Idyllic landscape of Kalamata's Marina at sunset
EXPERIENCE

Découvrez à pieds Kalamata, une ville en pleine émergence

Quelle que soit la saison, quels que soient vos goûts, Kalamata, ville du golfe de Messénie, dans le Péloponnèse, a tout pour plaire.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
Toute la journée
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

Vous avez probablement déjà entendu parler de Kalamata, même si vous ne l'avez pas encore visitée. La capitale de la Messénie, dans l'ouest du Péloponnèse, fournit dans le monde ses grandes olives noires depuis des siècles. Mais ce que vous ignorez, à moins d'y être allé, c'est qu'il s'agit également d'une ville en pleine émergence, qui possède tous les atouts.

Les Grecs l'adorent, de même qu'un nombre de plus en plus important d'étrangers qui profitent de son aéroport (avec sa liste croissante de vols internationaux directs) ou de sa liaison routière aisée de 2h40 avec Athènes. Mer ? Montagne ? Culture ? Street life ? Vie nocturne ? Nourriture ? Shopping ? Printemps ? Été ? Automne ? Hiver ? Vous y serez comblé dans tous les cas !

Que vous y passiez en chemin pour une autre destination du Péloponnèse, ou que vous y fassiez une escapade, découvrir la ville à pied est une expérience à ne pas manquer.

Vous y verrez des reliques antiques et byzantines, des bâtiments dont l'architecture évoque à la fois le néoclassicisme et la Renaissance - avec des toits de tuiles rouges, de petites ruelles et des églises en pierre - et un front de mer que le mont Taygète et ses plages toutes proches rendent encore plus particulier.

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

Le château

Situé juste au-dessus de l'agora (marché) de la vieille ville, se trouve le kastro de Kalamata. Il remonte au début du XIIIe siècle et fut construit par les Byzantins, puis achevé par les Francs. Il n'est pas aussi complexe que d'autres fortifications médiévales du Péloponnèse, mais c'est un endroit à l'atmosphère particulière, parfait pour commencer votre visite, avec de superbes vues sur la ville. S'y trouvent des inscriptions qui datent de l'occupation vénitienne de Kalamata (1685-1715). Des fouilles ont mis au jour le site de la ville de Fares, du VIe siècle, avec une petite église dédiée à la Vierge Marie Kalomata, construite à cet endroit. Cette dernière porte ce nom à cause de l'icône de la Vierge aux yeux noirs magnifiques (dont la ville tire son nom). Renseignez-vous sur le Festival de danse internationale de Kalamata, qui y a lieu tous les ans en juillet.

Les musée

À proximité du château, se trouvent deux musées qui méritent l'attention. Le musée folklorique de Kalamata, installé dans le manoir Kyriakou à deux étages du XIXe siècle, présente des souvenirs de la révolution de 1821 contre les Ottomans, ainsi que d'autres objets de la vie quotidienne (dont du matériel d'agriculture, de tissage, d'impression et de reliure). Juste après, se trouve le musée archéologique de Messénie, avec des objets qui datent de la Préhistoire à l'époque byzantine. Ne manquez par la chevalière en or du XVIe siècle av. J.-C., trouvée dans une tombe locale, ainsi que des pièces de monnaie, de la poterie et d'autres artéfacts anciens de la région.

La place du 23 Μars

La place du 23 mars, qui tire son nom du jour où la ville a été libérée des Turcs en 1821, n'incarne pas seulement l'histoire de Kalamata, mais aussi son ambiance. La petite église des Saints Apôtres, au milieu de la place, est l'endroit où la révolution aurait été déclarée et où a été célébrée la première messe de la ville libérée. Tout autour, se trouvent des magasins, des cafés, des bars et des tavernes - plus particulièrement le long de la rue Amfias, qui débouche sur Paplomatadika (célèbre pour sa vie nocturne), et de la rue Ypapandi (où vous trouverez aussi des magasins qui proposent des produits locaux, comme les foulards traditionnels de Kalamata, réalisés au métier à tisser).

La place Vasileos Georgiou

Cette place est également incontournable avec ses cafés, ses bars et ses magasins cosmopolites. Elle mène à la rue Aristomenous, la principale rue commerçante, avec des galeries animées telles que Londos et Varvoutsis, où vous pourrez aussi manger un morceau. Vous apprécierez les structures néoclassiques, dont le magnifique immeuble de la Banque de Grèce.

