7

7 GRÜNDE VON OLYMP-ÄHNLICHER GRÖSSE, UM PIERIA ZU ENTDECKEN

READING TIME
Solange es dauert, um einen griechischen Kaffee zu trinken

Sie wissen, dass Sie in Pieria sind, wenn Sie den Berg Olymp, den legendären Berg der Götter, auf der einen Seite, und eine 70 km lange strandgesäumte Küstenlinie auf der anderen erblicken. Es handelt sich um eine Kulisse wie keine andere in ganz Griechenland, die neu für viele internationale Besucher und dennoch reich an Geschichte, Kultur, Natur, traditionellen Dörfern, großartiger Küche und Weingütern ist. Pieria ist ideal für einen alternativen Sommerurlaub, nur 1 St. 15 Min. mit dem Auto von Thessaloniki entfernt. 

Erobern Sie die Burg von Platamon

Als eins der am besten erhaltenen Monumente der Region, ist die Burg ein perfekter Vorgeschmack auf Pieria. Von hier aus können Sie alles sehen: Berg Olymp, das reiche Grün der Region (auch innerhalb der Burg), eine scheinbar endlose Strandlinie und dabei dazu noch das Tiefe Blau des Thermaischen Golfes. 

Castle of Platamon from above

Die Burg, im 13. Jahrhundert errichtet, verfügt über eine strategische Lage am Ausgang des Tempe Tals, mit bis zu 9m hohen und 2m dicken Mauern. Innerhalb der Burg befindet sich ein großartiger zentraler Turm und die Kirche von Agia Paraskevi.

Ein Strand mit Burg und Bergblick

Nun weiter zur langen Strandlinie. Der Platamon Strand ist ein Vorgeschmack auf das vielfältige Strandleben in Pieria, ideal zum Schwimmen, aber auch für ein breites Angebot an Wassersportarten. Wie wäre es, wenn Sie ein SUP-Paddelbrett vermieten und die Küstenlinie erkunden würden? 

A beach with a castle and mountain-view

Vom Meer aus können Sie nochmals das Grün der Region, sowie den Blick auf die Platamon Burg und auf Berg Olymp im Hintergrund bewundern. Hier gibt es zahlreiche Tavernen und Unterkunftsmöglichkeiten, darunter auch im Dorf Platamon. 

Ein Strand nach dem anderen

Wohin Sie sich auch immer an der Küste entlang wagen, vergessen Sie Ihr Schwimmzeug nicht. Strände gibt es überall: Methoni, Makrigialos und Pydna im Norden, und Plaka, Leptokaria, Skotina und Nei Pori im Süden. Methoni liegt in der Nähe vom Aliakmonas Flussdelta (einem geschützten Feuchtgebiet) und Pydna in der Nähe der Ruinen der antiken gleichnamigen Stadt, die 432 v. Chr. von den Athenern und später von Philip II von Makedonien erobert wurde. Es gibt sowohl Sand- als auch Kiesstrände – alle ideal für Paare und Familien, mit zahlreichen angebotenen Aktivitäten.

Dorfleben in Paleos Panteleimonas

Weiter ins Vorgebirge vom Berg Olymp und zu einem Geschmack vom makedonischen Bergleben. Von etwa 500m Höhe aus ist der Blick auf den Thermaischen Golf ganz besonders – das gilt auch für jenes unvergleichliche Gefühl, im Schatten einer Jahrhunderte alten Platane auf dem Hauptplatz zu sitzen, während man eine Auswahl von Meze probiert, die wahrscheinlich mit Erzeugnissen vom Gemüsegarten des Hauses zubereitet worden sind, und einen lokal destillierten Tsipouro genießt. 

The picturesque square of Palaios Panteleimonas village around sunset , Pieria

Bei einem Spaziergang durch die nahezu autofreien Gassen werden Sie die Steinarchitektur und die Läden mit lokalen Produkten bewundern. Von hier aus können Sie mountainbiken oder wandern, und sich bei Ihrer Rückkehr auf eine Mahlzeit in einer Taverne freuen. 

Die heilige Stätte des antiken Dion

Eine gewisse Spiritualität lässt sich bei einem Spaziergang durch die Statuen und Monumente von Dion spüren, das sich mit seinen Teichen und uralten Bäumen eher als ein privater Garten als eine archäologische Stätte anfühlt. Die Gegend verehrten die Makedonier als heilig, und genau hier feierte Philipp II seine Siege. Ausgrabungen haben eine Siedlung mit einem Umfang von 150 Hektaren enthüllt – darunter Häuser, Geschäfte, Werkstätte, Theater, ein Gymnasium und zwei Heiligtümer, die den Göttinnen Demeter und Isis gewidmet waren. Verpassen Sie nicht, das Museum zu besuchen (500m entfernt), das Objekte und Statuen beherbergt, die bei den Ausgrabungen ans Tageslicht gefördert wurden, darunter eine Hydraulis – ein orgelartiges Tasteninstrument aus dem 1. Jahrhundert v. Chr., das als das älteste seiner Art überhaupt gilt. 

