READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour savourer une salade grecque

La deuxième île la plus grande du Dodécanèse se distingue par ses contrastes charmants : montagnes verdoyantes et dizaines de plages, vues magiques sur la mer et villages pittoresques riches de traditions, de couleurs et de coutumes, cuisine maison et bars ou cafés animés. Accessible en une heure d’avion, point de départ en bateau vers l’une des îles grecques les plus éloignées, elle comblera vos envies de découverte. 

La plage d’Apella, un équilibre parfait

Vous tomberez instantanément amoureux d’Apella. Le cadre, les couleurs, la facilité avec laquelle chacun de vos besoins sera comblé et malgré tout, cette sensation d’avoir trouvé un coin caché où s’évader… Cette plage enchanteresse, de sable et de fins galets, a tout pour plaire. 

Découvrez la beauté exotique d’Apella

In a setting of pine-tree green, white sand and deep blue sea, Apella has a special knack of capturing the hearts of those who discover it

À vous de décider si vous préférez une chaise longue et un parasol, ou bien l’ombre de l’un des pins qui confèrent à la plage son caractère particulier. Avec une eau si claire, un masque et des palmes sont indispensables. Bonus culturel : sur le chemin qui descend vers la plage, vous trouverez une petite église du XIIIe siècle, Agios Loukas, construite littéralement dans les rochers.

Des plages tout autour de vous

Avec tant de plages sur Karpathos, la compétition est rude pour obtenir votre attention. Citons Achata, avec son eau bleu-vert et ses galets fins et juste à côté, Kyra Panagia, plage organisée et souvent photographiée, avec du sable et de nombreuses tavernes. Plus au nord, on trouve la tranquillité d’Agios Minas et vers le sud, Ammopi, organisée et idéale pour les familles. 

Diakofti secluded beach, close to the airport of Karpathos

Agios Nikolaos, à Arkasa, est couverte de sable ; l’eau y est peu profonde et l’endroit est parfait pour une vue de l’île de Kassos au coucher du soleil, ainsi que pour une marche jusqu’à Paleokastro, en hauteur. Plus éloignées, n’oublions pas Diakoftis, Araki (parfaite pour les amateurs de lecture), Michaliou Kipos et les plages de sable célèbres de la baie de Lefkos. Enfin, pour les sportifs, Makris Gialos permet de faire de la planche à voile et Agrilaopotamos, du kitesurf.

Le charme intemporel d’Olympos

Il fut un temps – il y a quelques décennies à peine – où le village d’Olympos était pratiquement coupé du reste de Karpathos. Pas de routes, pas d’électricité et pratiquement aucun changement pendant des siècles. De nos jours, ce village de montagne accueille plus facilement des visiteurs, ce qui nous permet de découvrir ses coutumes et ses traditions.

Olympos itself is a live museum with an idyllic atmosphere when the clouds come down and surround the village

En parcourant les ruelles, vous croiserez des habitants âgés qui portent toujours des vêtements traditionnels et parlent le dialecte du village. Vous verrez aussi des habitants qui brodent des foulards ou fabriquent des instruments de musique. Il y a des cafés traditionnels et des tavernes où il fait bon vivre. La vue sur la mer Égée depuis les moulins à vent est magnifique, en particulier au coucher du soleil.

Une journée à découvrir les villages

Olympos n’est qu’un début, en ce qui concerne les villages. L’architecture traditionnelle de Menetes et les manoirs rénovés d’Aperi – deux villages médiévaux proches de Pigadia, le port principal – constituent une introduction parfaite aux maisons colorées de l’île, souvent dotées de balcons qui donnent sur l’Égée. Spoa, située sur le tronçon le plus étroit de Karpathos, offre des vues superbes sur l’est comme sur l’ouest. Non loin, se trouvent les maisons blanchies à la chaux de Mesochori, où vous pourrez vous désaltérer à l’une des fontaines. Enfin, signalons Othos, à 500 m. d’altitude. C’est le plus haut perché de l’île, avec des vues superbes et un musée du folklore qui montre une maison traditionnelle de Karpathos.

