Old Kardamyli, a fortified cluster of towerhouses, rises around the 18th-century church of Agios Spyridon
Scroll
Heute
19°
TUE
18°
WED
16°
THU
16°
FRI
17°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Im Schatten von dem Berg Taygetos, ein Versteck, wo sich Mensch und Natur in Harmonie treffen

Kardamyli. Ein Bild, wie eine Szene aus einem Film: Eine Straße schlängelt sich an einer Felswand entlang, vorbei an pfaublauen Buchten, dunklen Zypressen und einem Meer von Olivenbäumenim Hezen des Pelepones. Auf der einen Seite des Horizonts liegt der ruhige Golf von Messenien, auf der anderen der riesige Berg Taygetos. Zwischen stehen die rauen Steinhäuser auf dem fruchtbaren Boden.


Früher ein Ort für die wenigen Auserwählten, heute aber haben die Gegensätze die Herzen vieler Besucher erobert und sie kommen immer wieder. Um Kardamyli kennenzulernen, besuchen Sie die alte Festungsstadt, tauchen Sie am Ritsa-Strand ins Wasser ein, verbringen Sie Ihre Nächte in einem der vielen schönen Boutique-Hotels, essen Sie in den berühmten Tavernen und nehmen Sie einen Drink in einer der vielen anspruchsvollen, kleinen Bars. Kardamyli wird Sie begeistern!

Besuchen Sie in Kardamyli

Ein erster Blick auf die legendären Turmhäuser

Ein kurzer Spaziergang genügt, um in die raue, unnachgiebige Welt von Mani einzutauchen. Das alte Kardamyli erhebt  sich mit den befestigten Turmhäuser rund um die Kirche von Agios Spyridon aus dem 18. Jahrhundert. Machen Sie einen Schritt durch das Haupttor und versuchen Sie zu entziffern, was auf den Marmorinschriften steht. Bewundern Sie das Relief des zweiköpfigen Adlers, dem Symbol von Byzanz. Die Stadtväter, die dieses Dorf aus Stein erschufen, hatten einen starken Einfluss auf die moderne Geschichte Griechenlands.

Der kosmopolitische Strand von Stoupa

Ganz im Kontrast zu Manis sonst so steinigen Dörfern, liegt Stoupa direkt am Strand, nur 8 km von Kardamyli entfernt. Und was für ein Strand! Ein der beliebtsten Strände auf dem Pelepones. Vollständig organisierter, goldener Sandstrand mit Blick auf grün-blaues Wasser. Hotels, Restaurants und viele Geschäfte gibt es in unmittelbarer Nähe.

Patrick Leigh Fermor

“Im Vorbeigehen sehen Sie Mani in drei Tagen, beim Schlendern in drei Monaten und, um seine Seele zu sehen, braucht man drei Leben. Eines für das Meer, eines für die Berge und eines für die Menschen.” Schrieb Sir Patrick Leigh Fermor und machte Mani weltberühmt. Einer der bekanntesten Autoren in Großbritannien lebte und schrieb in Kardamyli, bis er 96 Jahre alt war.

Besondere Bleiben

Ob elegante kleine Hotels mitten im Grünen mit großzügigen Terrassen und einladenden Innenhöfen, Suiten in Turmhäusern oder sogar eine ganze Villa – in Kardamyli gibt es alles. Auch das Frühstück mit den regionalen Spezialitäten ist etwas Besonderes.

Versteckte Juwelen in Kardamyli

Entlang der Hänge des großen Berges

Wanderern bietet sich ein wunderbares Netz aus Wegen, die sich östlich von Kardamyli auf den Hängen des Berges Taygetos befinden. Von besonderer Schönheit ist die Vyros-Schlucht.

Meropi: ein befestigtes, schwimmendes Kloster

Auf der grünen Insel genau gegenüberliegend von Kardamyli können Sie die Festungsmauern und die Kirche der Panagia aus dem 18. Jahrhundert bewundern. Sie sollten das unbedingt als Programmpunkt in Ihren Urlaub einbauen.

Versteckte Buchten und private Strände

Ob Kies, Sand oder Felsen, organisiert oder ganz natürlich, populär oder ruhig – Die Küste rund um Kardamyli bietet einen Strand für jeden Geschmack. Nahe dem Eingang zur Stadt liegt Riza, ein organisierter Strand mit weißen Kieselsteinen und kristallklarem Wasser. In der Nähe der Ausfahrt ist Kalamitsi mit feinem Kies und flachem Wasser, ideal für Kinder. Ein paar Kilometer weiter liegt Foneas mit Kieselsteinen, tiefem Wasser, einem Café und einem großer Felsen, von wo Mutige ins Meer springen können.

