9

9 ИДЕЙ ЗНАКОМСТВА С ОСТРОВОМ ТИНОС

READING TIME
За кусочком дыни

Тинос в основном известен широкой публике как религиозный центр. Церковь Богородицы Евангелистрии, расположенная на острове, является местом православного паломничества. Но что Вы скажете, если узнаете, что на этом Кикладическом острове более 60 деревень и примерно столько же пляжей (организованных и диких)? На Тиносе также жива традиция мраморной скульптуры. И кроме этого, местная кухня острова сегодня набирает огромную популярность. Звучит интересно, не правда ли?

Хора и церковь Пресвятой Богородицы

Церковь Пресвятой Богородицы (или Благовещения) является самой яркой достопримечательностью столицы Тиноса – Хоры. Однако культурное наследие города касается и художественной сферы. 

Church of Panagia Evangelistria at Tinos island

В Хоре находится галерея, в коллекции которой собрано 120 работ крупных греческих и зарубежных художников. Кроме этого, обязательно прогуляйтесь по улочкам города, которые изящно украшают церквушки, фонтаны, неколассические здания и особняки с красивыми садами. Конечно же, загляните в таверны и магазинчики на обратном пути.

Мраморное искусство деревни Пиргос

Увидев отделку фонтанов и церквей в деревне Пиргос, изящные детали на фасадах многих домов, Вы сразу же поймёте, почему она является самой знаменитой мраморной деревней Тиноса.  Чтобы увидеть ещё больше примеров этого искусства, посетите Музей мраморной обработки, расположенный сразу за деревней, и Музей художественных искусств Панормоса, в котором хранятся работы многих значимых скульпторов. Также советуем посетить дом-музей скульптора Яннулиса Халепаса, жившего на Тиносе. После покупки местных сувениров советуем прогуляться по центральной площади и отведать одну из местных сладостей – галактобуреко (сладкий пирог с молочным кремом) или портокалопита (апельсиновый пирог).

Деревушки, которые нельзя пропустить!

Осмотреть все деревни Тиноса за раз просто невозможно. Поэтому предлагаем на Ваш выбор несколько самых живописных. Деревня Истерния сочетает горный и морской ландшафт, здесь также поддерживается мраморная традиция, которая ярко представлена на главной площади. Прогуляйтесь до старого здания начальной школы, откуда открывается волшебный вид на Эгейское море. 

For a meat you'll be dreaming about when you're , try a kafenio in Pyrgos village!

После чего можно отправиться на побережье, чтобы позавтракать или выпить чашечку кофе. Местечко Панормос является прибрежным окончанием деревни Пиргос, где стоит остаться на вечер, чтобы полюбоваться закатом. А также деревня Волакас, примечательная гладкими, круглыми валунами (особое геологическое явление), которые встречаются тут и там в деревне и её окрестностях. Волакас также известен совими плетёными корзинами.

Развёрнутый тур по деревням

Начав знакомство с деревушками острова, Вам, наверняка, захочется продолжить его. Поэтому предлагаем ещё несколько привлекательных мест. Деревня Кардиани получила награду как традиционное поселение. Особенностью деревни является также смешанное население, состоящее из католиков и православных жителей. Интересно будет посетить и деревню Фалатадос, известную своим водочным напитком «ракия» и превосходными винами. Кроме этого, рекомендуем деревню Дио Хора, которая впечатлит Вас своей мощёной площадью с фонтанами и кленовыми деревьями. Белые домики деревни ярко контрастируют с разноцветными окнами и дверями. Проезжая по острову, не забудьте заглянуть на одну из тысячу голубятен, являющихся частью культурной самобытности Тиноса.

Каждый шаг – кулинарное путешествие

Второй (после религии) неотъемлемой составляющей Тиноса является его кухня. Вы понимаете это каждый раз, когда пробуете что-то съедобное на острове. Местные жители гордятся своими продуктами: дарами моря, мясом, винами и фркутками. В честь многих продуктов устраиваются даже фестивали (например, артишоки, вино, мёд, ракия и ореган). За время пребывания на острове постарайтесь попробовать как можно больше местных фирменных блюд. Побывайте на небольших, семейных винодельнях, проезжая между жеревнями, насладитесь ароматами местных пряностей (мята, шалфей, укроп, тимьян, ромашка). Ведь знакомство с Тиносом – это ещё и увлекательное кулинарное путешествие.

