8

8 ПРИЧИН, ЧТОБЫ ПРИЕХАТЬ НА ОСТРОВ КАРПАТОС

READING TIME
Пока Вы едите греческий салат

Второй по величине остров цепочки Додеканес примечателен своими яркими контрастами – зелёные холмистые горы и десятки пляжей, волшебные морские пейзажи и живописные деревушки, хранящие свои обычаи и традиции, домашние рецепты и модные кафе-бары. Карпатос, один из самых удалённых греческих островов, добраться до которого можно как по морю, так и самолётом (1 час от Афин), подарит Вам ощущение первооткрывателя. 

Пляж Апелла – волшебная гаромния

В пляж Апелла влюбляешься с первого взгляда! Пейзаж, оттенки, а самое главное – необыкновенное сочетание  полного комфорта с ощущением, что находишься в самом укромном уголке мира. На этом песчано-галечном пляже есть удобства на каждый вкус. 

Познакомьтесь с экзотическим пляжем Апелла

In a setting of pine-tree green, white sand and deep blue sea, Apella has a special knack of capturing the hearts of those who discover it

Вы можете выбрать шезлонг с зонтиком или устроиться под сенью сосновых деревьев, растущих на краю пляжа. Прозрачные воды словно приглашают Вас разведать подводный мир, поэтому не забудьте прихватить маску и ласты. В качестве культурного бонуса, спускаясь по тропе к пляжу, Вы встретите церковь Св. Луки, буквально встроенную в скалу. 

Пляжи повсюду

На острове столько пляжей, что просто глаза разбегаются. Пляж Ахата примечателен своими изумрудными водами и мелкой галькой, а рядом с ним находится пляж Кира Панагия – песчаный организованный пляж с тавернами вдоль берега. Продвигаясь далее на север, вы встретите тихий пляж Агиос Минас. А с южной стороны острова  отметим пляж Аммопи, полностью оснащённый и популярный среди семей. 

Diakofti secluded beach, close to the airport of Karpathos

В деревне Аркаса находится пляж Агиос Николаос с песчаным берегом и пологим дном. Здесь стоит остаться до вечера, чтобы полюбоваться соседним островом Кассос на закате солнца. Среди более удалённых пляжей отметим Диакофтис, Араки (подходящий для любителей уединиться с книгой), Михалиу Кипос и популярный песчаный пляж в бухте Лефкос. Для любителей спортивного отдыха рекомендуем пляж Макрис Ялос для виндсерфинга и пляж Агрилаопотамос для кайтсерфинга.

Деревня Олимпос – непреходящее очарование

Когда-то, всего несколько десятков лет назад, деревня Олимпос была практически отрезана от остального острова. Сюда не доходило ни дороги, ни электричества, ни новшеств цивилизации. Сегодня добраться до этой горной деревушки уже не так сложно. Приехав сюда, Вы увидите неизменными обычаи и традиции этого места. 

Olympos itself is a live museum with an idyllic atmosphere when the clouds come down and surround the village

Пожилые местные жители до сих пор носят традиционные костюмы и разговаривают на диалекте деревни. Многие занимаются прикладными видами искусства - вышивкой головных платков и изделием музыкальных инструментов. Загляните в одну из традиционных кафеен или таверн. А на закате рекомендуем подняться к ветряным мельницам, чтобы полюбоваться волшебным видом на Эгейское море.  

Однодневный тур по деревушкам острова

Деревушки острова Карпатос заслуживают особого внимания. Предлагаем также посетить Менетес, сохранивший традиционную архитектуру, и деревню Апери с её отреставрированными особняками. Обе деревни являются средневековыми поселениями близ главного порта Пигадия. Здесь Вы увидите красочные домики, балконы которых смотрят прямо на Эгейское море.  Стоит также поехать на узкий перешеек острова Споа, откуда открывается вид сразу на обе части острова – восточную и западную. Неподалёку находится деревня Месохори с белыми домиками и ключевой водой. И, наконец, деревушка Отос, расположенная на высоте 500 метров и являющаяся самой высокогорной деревней острова. В деревне работает Этнографический музей, представляющий традиционный образ жизни острова.

