The Venetian Harbour of Rethymno, is the ideal place to enjoy fresh fish in a seaside taverna
EXPERIENCE

Une promenade pédestre à la vieille ville de Réthymnon

S'étendant de son port vénitien à travers un dédale de ruelles et de rues animées, la vieille ville de Réthymnon contient toute la vie, l'histoire et les traditions de la troisième plus grande ville de Crète.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
Toute la journée
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

Parfois vénitienne, parfois ottomane mais toujours indéniablement crétoise, la vieille ville de Réthymnon cache ses secrets sous les regards. Se promener dans la colonie d'origine de la ville située à mi-chemin entre la Canée et Héraklion, sur la côte nord de la Crète, c'est revivre son passé à travers des bâtiments distinctifs, des marchés de rue, des ruelles atmosphériques et des monuments historiques. 

Vous comprendrez comment la vieille ville est devenue la troisième plus grande colonie de Crète, s’étendant du port vers 1300, mais vous apprécierez également comment elle a conservé son intimité et ses couleurs avec de petits bars, de cafés et de magasins conceptuels ouvrant dans des bâtiments rénovés. Bien sûr, il y a encore des tavernes où vous pourrez déguster de la nourriture et de la musique crétoises traditionnelles. 

Les portes ornées décorées de crêtes vénitiennes, les mosquées ottomanes avec des minarets et les façades en bois des manoirs rivalisent tous pour votre attention - avant de sortir au bord de l'eau par le port emblématique. 

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

Rue Ethnikis Antistaseos  

L'arche de la porte de Guora - également appelée Megali Porta (grande porte) - marque votre entrée dans la vieille ville. C'était la porte centrale de la ville autrefois fortifiée et c'est la seule section encore en vigueur des murs de protection introduits au 16ème siècle. De là, vous promenez tranquillement dans la rue Ethnikis Antistaseos, qui se transforme en Platia Mikrasiaton et est le cœur du centre historique, rempli de boutiques de produits locaux, de cafés et de tavernes. Quelques suggestions de plats crétois traditionnels: Kaltsounia (tartes au fromage et aux herbes), Gamopilafo (pilaf «de mariage» avec chèvre ou coq), Tsigaristo (agneau cuit lentement), hochli (escargots), Apaki (porc salé) et Boureki (tarte aux courgettes et pommes de terre).

L'église d'Agios Frangiskos 

En continuant sur Ethnikis Antistaseos, vous arrivez à la basilique de Saint-François, construite par les Vénitiens comme une Église du couvent franciscain. Arrêtez-vous pour apprécier les touches de la Renaissance de la porte complexe. Le bâtiment abrite désormais le musée archéologique de Réthymnon. 

La Mosquée Neratzes     

Un peu plus loin, vous arrivez à la mosquée Neratzes (ou Gazi Hussein) et son imposant minaret. C'était l'église vénitienne de Santa Maria (appartenant au monastère des Augustins) avant d'être convertie par les Ottomans au 17ème siècle avec l’ajout de trois dômes, mais elle a conservé son entrée élaborée d'origine. Aujourd'hui, elle fonctionne comme l'Odéon municipal.

Le Musée Historique et Folklorique 

Vous apprécierez de vous promener dans ce manoir vénitien du 17ème siècle et la collection d'artisanat traditionnel et d'art populaire qu'il contient. Le musée sert également de centre de recherche pour la préservation de la culture folklorique crétoise.

La fontaine Rimondi

Les trois têtes de lion de cette fontaine richement décorée déversent encore de l'eau dans leurs bassins, comme ils l'ont fait lorsque les Vénitiens l'ont construite en 1626 sur l'emplacement d'une ancienne fontaine romaine. Les inscriptions de « LIBERALITATIS » et «FONTES» étaient une invitation à la population du 17ème siècle à boire généreusement de la fontaine. 

La Loggia Vénitienne 

À l'origine ouverte et couverte d'un toit en bois, la Loggia était un lieu de rencontre pour la noblesse vénitienne et les fonctionnaires. Les murs ajoutés en 1625 comprennent de belles arches, qui lui donnent un air majestueux. Aujourd'hui propriété du ministère de la Culture, la Loggia vend des guides et des copies authentiques d'antiquités. 

Le port Vénitien

Le port vénitien est un symbole non seulement de la vieille ville mais de toute la ville, car c'est ici que Réthymnon a commencé à prospérer à partir de 1300. Le phare d'origine a été remplacé par un phare construit par les Égyptiens dans les années 1830. C'est l'endroit idéal pour déguster du poisson frais dans une taverne en bord de mer.

