In the Medieval villages of Chios, you'll find beauty in the details
EXPERIENCE

Тур по средневековым деревушкам острова Хиос

Таринные деревни острова Хиос, имевшего стратегическое значение для Византийской империи и Генуэзской республики, хранят богатую историю. Познакомьтесь с архитектурой и укреплениями деревень, а также с богатыми традициями острова и с производством мастихи
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
продолжительность
один день
По сезону
Круглый год

OVERVIEW

На острове Хиос есть более 60 деревень. Чтобы понять уникальный характер этого острова, нужно познакомиться хотя бы с несколькими из них. Особенно интересны средневековые деревушки, расположенные в южной части острова.

Многие из таких поселений называются ещё «мастичными» деревнями, традиционная культура которых имеет настолько высокую ценность, что эти деревушки были включены в Список мирового наследия ЮНЕСКО. Оказавшись здесь, Вы сразу же почувсвтвуете этот особый смолистый аромат мастики, изготовление которой является неотъемлемой частью социальной и культурной жизни этих деревень.

Но средневековые поселения на Хиосе это не только история производства мастики (кстати далеко не все деревни занимаются мастикой). Это ещё и особая архитектура, тонкие гончарные изделия и другие традиционные промыслы, которые сохраняет каждая деревня.

Эти поселения испытали не только влияние Византийской империи (многие укрепления и башни здесь относятся именно к этому периоду), но также сохранили следы Генуэзского владычества над островом в 1346-1566 годах.

Генуэзцы укрепили традиции изготовления мастики, а также ввели новый стиль строительства домов. Это характерные компактные домики с купольными крышами, служившими защитой от пиратских нападений. Сегодня, эти поселения нередко получают исторические и другие награды.

Подробнее Read Less

DON'T MISS

Армолия

Наш маршрут начинаетсяв одной из «мастичных» деревень, известной своими ярко украшенными  керамическими горшками, а также узенькими улочками и арками, которые переносят нас в другую эпоху. А на соседнем холме возвышается византийский замок Аполихнон.

Каламоти

Эта деревня располагается во второй по крупности и самой плодотворной долине острова, покрытой оливковыми и фруктовыми деревьями. В Каламоти проживает около 800 жителей, большинство из которых занимается изготовлением мастики.Прогуливаясь по деревушке, Вы увидите  прелестные двухэтажные домики и искусно украшенные, резные двери. Две защитные башни и укрепления по всему периметру деревни указывают на значимость этого поселения для генуэзцев.

Пирги

Это самая крупная средневековая деревня на острове Хиос. Пирги славится своим особым стилем в керамике, носящим название «ксиста». Эти мелкие, узорчатые чёрно-белые геометрические мотивы покрывают фасады многих домов. Рекомендуем остаться здесь подольше, чтобы побродить по чудесным узеньким улочкам Пирги, сравнимых с настоящими произведениями искусства. А перед тем как покинуть деревню, посетите византийскую церковь Агиос Апостолос, построенную ещё в 13 веке.

Олимби

Дома в деревне Олимби соединены друг с другом едиными стенами. А в центре деревни возвышается двадцатиметровая башня. Сразу видно насколько важной считалась для мастиных деревень возможность защитить себя. В деревне есть несколько средневековых церквушек, которые стоит посетить. Среди них назовём следующие: церковь Св. Параскеви с великолепным резным иконостасом, а также Трапеза Олимби – двухэтажное средневековое здание, используемое для венчаний. Недалеко от деревни есть пещера, тоже носящее имя Олимби, в которой Вас ждут удивительные сталагмиты и сталактиты.

Места

Это самая южная из всех средневековых деревень острова, а также одна из наиболее хорошо сохранившихся. Деревня Места тоже является ярким архитектурным примером, показывающим особую нужду поселения в самозащите. Войти и выйти из деревни можно только через два входа! Обязательно посетите церковь Палио Таксиархи, которая построена в форме базилики. В деревне также есть широкий выбор таверн и кафе, где можно отведать местный напиток «сума» (инжирная водка) и деревенское вино. Также рекомендуем попробовать «лукумадес» - медовые шарики, обваренные в кипящем масле. 

Весса

Эта маленькая, хорошо сохранившаяся деревушка привлекает своими крепкими стенами и башнми. Это особый средневековый мирок, в который хочется погрузиться. Если Вы ещё не обедали, тогда смело выбирайте одну из традиционных таверн на площади в самом центре деревни.