Le parc municipal du chemin de fer

En laissant derrière vous le centre historique et en descendant la rue Aristomenous vers le port, vous atteindrez le parc municipal du chemin de fer. Cet endroit, qui se situe près de l'ancienne gare de Kalamata-Limin, est un véritable trésor de près de 22 hectares pour les amateurs de chemins de fer, avec une collection de locomotives et de matériel roulant qui vous ramèneront à l'époque des voyages à vapeur.

Le front de mer

En continuant vers le sud, vous atteindrez Navarinou, le célèbre front de mer de Kalamata. C'est là que gravite la vie de la cité en été, mais c'est aussi un bon endroit pour se balader en hiver. La grande promenade bordée de palmiers est infiniment romantique. Démarrez de la marina, avec ses voiliers, et longez la baie de Messénie, avec le mont Taygète qui vous fait signe au loin. Une piste cyclable longe également ce chemin, en passant devant des cafés, des magasins, de bonnes adresses pour déguster un ouzo et des mezzés, ainsi que des bars qui servent de tout, du petit déjeuner aux cocktails. Si vous continuez le long de la côte, vous atteindrez rapidement la plage de Kalamata.

Les spécialités culinaires

Les spécialités culinaires de Kalamata méritent une mention spéciale. Les habitants ont leur propre manière de cuisiner. Goûtez le porc rôti (gournopoula), qui existe aussi sous la forme de souvlaki gyro et de burgers. Plus traditionnel : les pastelia (barres de sésame), les diples (faites de pâte pliée et frite, arrosée de miel et saupoudrée de morceaux de noix), les lalangia (des boucles croustillantes de pâte frite) et bien sûr, les célèbres olives et l'huile d'olive de Kalamata. Dans le domaine des mezzés, mentionnons le sfela (fromage) et le synglino (charcuterie de porc), qui accompagneront bien votre ouzo ou votre tsipouro (eau-de-vie). Si vous voulez quelque chose de plus consistant, essayez le coq mijoté au vin avec des hylopites (petits carrés de pâte).

Un bonus

Une bonne manière de terminer votre journée sera de vous rendre à Verga, à peu de distance en voiture de la ville, où se trouvent des restaurants et des bars avec de superbes vues. Le lieu est parfait pour un café ou un cocktail, surtout la nuit, quand les lumières de la ville et des bateaux de pêche dans la baie scintillent devant vous.

Lire la suite Read Less

On peut facilement explorer Kalamata à pieds ou à vélo (les chemins sont généralement plats). Il existe aussi un bon service de bus en ville.
Pour plus d'informations sur les bus, téléphonez au numéro +30 27210 23377 ou rendez-vous ici.

Jusqu'au centre de Kalamata

Depuis l'aéroport:

Depuis Pylos:

  • En voiture ou en taxi : 52 km (1h05min)
  • En bus

Depuis Athènes:

  • En voiture: 238km (2h40min)
  • En bus
     
  • On peut visiter Kalamata à toute période de l’année. Chaque saison a quelque chose de différent à offrir. Vous pourrez vous baigner en été ; l'automne et le printemps sont quant à eux parfaits pour des promenades dans la nature.
  • Musées et sites culturels:

Le château de Kalamata

  • En été: ouvert tous les jours 8:30 - 20:00
  • En hiver: ouvert tous les jours 8:30 - 15:30 (fermé le Mardi)
  • Prix d'entrée: 2€ (1€ pour les tarifs réduits)
  • Non adapté aux personnes à mobilité réduite

Le musée archéologique de Messénie

  • Ouvert le lundi 13:30 - 20:00
  • Ouvert les autres jours de la semaine, le dimanche et les jours fériés: 8:00-20:00
  • Prix d'entrée : 3€ (2€ pour les tarifs réduits)
  • Plus d'informations
  • Adapté aux personnes à mobilité réduite.

Le musée folklorique de Kalamata

  • Ouvert du mercredi au samedi 9:00 - 13:00 et le dimanche 10:00 - 13:00
  • Prix d'entrée: 3€
  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver

Vous pourrez visiter tous les lieux mentionnés ci-dessus en un jour, mais il vous faudra plus de temps si vous voulez en profiter pleinement, en plus des autres expériences qu'offre Kalamata.