Тур по горным деревушкам Карпатоса

Морская поездка к островку Сария

Крошечный необитаемый островок Сария, расположенный близ северного побережья Карпатоса, когда-то был его частью. Сегодня желающие провести день на уединённом пляже или совершить пеший тур по заповедной зоне Natura 2000 могут добраться сюда на лодке. Лодки отходят обычно из главного порта Пигадия или из бухты Диафани на северном побережье острова. 

Вдали от цивилизации на острове Сариа

Saria is an island of unparalleled beauty, where snorkelling goes in a whole new level!

Вас довезут до пляжа Палатия, откуда можно пройтись пешком по ущелью, дойти до церкви Св. Захария и полюбоваться живописным видом. Желающие могут дойти и до руин поселения Палатия, в котором когда-то часто бывали пираты. Неподалёку находится ещё одно брошенное поселение – Аргос, местные жители которого когда-то поставляли продукты жителям горной деревушки Олимпос. На острове есть ещё один удалённый пляж Алимунда, расположенный за поселением Палатия.

Пигадия – сердцебиение острова

Пигадия является столицей острова. Именно здесь бьётся сердце Карпатоса. Вас ждут разнообразные рестораны и бары, магазины и кафе, тусовочные места и развлечения.  Кроме того, стоит обратить внимание на Археологический музей, располагающийся в здании 1930-х годов в стиле арт деко (оставшееся в наследие после итальянского правления). В музее представлены экспонаты от Неолитической эпохи до Византийского периода. На вершине холма над городом можно увидеть руины древнего акрополя. А по дороге от Пигадия к деревне Апери Вы встретите базилику Св. Фотини, относящуюся к раннехристианскому периоду.

Pigadia the capital of Karpathos and the main port-1

Самобытная местная кухня

Самобытность Карпатоса кроется больше всего в его местных продуктах и проверенных временем рецептах. Какую таверну бы Вы ни выбрали: в порту Пигадия, на одном из пляжей или в горной деревушке (фирменным блюдом в которых является мясо, запечённое в дровяной печи), Вы почувствуете домашнюю заботу и гостеприимство. Излюбленным рецептом можно назвать блюда из домашних макарон («макаруния» и «хилопитес»). Особым почтение пользуются и сыры. Козий сыр «манули» производится в трёх видах: мягкий как творог, твёрдый и подсушенный на солнце, подаваемый с оливковым маслом. Обязательно попробуйте пироги, особенно с луковой начинкой.  Также советуем отведать «сусамомело» - сладость на основе кунжутных семян и мёда, традиционно подаваемая на свадьбах. Местное вино также восхитит Вас, особенно после знакомства с местными виноградниками около деревень Отос и Волада. Самым популярным сортом является красное полусладкое.

Горные походы и пешие туры по острову

Пешие походы в последние годы набирают всё больше популярности  на Карпатосе. Через остров пролегает около 50 указанных на карте троп, котороые проведут Вас через горные деревушки и другие уголки острова. От деревни Олимпос отходят тропы, ведущие к пляжам Фарокли или Диафани (обе протяжённостью около 5 км). По пути в бухту Диафани Вы встретите ветряные мельницы, откуда открывается великолепный вид. А для более храбрых горняков на острове имеется 32 скалы, предназначенных для скалолазания, и почти 350 альпинистких маршрутов (от новичкового до продвинутого уровней). Одним из самых популярных горных маршрутов является ущелье Флаския протяжённостью 500 метров.

Mount of Ai-Elias, where Olympos traditional village is nestled-Eddie Carolina Stigson

Откройте для себя остров Карпатос!

Карпатос, богатый природными красотами и верный своим самобытным традициям, ждёт своих первооткрывателей.

Откройте для себя острова Эгейского моря!

