In the Medieval villages of Chios, you'll find beauty in the details
EXPERIENCE

Partez à la découverte des villages médiévaux de Chios

Autrefois propriété précieuse des Byzantins et des Génois, les villages médiévaux de Chios narrent une histoire unique d'architecture, de tradition, de fortification et surtout, de production de mastic et d'autres métiers traditionnels.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
Toute la journée
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

Il y a sur l'île de Chios plus de 60 villages, mais il suffit d'en visiter quelques-uns pour découvrir l'histoire d'une île unique dans le nord de la mer Égée. Et c'est particulièrement vrai en ce qui concerne les villages médiévaux, majoritairement présents dans le sud de l'île.

Nombre d'entre eux font partie de ce que l'on appelle les « villages du mastic », si importants culturellement que leur ensemble forme un site du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO. En les visitant, vous comprendrez rapidement que cette résine à l'arôme particulier, produite uniquement sur Chios, est inextricablement liée à la vie sociale et économique de chacun d'eux.

Cependant, l'intérêt que présentent les villages médiévaux de Chios - dont tous ne produisent  pas le mastic - va bien au-delà de la précieuse résine. Vous aimerez leur architecture et leur design, ainsi que leurs poteries et leur artisanat superbement détaillés, que chacun a perpétués.

Les villages n'ont pas connu que l'influence byzantine (bien que de nombreuses fortifications et tours datent de cette époque), mais aussi celle des Génois, qui ont occupé l'île de 1346 à 1566.  

Ces derniers ont intensifié la production de mastic de Chios et introduit les maisons serrées et les toits en dôme, qui servaient respectivement de protection et de points de surveillance contre les attaques de pirates. De nos jours, heureusement, les villages sont prisés pour d'autres raisons.

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

Armolia 

Commençons dans l'un des villages du mastic, connu pour ses pots, ses tasses et ses cruches en céramique joliment décorés. Ses rues étroites et ses arcades nous permettent d'imaginer ce à quoi il ressemblait avant d'être détruit, puis en grande partie reconstruit. Sur une colline voisine, se trouve le château byzantin d'Apolichnon. 

Kalamoti 

Situé dans la deuxième plaine la plus vaste et la plus fertile de l'île, couverte d'oliviers et d'arbres fruitiers, se trouve Kalamoti, village d'environ 850 habitants dont la plupart participent à la production du mastic. En vous promenant dans le village, vous pourrez admirer les maisons à deux étages et les portes richement sculptées. Les deux tours défensives et le périmètre fortifié vous indiqueront l'importance que revêtait l'endroit pour les Génois.

Pyrgi 

La réputation de Pyrgi le précède, sous la forme de croquis et de peintures de ses « xysta ». Le plus grand village médiéval de Chios se caractérise en effet par ces motifs géométriques détaillés, en noir et blanc, qui ornent les façades de ses maisons. Prenez votre temps pour déambuler le long des étroites ruelles pavées en admirant ces œuvres. Avant de partir, visitez l'église byzantine d'Agios Apostolos, du XIIIe siècle - l'une des églises par ailleurs nombreuses.

Olympi 

Avec les murs attenants de ses maisons et une tour de 20 m. en son centre, le village d’Olympi donne un excellent aperçu des mesures prises pour protéger les villages du mastic. On y trouve plusieurs églises médiévales à visiter, parmi lesquelles celle d’Agia Paraskevi, avec son iconostase en bois richement sculpté. Passez par la Trapeza d’Olympi – un bâtiment médiéval à deux étages, autrefois utilisé pour les mariages. Une grotte voisine, qui porte aussi le nom d’Olympi, possède des stalagmites et des stalactites impressionnantes.

Mesta 

Le village médiéval situé le plus au sud de l'île est l’un des mieux conservés. Mesta est l'un de ces villages dont l’architecture reflète à la fois les richesses et les besoins défensifs de la production de mastic. Il n'y a que deux rues qui y mènent et qui en sortent. Nous vous conseillons de visiter l’église de Palio Taxiarhi, avec sa basilique voûtée et ses sculptures en bois élaborées. Le village possède un joli choix de tavernes et de cafés, dans lesquels vous pourrez goûter la souma (une boisson alcoolisée forte, à base de figues) ou le vin du village, voire des loukoumades (des beignets frits au miel).

Vessa 

Vessa, petit village joliment conservé, est remarquable pour ses tours et ses fortifications. C’est un autre village médiéval parfait pour s’y promener. Si vous ne vous êtes pas encore arrêté pour manger, faites-le dans une taverne traditionnelle, sur la place du village.