  • Ein erster Blick auf die legendären Turmhäuser
  • Meropi: ein befestigtes, schwimmendes Kloster
  • Versteckte Buchten und private Strände
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Frühling auf der Insel Santorini

Frühling in Griechenland

Mildes Klima, aufblühende Natur, traditionelle Sitten und Gebräuche: Frühjahr in Griechenland ist ein Schauspiel, das man sich nicht entgehen lassen sollte

Kardamyli

Traditions set in stone, from mountain to sea
Old Kardamyli, a fortified cluster of towerhouses, rises around the 18th-century church of Agios Spyridon
Scroll
Today
26°
FRI
26°
SAT
26°
SUN
25°
MON
24°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
A hideaway where nature and man meet in harmony, but ssssh… don’t tell a soul

Picture this scene from a film: A road snakes along a sheer cliff side, above peacock-blue bays, dark cypresses and a sea of olive trees in the heart of the Peloponnese. On one side of the horizon is the placid gulf of Messinia, on the other, the looming presence of Mt Taygetos. Between them the scene of sturdy-looking stone houses, built to last, is softened by the fertile soil at their base.

This used to be a destination for the chosen few – the diamond of Messinian Mani. But its contrasts have captured the hearts of many visitors, and they keep coming back for more.  To get to know it like they do, visit the old fortress town, take a dip at Ritsa beach, spend your nights in one of its many delightful boutique hotels, have a meal at famous tavernas and chill out at some of the sophisticated little bars. By then you’ll be hooked and you’ll never forget Kardamyli.

What to do in Kardamyli

Your first glimpse of Mani’s legendary tower houses

Just a short walk is all that’s needed to plunge you into the stern, unyielding nature of Mani’s history. Old Kardamyli, a fortified cluster of tower houses, rises around the 18th-century church of Agios Spyridon. Step through the main gate, try to puzzle out the marble inscriptions and stop to admire the relief sculpture of the two-headed eagle of Byzantium, the empire’s emblem. The elders who created this stone village had a powerful influence on the modern history of Greece. 

Cosmopolitan, lively Stoupa

Quite a contrast to Mani’ stern and stony image is this village on the beach, 8km from Kardamyli. Not only does it boastfully organised golden sands facing green-blue water, there are also hotels, restaurants and plenty of shops at arm’s reach. It is one of the most popular beaches in the Peloponnese.

Patrick Leigh Fermor

“Passing by you see Mani in three days, walking in three months and in order to see its soul you need three lives. One for the sea, one for its mountains and one for its people.” So wrote Sir Patrick Leigh Fermor – Paddy, or Kyrie Michalis, as he was affectionately known – who made Mani internationally famous through his writing. One of Britain’s best-loved authors, he lived and wrote in Kardamyli until the ripe old age of 96, his works including the novels  ‘A Time of Gifts’ and ‘The Traveller’s Tree’.

Special places to stay

Whatever your choice, it is bound to prove exceptional: There are elegant small hotels, built of stone and draped in flower, leaf and branch, with spacious verandas and welcoming courtyards; suites in townhouses or even entire villas.

Hidden gems of Kardamyli

Walking the slopes of the great mountain

If you’re a hiker, don’t miss the marvellous network of paths that unwind east of Kardamyli on the slopes of Mt Taygetos. Of exceptional beauty is the Vyros gorge. 

Meropi: a fortified, floating monastery

The lush islet opposite Kardamyli conceals the fortress walls and the 18th-century church of the Panagia in what was once a flourishing monastery. Be sure to put it on your holiday itinerary, you won’t regret it.

Hidden coves and private beaches

Which do you prefer? Pebbles, sand or rocks? Organised or completely natural? Popular or secluded? The coast around Kardamyli offers a beach for every taste. Each is beautiful in its own right, like all the beaches in the Peloponnese. Near the entrance to town, you have Ritsa, an organised beach with white pebbles and crystalline water. Near the exit, Kalamitsi’s fine pebbles and shallow water (ideal for kids) are guarded by cypress trees. A few kilometres further, is Foneas, with pebbles, deep water, a canteen and a great rock to dive from.

If you’re a hiker, don’t miss the marvellous network of paths that unwind east of Kardamyli on the slopes of Mt Taygetos

Experience the best of Kardamyli

Uncover the secrets of Messinia, through its most famous product

Following the olive route in Messinia

Uncover the secrets of Messinia, in the southwest Peloponnese, through its most famous product… luscious, golden extra-virgin olive oil.
  • Mani’s legendary tower houses
  • Meropi: a fortified, floating monastery
  • Hidden coves and private beaches
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Springtime on the island of Santorini

Spring holidays in Greece

Warm weather, nature in full bloom and unique customs… Spring in Greece is a celebration not to be missed