La Fortezza

Le port est également l'emplacement de la Fortezza du 17ème siècle très photographié de Réthymnon. Il ne reste qu'un certain nombre de bâtiments qui constituaient autrefois une citadelle dans ses murs, mais vous comprendrez facilement sa grandeur d'origine comme l'une des plus grandes constructions de la Crète vénitienne. Elle offre une vue panoramique sur la ville et la mer

Une Promenade au Bord de l' Eau

De là, vous pouvez terminer votre promenade par une balade le long du front de mer bordé de palmiers Eleftheriou Venizelou vers la nouvelle marina. Trouvez-vous une table avec vue sur la mer et commandez un verre. Si vous êtes ici au coucher du soleil, vous vous retrouverez bientôt en bonne compagnie. La marina possède l'une des meilleures scènes de vie nocturne de la ville. 

Lire la suite Read Less

À la vieille ville de Réthymnon:

  • De la Canée
    • En voiture: 68 km (1 heure et 10 minutes)
    • En bus: Des horaires
  • D'Héraklion
    • En voiture: 80 km (1 heure et 20 minutes)
    • En bus: Des horaires
  • La vieille ville de Réthymnon peut être visitée toute l'année
  • Les moments idéaux à visiter sont Avril-Juin et Septembre-Octobre, lorsque Réthymnon est le plus charmant et calme.

Il est le plus animé de mai à octobre, avec la plupart des magasins ouverts - en particulier ceux proches de la mer. 

Musées et sites culturels 

Musée archéologique
Avril - Octobre: 10h00-18h00 
Novembre - Mars : 8h30-16h00 
Billets: 2 € (réduit 1 €) 
Plus d'informations 

Musée Historique et Folklorique
Avril - Octobre: Tous les jours de 10h00 à 15h00 (sauf dimanche)
Novembre - Mars: Uniquement sur demande
Billets: 4 € (réduit 2 €)
Ne convient pas aux visiteurs handicapés

  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver
  • La durée de votre promenade dépend de vous, mais les attractions énumérées ici peuvent facilement être faites en une journée.
  • Comme la vie à Réthymnon est centrée sur la vieille ville, vous aurez tout le temps de la découvrir pendant votre séjour.

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Veillons tous à préserver la magie des villages, des villes et des cités grecs pour les générations à venir.

Gardez les rues propres en utilisant les poubelles mises à votre disposition et en cas de besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Utilisez une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Respectez les monuments culturels et les reliques. N’utilisez pas de flash si vous voyez une pancarte qui l’interdit.
Soutenez les petites boutiques familiales et les producteurs locaux en choisissant un souvenir local fait main.
Respectez les plantes et les animaux.
Respectez les autres visiteurs et les habitants.
Ayez l’esprit curieux et n’hésitez pas à demander des bons plans aux habitants.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Preveli beach takes exotic to another level

Découvrez la beauté bordée de palmiers de la plage de Preveli

Ηopping between villages is the perfect follow-up to enjoying the lively atmosphere of the towns and beautiful beaches of Paros

Une escapade dans les villages de Paros

Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility

Une visite du temple de Déméter à Naxos

View of Acropolis and Odeon of Herodes Atticus

Découvrez en une promenade les richesses culturelles d’Athènes

The Museum of Cycladic Art presents us with artwork so elegant that it still influences fashion trends today

Visitez le musée d'art cycladique à Athènes

Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens is a gem of a museum and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making

Visitez le musée d'art contemporain Goulandris à Athènes

You can appreciate the museum’s stature even before you enter, with its imposing 19th-century neoclassical facade

Voyagez dans le temps au musée archéologique national d’Athènes

The Venetian Harbour of Rethymno, is the ideal place to enjoy fresh fish in a seaside taverna
EXPERIENCE

A walking tour of Rethymno Old Town

Spreading from its Venetian harbour through a maze of alleyways and lively streets, Rethymno Old Town contains all the life, history and traditions of Crete’s third-largest city
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Full day
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

A walking tour of Rethymno Old Town

Sometimes Venetian, sometimes Ottoman but always unmistakably Cretan, Rethymno’s Old Town hides its secrets in plain sight. A walking tour takes you through the original settlement of the city located on Crete’s northern coastline, midway between Chania and Heraklion, introducing you to its distinctive buildings, street markets, narrow alleyways and historical monuments. 

You’ll understand how the Old Town grew into Crete’s third-largest settlement, spreading from the harbour in around 1300, and appreciate how it has retained its intimacy and colour despite its growth, with little bars, cafes and concept stores opening in refurbished buildings. In many of the tavernas, you can enjoy traditional Cretan food and music.

Rethymno is one of Crete’s best-preserved settlements. Look out for the ornate doorways decorated with Venetian crests, Ottoman mosques with minarets and the wooden facades of mansions all vying for your attention – before you emerge at the waterfront by the iconic harbour. 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Highlights of Rethymno Old Town

Ethnikis Antistaseos Street 

The archway of the Guora Gate – also called Megali Porta (Big Gate) – marks your entry into the old town. It was the central gate to the once fortified city and is the only surviving section of the protective walls introduced in the 16th century. From here, you amble down Ethnikis Antistaseos Street, which morphs onto Platia Mikrasiaton and is the heart of the historic centre, filled with shops with local products, cafes and tavernas. It’s worth having few suggestions for traditional Cretan dishes up your sleeve: Kaltsounia (cheese and herb pies), Gamopilafo (‘Wedding’ pilaf with goat or rooster), Tsigaristo (slow-cooked lamb), hochli (snails), Apaki (cured pork) and Boureki (courgette and potato pie).