Parcourez les villages de montagne de Karpathos

Une excursion en bateau jusqu’à la lointaine Saria

Petite île inhabitée au large de la côte nord, Saria était autrefois reliée à Karpathos. Maintenant, elle peut être atteinte en bateau, pour ceux qui désirent passer une journée sur une plage isolée ou bien s’adonner à la marche dans une zone protégée par Natura 2000 – voire les deux. Des bateaux démarrent de Pigadia (le port principal) ou de Diafani (sur la côte nord), pour se rendre sur la plage de Palatia, sur Saria. 

Découvrez un coin où s’évader sur Saria

Saria is an island of unparalleled beauty, where snorkelling goes in a whole new level!

Pigadia, cœur de Karpathos

Pigadia mérite une attention particulière. C’est dans la capitale de Karpathos que la vie de l’île se concentre, avec de nombreux restaurants, bars, boutiques, cafés et sympathiques lieux de rencontre qui font partie de son charme décontracté. Vous trouverez aussi un musée archéologique, dans un bâtiment art déco des années 1930 (de la domination italienne de l’île), dans lequel sont exposées des découvertes qui remontent au Néolithique et à l’époque byzantine. Au sommet d’une colline, se dressent les vestiges d’une ancienne acropole (avec une vue superbe) et sur la route vers Aperi, la basilique paléochrétienne d’Agia Fotini.

Pigadia the capital of Karpathos and the main port-1

De l’authenticité à chaque bouchée

L’authenticité de Karpathos se trouve avant tout dans les produits locaux et les recettes ancestrales. Que votre taverne se situe à Pigadia, près de la plage ou dans les collines (où les spécialités consistent en des plats de viande mijotés au four à bois), on vous servira des plats qui pourraient être servis chez un habitant. Les plats à base de pâtes constituent une autre spécialité (notamment les makarounes et les chylopites, à base de farine et d’eau), de même que les fromages. Le manouli, fromage de chèvre, existe sous trois formes (crémeux, dur et séché au soleil, trempé dans l’huile). Les tourtes sont incontournables (goûtez celle aux oignons : un régal !), de même que le sousamomelo, douceur au sésame et au miel servie traditionnellement dans les mariages. Vous apprécierez aussi le vin local (surtout après avoir vu les vignobles près des villages d’Othos et Volada). Le plus populaire est le rouge demi-doux.

Une destination prometteuse pour la randonnée et l’escalade

La randonnée s’est développée au cours des dernières années, à Karpathos, avec un réseau d’une cinquantaine d’itinéraires qui passent par les villages de montagne et d’autres parties de l’île. Depuis Olympos, des sentiers mènent aux plages de Farokli ou Diafani (à 5 km environ). En chemin vers Diafani, vous passerez devant deux moulins à eau, où vous aurez une vue fantastique. Pour les plus courageux, il y a 32 sites d’escalade et environ 350 voies (dont les niveaux de difficulté varient). Un lieu populaire d’escalade est les gorges de Flaskia, longues de 500 m.

Mount of Ai-Elias, where Olympos traditional village is nestled-Eddie Carolina Stigson

Vivez l’expérience de l’île de Karpathos

Avec une telle authenticité et une si grande beauté naturelle, Karpathos est une île à découvrir. Elle est restée fidèle à elle-même et ne demande qu’à partager son secret avec vous.

Explorez les îles de l’Égée

Done
Done
Done
Done
Accommodation

Aegean Village Beachfront Resort

Karpathos

Aegean Village Beachfront Resort spreads over an area of 10000 m2 located just above the secluded beach, Kastelia. A prime location where you can enjoy...

Official online rates

Accommodation

Arpathea Villas

Karpathos

Embraced by the picturesque scenery of the Karpathos Island in Greece, ARPATHEA VILLAS offer a luxury living experience while pr...