Sanctuary of Isis at the Archaeological Park of Dion. Pieria, Macedonia

Die Hauptstadt von Pieria… und noch ein Strand

Katerini schafft es, alle Annehmlichkeiten einer Stadt mit einem weiteren großzügigen Strand zu kombinieren. Der Strand ist wahrscheinlich der lebhafteste der ganzen Küstenlinie, mit Strandbars und Wassersport-Optionen (von Windsurfen bis hin zu Gleitschirmfliegen), und in der Nähe finden Sie Hotels & Zimmer, sowie zahlreiche Unterhaltungsmöglichkeiten (Tavernen, Bars usw.). Falls Sie etwas Schatten und Grün brauchen, bietet der Stadtpark im Zentrum eine ruhige Zuflucht, mit einem Springbrunnen und einer Sammlung von Tieren. 

 

Die Weinroute der Götter des Olymp

Weinberge gab es in Pieria seit der Antike, doch organisierter Weinanbau ist relativ jüngst eingeführt worden, indem die Initiative von einer talentvollen Gruppe von Weinherstellern ergriffen wurde. Es gibt mehr als ein Dutzend Weingüter, die man besuchen kann, und alle möglichen Kombinationen davon bilden eine überraschende Weinroute. Das Gelände an den niedrigeren Hängen des Olymp hat sich als ausgezeichnet für den Anbau internationaler Klassiker erwiesen (von Chardonnay bis hin zu Cabernet Sauvingon), aber auch für jenen von lokalen beliebten Sorten (wie Xinomavro). In der Nähe von Katerini können Sie die Dörfer Rachi, Ano Agios Ioannis und Kolindros besuchen, und im Süden finden Sie Weinberge auch in Litochoro und Krania. 

The wine route of the Olympian gods

 

Erleben Sie das Beste von Pieria

Pieria ist eine Region mit Erlebnissen von Olymp-ähnlichem Maß, mit einer scheinbar endlosen Strandlinie und die allgegenwärtige Aura des von den antiken Göttern ausgewählten Bergs. Nur eine kurze Fahrt von Thessaloniki entfernt: Ein reizendes, alternatives Sommerurlaubsziel.

Erkunden Sie Pieria jetzt

 

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
The peak of Mt Olympus

8 sagenhafte Erlebnisse auf dem Berg Olymp

Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 fantastische Reiseziele in Griechenland, die Sie unbedingt sehen sollten

Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Rafting & Canyoning: Die beliebtesten Reiseziele in Griechenland

Favorite sunset spot-The Zongolopoulos Umbrellas

Die besten erlebnisse in Thessaloniki

Wooden bridges criss-cross the 10km Epineas path along the densely-forested valley

Wandern in Greichenland: beliebte Strecken

7

7 OLYMPIAN-SIZED REASONS TO DISCOVER PIERIA

READING TIME
As long as it takes to drink a Greek coffee

You know you’re in Pieria because you have Mt Olympus, the legendary mountain of the gods, on one side of you and a beach-lined 70km coastline on the other. It’s a setting like no other in Greece, new to many international visitors and yet rich in history, culture, nature, traditional villages, great food and vineyards. It’s perfect for an alternative summer holiday, just a 1hr15min drive from Thessaloniki

Conquering the Castle of Platamon

A perfect first taste of Pieria, as one of its best-preserved cultural monuments. From here you can see it all: Mt Olympus, the rich greenery of the region (even within the castle), and a seemingly endless beachfront set against the deep blue of the Thermaic Gulf. 

Castle of Platamon from above

Built in the 13th century, the castle is strategically located at the exit of the Tempi Valley, with walls that are up to 9m tall and 2m thick. Within the castle are a grand central tower and the church of Agia Paraskevi.

A beach with a castle and mountain-view

Down to that long stretch of sand next. Platamon beach is your first of many tastes of beach-life in Pieria, ideal for swimming but also for a range of water sports. How about hiring a stand-up paddleboard and exploring the coastline?

A beach with a castle and mountain-view

From the sea, you’ll appreciate once again just how green the region is, as well as the view of Platamon Castle and Mt Olympus beyond it. There are plenty of tavernas and accommodation options in the area, including those in the town of Platamon. 