Изведайте гастрономические тропы Тиноса

Пляжи на северном побережье

В спокойную погоду рекомендуем отправиться на северное побережье, более подверженное ветрам. Здесь Вы найдёте как организованные пляжи со всеми удобствами (шезлонги, зонты, таверны, пляжные бары и т.д.), так и абсолютно дикие пляжи. В северо-западной части находятся пляжи Агия Таласса (в бухте Панормос) и Кавалурко (откдуа можно доплыть до островка Планитис). Также отметим песчаный пляж Рохари, который привлекате также своим модным пляжным баром.  Грунтовая дорога, ведущая ко всем этим пляжам, предполагает немного тряски, но это стоит того. А с северо-восточной стороны находится пляж Ливада – один из самых удалённых пляжей острова, к которому стекает река.

Пляжи на южном побережье

В более ветреную погоду советуем выбирать южное побережье для пляжного отдыха. Пляж Каливья оснащён и популярен среди отдыхающих с семьями. Также отметитм пляжи Агиос Петрос, Агиос Романос и Истерния. Невероятно красив и уединённый пляж Апигания, до которого нужно будет дойти пешком (8 минут), свернув с прибрежной дороги. Недалеко от главного города находятся также организованные пляжи Агиос Фокас (самый крупный пляж) и Агиос Состис. Направляясь к востоку от Хоры, вы также встретите замечательный песчаный пляж Пахия Аммос

Пешая прогулка по острову

Через весь остров проходят обозначенные тропы протяжённостью в 150 км, соединяющие друг с другом разные деревушки. Одни из них проведут Вас к археологическим местам, монастырям и венецианским крепостям. Другие – через голубятни острова  и классические кикладические деревушки. 

 

It takes no time to be captivated by the island of Tinos and its many historical highlights, which is why hiking is absolutely the best way to discover it

Пляж Колимбитра – звезда Инстаграмма

Прямо посередене северного побережья находится самый известный пляж Тиноса – Колимбитра. О, что за место! На самом деле это не один, а два пляжа – Малая (Микри) Колимбитра  и Большая (Мегали) Колимбитра. 

Kolympithra beach, Tinos

Малый пляж располагает всеми удобствами, включая таверну, так как он более укрыт от ветров. Большая Колимбитра отличается более богемным стилем. Зонты и шезлонги, установленные здесь, сделаны из натуральных материалов. В таком же духе выдержан и пляжный бар. Фотографии с этого места обещают вызвать множество эмоций в Инстаграмме! 

Откройте для себя остров Тинос!

Тинос сможет удивить и покорить сердце даже самых бывалых путешественников. Это остров с яркой самобытностью и скрытыми уголками. Увидев здешние пляжи и деревушки, попробовав местную кухню, Вам, наверняка, захочется приехать сюда снова!

Откройте для себя острова Эгейского моря!

 

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
The peak of Mt Olympus

8 незабываемых впечатлений от горы Олимп

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Познакомьтесь с островами Кикладической цепочки близ Санторини!

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 причин, чтобы приехать на остров Карпатос

8 незабываемых моментов с острова Калимнос

Myrtos beach, Kefalonia

10 незабываемых мгновений с острова Кефалония

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 причин, чтобы Астипалея стала Вашим любимым летним островом

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Познакомьтесь с островами Кикладической цепочки близ Санторини!

Fyropotamos, a seaside settlement with a tiny sandy beach

8 причин неземной красоты Милоса

Miaouli Square with its grand Town Hall, palm trees and cafes and shops

8 достопримечательностей Сироса

Bazeos tower, one of the most well-known monuments of Naxos

8 причин, чтобы вернуться на Наксос ещё раз

подводная спелеология

Дайвинг: самые популярные направления в Греции

Incredible Sarakiniko beach, a trip to the moon in Milos island

Популярные направления для плавания по Эгейскому морю

9

9 STEPS TO UNCOVERING THE AUTHENTICITY OF TINOS

READING TIME
As long as it takes to eat a slice of watermelon

So much of Tinos’ fame has been built around its religious centrepiece, the Panagia Evangelistria church, a beacon in the Orthodox faith. So, what if you were told that this Cycladic isle has more than 60 villages, seemingly as many beaches (fully organised and secluded), a living legacy of master marble sculptors and that it’s an indisputable foodie destination? Sound interesting? Read on.

Hora and Panagia Evangelistria

It’s only right that Panagia Evangelistria (Our Lady of Tinos or the Church of the Annunciation, as it’s also known) is your first taste of Hora (the main town).

Church of Panagia Evangelistria at Tinos island

It’s also your introduction to Tinos’ artistic side, housing a gallery of 120 works of great Greek and foreign painters. Beyond that, make sure to explore the streets of Hora, with its many churches, fountains and cobbled alleys, as well as neoclassical buildings and villas with beautiful gardens. And of course the many shops and tavernas you’ll be returning to.