 

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Veillons tous à préserver la magie des villages et des villes insulaires de la Grèce pour les générations à venir.

Gardez les rues propres en utilisant les poubelles mises à votre disposition et en cas de besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Utilisez une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Respectez les monuments culturels et les reliques. N’utilisez pas de flash si vous voyez une pancarte qui l’interdit.
Soutenez les petites boutiques familiales et les producteurs locaux en choisissant un souvenir local fait main.
Respectez les plantes et les animaux.
Respectez les autres visiteurs et les habitants.
Ayez l’esprit curieux et n’hésitez pas à demander des bons plans aux habitants.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Heading northeast, you reach Ermoupouli’s magnificent main church, known locally as Agios Nikolaos of the Rich

Découvrez à pieds la capitale colorée de Syros

There’s a 13km cycle lane stretching right along the waterfront

Découvrez la ville de Kos à vélo en suivant un parcours sur mesure

The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

Découvrez à pieds la ville principale de Skyros

A walking tour through the Hora of Mykonos

Découvrez à pieds la Chora de Mykonos

If it’s a jaw-dropping vista you’re after, take the steps from Imerovigli down to Skaros Rock

Découvrez les sentiers de randonnée à Santorin

Hora is the capital and harbour of Antiparos island

Une promenade pédestre à la paisible et pittoresque Chóra d'Antiparos

The first monument as you enter is the theatre, built in 3-2BC and regarded as one of the greatest examples of its kind

Déterrer l'ancienne Messène dans le sud-ouest du Péloponnèse

Idyllic landscape of Kalamata's Marina at sunset
EXPERIENCE

A walking tour in up-and-coming Kalamata

Whatever the season, whatever your tastes, Kalamata is a city in the Peloponnese’s Messinian Gulf that has it all.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Full day
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

You’ve probably already been introduced to Kalamata even if you haven’t visited. The capital of Messinia, in the western Peloponnese, has been supplying the world with its large, black olives for centuries now. But what you won’t know, unless you’ve been, is that it’s also an up-and-coming city escape that ticks every box imaginable.

Greeks rave about it, as do a growing number of foreigners who have taken advantage of its airport (with a growing list of direct international flights) or easy 2hr40min road connection with Athens. Seaside? Mountain? Culture? Streetlife? Nightlife? Food? Shopping? Spring? Summer? Autumn? Winter? Ticks all round.

You could be passing through on your way elsewhere in the Peloponnese, or enjoying a city break… either way, exploring the city on foot is a must.

You’ll find ancient and Byzantine relics and houses with an architecture that’s part neoclassical, part Renaissance in feel – with red-tiled roofs, little alleyways and stone-built churches – and a waterfront made all the more special by the backdrop of Mt Taygetus and its nearby beaches. 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

The castle

Sitting just above the agora (market) of the Old Town is Kalamata’s Kastro. Dating from the start of the 13th century, it was built by the Byzantines and finished by the Franks. It isn’t as intricate as other medieval fortifications of the Peloponnese, but it’s a wonderfully atmospheric place to start your tour, with excellent city views. There are inscriptions dating from the Venetian occupation of Kalamata (1685-1715) and excavations have revealed the site of the 6th century city of Fares, with a small church dedicated to the Virgin Mary Kalomata built in its place – so named because its icon of the Virgin (from which the city took its name) had beautiful black eyes. Look out for the Kalamata International Dance Festival, which takes place here each July. 

The museums 

Very close to the castle are two museums that deserve attention. The Folklore Museum of Kalamata, housed in the two-storey 19th century Kyriakou Mansion, has collected memorabilia from the 1821 revolution against the Ottomans, as well as other objects of everyday life (including agricultural, weaving and printing/bookbinding equipment). And immediately afterwards is the Archaeological Museum of Messinia, with exhibits from prehistoric to Byzantine times. Look out for a gold signet ring from the 16th century BC, found in a local tomb, as well as coins, pottery and other ancient artefacts from the region. 

March 23rd Square 

Taking its name from the day of the city’s liberation from the Turks, in 1821, March 23rd Square captures not just the history but also the vibe of Kalamata. The diminutive Church of the Holy Apostles in the middle of the square is where the revolution is said to have been declared and the first mass of the liberated city was celebrated. Around it are shops, cafes, bars and tavernas – especially along Amfias St, which ends in Paplomatadika (famous for its nightlife) and Ypapandi St (where you’ll also find shops with local products, such as traditional, loom-woven Kalamata headscarves).