Анаватос

Далее наш путь лежит к незаселённой деревне Анаватос, стоящей несколько вдалеке от всех остальных мастичных деревень на крутом холме. Каменная стена, окружающая поселение, делает его похожим на крепость. Деревня пережила страшную катастрофу в 1822 году в конце Османского ига, после чего она была полностью покинута местными жителями. В деревне насчитывается более 400 открытых настежь домов. Деревянные потолки, крошечные гостиные, низкие двери и скруглённые окошки... Всё что осталось сегодня от иной эпохи.

Подробнее Read Less

Из города Хиос до деревни Армолия

  • На машине: 19.7 км (31 минута)

Из города Хиос до деревни Анаватос

  • На машине: 20.1 км (33 минуты)

От аэропорта до деревни Армолия

  • На машине: 17.3 км (24 минуты)

От аэропорта до деревни Анаватос

  • На машине: 23.7 км (37 минут)
  • Средневековые деревушки острова привлекательны в любое время года, но ниболее благоприятным временем является период с апреля по октябрь.
  • Музеи и памятники культуры:

Пещера Олимби

  • Осень
  • Весна
  • Летом
  • Зима
  • Описанные деревушки можно обойти за один день (за исключением деревни Анаватос, которая находится подальше от остальных, и лучше организовать туда отдельный поход). Кольцевой маршрут имеет протяжённость 60 км до последней деревшуки, а чтобы вернуться в город Хиос нужно проделать ещё 20 км.
  • Деревушки Армолия, Каламоти, Пирги, Олимби и Места расположены в 10 минутах ходьбы друг от друга. Поэтому к ним легко можно добавить посещение деревни Весса, а затем вернуться в столицу острова.

РЕКОМЕНДАЦИИ ДЛЯ ОТДЫХАЮЩИХ

Помогите нам сохранить волшебную красоту греческих деревушек, провинций и городов, чтобы передать это живое наследие будущим поколениям.

Поддерживайте чистоту на улицах. Используйте установленные мусорные урны. В случае их отсутствия носите мусор с собой до ближайшего мусорного бака.
Пользуйтесь многоразовыми ёмкостями для воды, чтобы уменьшить использование пластиковых бутылок.
Берегите культурные памятники и монументы. Не используйте вспышку на фотоаппарате, если висят таблички с соответствующим ограничением. Данная мера направлена на сохранение монумента.
Поддерживайте местный рынок, покупая продукты и сувениры в небольших магазинах и семейных лавках. Это также прекрасная возможность найти интересные предметы ручной работы.
Берегите флору и фауну.
Относитесь уважительно к другим отдыхающим и к местным жителям.
Не бойтесь обращаться за советом или с просьбой о помощи к местным жителям.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
The mastic fields come alive from mid-June to early July when the soil is levelled and the white powder (calcium carbonate) is placed around the trunks

Знакомство с традиционным продуктом Хиоса - мастикой

Ηopping between villages is the perfect follow-up to enjoying the lively atmosphere of the towns and beautiful beaches of Paros

Знакомясь с деревушками острова Парос

Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility

Экскурсия по храму Деметры на острове Наксос

View of Acropolis and Odeon of Herodes Atticus

Культурное наследие Афин за одну прогулку!

Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens is a gem of a museum and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making

Экскурсия по Музею современного искусства им. Гуландриса в Афинах

The Museum of Cycladic Art presents us with artwork so elegant that it still influences fashion trends today

Экскурсия по Музею кикладического искусства в Афинах

You can appreciate the museum’s stature even before you enter, with its imposing 19th-century neoclassical facade

Путешествие в глубины истории в Афинском государственном археологическом музее

In the Medieval villages of Chios, you'll find beauty in the details
EXPERIENCE

Medieval village hopping in Chios

Once the prized possession of the Byzantines and Genoese, the medieval villages of Chios tell a wonderfully unique story of architecture, tradition, fortification and – above all – mastic production and other time-honoured crafts that await discovery.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Full day
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

There are more than 60 villages on the island of Chios, but you only need to visit a handful to discover the story of a unique island in the North Aegean. And this is especially true when it comes to Chios’ medieval villages, found predominantly in the south of the island. 

Many belong to what are known as the ‘Mastic Villages’ – so valued culturally that, collectively, they are a UNESCO World Heritage Site. In visiting them, you’ll quickly understand that the distinctively scented resin, produced only on this island, is inextricably woven into the social and economic fabric of each village. 

But your interest in Chios’ medieval villages (not all of which are mastic producers) will go far beyond the valuable resin. You’ll love the architecture and design, including the wonderfully detailed pottery work and craftsmanship that has survived within each settlement. 

The villages aren’t just influenced by the Byzantines (although many of the fortifications and towers are from this period), but also the island’s Genoese occupiers from 1346-1566. 

