Pyrgos, in the north, has a charming square where you can settle down to Greek coffee and a slice of galaktoboureko
EXPERIENCE

Découvrez les spécialités de Tinos

Peu de destinations peuvent prétendre avoir fait de la nourriture une partie aussi importante de leur identité que Tinos, discrète mais exquise avec ses plats alléchants et ses festivals culinaires qui promeuvent ses produits locaux.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
Demi-journée
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

De ses poissons à ses herbes de montagne, de ses produits laitiers à ses vins, l'île de Tinos est aussi riche en ingrédients qu'en imagination quand il s'agit de partager ses créations culinaires.

La saveur subtile de ses fromages et de ses charcuteries est portée comme un insigne d'honneur par ses habitants. Il n'y a pas une saison où un produit ne soit mis en évidence. Les câpres sont récoltées au début de l'été et marinent pendant un mois dans la saumure, avant d'être célébrées au cours d'un festival en août. Il y a aussi des festivals de l'artichaut, du vin, du miel, du raki et de l'origan. Quand l'automne arrive, les Tiniens vont récolter les champignons, qu'ils préparent à la poêle ou qu'ils font mijoter.

Cette île des Cyclades profondément authentique (distante d'une demi-heure à 1h30 de Mykonos en ferry) peut se vanter d'être réellement autosuffisante quant à ses produits.

En vous promenant dans l'île, vous sentirez la menthe, la sauge, le dictame, le thym et la camomille, que vous reconnaîtrez ensuite dans les magasins locaux ou dans des infusions. Vous admirerez les pigeonniers (il y en a plus de 1000) utilisés pour l'élevage des colombes et des pigeons, qui font partie intégrante de la culture culinaire et architecturale de Tinos.

Vous ne serez pas surpris que les habitants attirent les gourmets vers leurs rivages. L'initiative «Tinos Food Paths» fait maintenant partie intégrante du calendrier culinaire et attire, à chaque mois de mai, un nombre croissant de visiteurs athéniens et internationaux.

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

Un circuit gastronomique dans Tinos inclut la découverte du paysage et des villages uniques de l'île, ainsi que la rencontre de producteurs locaux. Nous avons imaginé une journée consacrée à la nourriture et au vin, mais sentez-vous libre d'étaler cette expérience sur la durée de votre séjour.

Un petit déjeuner tinien dans Chora

Quoi de mieux pour commencer votre journée que la coopérative agricole de Tinos, en ville ? Non seulement est-ce un endroit où découvrir les produits de saison, mais vous pourrez en plus déguster un authentique petit déjeuner tinien. Fromage, charcuteries et bien sûr, loutza (filet de porc séché, mariné dans du vin rouge et un mélange d'herbes, de graines de fenouil et de cannelle), mais aussi une délicieuse froutalia, omelette avec des légumes, de la saucisse de campagne ou du syglino (petits morceaux de charcuterie de porc).

Les douceurs des villages

Si vous préférez quelque chose de plus sucré pour le petit déjeuner, attendez d'arriver à un village. Pyrgos (aussi appelé Panormos), au nord, possède une place charmante où vous pourrez vous installer devant un café grec et une part de galaktoboureko (pâtisserie faite de pâte phyllo et de crème, arrosée de sirop), un morceau de gâteau à l'orange, ou encore du tsoureki tout frais (de la brioche parfumée au mastic).

La visite d’un domaine viticole

Rien n'est plus étroitement lié au sol de Tinos que sa production de vin. Près du village de Mesi, au cœur de Tinos, vous pourrez visiter un vignoble familial où poussent des cépages grecs (tels que le Malagousia et l'Assyrtiko). Que diriez-vous d'un repas de spécialités locales au milieu du domaine, dans un pigeonnier rénové ? Une autre option est de vous diriger vers le village de Falatados, au sud-est, où se trouvent d'excellentes propriétés viticoles, dans un paysage unique de rochers de granit. 

Le fromage local

Lorsque vous aurez goûté au fromage de Tinos, vous n'aurez pas besoin d'une deuxième invitation pour visiter une fromagerie locale. Vous n'apprécierez pas seulement de découvrir la variété de goûts, mais aussi le processus traditionnel de fabrication du fromage et les personnalités colorées derrière les saveurs. Dans les villages de Tripotamos et de Kechros, se trouvent des fromageries qui produisent du gravieraki, jaune, à pâte dure (affiné pendant deux mois), du myzithra blanc crémeux, du tiniako tiraki (qui porte le nom de l'île), du kastelano parfumé au mastic et du kopanisti AOP plus épicé (une spécialité des Cyclades). Goûtez aussi le beurre local.

