Monemvasia

Eine märchenhafte Ζeitreise
Stone houses with sea view in Monemvasia
Heute
THU
10°
FRI
10°
SAT
SUN
12°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Bucklige Gassen, byzantinische Kirchen und venezianischen Villen auf einem riesigen Felsen im Meer

Monemvasia bedeutet „ein Eingang“ und in der Tat, der einzige Zugang zu dieser Burg verläuft über einen Damm. Diese einzigartig erhaltene mittelalterliche Stadt ist wie eine Skulptur in den majestätischen, grauen Felsen geschnitzt. Das „Gibraltar des Ostens“ oder das „Steinschiff, das die Segel setzt“, wie der berühmte griechische Dichter Yannis Ritsos seinen Geburtsort beschreibt, lädt Sie auf eine Reise durch die Zeit ein.

Schlendern Sie durch die geschwungenen Gassen, entlang der Kirchen und Adelspaläste. Nehmen Sie ein Bad im kristallklaren Wasser und probieren Sie die ausgezeichnete Küche und die legendären Weine. Folgen Sie den Spuren der Ritter, Piraten, Kreuzfahrer und Kaiser, die alle von diesem mythischen Ort angezogen wurden. Hier steht die Zeit still und Sie werden eins mit der Geschichte..

Besichtigen Sie in Monemvasia

Sesam öffne dich: die mittelalterliche Burg

Einmal durch das Tor hindurch warten die Geheimnisse der mittelalterlichen Burg darauf, entdeckt zu werden. Zuerst auf einen Kaffee in der Agora , auf der Hauptstraße mitten in der Altstadt. Dies war die wichtigste Straße der Byzantiner, der Marktplatz der Venezianer und der Basar der Osmanen, die Einkaufsstraße und kulturelle Drehscheibe für so viele Zivilisationen. Heute reihen sich Cafés, Tavernen, Geschäfte und Handwerksbetriebe aneinander. 

Spazieren Sie durch die Gassen bis an die Strandmauer, wo malerische Häuser, die Villen der Adligen und entzückende Kirchen Tür an Tür liegen. In der Dämmerung füllen sich die Straßen mit geheimnisvollen Formen, Geräuschen und Schatten. Jetzt sind Sie nicht mehr ein Besucher, sondern ein Bewohner der Stadt, wie auch die Byzantiner, Osmanen und Venezianer vor Ihnen. Am Abend haben Sie die Qual der Wahl zwischen eleganten Restaurants, traditionellen Tavernen, charmanten Cafés und schicken Weinbars.

Eine kulinarische Reise nach Monemvasia

Probieren Sie die regionale, hausgemachte Pasta goges (so ähnlich wie Gnocchi, aber auf Mehlbasis) oder saitia (gebratene Käsetaschen mit frischen Kräutern). Weinliebhaber sollten den regionalen Wein namens Malvasia probieren, dem der authentische Geschmack von Monemvasia innewohnt, genannt der „Nektar der Adligen“.

Ein märchenhafter Aufenthalt

Monemvasia ist ein romantischer Zufluchtsort und ein ideales Ziel für die Flitterwochen. Boutique-Hotels, familiäre Frühstückspensionen und Luxus-Hotels mit Suiten mit türkischen Bädern, Mosaikböden und blühenden Innenhöfen werden Sie in eine andere Zeit versetzen, natürlich ohne auf modernen Komfort zu verzichten. In den gemütlich beleuchteten Räumen mit den gewölbten Decken und handgefertigten Holzmöbeln werden Sie Ihr eigenes Märchen erleben. Der Pelepones lädt Sie ein ihr persönliches Märchen zu erleben.

Die Altstadt

Die Altstadt war das Zuhause der venezianischen Aristokratie. Der steile Aufstieg zu den schönen Villen lohnt sich. Oben belohnt Sie ein spektakulärer Panoramablick auf das gesamte Gebiet. Die halb byzantinische, halb venezianische Kirche Agia Sofia klammert sich an die Klippen und ist eine Sehenswürdigkeit die Sie einmal gesehen haben müssen. Im Innern können Sie die herrliche, achteckige Kuppel bewundern.

Versteckte Juwelen in Monemvasia

Eine Reise zu byzantinischen Kirchen

Die Geschichte erwacht zum Leben in dieser Burg: 24 Tempel und Kirchen mit byzantinischen Elemente sind von den einst 40 noch erhalten. 
Die älteste ist Elkomenos Christos, auf dem Hauptplatz der unteren Stadt. Andere sehenswerte Kirchen sind Chrysafitissa Panagia, Agios Nikolaos und Panagia Zinn Kritikia (Myrtidiotissa).

Tauchen Sie in das unendliche Blau von Monemvasia

Portelo in der Mitte der Strandmauer ist der einzige Eingang zu Monemvasia vom Wasser aus. Hier können Sie in das kristallklare Wasser eintauchen, als ob Sie vom Geländer eines Schiffes springen. Ein Bad unterhalb der mächtigen Festung ist eine Erfahrung, die Sie nie vergessen werden.

Folkloremuseum

Entdecken Sie den Alltag und die Geheimnisse der Einheimischen der letzten Jahrhunderte in den Dörfern um Monemvasia. Es gibt zwei wunderbare Folkoremuseen in Reihia und Velies, die Einblicke in regionale Bräuche und Traditionen geben.