The Church of Agios Frangiskos

Continuing down Ethnikis Antistaseos, you arrive at the basilica of St Francis, built by the Venetians as a Franciscan Friary church. Stop to appreciate the Renaissance touches of the intricate doorway. The building now houses Rethymno’s Archaeological Museum. 

The Neratzes Mosque   

A little further along you arrive at Neratzes (or Gazi Hussein) Mosque and its towering minaret. It was the Venetians’ Church of Santa Maria (belonging to the Augustine Monastery) before being converted by the Ottomans in the 17th century with the addition of three domes, but it has retained its original elaborate entrance. Today it functions as the Municipal Odeon.

The Historical and Folklore Museum 

You’ll enjoy walking around this 17th-century Venetian mansion and the collection of traditional handicraft and folk art that it contains. The museum also serves as a research centre for the preservation of Cretan Folklore culture.

The Rimondi Fountain

The three lion heads of this ornately decorated fountain still spill water into their basins, as they did when the Venetians built it in 1626 on the site of a former Roman fountain. The inscriptions of ‘LIBERALITATIS’ and ‘FONTES’ were an invitation to the 17th-century population to drink freely from the fountain. 

Venetian Loggia 

Originally open and covered with a wooden roof, the Loggia was a meeting place for Venetian nobility and officials. The walls added in 1625 include handsome arches, which give it a stately air. Now owned by the Culture Ministry, the Loggia sells guide books and authenticated copies of antiquities. 

The Venetian Harbour  

The Venetian Harbour is a symbol Rethymno as it was here that the nascent city began to flourish from 1300. The original lighthouse has been replaced by one built by the Egyptians during the 1830s. This is the ideal place to enjoy fresh fish in a seaside taverna.

The Fortezza

The harbour is also the location of Rethymno’s much-photographed 17th century Fortezza. Only a number of the buildings that once made up a citadel within its walls remain, but you will easily understand its original grandeur as one of the biggest constructions of Venetian Crete. It offers panoramic views of the city and the sea.

A waterfront stroll

From here, you can end your walk with a stroll along the palm tree-lined Eleftheriou Venizelou waterfront towards the new marina. Find yourself a table overlooking the sea and order a drink. If you’re here at sunset, you’ll soon find yourself in good company. The marina has some of Rethymno’s best nightlife spots. 

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
Accommodation

Phaedra Suites Rethymno

Rethymno

Phaedra Suites are located in the heart of Rethymno City. A complex of 6 rennovated suites with a combination of tradition and l...

Official online rates

Accommodation

May Beach Hotel Rethymno

Rethymno

Charming small family hotel, situated in the suburb of Missiria 200m from the longest sandy beach of the island and 4km outside ...

Official online rates

How do you reach Rethymno?

  • From Chania
  • From Heraklion

What is the best time of year to visit Rethymno? 

  • Rethymno can be visited all year round. It is at its liveliest from April to October, with most shops open – especially those close to the sea.

The ideal times to visit are April-June and September-October, when it is at its most charming and quiet.

When are Rethymno’s museums and cultural sites open?

Archaeological Museum
April to October: 10:00-18:00 
November-March: 8:30-16:00 
Tickets: €2 (€1 reduced) 
More Info

Historical-Folklore Museum
April-October: Daily from 10:00-15:00 (except Sunday)
November-March: Only upon request
Ticket: €4 (€2 reduced)
Not suitable for visitors with disabilities
 

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

How long do walking tours of Rethymno Old Town last? 

  • Organised tours usually last 3-4 hours. All the attractions listed here can easily be visited in one day.  
  • As life in Rethymno centres around the Old Town, you will have plenty of time to discover it during your stay.

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages, towns and cities alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect the cultural monuments and relics and don’t use flash photography if there’s a sign forbidding it. It’s to protect the relics.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect the plants and animals.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Preveli beach takes exotic to another level

Experience the palm-fringed beauty of Crete’s Preveli Beach

Ancient Epidaurus is most famous today for giving us the best-preserved ancient Greek theatre

Ancient Epidaurus, the original deluxe healing centre

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

A visit to the magical Temple of Poseidon at Sounion

View from Lycabetus hill in Athens

Fill your lungs with the unexpected green spaces of Athens

Palaios Panteleiomonas is a centuries-old village whose inhabitants had chosen to relocate to the coast before returning to breathe new life into the village

Mythical village-hopping on the slopes of Mt Olympus

If there’s a city that’s become synonymous with nightlife and entertainment, this is Thessaloniki

The best of Thessaloniki’s legendary nightlife scene

Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility

A tour of the Temple of Demeter on Naxos