Whether you visited Rhodes in antiquity, the Middle Ages or today, you’d be in for a culinary treat.
EXPERIENCE

Un tour culinaire de Rhodes

Tout au long de sa longue histoire, Rhodes a toujours réussi à fusionner tradition et influences cosmopolites et à offrir à ses visiteurs une riche expérience gastronomique.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
2 à 5 heures ou 2 à 3 jours
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

Que vous ayez visité Rhodes dans l'Antiquité, au Moyen-âge ou aujourd'hui même, vous serez certainement tenté par une gâterie culinaire. Après tout, c'est une île qui a toujours réussi à combiner à son avantage la douceur de son climat méditerranéen et sa géographie (avec des influences d'Asie, d'Afrique et d'Europe). 

Des saveurs délicates du poisson et des fruits de mer frais aux plats de viande consistants (rehaussés par l'utilisation du cumin, une épice peu utilisée ailleurs en Grèce) et aux fruits, légumes et produits laitiers exceptionnels, l'expérience restera avec vous tout autant que les plages ou la découverte de l'atmosphère de la vieille ville de Rhodes.

Découvrez la vieille ville médiévale de Rhodes
Fromages, huile d'olive, légumes, herbes sauvages, baies, légumes secs, fruits secs, blé boulgour (un aliment de base dans de nombreux plats typiques de Rhodes) et toute une gamme de pâtes fraîches ... tous ces ingrédients sont non seulement incroyables en termes de goût mais aussi de variété. Tout comme les pâtisseries et les sucreries, qui prennent vie grâce à un filet de miel aromatique et au saupoudrage de noix hachées. 

Rhodes est une île où la cuisine haut de gamme côtoie les tavernes traditionnelles, tout comme ses vignobles modernes ont bâti un héritage viticole qui remonte à l'Antiquité: les principales variétés européennes sont cultivées aux côtés de raisins locaux de grande qualité et de pas moins de quatre vins à appellation d'origine protégée.

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

Votre visite gastronomique à Rhodes peut inclure les visites des vineries et des producteurs locaux, ou vous pouvez répartir votre expérience gastronomique sur la durée de votre séjour en savourant en taverne des plats du genre de Meze. 

Le vin 

Vous trouverez à Rhodes de nombreuses vineries modernes, produisant des vins qui s'accordent avec la douceur du climat. Les cépages traditionnels - Athiri blanc et Mandilaria rouge (connu localement sous le nom d'Amorgiano) - sont toujours très présents, tout comme l'Assyrtiko, le Malagouzia et le Mavrothiriko. Mais des cépages européens comme le Chardonnay, le Sauvignon-Blanc et le Cabernet Sauvignon ont également été introduits avec succès. Les vignobles étant répartis entre les régions de plaine et de moyenne montagne, c'est une chance d'apprécier l'île au-delà de son littoral. L'Athiri, le principal cépage de l'AOP Rhodes (l'une des quatre AOP), est cultivé sur les pentes du mont Attavyros, tandis que le Mandilaria est produit dans les zones plus basses.


 

Le miel 

Vous ne serez pas autorisé à quitter Rhodes sans avoir goûté à son miel. Il est versé sur les tartes (salées et sucrées), sur le yaourt et ajouté aux graines de sésame et aux noix pour produire des barres de melekounia, servi lors des mariages et des baptêmes et consommé comme en-cas énergisant. Vous pouvez visiter Melissokomiki Dodecanisou (l'entreprise apicole du Dodécanèse), qui a réuni une coopérative d'environ 70 apiculteurs et stocke une merveilleuse variété de miel (thym, pin, fleurs...) ainsi que d'autres produits dérivés de la ruche (gelée royale, cire et pollen et même des shampoings et des savons). Un musée de l'abeille (le seul en Grèce) vous permet de découvrir la tradition apicole de l'île depuis l'antiquité.

Les plats locaux 

Vient le moment d'être initié à la cuisine locale de Rhodes. Il y a tellement de plats qu'il est difficile de savoir par où commencer. De toute façon, ne partez pas sans avoir goûté aux lakani (chèvre, pois chiches et blé grossièrement moulu, appelés chondros, épicés au cumin et cuits pendant une nuit dans un pot en céramique), aux pitaroudia (boules de tomates frites avec oignon), risotto de seiche (cuit à l'encre de seiche), talagoutes (crêpes au miel, amandes râpées et graines de sésame), giaprakia (feuilles de vigne enrobées de farine grossière), karavoli (escargots frits en sauce rouge avec oignons et cumin). La liste est encore longue. Le tout arrosé d'un vin rhodien, ou peut-être d'une bière brassée localement.