Anavatos 

En dernier lieu, nous nous dirigeons vers le village inhabité d’Anavatos, à l’écart des villages du mastic, sur une colline escarpée. La pierre qui l'entoure lui confère l’apparence d’un fort, mais cela ne l’a pas empêché de souffrir au cours du massacre de Chios, en 1822, à la fin de l’occupation ottomane. Il a ensuite été abandonné. On y trouve environ 400 maisons, dont la plupart sont ouvertes, ce qui vous permet d’y regarder les plafonds en bois, les très petits espaces de vie, les portes basses et les petites fenêtres arrondies.

Lire la suite Read Less

De la ville de Chios à Armolia 

  • En voiture: 19,7 km (31 minutes)

De la ville de Chios à Anavatos

  • En voiture: 20,1 km (33 minutes)

De l’aéroport à Armolia

  • En voiture: 17,3 km (24 minutes)

De l’aéroport à Anavatos

  • En voiture : 23,7 km (37 minutes)
  • On peut visiter les villages médiévaux de Chios à toute époque de l’année, mais la meilleure période pour le faire est d’ Avril à Octobre.
  • Musées et sites culturels:  

La grotte d’Olympi

  • Vous pourrez la visiter avec un guide de début mai à septembre.
  • Ouverte tous les jours de 11h à 18h (sauf le lundi).
  • Pour plus d'informations
  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver
  • Vous pourrez visiter tous les villages en un jour (hormis Anavatos, qui se trouve assez loin et qu’il vaut mieux visiter séparément). L’itinéraire circulaire de l’excursion fait 60 km jusqu’au dernier village, plus 20 km pour revenir jusqu’à la ville de Chios.
  • Les villages d’Armolia, Kalamoti, Pyrgi, Olympi et Mesta sont distants d’environ 10 minutes les uns des autres; ils peuvent être combinés avec une visite de Vessa avant de revenir à Chios.

 

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Veillons tous à préserver la magie des villages, des villes et des cités grecs pour les générations à venir.

Gardez les rues propres en utilisant les poubelles mises à votre disposition et en cas de besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Utilisez une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Allez à la découverte des environs, mais veillez à suivre les chemins indiqués, pour votre sécurité et pour préserver la faune et la flore.
Soutenez les petites boutiques familiales et les producteurs locaux en choisissant un souvenir local fait main.
Respectez les plantes et les animaux.
Respectez les autres visiteurs et les habitants.
Ayez l’esprit curieux et n’hésitez pas à demander des bons plans aux habitants.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Heading northeast, you reach Ermoupouli’s magnificent main church, known locally as Agios Nikolaos of the Rich

Découvrez à pieds la capitale colorée de Syros

Idyllic landscape of Kalamata's Marina at sunset

Découvrez à pieds Kalamata, une ville en pleine émergence

There’s a 13km cycle lane stretching right along the waterfront

Découvrez la ville de Kos à vélo en suivant un parcours sur mesure

The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

Découvrez à pieds la ville principale de Skyros

A walking tour through the Hora of Mykonos

Découvrez à pieds la Chora de Mykonos

The immense armour of King Philip II, displayed in evocatively dimmed light

Ressentez la majesté des tombes royales de Vergine

The mastic fields come alive from mid-June to early July when the soil is levelled and the white powder (calcium carbonate) is placed around the trunks

Découvrez les traditions du mastic à Chios

In the Medieval villages of Chios, you'll find beauty in the details
EXPERIENCE

Medieval village hopping in Chios

Once the prized possession of the Byzantines and Genoese, the medieval villages of Chios tell a wonderfully unique story of architecture, tradition, fortification and – above all – mastic production and other time-honoured crafts that await discovery.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Full day
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

There are more than 60 villages on the island of Chios, but you only need to visit a handful to discover the story of a unique island in the North Aegean. And this is especially true when it comes to Chios’ medieval villages, found predominantly in the south of the island. 

Many belong to what are known as the ‘Mastic Villages’ – so valued culturally that, collectively, they are a UNESCO World Heritage Site. In visiting them, you’ll quickly understand that the distinctively scented resin, produced only on this island, is inextricably woven into the social and economic fabric of each village. 

But your interest in Chios’ medieval villages (not all of which are mastic producers) will go far beyond the valuable resin. You’ll love the architecture and design, including the wonderfully detailed pottery work and craftsmanship that has survived within each settlement. 

The villages aren’t just influenced by the Byzantines (although many of the fortifications and towers are from this period), but also the island’s Genoese occupiers from 1346-1566. 