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like

8 незабываемых моментов с острова Калимнос

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 причин, чтобы Астипалея стала Вашим любимым летним островом

Stroll along the maze of alleyways, through vaulted archways and past dazzlingly white and mostly immaculately maintained houses

9 идей, чтобы погрузиться в духовную атмосферу Патмоса

The harbour of Kastelorizo, a technicolour amphitheatre

8 скрытых жемчужин среди островов Додеканесса

Aerial photo of competition sport paddle surfing or sup between 2 men in tropical waters of Vouliagmeni beach, Athens riviera, Attica, Greece

Серфинг, водные лыжи, wakeboard: самые популярные направления в Греции

Вид на замок Линдос из бухты Святого Павла

Восемь главных достопримечательностей Родоса

Sculptures of Zongolopoulos Umbrellas are placed in Thessaloniki

Лучшие места в городе

Nature… the true guardian of Mt Olympus

7 волшебных экскурсий всего в часе езды от Салоник!

The peak of Mt Olympus

8 незабываемых впечатлений от горы Олимп

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Познакомьтесь с островами Кикладической цепочки близ Санторини!

8 незабываемых моментов с острова Калимнос

Myrtos beach, Kefalonia

10 незабываемых мгновений с острова Кефалония

8

8 REASONS TO MAKE YOU WANT TO EXPLORE KARPATHOS

READING TIME
As long as it takes to eat a Greek salad

The second-largest of the Dodecanese islands stands out for its charming contrasts: green mountains and dozens of beaches; magical sea views and picturesque villages full of traditions, colour and customs; home-cooked food and lively bars and cafes. A one-hour plane ride away, or a ferry trip to one of the more distant Greek islands, it’s a place where your sense of discovery will be fully rewarded. 

Apella beach, striking the perfect balance

You’ll immediately fall for Apella. The setting, the colours and above all the ease with which you can have your every need catered for and yet still feel you’ve found a hidden escape… It’s a magical beach of sand and fine pebbles that has it all. 

Discover the exotic beauty of Apella Beach

In a setting of pine-tree green, white sand and deep blue sea, Apella has a special knack of capturing the hearts of those who discover it

Up to you whether you prefer a sunbed & parasol or the shade of one of the pine trees that give the beach its special character. With water this clear, a mask and flippers are a must. And for a bonus, you’ll find the little 13th-century church of Agios Loukas literally built into the rocks, on the path down to the beach. 

Beaches all around you

Then again, with so many beaches there’s plenty of competition for your attention. There’s Ahata’s blue-green water and fine pebbles and the much-photographed Kyra Panagia (more sandy and organised, with plenty of tavernas) right next door. Further north, there’s the tranquility of Agios Minas and, to the south, Ammopi (fully organised and ideal for families).

Diakofti secluded beach, close to the airport of Karpathos

Agios Nikolaos, in Arkasa, is sandy and shallow and great for a sunset view of Kasos island or a walk up to Paleokastro. And more distant are Diakoftis, Araki (perfect for bookworms), Mihaliou Kipos and the popular sandy beaches of Lefkos bay. Finally, for the sporty types, there’s windsurfing at Makris Gialos and kitesurfing at Agrilaopotamos

The timeless charms of Olympos village

There was a time, only a few decades ago, when Olympos was virtually cut off from the rest of Karpathos. No road, no electricity and virtually no change for centuries. The mountain village greets visitors more easily these days, allowing us all to enjoy its customs and traditions. 

Olympos itself is a live museum with an idyllic atmosphere when the clouds come down and surround the village

Strolling the alleyways, you’ll find older residents still wearing traditional costumes and speaking the village dialect and you’ll find locals embroidering headscarves or making musical instruments. There are traditional cafes and tavernas to enjoy and the view of the Aegean from the windmills is amazing, particularly at sunset.