Lire la suite Read Less

Des visites organisées sont assurées, généralement dans la ville médiévale, qui comprennent des dégustations de nourriture et de vin ainsi que des produits locaux.

Depuis l’aéroport 

A la ville Médiévale de Rhodes 

  • Par voiture ou taxi: 23km (37 min) 
  • Par bus: service régulier à l’ancienne ville. L’arret de bus se situe entre le nouveau et l’ancien terminal et les tickes peuvent étre achetés chez le chauffeur du bus. 

Plus d'informations

Les vignes de Kounakis (Embonas)

  • Par voiture ou taxi: 38 km (45 min) 

L’état de Triantafyllou vinerie (Paradisi)

  • Par voiture ou taxi: 8 km (12 min) 

Melissokomiki Dodecanisou (Pastida)

  • Par voiture ou taxi: 8 km (9 min) 
  • Un tour culinaire de Rhodes peut être savouré à longueur d’année, avec chaque saison une atmosphère authentique. Mais la ville devient encombrée durant la saison estivale, il est donc préférable de programmer votre visite dans les périodes les plus calmes et les plus fraiches (Mai – Juin et Septembre – Octobre). 
  • La visite des vineries est meilleure en Avril – Mai (le climat permet toutes sorte d’activité à l’air, tel que les classes de cuisine et les dégustations de vins dans les vineries) ou alors en Septembre pour assister au pressurage des raisins. 
  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver
  • Les visites privées des groupes durent généralement de 3 à 5 heures, selon le nombre d'arrêts. 
  • Si vous voulez faire l'expérience mentionnée ici, vous devrez consacrer 2 à 3 jours à la nourriture et au vin ou à Rhodes. Vous pouvez également transformer vos vacances en un voyage culinaire.
  • La visite d'une vinerie durera 2 à 3 heures, selon les expériences que vous choisirez.
  • Une visite du musée Melissokomiki Dodecanisou et de l'abeille dure environ 2 heures.

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Veillons tous à préserver la magie des villages, des villes et des cités grecs pour les générations à venir.

Gardez les rues propres en utilisant les poubelles mises à votre disposition et en cas de besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Optez pour une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Soutenez les petites boutiques familiales et les producteurs locaux en choisissant un souvenir local fait main.
Respectez les plantes et les animaux.
Traitez les autres visiteurs et les habitants comme vous souhaiteriez être traité.
Ayez l’esprit curieux et n’hésitez pas à demander des bons plans aux habitants.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
View of the medieval castle in Rhodes

Découvrez la vieille ville médiévale de Rhodes

The Acropolis and the beach of Lindos

Découvrez les merveilles de Lindos sur Rhodes

Beautiful summers day on the Greek island of Symi

Une excursion en bateau de Rhodes au charme du vieux monde de Symi

A walk around Nimporio will leave your heart brimming with peaceful thoughts and ineffable joy

Une excursion en bateau vers Chalki intemporel

Corfu old town and Spianada square from above

Découvrez les spécialités de Corfou

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Découvrez les racines de Mykonos par l'agrotourisme

Pyrgos, in the north, has a charming square where you can settle down to Greek coffee and a slice of galaktoboureko

Découvrez les spécialités de Tinos

Wine-making can be traced here to before the eruption of its legendary volcano, more than 3,000 years ago

Découvrez les routes du vin de Santorin

A crystal clear liquid is poured into a glass and in drops an ice cube, instantly emitting magical swirls of white

Vivre la tradition d’ouzo en Plomari

Uncover the secrets of Messinia, through its most famous product

Suivre la route d’olive en Messénie

Whether you visited Rhodes in antiquity, the Middle Ages or today, you’d be in for a culinary treat.
EXPERIENCE

A culinary tour of Rhodes

Throughout its long history, Rhodes has always managed to blend tradition and cosmopolitan influences and treat its guests to a rich gastronomic experience.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
2 - 5 hours or 2 - 3 days
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

Whether you visited Rhodes in antiquity, the Middle Ages or today, you’d be in for a culinary treat. This, after all, is an island that has always managed to combine its mild Mediterranean climate and geography (with influences from Asia, Africa and Europe) to its advantage. 

From the delicate flavours of fresh fish and seafood to robust meat dishes (enhanced by the used of cumin, a spice used sparingly elsewhere in Greece) and outstanding fruit, vegetables and dairy products, the experience will remain with you every bit as much as the beaches or exploring Rhodes’ atmospheric Old Town. 