Un dîner à savourer

Une journée complète d'exploration mérite une fin spéciale. Que vous ayez plutôt une envie de viande ou de poisson, préparez-vous à un régal. Les villages de Panormos (à l'ouest) et d' Ysternia (à l'est) possèdent des établissements en bord de mer, avec d'idylliques tavernes à poissons. Si vous préférez rester près de Chora, rendez-vous à Agios Fokas. Une autre option: un mezzé de viandes qui vous laissera rêveur en rentrant chez vous, dans un kafenio de village montagnard. Pour cela, rendez-vous à Kardiani, Triandaros, Pyrgos, Volax ou Aetofolia, où vous découvrirez une tradition d'élevage demeurée intacte au fil des siècles.

Lire la suite Read Less
  • Les circuits organisés démarrent généralement à Chora. Certains proposent de venir vous chercher à l'hôtel et de vous y reconduire.
  • Tinos est une grande île (environ 200 km2). Il vous faudra donc un moyen de transport pour vous y déplacer, si vous ne participez pas à un circuit organisé.
  • On peut effectuer un circuit gastronomique dans Tinos à toute période de l’année. Chaque saison a ses produits-phares.
  • Quelle que soit l'époque à laquelle vous visitez Tinos, l'île vous convaincra par son authenticité. Vous pourrez profiter d'une expérience plus personnelle et mémorable aux mois de Μai, Juin et Septembre. L'initiative « Tinos Food Paths » se déroule en Μai.
  • En Juillet et en Août, il est préférable de prendre contact à l'avance avec les divers producteurs, au cas où une réservation serait nécessaire.
  • Si vous explorez l'île par vous-même, n'oubliez pas que les magasins qui proposent des produits locaux sont ouverts selon les horaires habituels des magasins.
  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver
  • Les excursions organisées de groupe prennent environ une demi-journée.
  • À vous de décider du temps que vous consacrerez à la gastronomie de Tinos. Il vaut cependant la peine de consacrer une journée à cette expérience. Une autre option est de l'étaler sur une semaine, en la combinant à des visites culturelles ou à de la marche et bien sûr, en passant du temps à la plage.

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Veillons tous à préserver la magie des villages et des villes insulaires de la Grèce pour les générations à venir.

Gardez les rues propres en utilisant les poubelles mises à votre disposition et en cas de besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Optez pour une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique
Respectez les monuments culturels et les reliques. N’utilisez pas de flash si vous voyez une pancarte qui l’interdit.
Soutenez les petites boutiques familiales et les producteurs locaux en choisissant un souvenir local fait main.
Respectez les plantes et les animaux.
Respectez les autres visiteurs et les habitants.
Ayez l’esprit curieux et n’hésitez pas à demander des bons plans aux habitants.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
There are numerous hiking trails (with names such as The Three Capitals, From the Sea to the Sky and Hidden Valley

Découvrez les chemins de randonnée de Tinos

Corfu old town and Spianada square from above

Découvrez les spécialités de Corfou

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Découvrez les racines de Mykonos par l'agrotourisme

Wine-making can be traced here to before the eruption of its legendary volcano, more than 3,000 years ago

Découvrez les routes du vin de Santorin

A crystal clear liquid is poured into a glass and in drops an ice cube, instantly emitting magical swirls of white

Vivre la tradition d’ouzo en Plomari

Uncover the secrets of Messinia, through its most famous product

Suivre la route d’olive en Messénie

Pyrgos, in the north, has a charming square where you can settle down to Greek coffee and a slice of galaktoboureko
EXPERIENCE

A culinary tour of Tinos

Few destinations can claim to have made food as big a part of their identity as Tinos, with mouthwatering dishes and culinary festivals that champion the local products of this low-key but delicious Cycladic island.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Half day
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

From its seafood and mountain herbs to its dairy products and wines, the island of Tinos is just as rich in natural ingredients as it is in imagination when it comes to sharing its culinary creations.

The subtlety of the flavour of cheeses and cured meats is worn like a badge of honour by locals.  And not a season goes by without a product taking centre stage. Capers are collected in early summer and brined for a month before being celebrated in an August festival. Just as there are festivals for artichokes, wine, honey, raki and oregano. And as autumn arrives, so Tinians head out to forage for mushrooms – eaten fried or stewed.

Indeed, this deeply authentic member of the Cyclades isles (just 30min-1hr30min from Mykonos by ferry), Tinos can claim to be truly self-sufficient when it comes to its produce.