Official online rates





Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Hiking Balos trail

Les 8 activités de plein air les plus appréciées en Grèce

Oia, Santorin

Déplacement en ferry en Grèce à l'époque de la Covid-19

The charm of rock climbing in Kalymnos is that it is a completely unspoilt environment

Kalymnos en 8 sommets inoubliables et profondeurs cachées

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 atouts d’Astypalée, votre meilleure découverte de l’été

Stroll along the maze of alleyways, through vaulted archways and past dazzlingly white and mostly immaculately maintained houses

9 façons de ressentir la spiritualité de Patmos

The harbour of Kastelorizo, a technicolour amphitheatre

8 trésors cachés du Dodécanèse

Must-try local products of Syros

Guide des spiritueux grecs : Tout ce que vous devez savoir sur le tsipouro

When in Telendos, you must visit the family-owned tavernas where a fresh catch of seafood comes in every morning

Guide des spiritueux grecs : Tout ce que vous devez savoir sur l'ouzo

Résine sur les arbres de mastic à Chios

Guide des spiritueux grecs : Tout ce que vous devez savoir sur le mastic

Noctua beer

Un guide des meilleures bières grecques et des micro-brasseries pour rafraîchir vos vacances

Take a long afternoon stroll in Hora

Les 10 meilleures choses à faire sur l'île de Kythnos

8

8 REASONS TO MAKE YOU WANT TO EXPLORE KARPATHOS

READING TIME
As long as it takes to eat a Greek salad

The second-largest of the Dodecanese islands stands out for its charming contrasts: green mountains and dozens of beaches; magical sea views and picturesque villages full of traditions, colour and customs; home-cooked food and lively bars and cafes. A one-hour plane ride away, or a ferry trip to one of the more distant Greek islands, it’s a place where your sense of discovery will be fully rewarded. 

Apella beach, striking the perfect balance

You’ll immediately fall for Apella. The setting, the colours and above all the ease with which you can have your every need catered for and yet still feel you’ve found a hidden escape… It’s a magical beach of sand and fine pebbles that has it all. 

Discover the exotic beauty of Apella Beach

In a setting of pine-tree green, white sand and deep blue sea, Apella has a special knack of capturing the hearts of those who discover it

Up to you whether you prefer a sunbed & parasol or the shade of one of the pine trees that give the beach its special character. With water this clear, a mask and flippers are a must. And for a bonus, you’ll find the little 13th-century church of Agios Loukas literally built into the rocks, on the path down to the beach. 

Beaches all around you

Then again, with so many beaches there’s plenty of competition for your attention. There’s Ahata’s blue-green water and fine pebbles and the much-photographed Kyra Panagia (more sandy and organised, with plenty of tavernas) right next door. Further north, there’s the tranquility of Agios Minas and, to the south, Ammopi (fully organised and ideal for families).

Diakofti secluded beach, close to the airport of Karpathos

Agios Nikolaos, in Arkasa, is sandy and shallow and great for a sunset view of Kasos island or a walk up to Paleokastro. And more distant are Diakoftis, Araki (perfect for bookworms), Mihaliou Kipos and the popular sandy beaches of Lefkos bay. Finally, for the sporty types, there’s windsurfing at Makris Gialos and kitesurfing at Agrilaopotamos

The timeless charms of Olympos village

There was a time, only a few decades ago, when Olympos was virtually cut off from the rest of Karpathos. No road, no electricity and virtually no change for centuries. The mountain village greets visitors more easily these days, allowing us all to enjoy its customs and traditions. 

Olympos itself is a live museum with an idyllic atmosphere when the clouds come down and surround the village

Strolling the alleyways, you’ll find older residents still wearing traditional costumes and speaking the village dialect and you’ll find locals embroidering headscarves or making musical instruments. There are traditional cafes and tavernas to enjoy and the view of the Aegean from the windmills is amazing, particularly at sunset.