Exploring the medieval old town of Rhodes

Cheeses, olive oil, vegetables, wild greens, berries, pulses, dried fruit, bulgur wheat (a staple of many Rhodian dishes) and a range of freshly-made pastas … all ingredients that aren’t just incredible in flavour but in variety too. Just as the pastries and sweets are brought to life with a drizzle of aromatic honey and sprinkling of chopped nuts.  Rhodes is an island where high-end cuisine sits comfortably alongside traditional tavernas, in the same way that its modern wineries have built on a viticulture legacy that can be traced to antiquity – with leading European varieties being grown alongside high-quality local grapes and no fewer than four Protected Designation of Origin wines.  

Explore the Aegean islands

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Your culinary journey on Rhodes can include visiting wineries and local producers, or you could literally spread the experience over your holiday as you sample the meze-like dishes in tavernas. 

The wine

You’ll find numerous modern wineries on Rhodes, producing wines that match the smoothness of the climate. The traditional grape varieties – white Athiri and red Mandilaria (known locally as Amorgiano) – are still going strong, as are Assyrtiko, Malagouzia and Mavrothiriko. But European varieties such as Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc and Cabernet Sauvignon have also been successfully introduced. With vineyards split between lowland and mid-mountainous regions, it’s a chance to appreciate the island beyond its coastline. Athiri, the main grape of PDO Rhodes (one of four PDOs), is cultivated on the slopes of Mt Attavyros, while Mandilaria is produced in lower areas.


 

The honey

You won’t be allowed to leave Rhodes without sampling the honey. It’s drizzled on pies (both savoury and sweet), poured over yogurt and added to sesame seeds and nuts to produce melekounia bars, served at weddings and baptisms and eaten as an energising snack. You can visit Melissokomiki Dodecanisou (the Beekeeping Company of the Dodecanese), which has gathered a cooperative of around 70 beekeepers and stocks a wonderful variety of honey (thyme, pine, blossom…) as well as other beehive-derived products (royal jelly, wax and pollen and even shampoos and soaps). And there is an accompanying Bee Museum (the only one in Greece), where you can learn all about the island’s beekeeping tradition since antiquity.

The local dishes

Now’s the time to be introduced to Rhodes’ local cuisine. There are so many dishes that it’s hard to know where to start. Don’t leave without sampling lakani (goat, chickpeas and coarsely ground wheat known as chondros, spiced with cumin and baked overnight in a ceramic pot), pitaroudia (fried tomato balls with onion), cuttlefish risotto (cooked with cuttlefish ink), talagoutes (pancakes with honey, grated almonds and sesame seeds), giaprakia (coarsely ground mince wrapped in vine leaves), karavoli (snails fried in red sauce with onions and cumin). The list goes on. All washed down with a Rhodian wine, or perhaps a locally brewed beer.

Read More Read Less

There are organised tours, usually within the Medieval Town, that include food and wine-tasting and sampling local products.

From the airport 

To Rhodes Medieval Town

  • By car or taxi: 23km (37mins)
  • By bus: Regular service to Old Town. The bus stop is located between the new and old terminals and tickets can be purchased from the bus driver.

More Info

Kounakis Wines (Embonas)

  • By car or taxi: 38km (45mins)

Triantafyllou Estate winery (Paradisi)

  • By car or taxi: 8km (12mins)

Melissokomiki Dodecanisou (Pastida)

  • By car or taxi: 8km (9mins)
     
  • A culinary tour of Rhodes can be enjoyed all year round, with each season giving a different atmosphere. But it does get crowded in the summer so it’s worth visiting in the quieter and cooler periods (May-June and September-October).
  • Visiting vineyards is best in April-May (the weather allows for all sorts of outdoor activities, such as cooking classes and wine-tasting in the vineyards) or in September to witness grape pressing and bottling.
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • Group or private tours usually last 3-5 hours depending on the number of stops. 
  • If you want to do all the experiences mentioned here, you will need to dedicate 2-3 days to the food and wine or Rhodes. Alternatively, you can turn your entire holiday into a culinary journey.
  • A visit to a winery will last 2-3 hours, depending on the experiences you choose.
  • A visit to the Melissokomiki Dodecanisou and Bee Museum lasts around 2 hours.

Plan your trip

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages, towns and cities alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect the plants and animals.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Beautiful summers day on the Greek island of Symi

A boat trip from Rhodes to the old world charm of Symi

The Acropolis and the beach of Lindos

Discovering the wonder of Lindos on Rhodes

View of the medieval castle in Rhodes

Exploring the medieval old town of Rhodes

Touring the vineyards and cellars will give you an appreciation of the first rate facilities

Exploring the wine routes of Thessaloniki

If there’s a city that’s become synonymous with nightlife and entertainment, this is Thessaloniki

The best of Thessaloniki’s legendary nightlife scene

Nights out don’t get any more legendary. Signature cocktails as the sun begins to set.

The best dining and nightlife spots in Mykonos

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Uncover the roots of Mykonos on an agro-tourism tour