The Genoese intensified Chios’ mastic production and introduced the tightly-packed houses and domed rooftops that served, respectively, as protection and as a lookout for pirate raids. Nowadays, thankfully, the villages are highly prized for different reasons.

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Armolia 

We start in one of the mastic villages, known for its beautifully decorated ceramic pots, mugs and jugs, as well as its narrow streets and arches that allow us to imagine it before it was destroyed and largely rebuilt. The Byzantine Castle of Apolichnon is found on a nearby hill. 

Kalamoti 

Situated in the second largest and most fertile plain of the island, filled with olive and fruit trees. Kalamoti is a village of 850 or so residents, most of whom are involved in mastic production. As you walk around the village, you’ll admire the two-storey houses and ornately carved doors. The two defensive towers and fortified perimeter will tell you of the importance of this village to the Genoese. 

Pyrgi 

The largest medieval village on Chios, Pyrgi’s reputation precedes it in the form of sketches and paintings of its unique ceramic ‘xysta’. These detailed and decorative black and white geometric designs adorn the facades of houses. Take your time to amble down the narrow cobblestoned alleyways, admiring the artwork. And before you leave, visit the 13th century Byzantine church of Agios Apostolos, one of numerous churches.

Olymbi 

With the walls of homes joined together and a 20m tower in the centre of the village, Olymbi gives an excellent feeling for the lengths taken to protect the mastic villages. There are several medieval churches to visit, including Agia Paraskevi, with its ornately wood-carved iconostasis, and be sure to pass by the Trapeza of Olymbi (a two-floor medieval building once used for weddings). A nearby cave (also called Olymbi) has impressive stalagmites and stalactites. 

Mesta 

The furthest south of the medieval villages is one of the best preserved. Mesta is another village whose architecture reflects both the riches and defensive needs of mastic production, with only two routes in and out of the village. You should visit the Church of Palio Taxiarhi, with its vaulted basilica and elaborate wood carvings. The village also has a good selection of tavernas and cafes, in which you can try souma (an ouzi-like drink made from distilling figs) or the village wine, or perhaps loukoumades (fried honey balls).

Vessa 

A small, beautifully preserved village, Vessa is notable for its towers and fortified walls. It’s another medieval village perfect for just strolling through. If you haven’t stopped for a meal yet, make sure you do so in a traditional taverna in the village square. 

Anavatos 

Lastly, we head to the uninhabited village of Anavatos, set apart from the mastic villages on a steep hill. The stone wall that surrounds the village gives it a semblance of a fort, but that didn’t stop it suffering during the Massacre of Chios in 1822, at the end of the Ottoman occupation, after which it was abandoned. There are around 400 mostly open houses, allowing you to inspect the wooden ceilings, very small living spaces, low doors and small rounded windows.

Read More Read Less

From Chios town to Armolia 

  • By car: 19.7km (31mins)

From Chios town to Anavatos

  • By car: 20.1km (33mins)

From the airport to Armolia

  • By car: 17.3km (24mins)

From the airport to Anavatos

  • By car: 23.7km (37mins)
  • You can visit the medieval villages of Chios all year round, but the ideal months are April-October. 
  • Museums and cultural sites: 

Olymbi Cave

  • You can visit with a guide from the beginning of May to September. 
  • Open daily 11:00-18:00 (except Mondays)
  • More info
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • It’s possible to visit all the villages in one day (with the exception of Anavatos, which is quite far away and should be visited separately). The circular route for the daytrip is 60km to the last village and a further 20km to return to Chios town.
  • The villages of Armolia, Kalamoti, Pyrgi, Olymbi and Mesta are around 10min from each other and can all be combined with a visit to Vessa before returning to Chios town.

Plan your trip

 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages, towns and cities alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Explore your surroundings but please keep to designated paths for your own safety and to avoid disrupting the flora and fauna.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect the plants and animals.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
You can appreciate the museum’s stature even before you enter, with its imposing 19th-century neoclassical facade

Journey through time at the National Archaeological Museum in Athens

The Museum of Cycladic Art presents us with artwork so elegant that it still influences fashion trends today

A tour of the Museum of Cycladic Art in Athens

View of traditional tavern in Pythagoreio

Village-hopping in Samos, from mountain to coast

Heading northeast, you reach Ermoupouli’s magnificent main church, known locally as Agios Nikolaos of the Rich

A walking tour of colourful Ermoupoli in Syros

Idyllic landscape of Kalamata's Marina at sunset

A walking tour in up-and-coming Kalamata

The mastic fields come alive from mid-June to early July when the soil is levelled and the white powder (calcium carbonate) is placed around the trunks

Exploring the mastic traditions of Chios