  • Die mittelalterliche Burg
  • Die Altstadt
  • Folkloremuseum
Landmarks

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Stone houses with sea view in Monemvasia

Segeln am Peloponnes

Entdecken Sie einsame Buchten, historische Häfen und antike Siedlungen in einer unvergesslichen Kulisse
age of chivalry - Rhodes

Die 10 wichtigsten architektonischen Denkmäler in Griechenland

Mittelalterliche Städte und traditionelle Dörfer, von der Sonne weiß gebleichte Häuser und wunderbare Burgen: Eine Tour durch die mediterrane Architektur und Geschichte.
Coastal scenery with pale volcanic rocks near Sarakiniko beach in Milos island, Greece. Kimolos island can be seen in the distance.

Romantischer strandurlaub in Griechenland

Atemberaubende Panoramablicke, Momente der Zweisamkeit, exklusiver Service und die Ägäis zu Ihren Füßen

Monemvasia

A medieval castle town where fairy tales come true
Stone houses with sea view in Monemvasia
Scroll
Today
18°
FRI
19°
SAT
20°
SUN
20°
MON
20°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
A fairy tale scene in the Peloponnese: Vaulted alleys, Byzantine churches and Venetian mansions

Monemvasia is a uniquely preserved medieval town that is carved into the majestic grey rock like a sculpture. By land, there is only one way in, via a causeway, as the origin of its name (one entrance) implies. The “Gibraltar of the East” or a “stone ship” about to set sail, as the famous Greek poet Yannis Ritsos described his birthplace, beckons you for a journey through time, wandering through vaulted alleyways and past churches and aristocratic mansions.

Take a swim in its crystal-clear waters and sample its delicious cuisine and legendary wine. Following in the footsteps of knights, pirates, crusaders and emperors, who all fell under the spell of this mythical place in the Peloponnese, time will stand still and you’ll become one with history.

What to do in Monemvasia

The medieval castle

As soon as you walk through the gate, you’ll begin to uncover the secrets of Monemvasia. First have a coffee in the Agora, on the main cobblestone street in the Lower Town. This was the Byzantines’ Central Avenue, the Venetians’ Market and the Ottomans’ Bazaar, the commercial artery and cultural hub for so many civilisations. Today, you’ll see cafes, tavernas, shops and artisans’ workshops. Duck in and out of arched alleyways until you reach the sea wall, where you’ll pass quaint homes and crumbling churches. Looking up, you’ll see the grand mansions of the Upper Town, where the nobility lived.

At twilight, the stones turn lavender (hence its nickname, the Violet City) and the streets fill with mysterious shapes, sounds and shadows. By now, you’re no longer a visitor but a resident, as were the Byzantines, Ottomans, Venetians before you. In the evening, you’ll have your choice of elegant restaurants, traditional tavernas, charming cafes and chic wine bars.

A culinary journey 

Try the local homemade pasta called goges (like gnocchi, but flour-based) or saitia (fried cheese pies with fresh herbs). Oenophiles should sample the regional sweet wine called Malvasia, the authentic flavour of Monemvasia, dubbed the “nectar of the nobles”.

A fairy tale stay

Monemvasia is an ideal romantic hideaway and honeymoon destination. Boutique bed & breakfasts and luxury hotels with suites boasting Turkish baths, mosaic floors and flowering courtyards will transport you to another time, without stinting on modern comforts. In the dimly lit rooms, with their vaulted ceilings and handmade wooden furniture, you’ll live your own fairy tale.  

The Upper Town 

The Upper Town was home to the Venetian aristocracy and, although it’s a steep climb to reach the beautiful mansions (in the 17th-century, travellers once counted 500), you’ll be rewarded with panoramic views of the whole area. The half-Byzantine, half-Venetian church of Agia Sofia clings to the side of the cliff and is one of the most significant attractions in Monemvasia. Once inside, you’ll be awe-struck by its magnificent octagonal dome.

Hidden gems of Monemvasia

Travel to Byzantium

History comes to life in this castle: Twenty-four temples and churches with Byzantine elements remain from the 40 that once existed. The oldest is Elkomenos Christos, located in the main square of the Lower Town. Other churches worth seeing are Panagia Chrysafitissa, Agios Nikolaos and Panagia tin Kritikia (Myrtidiotissa).

The big blue of Monemvasia

Portelo, in the middle of the sea wall, is the only entrance to Monemvasia by water. From here you can dive into the sea, as if you’re jumping off the deck of a ship. Swimming under the mighty fortress, in one of the most beautiful destinations in Greece, is an experience you will never forget.

Folklore museums

Unravel the secrets of the daily lives of residents from the last few centuries in the villages around Monemvasia. There are two fabulous folklore museums in Reihia and Velies, showcasing the manners and customs of the locals.

  • The mediaeval castle
  • The Upper Town
  • Folklore museums
Highlights

Plan your trip

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Stone houses with sea view in Monemvasia

6 sailing destinations around the Peloponnese

With a seemingly infinite number of large and small bays and mythical destinations to visit, the Peloponnese provides an endless panorama of sights for those who sail around its shores.
age of chivalry - Rhodes

The 10 most important architectural monuments in Greece

Medieval cities and traditional villages, white houses bleached by the sun and formidable castles… a tour of Mediterranean architecture and history in a nutshell.
Coastal scenery with pale volcanic rocks near Sarakiniko beach in Milos island, Greece. Kimolos island can be seen in the distance.

Sun, sea and romance in Greece

Heart-stopping vistas, intimacy, exclusive service and the Aegean at your feet… Can you think of a better backdrop for romance?