The Genoese intensified Chios’ mastic production and introduced the tightly-packed houses and domed rooftops that served, respectively, as protection and as a lookout for pirate raids. Nowadays, thankfully, the villages are highly prized for different reasons.

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Armolia 

We start in one of the mastic villages, known for its beautifully decorated ceramic pots, mugs and jugs, as well as its narrow streets and arches that allow us to imagine it before it was destroyed and largely rebuilt. The Byzantine Castle of Apolichnon is found on a nearby hill. 

Kalamoti 

Situated in the second largest and most fertile plain of the island, filled with olive and fruit trees. Kalamoti is a village of 850 or so residents, most of whom are involved in mastic production. As you walk around the village, you’ll admire the two-storey houses and ornately carved doors. The two defensive towers and fortified perimeter will tell you of the importance of this village to the Genoese. 

Pyrgi 

The largest medieval village on Chios, Pyrgi’s reputation precedes it in the form of sketches and paintings of its unique ceramic ‘xysta’. These detailed and decorative black and white geometric designs adorn the facades of houses. Take your time to amble down the narrow cobblestoned alleyways, admiring the artwork. And before you leave, visit the 13th century Byzantine church of Agios Apostolos, one of numerous churches.

Olymbi 

With the walls of homes joined together and a 20m tower in the centre of the village, Olymbi gives an excellent feeling for the lengths taken to protect the mastic villages. There are several medieval churches to visit, including Agia Paraskevi, with its ornately wood-carved iconostasis, and be sure to pass by the Trapeza of Olymbi (a two-floor medieval building once used for weddings). A nearby cave (also called Olymbi) has impressive stalagmites and stalactites. 

Mesta 

The furthest south of the medieval villages is one of the best preserved. Mesta is another village whose architecture reflects both the riches and defensive needs of mastic production, with only two routes in and out of the village. You should visit the Church of Palio Taxiarhi, with its vaulted basilica and elaborate wood carvings. The village also has a good selection of tavernas and cafes, in which you can try souma (an ouzi-like drink made from distilling figs) or the village wine, or perhaps loukoumades (fried honey balls).

Vessa 

A small, beautifully preserved village, Vessa is notable for its towers and fortified walls. It’s another medieval village perfect for just strolling through. If you haven’t stopped for a meal yet, make sure you do so in a traditional taverna in the village square. 

Anavatos 

Lastly, we head to the uninhabited village of Anavatos, set apart from the mastic villages on a steep hill. The stone wall that surrounds the village gives it a semblance of a fort, but that didn’t stop it suffering during the Massacre of Chios in 1822, at the end of the Ottoman occupation, after which it was abandoned. There are around 400 mostly open houses, allowing you to inspect the wooden ceilings, very small living spaces, low doors and small rounded windows.

Read More Read Less

From Chios town to Armolia 

  • By car: 19.7km (31mins)

From Chios town to Anavatos

  • By car: 20.1km (33mins)

From the airport to Armolia

  • By car: 17.3km (24mins)

From the airport to Anavatos

  • By car: 23.7km (37mins)
  • You can visit the medieval villages of Chios all year round, but the ideal months are April-October. 
  • Museums and cultural sites: 

Olymbi Cave

  • You can visit with a guide from the beginning of May to September. 
  • Open daily 11:00-18:00 (except Mondays)
  • More info
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • It’s possible to visit all the villages in one day (with the exception of Anavatos, which is quite far away and should be visited separately). The circular route for the daytrip is 60km to the last village and a further 20km to return to Chios town.
  • The villages of Armolia, Kalamoti, Pyrgi, Olymbi and Mesta are around 10min from each other and can all be combined with a visit to Vessa before returning to Chios town.

Plan your trip

 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages, towns and cities alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Explore your surroundings but please keep to designated paths for your own safety and to avoid disrupting the flora and fauna.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect the plants and animals.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
You can appreciate the museum’s stature even before you enter, with its imposing 19th-century neoclassical facade

Journey through time at the National Archaeological Museum in Athens

The Museum of Cycladic Art presents us with artwork so elegant that it still influences fashion trends today

A tour of the Museum of Cycladic Art in Athens

View of traditional tavern in Pythagoreio

Village-hopping in Samos, from mountain to coast

Heading northeast, you reach Ermoupouli’s magnificent main church, known locally as Agios Nikolaos of the Rich

A walking tour of colourful Ermoupoli in Syros

Idyllic landscape of Kalamata's Marina at sunset

A walking tour in up-and-coming Kalamata

The mastic fields come alive from mid-June to early July when the soil is levelled and the white powder (calcium carbonate) is placed around the trunks

Exploring the mastic traditions of Chios