Beaches that go on and on

Wherever you venture along the coast, remember to pack your swimming gear. There are beaches everywhere: Methoni, Makrigialos and Pydna in the north and Plaka, Leptokaria, Skotina and Nei Pori to the south. Methoni is close to the Aliakmonas River delta (a protected wetlands area) and Pydna is near the remains of the ancient city of the same name, besieged by the Athenians in 432BC and later by Philip II of Macedon. The beaches are either sand or shingle, perfect for couples and families, with plenty of activities on offer.

Village life in Palaios Panteleimonas

Up into the foothills of Mt Olympus next and a taste of traditional Macedonian village life. From almost 500m up, the view of the Thermaic Gulf is special – as is the feeling of sitting in the shade of a centuries-old plane tree in the square,nibbling meze quite possibly made with produce from the vegetable garden of the person serving you and sipping a locally distilled tsipouro. 

The picturesque square of Palaios Panteleimonas village around sunset , Pieria

Strolling along the virtually car-free streets, you’ll enjoy the stone architecture and shops with local products. From here, you can go mountain biking or hiking, with the promise of a taverna meal upon your return. 

The sacred site of ancient Dion

There’s something spiritual about walking amongst the statues and monuments of Dion, in what feels more like a private garden than an archaeological site, with ponds and mature trees.  The area was sacred to the Macedonians and is where Philip II chose to celebrate his victories. Excavations have revealed a settlement of 150 hectares – including houses, shops, workplaces, theatres, a gymnasium and two sanctuaries, dedicated to the goddesses Dimitra and Isis. Make sure to visit the museum (500m away) with objects and statues unearthed during the digs, including a hydraulis – a 1st-century BC pipe instrument that is the oldest of its kind ever found. 

Sanctuary of Isis at the Archaeological Park of Dion. Pieria, Macedonia

The capital of Pieria… and yet another beach

Katerini manages to combine all the amenities of a city along with yet another generous beachfront. The beach is perhaps the liveliest along the coastline, with beach bars and water sports (from windsurfing to paragliding) and you’ll find hotels & guestrooms and plenty entertainment options (tavernas, bars etc) nearby. If you’re in need of a little shade and greenery, the municipal park in the centre of town offers quiet escape, with its water fountain and collection of animals.

 

The wine route of the Olympian gods

There were vineyards in Pieria in antiquity but organised viticulture is a relatively recent introduction, having been embraced by a talented group of wine-makers. There are more than a dozen wineries to visit, any number of which could form an unexpected wine route. The terrain on the lower slopes of Mt Olympus has proved excellent for growing the international classics (from Chardonnay to Cabernet Sauvingon) as well as local favourites (like Xinomavro). Close to Katerini, head to the villages of Rachi, Ano Agios Ioannis and Kolindros, and to the south there are vineyards in Litochoro and Krania.

The wine route of the Olympian gods

 

Experience the best of Pieria

Pieria is a region with experiences on an Olympian scale, with a beachfront that seems to go on forever and the ever-present aura of the mountain chosen by the ancient gods. Just a short drive from Thessaloniki, it is an enticing alternative summer holiday destination.

Explore Pieria now

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
Accommodation

Olympus Pantheon

Olympus

Welcome to Olympus Pantheon. An Olympian Collection™ hotel unique for its ideal location between the foothills of Mount Olympus and only a few steps from...

Official online rates

Accommodation

Bayiri Petit Pension Litochoro

Olympus

BAYIRI, is a boutique style guest house operating from 2017. It offers high quality hospitality in harmony with natural materials and local architecture insi...

Official online rates





Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Must-try local products of Syros

Greek Spirits Guide: Everything you need to know about tsipouro

When in Telendos, you must visit the family-owned tavernas where a fresh catch of seafood comes in every morning

Greek Spirits Guide: Everything you need to know about ouzo

Noctua beer

A guide to the best Greek beer and microbreweries to freshen up your holiday

Oia in Santorini

Getting around Greece by ferry in the Covid-19 era

Hiking Balos trail

The 8 most popular outdoor adventures in Greece

Plaka district in Athens

Top activities in Athens right now

Acrocorinth (Upper Corinth)

Discover the top 10 cultural sites in the Peloponnese

Take a tour of the Acropolis Museum

20 of the best museums in Athens

Museum of Greek Culture Shop

Athens shopping guide: Where to find the best Greek designers & memorabilia

The Changing of the Presidential Guard by the Evzones (special guards) protecting the Tomb on the Unknown Solider

12 historical buildings in Athens for architecture lovers

Discover 12 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

11 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens