genannt - markiert Ihren Eintritt in die Altstadt. Es war das zentrale Tor der einst befestigten Stadt und ist der einzige erhaltene Teil der Schutzmauern, die im 16. Jahrhundert errichtet wurden. Von hier aus schlendern Sie die Ethnikis Antistaseos-Straße entlang, die in der Platia Mikrasiaton mündet und das Herz des historischen Zentrums mit Geschäften mit lokalen Produkten, Cafés und Tavernen bildet. Einige Vorschläge für traditionelle kretische Gerichte: Kaltsounia (Käse- und Kräuterkuchen), Gamopilafo ('Hochzeits'-Reis mit Ziege oder Hahn), Tsigaristo (langsam gekochtes Lamm), Hochli (Schnecken), Apaki (Schweinefleisch) und Boureki (Zucchini) und Kartoffelkuchen).

Die Kirche von Agios Frangiskos 

Weiter, entlang der Ethnikis Antistaseos, erreichen Sie die Basilika des Heiligen Franziskus, die von den Venezianern als Franziskaner-Brüder-Kirche erbaut wurde. Halten Sie inne, um die Renaissance-Akzente der komplizierten Tür zu genießen. Das Gebäude beherbergt heute das Archäologische Museum von Rethymno. 

Die Neratzes Moschee 

Etwas weiter erreichen Sie die Neratzes (oder Gazi Hussein) Moschee und ihr hoch aufragendes Minarett. Es war die venezianische Kirche Santa Maria (im Besitz des Augustinerklosters), bevor sie im 17. Jahrhundert von den Osmanen mit drei Kuppeln umgebaut wurde. Ihr ursprünglich aufwändiger Eingang wurde jedoch beibehalten. Heute fungiert sie als städtisches Odeon.

Das Geschichts- und Volkskundemuseum 

Sie werden es genießen, durch dieses venezianische Herrenhaus aus dem 17. Jahrhundert und die darin enthaltene Sammlung von traditionellem Kunsthandwerk und Volkskunst zu spazieren. Das Museum dient auch als Forschungszentrum für die Erhaltung der kretischen Folklorekultur.

Der Rimondi-Brunnen

Die drei Löwenköpfe dieses reich verzierten Brunnens gießen immer noch Wasser in ihre Becken, wie sie es taten, als die Venezianer ihn 1626 an der Stelle eines ehemaligen römischen Brunnens bauten. Die Inschriften „LIBERALITATIS“ und „FONTES“ waren eine Aufforderung an die Bevölkerung des 17. Jahrhunderts, großzügig aus dem Brunnen zu trinken.

Venezianische Loggia  

Ursprünglich offen und mit einem Holzdach überdacht, war die Loggia ein Treffpunkt für venezianischen Adel und Beamte. Die 1625 hinzugefügten Mauern enthalten schöne Bögen, die ihr eine stattliche Ausstrahlung verleihen. Jetzt, im Besitz des Kulturministeriums, verkauft die Loggia Reiseführer und beglaubigte Kopien von Antiquitäten.

Der venezianische Hafen    

Der venezianische Hafen ist nicht nur ein Wahrzeichen der Altstadt, sondern der gesamten Stadt, denn hier begann Rethymno ab 1300 zu blühen. Der ursprüngliche Leuchtturm wurde in den 1830er Jahren durch einen von den Ägyptern errichteten Turm ersetzt. Dies ist der ideale Ort, um frischen Fisch in einer Taverne am Meer zu genießen.

Die Fortezza 

Der Hafen ist auch der Standort von Rethymnos' meist fotografierter Fortezza, aus dem 17. Jahrhundert. Nur einige der Gebäude, die einst eine Zitadelle bildeten, sind noch erhalten, aber ihre ursprüngliche Pracht, als eine der größten Konstruktionen des venezianischen Kretas, ist leicht zu erkennen. Sie bietet einen Panoramablick auf die Stadt und das Meer.

Ein Spaziergang am Wasser

Von hier aus können Sie Ihren Spaziergang entlang der von Palmen gesäumten Eleftheriou Venizelou-Uferpromenade, am neuen Yachthafen beenden. Suchen Sie sich einen Tisch mit Meerblick und bestellen Sie ein Getränk. Wenn Sie bei Sonnenuntergang hier sind, befinden Sie sich bald in guter Gesellschaft. Der Yachthafen hat eine der besten Nachtleben-Szenen der Stadt.

Weiterlesen Read Less

Zur Altstadt Rethymno:

  • Von Chania
    • Mit dem Auto: 68km (1h10min)
    • Mit dem Bus: Buslinien
  • Von  Heraklion
    • Mit dem Auto: 80km (1h20 min)
    • Mit dem Bus: Buslinien
  • Die Altstadt von Rethymno kann das ganze Jahr über besichtigt werden. 
  • Die idealen Besuchszeiten sind Mai-Juni und September-Oktober, wenn es am schönsten und ruhigsten ist.

Von April bis Oktober ist es am lebhaftesten. Die meisten Geschäfte haben geöffnet, insbesondere in der Nähe des Meeres.

Museen und kulturelle Stätten:

Archaeologisches Museum
April bis Oktober: 10:00-18:00 
November-März: 8:30-16:00 
Eintrittskarten: €2 (€1 ermäßigt) 
Mehr Infos

Historisches Volkskundemuseum
April-Oktober: Täglich 10:00-15:00 (außer sonntags)
November-März: Nur auf Anfrage
Eintrittskarten: €4 (€2 ermäßigt)
Nicht geeignet für Besucher mit Behinderungen 

  • Herbst
  • Frühling
  • Sοmmer
  • Winter
  • Die Länge Ihres Spaziergangs ist Ihnen überlassen, aber die hier aufgeführten Attraktionen können problemlos an einem Tag erkundet werden.  
  • Da sich das Leben in Rethymno um die Altstadt dreht, haben Sie genügend Zeit, um sie während Ihres Aufenthalts zu entdecken.

 

VERANTWORTUNGSBEWUSST REISEN

Versuchen wir, den Zauber der griechischen Dörfer, Kleinstädte und Städte für die künftigen Generationen zu bewahren.

Halten Sie die Straßen so sauber wie möglich, indem Sie die dafür vorgesehenen Abfalleimer verwenden, oder gegebenenfalls Ihren Müll mitnehmen und behalten, bis Sie einen Abfalleimer finden.
Benutzen Sie eine wiederauffüllbare Wasserflasche, um Ihren Kunststoffverbrauch zu minimieren.
Respektieren Sie die Kulturstätten und Überreste, und machen Sie keine Blitzlichtaufnahmen, wenn diese durch ein entsprechendes Schild verboten werden. Es ist zum Schutz der Denkmäler.
Versuchen Sie womöglich kleine, selbständige Familienunternehmen und lokale Produzenten zu unterstützen, indem Sie etwas Handgemachtes und Lokales nach Hause mitnehmen.
Respektieren Sie Pflanzen und Tiere.
Respektieren Sie die anderen Besucher und die Einheimischen.
Seien Sie neugierig und fragen Sie auf jeden Fall die Einheimischen nach Tipps.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·
Heading northeast, you reach Ermoupouli’s magnificent main church, known locally as Agios Nikolaos of the Rich

Ein Spaziergang durch das bunte Ermoupoli auf Syros

Idyllic landscape of Kalamata's Marina at sunset

Ein Spaziergang durch die aufstrebende Stadt von Kalamata

There’s a 13km cycle lane stretching right along the waterfront

Eine maßgeschneiderte Fahrradtour durch die Stadt Kos

A walking tour through the Hora of Mykonos

Ein Spaziergang durch die Chora von Mykonos

The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

Ein Spaziergang durch den Hauptort von Skyros

Kamares village, the main port of Sifnos island

Village Hopping durch die kykladischen Dörfer von Sifnos

Preveli beach takes exotic to another level

Erleben Sie die palmengesäumte Schönheit des Strandes von Preveli

The Venetian Harbour of Rethymno, is the ideal place to enjoy fresh fish in a seaside taverna
EXPERIENCE

A walking tour of Rethymno Old Town

Spreading from its Venetian harbour through a maze of alleyways and lively streets, Rethymno Old Town contains all the life, history and traditions of Crete’s third-largest city
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Full day
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

A walking tour of Rethymno Old Town

Sometimes Venetian, sometimes Ottoman but always unmistakably Cretan, Rethymno’s Old Town hides its secrets in plain sight. A walking tour takes you through the original settlement of the city located on Crete’s northern coastline, midway between Chania and Heraklion, introducing you to its distinctive buildings, street markets, narrow alleyways and historical monuments. 

You’ll understand how the Old Town grew into Crete’s third-largest settlement, spreading from the harbour in around 1300, and appreciate how it has retained its intimacy and colour despite its growth, with little bars, cafes and concept stores opening in refurbished buildings. In many of the tavernas, you can enjoy traditional Cretan food and music.

Rethymno is one of Crete’s best-preserved settlements. Look out for the ornate doorways decorated with Venetian crests, Ottoman mosques with minarets and the wooden facades of mansions all vying for your attention – before you emerge at the waterfront by the iconic harbour. 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Highlights of Rethymno Old Town

Ethnikis Antistaseos Street 

The archway of the Guora Gate – also called Megali Porta (Big Gate) – marks your entry into the old town. It was the central gate to the once fortified city and is the only surviving section of the protective walls introduced in the 16th century. From here, you amble down Ethnikis Antistaseos Street, which morphs onto Platia Mikrasiaton and is the heart of the historic centre, filled with shops with local products, cafes and tavernas. It’s worth having few suggestions for traditional Cretan dishes up your sleeve: Kaltsounia (cheese and herb pies), Gamopilafo (‘Wedding’ pilaf with goat or rooster), Tsigaristo (slow-cooked lamb), hochli (snails), Apaki (cured pork) and Boureki (courgette and potato pie).

The Church of Agios Frangiskos

Continuing down Ethnikis Antistaseos, you arrive at the basilica of St Francis, built by the Venetians as a Franciscan Friary church. Stop to appreciate the Renaissance touches of the intricate doorway. The building now houses Rethymno’s Archaeological Museum. 

The Neratzes Mosque   

A little further along you arrive at Neratzes (or Gazi Hussein) Mosque and its towering minaret. It was the Venetians’ Church of Santa Maria (belonging to the Augustine Monastery) before being converted by the Ottomans in the 17th century with the addition of three domes, but it has retained its original elaborate entrance. Today it functions as the Municipal Odeon.

The Historical and Folklore Museum 

You’ll enjoy walking around this 17th-century Venetian mansion and the collection of traditional handicraft and folk art that it contains. The museum also serves as a research centre for the preservation of Cretan Folklore culture.

The Rimondi Fountain

The three lion heads of this ornately decorated fountain still spill water into their basins, as they did when the Venetians built it in 1626 on the site of a former Roman fountain. The inscriptions of ‘LIBERALITATIS’ and ‘FONTES’ were an invitation to the 17th-century population to drink freely from the fountain. 

Venetian Loggia 

Originally open and covered with a wooden roof, the Loggia was a meeting place for Venetian nobility and officials. The walls added in 1625 include handsome arches, which give it a stately air. Now owned by the Culture Ministry, the Loggia sells guide books and authenticated copies of antiquities. 

The Venetian Harbour  

The Venetian Harbour is a symbol Rethymno as it was here that the nascent city began to flourish from 1300. The original lighthouse has been replaced by one built by the Egyptians during the 1830s. This is the ideal place to enjoy fresh fish in a seaside taverna.

The Fortezza

The harbour is also the location of Rethymno’s much-photographed 17th century Fortezza. Only a number of the buildings that once made up a citadel within its walls remain, but you will easily understand its original grandeur as one of the biggest constructions of Venetian Crete. It offers panoramic views of the city and the sea.

A waterfront stroll

From here, you can end your walk with a stroll along the palm tree-lined Eleftheriou Venizelou waterfront towards the new marina. Find yourself a table overlooking the sea and order a drink. If you’re here at sunset, you’ll soon find yourself in good company. The marina has some of Rethymno’s best nightlife spots. 

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
Accommodation

Phaedra Suites Rethymno

Rethymno

Phaedra Suites are located in the heart of Rethymno City. A complex of 6 rennovated suites with a combination of tradition and l...

Official online rates

Accommodation

May Beach Hotel Rethymno

Rethymno

Charming small family hotel, situated in the suburb of Missiria 200m from the longest sandy beach of the island and 4km outside ...

Official online rates

How do you reach Rethymno?

  • From Chania
  • From Heraklion

What is the best time of year to visit Rethymno? 

  • Rethymno can be visited all year round. It is at its liveliest from April to October, with most shops open – especially those close to the sea.

The ideal times to visit are April-June and September-October, when it is at its most charming and quiet.

When are Rethymno’s museums and cultural sites open?

Archaeological Museum
April to October: 10:00-18:00 
November-March: 8:30-16:00 
Tickets: €2 (€1 reduced) 
More Info

Historical-Folklore Museum
April-October: Daily from 10:00-15:00 (except Sunday)
November-March: Only upon request
Ticket: €4 (€2 reduced)
Not suitable for visitors with disabilities
 

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

How long do walking tours of Rethymno Old Town last? 

  • Organised tours usually last 3-4 hours. All the attractions listed here can easily be visited in one day.  
  • As life in Rethymno centres around the Old Town, you will have plenty of time to discover it during your stay.

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages, towns and cities alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect the cultural monuments and relics and don’t use flash photography if there’s a sign forbidding it. It’s to protect the relics.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect the plants and animals.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Preveli beach takes exotic to another level

Experience the palm-fringed beauty of Crete’s Preveli Beach

Ancient Epidaurus is most famous today for giving us the best-preserved ancient Greek theatre

Ancient Epidaurus, the original deluxe healing centre

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

A visit to the magical Temple of Poseidon at Sounion

View from Lycabetus hill in Athens

Fill your lungs with the unexpected green spaces of Athens

Palaios Panteleiomonas is a centuries-old village whose inhabitants had chosen to relocate to the coast before returning to breathe new life into the village

Mythical village-hopping on the slopes of Mt Olympus

If there’s a city that’s become synonymous with nightlife and entertainment, this is Thessaloniki

The best of Thessaloniki’s legendary nightlife scene

Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility

A tour of the Temple of Demeter on Naxos