A day spent village-hopping

And that’s just the start when it comes to the villages. The traditional architecture of Menetes and renovated mansions of Aperi (two medieval villages close to Pigadia, the main port) are perfect introductions to the island’s colourful homes, often with balconies overlooking the Aegean. Spoa, on the narrowest stretch of Karpathos, has amazing views to both the east and west and nearby are the whitewashed houses of Mesochori (quench your thirst at one of the fountains). And finally, there’s Othos (at 500m up, the highest village on the island) where there are great views and a Folk Museum displaying a traditional Karpathian home. 

Village-hop to the mountain villages of Karpathos 

A boat trip to remote Saria

A tiny uninhabited island off the northern coast, Saria was once connected to Karpathos. Now it’s a boat trip away for those seeking to spend the day on a remote beach or hike in a Natura 2000-protected area. Or perhaps both. Boats leave from Pigadia (the main port) or Diafani (on the north coast) to Palatia beach on Saria. 

Feel the meaning of escape on Saria

Saria is an island of unparalleled beauty, where snorkelling goes in a whole new level!

Pigadia, the lifeblood of Karpathos

Pigadia deserves its own attention. The capital of Karpathos is where island life is concentrated, with plenty of restaurants, bars, shops and cafes and friendly little hangouts that are part of the laid back charm. You’ll also find an Archaeological Museum in a 1930s art deco building (from the island’s Italian rule) in which there are exhibits from the Neolithic and Byzantine periods. At the top of a hill are the ruins of an ancient acropolis (with a great view) and, on the road towards Aperi, the early-Christian basilica of Agia Fotini. 

Pigadia the capital of Karpathos and the main port-1

Authenticity in every bite

The authenticity of Karpathos is found above all in the local produce and time-honoured recipes. Whether your taverna is in Pigadia, by the beach or in the hills (where the specialities are meat dishes slow-cooked in wood ovens), you’ll find food that could be served in the home of a local. Pasta-based dishes are another speciality (especially makarounes and hylopites, made of flour and water) as are the cheeses. Manouli goat’s cheese comes in three types (creamy, hard and sun-dried and dipped in oil). The pies are a must (look for the onion pie… delicious!) as is sousamomelo, a sesame and honey-based sweet traditionally served at weddings. You’ll also enjoy the local wine (especially after seeing the vineyards around the villages of Othos and Volada). The most popular is the semi-sweet red. 

An up-and-coming hiking & climbing destination

Hiking has flourished in recent years in Karpathos, with a network of around 50 mapped out routes passing through the mountain villages and other parts of the island. From Olympos, there are paths down to beaches of Farokli or Diafani (both around 5km). On the way to Diafani, you’ll pass two watermills where you’ll be treated to a fantastic view. And for the more brave, there are 32 rock climbing sites and almost 350 climbing routes (from beginner to more advanced). A popular climbing spot is the 500m-long Flaskia Gorge.

Mount of Ai-Elias, where Olympos traditional village is nestled-Eddie Carolina Stigson

Experience Karpathos island

With so much authenticity and natural beauty to discover, Karpathos is an island worth seeking out. Having remained true to itself, it enjoys nothing more than letting you in on the secret. 

Explore the Aegean islands

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like

8 unforgettable highs and hidden depths in Kalymnos

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 reasons why Astypalea will be your favourite summer hangout

Stroll along the maze of alleyways, through vaulted archways and past dazzlingly white and mostly immaculately maintained houses

9 ways to feel the spirituality of Patmos

The harbour of Kastelorizo, a technicolour amphitheatre

8 hidden gems of the Dodecanese islands

Scuba cave diving

5 popular scuba diving destinations in Greece

Incredible Sarakiniko beach, a trip to the moon in Milos island

12 Popular sailing destinations in the Aegean

Thessaloniki and the White Tower from above

7 magical getaways just 60mins from Thessaloniki

The peak of Mt Olympus

8 mythical experiences on Mt Olympus

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Meet the Cycladic escapes neighbouring Santorini

8 unforgettable highs and hidden depths in Kalymnos

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 reasons why Astypalea will be your favourite summer hangout

A little before you reach Koumaros, you pass Exomvourgo Castle, high up on a 640m conical hill

9 steps to uncovering the authenticity of Tinos