As you venture around the island, you’ll smell the mint, sage, dittany, thyme and chamomile that you’ll then recognise in local stores or herbal infusions. And you’ll admire the dovecotes (there are more than 1,000) used to rear doves and pigeons that are an indelible part of Tinos’ culinary and architectural culture.

It won’t surprise you that the locals have turned their attention to enticing foodies to their shores. The Tinos Food Paths initiative has become an established part of the culinary calendar, bringing Athenians and international visitors in growing numbers each May.
 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

A culinary tour of Tinos includes exploring the island’s unique landscape and villages, and definitely meeting local producers. So we’ve planned out a day dedicated to food and wine, but feel free to spread the experience over your entire holiday. 

Tinian breakfast in Hora

Where better to start your day than at the Tinos Agricultural Cooperative in town. Not only is it a chance to become acquainted with the seasonal products, but you can sit down to an authentic Tinian breakfast. Cheese and cold cuts and, for sure, loutza (air-dried pork fillet marinated in red wine and a mixture of herbs, fennel seeds and cinnamon). A delicious frutalia omelette will come with vegetables, country sausage or syglino (small pieces of cured pork).

A taste of village sweetness

If you crave something sweeter for breakfast, then hold on until you reach a village. Pyrgos (also known as Panormos), in the north, has a charming square where you can settle down to Greek coffee and a slice of galaktoboureko (filo pastry a custard filling, soaked in syrup) or orange pie, or perhaps freshly-baked tsoureki (a sweet bread scented with mastic).

Visit a winery

Nothing is more closely linked to the Tinian soil than its wine production. Near the village of Mesi, right in the heart of Tinos, you can visit a family-owned vineyard cultivating Greek grape varieties (such as Malagouzia and Assyrtiko). How about a meal of local delicacies right in the middle of the vineyard within a renovated pigeon house? Or perhaps head to the village of Falatados, to the south-east, where there are excellent wineries amidst a unique landscape of granite boulders. 

The local cheese 

As soon as you’ve sampled Tinian cheese, you won’t need a second invitation to visit a local cheese factory. It’s not just the variety of tastes you’ll enjoy being introduced to but the traditional cheese-making process and the colourful personalities behind the flavours. In the villages of Tripotamos and Kechros there are factories producing hard yellow gravieraki (matured for two months), creamy white myzithra, tiniako tiraki (carrying the island’s name), mastic-scented kastelano, and PDO-protected spicy kopanisti (a speciality of the Cyclades). You should also try the local butter. 

A dinner to savour

A full day exploring deserves a special end. Whether you’re in the mood for fish or meat, prepare for a treat. The villages of Panormos (west) and Ysternia (east) also have seaside settlements with idyllic fish tavernas, or if you prefer to stay close to Hora, head to Agios Fokas. Alternatively, for a meat meze you’ll be dreaming about when you’re home, try a ‘kafenio’ in a mountain village (Kardiani, Triandaros, Pyrgos, Volax or Aetofolia) where you’ll find an animal-herding tradition that hasn’t changed for centuries. 

Read More Read Less
  • Organised food tours usually start in Hora, with private tours providing a hotel pick-up and drop-off.
  • Tinos is quite a big island (almost 200 sq. km), so you will need transportation to get around if you are not on an organised tour.
  • A culinary tour of Tinos can be enjoyed at any time of year with each season having its highlights. 
  • Whatever time you visit, Tinos will win you over with its authenticity. But in May-June and September, your experience will be even more personal and memorable. The Tinos Food Paths initiative takes place in May. 
  • In July-August, it’s worth contacting wineries and factories in advance in case you need to book. 
  • If you are exploring the island on your own, remember that stores selling local products follow regular shop opening times. 
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • Organised group tours last around half a day.
  • It’s up to you how much time you want to give to the Tinos food scene, but it’s worth dedicating a day to the experience. Or you could spread it over a week, combined with cultural and hiking experiences and, of course, heading to the beach. 

Plan your trip

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages, towns and cities alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect the cultural monuments and relics and don’t use flash photography if there’s a sign forbidding it. It’s to protect the relics.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect the plants and animals.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Touring the vineyards and cellars will give you an appreciation of the first rate facilities

Exploring the wine routes of Thessaloniki

If there’s a city that’s become synonymous with nightlife and entertainment, this is Thessaloniki

The best of Thessaloniki’s legendary nightlife scene

Nights out don’t get any more legendary. Signature cocktails as the sun begins to set

The best of outdoors dining and nightlife in Mykonos