A day spent village-hopping

And that’s just the start when it comes to the villages. The traditional architecture of Menetes and renovated mansions of Aperi (two medieval villages close to Pigadia, the main port) are perfect introductions to the island’s colourful homes, often with balconies overlooking the Aegean. Spoa, on the narrowest stretch of Karpathos, has amazing views to both the east and west and nearby are the whitewashed houses of Mesochori (quench your thirst at one of the fountains). And finally, there’s Othos (at 500m up, the highest village on the island) where there are great views and a Folk Museum displaying a traditional Karpathian home. 

Village-hop to the mountain villages of Karpathos 

A boat trip to remote Saria

A tiny uninhabited island off the northern coast, Saria was once connected to Karpathos. Now it’s a boat trip away for those seeking to spend the day on a remote beach or hike in a Natura 2000-protected area. Or perhaps both. Boats leave from Pigadia (the main port) or Diafani (on the north coast) to Palatia beach on Saria. 

Feel the meaning of escape on Saria

Saria is an island of unparalleled beauty, where snorkelling goes in a whole new level!

Pigadia, the lifeblood of Karpathos

Pigadia deserves its own attention. The capital of Karpathos is where island life is concentrated, with plenty of restaurants, bars, shops and cafes and friendly little hangouts that are part of the laid back charm. You’ll also find an Archaeological Museum in a 1930s art deco building (from the island’s Italian rule) in which there are exhibits from the Neolithic and Byzantine periods. At the top of a hill are the ruins of an ancient acropolis (with a great view) and, on the road towards Aperi, the early-Christian basilica of Agia Fotini. 

Pigadia the capital of Karpathos and the main port-1

Authenticity in every bite

The authenticity of Karpathos is found above all in the local produce and time-honoured recipes. Whether your taverna is in Pigadia, by the beach or in the hills (where the specialities are meat dishes slow-cooked in wood ovens), you’ll find food that could be served in the home of a local. Pasta-based dishes are another speciality (especially makarounes and hylopites, made of flour and water) as are the cheeses. Manouli goat’s cheese comes in three types (creamy, hard and sun-dried and dipped in oil). The pies are a must (look for the onion pie… delicious!) as is sousamomelo, a sesame and honey-based sweet traditionally served at weddings. You’ll also enjoy the local wine (especially after seeing the vineyards around the villages of Othos and Volada). The most popular is the semi-sweet red. 

An up-and-coming hiking & climbing destination

Hiking has flourished in recent years in Karpathos, with a network of around 50 mapped out routes passing through the mountain villages and other parts of the island. From Olympos, there are paths down to beaches of Farokli or Diafani (both around 5km). On the way to Diafani, you’ll pass two watermills where you’ll be treated to a fantastic view. And for the more brave, there are 32 rock climbing sites and almost 350 climbing routes (from beginner to more advanced). A popular climbing spot is the 500m-long Flaskia Gorge.

Mount of Ai-Elias, where Olympos traditional village is nestled-Eddie Carolina Stigson

Experience Karpathos island

With so much authenticity and natural beauty to discover, Karpathos is an island worth seeking out. Having remained true to itself, it enjoys nothing more than letting you in on the secret. 

Explore the Aegean islands

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like

8 unforgettable highs and hidden depths in Kalymnos

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 reasons why Astypalea will be your favourite summer hangout

Stroll along the maze of alleyways, through vaulted archways and past dazzlingly white and mostly immaculately maintained houses

9 ways to feel the spirituality of Patmos

The harbour of Kastelorizo, a technicolour amphitheatre

8 hidden gems of the Dodecanese islands

Scuba cave diving

5 popular scuba diving destinations in Greece

Incredible Sarakiniko beach, a trip to the moon in Milos island

12 Popular sailing destinations in the Aegean

Thessaloniki and the White Tower from above

7 magical getaways just 60mins from Thessaloniki

The peak of Mt Olympus

8 mythical experiences on Mt Olympus

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Meet the Cycladic escapes neighbouring Santorini

8 unforgettable highs and hidden depths in Kalymnos

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 reasons why Astypalea will be your favourite summer hangout

A little before you reach Koumaros, you pass Exomvourgo Castle, high up on a 640m conical hill

9 steps to uncovering the authenticity of Tinos