The marble craft of Pyrgos

From the workmanship in the fountains and churches and the intricate patterns on many of the houses, you’ll understand why Pyrgos is Tinos’ most famous marble village. To get the full picture, head to the Museum of Marble Crafts (just outside the village) and the Panormos Artists Museum (with works of significant sculptors), and you can visit the house of a Tinian sculptor in the Giannoulis Chalepas Museum. Apart from picking up a souvenir in a local store, don’t leave without indulging in a galaktoboureko (a semolina-based filo-pastry pie) or portokalopita (orange pie) in the village square. 

Villages you can’t miss

You can’t experience all of Tinos’ villages in one go (something to return for!), so here are some highlights. Ysternia has both a mountain and coastal side, with the island’s marble theme continuing in the main square. From the old primary school building, the view is like being on a terrace overlooking the Aegean,

For a meat you'll be dreaming about when you're , try a kafenio in Pyrgos village!

after which you can head to the coast for breakfast or a coffee. Panormos is effectively a seaside village of Pyrgos (and a great sunset spot), whilst Volakas is known for the smooth round boulders in and around the village (a geological phenomenon) and basket-weaving.

Full-scale village-hopping

Now you’ve got a taste of it, you’ll probably want to hop to a few more villages. Kardiani has been awarded ‘traditional settlement’ status and has a mixed Orthodox and Catholic population and Falatados is known for its raki and excellent wines. Meanwhile, Dio Horia has an impressive cobbled square, with plane trees and water fountains, alongside whitewashed houses with multicoloured window and door frames. And whilst you’re exploring, look out for the 1,000 or so dovecotes around the island, an indelible part of Tinos’ cultural identity. 

Every step, a culinary journey

Tinos’ other religion is food and you’ll be reminded as much every time you eat. The local produce is part of Tinian culture… the seafood, meat, vines and fruit and veg. Many products have festivals in their honour (artichokes, wine, honey, raki and oregano) and don’t leave without trying as many local specialities as you can. From family-owned wineries to experiencing the aromas of mint, sage, dittany, thyme and chamomile as you explore the countryside… so much of your visit to Tinos is a culinary journey. 

Set out on the food paths of Tinos

Exploring the beaches on the north coast

Especially if it’s a still day, it’s worth heading to a beach on the more exposed north coast. You might want something where all your needs are taken care of (sunbeds, umbrellas, tavernas, beach bars etc) or perhaps you want total seclusion. To the northwest are Agia Thalassa (in the bay of Panormos) and Kavalourko (from where you can swim to little Planitis island). And sandy Rohari has a cool beach bar to hang out in. The dirt road to all of them might be a bit bumpy but it’s worth the journey. And over to the northeast is Livada, one of Tinos’ most remote beaches, with a river running by it.

Swimming spots to the south

On windy days, the south coast offers more sheltered beach options. Up the coast, Kalyvia is organised and family-friendly and Agios Petros, Agios Romanos and Ysternia all stand out. Apigania is a fantastic, secluded beach around 8 minutes’ walk down a path from the coast road. Close to town are the fully organised Agios Fokas (the largest beach) and Agios Sostis. And, heading east from Hora, is the super sandy Pahia Ammos.

The boho Instagrammability of Kolymbithra

Right in the middle of the northern coast, Kolymbithra is Tinos’ best-known swimming spot. What a beach! Or, to be more precise, two beaches, Mikri (Small) and Megali (Large) Kolymbithra.

Kolympithra beach, Tinos

The smaller of the two is the one with the facilities, including a taverna, because it is more shielded from the wind. The larger has a more boho feel to it, with sunbeds and umbrellas made of natural materials and a beach bar that blends in perfectly. Your Instagram feed will thank you.

Experience Tinos island

An island full of authenticity and hidden pursuits, Tinos has a way of surprising even the most seasoned traveller. One thing’s for sure. With such a multitude of beaches, villages and food you won’t want your first journey here to be your last. 

Explore the Aegean islands

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
The peak of Mt Olympus

8 mythical experiences on Mt Olympus

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Meet the Cycladic escapes neighbouring Santorini

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 reasons to make you want to explore Karpathos

8 unforgettable highs and hidden depths in Kalymnos

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 reasons why Astypalea will be your favourite summer hangout

Stroll along the maze of alleyways, through vaulted archways and past dazzlingly white and mostly immaculately maintained houses

9 ways to feel the spirituality of Patmos

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Meet the Cycladic escapes neighbouring Santorini

Fyropotamos, a seaside settlement with a tiny sandy beach

8 reasons why Milos is out of this world

Miaouli Square with its grand Town Hall, palm trees and cafes and shops

8 highlights to light up your holiday on Syros

Bazeos tower, one of the most well-known monuments of Naxos

8 reasons to make you visit Naxos again and again

Scuba cave diving

5 popular scuba diving destinations in Greece

Incredible Sarakiniko beach, a trip to the moon in Milos island

12 Popular sailing destinations in the Aegean