Vasileos Georgiou Square 

This is another square that’s central to daily life, with a cosmopolitan air of cafes, bars and shops. It leads on to Aristomenous St (the shopping hub), with some lively arcades (Londos and Varvoutsis) where you can also grab a bite to eat. You’ll enjoy the neoclassical structures, amongst them the handsome Bank of Greece building.

Municipal Railway Park

Leaving the historical centre behind you and walking down Aristomenous Street towards the port, you reach the Municipal Railway Park. Located by the old Kalamata-Limin train station, this is a 54-acre treasure trove for rail enthusiasts, with a collection of locomotives and rolling stock taking you back to the days of steam-powered travel. 

The waterfront

Continuing south, you reach Navarinou, Kalamata’s famous waterfront. This is where city life gravitates during the summer, but it’s also great for a winter stroll. There’s something endlessly romantic about the generously-sized, palm tree-fringed promenade. Starting at the marina, with its collection of sailing boats, head along the Messinian Bay, with Mt Taygetus beckoning you in the distance. There’s a bicycle lane all the way, as you pass cafes, shops and great ouzo & meze spots and bars serving everything from breakfast to cocktails. If you continue around the coast, you soon reach Kalamata’s beachfront. 

The food

Kalamata’s food deserves special mention. The locals have a way of doing things their way. You should try the roast pork (gournopoula), which has even found its way into gyro souvlaki and burgers. More traditional are pastelia (sesame seed bars), diples (folded, fried pastry, drizzled with honey and sprinkled with nuts), lalangia (crunchy fried dough loops) and, of course, the famous Kalamata olives and olive oil. For meze, there’s sfela cheese and synglino (cured pork) to go with your ouzo or tsipouro (firewater). And for something heartier, cockerel stewed in wine with hylopites (little pasta squares).

A bonus

A great end to your day is to head up to Verga, a short drive out of town, where there are restaurants and bars with amazing views. It’s perfect for a coffee or cocktail, particularly at night, with the lights of the city and the fishing boats in the bay sparkling below you. 

Read More Read Less

Kalamata is easily explored on foot or by bike (it’s largely flat) and there’s a good bus service in town. 
For more information on buses call +30 27210 23377 or click here

To Kalamata centre

From the airport:

From Pylos:

  • By car or taxi: 52km (1hr5min)
  • By bus

From Athens:

  • By car: 238km (2hr40min)
  • By bus
     
  • Kalamata can be visited all year round and the experience is different in each season. In summer, you can combine it with a swim, while autumn to spring are ideal for nature trips.
  • Museums and cultural sites:

Kalamata Castle 

  • Summer: Open daily 8:30-20:00
  • Winter: Open daily 8:30-15:30 (closed Tuesday)
  • Tickets: €2 (€1 reduced)
  • Not suitable for visitors with disabilities

Archaeological Museum of Messinia 

  • Mondays: 13:30-20:00
  • Other weekdays, Sundays and holidays: 8:00-20:00
  • Tickets: €3 (€2 reduced)
  • More info
  • Suitable for visitors with disabilities 

Folklore Museum of Kalamata

  • Open Wednesday-Saturday 9:00-13:00 and Sunday 10:00-13:00 
  • Tickets: €3 
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

You can visit all the highlights mentioned here in one day, but you’ll need longer if you are to enjoy them fully, along with all the other experiences Kalamata offers. 

Plan your trip

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages, towns and cities alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect the cultural monuments and relics and don’t use flash photography if there’s a sign forbidding it. It’s to protect the relics.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect the plants and animals.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Uncover the secrets of Messinia, through its most famous product

Following the olive route in Messinia

The first monument as you enter is the theatre, built in 3-2BC and regarded as one of the greatest examples of its kind

Unearthing Ancient Messene in the southwestern Peloponnese

View of traditional tavern in Pythagoreio

Village-hopping in Samos, from mountain to coast

Heading northeast, you reach Ermoupouli’s magnificent main church, known locally as Agios Nikolaos of the Rich

A walking tour of colourful Ermoupoli in Syros

The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

A walking tour of Skyros’ main town