7

7 BONNES RAISONS POUR DÉCOUVRIR PIÉRIE

READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour boire un café grec

Vous savez que vous êtes à Piérie Car vous voyez le Mt Olympe, la montagne légendaire des dieux, d'un côté et une plage de 70 km de côte de l'autre. C'est un cadre unique en Grèce, nouveau pour de nombreux visiteurs étrangers et pourtant riche en histoire, en culture, en nature, en villages traditionnels, en gastronomie et en vignes. Il est parfait pour des vacances d'été originales, à seulement 1h15min de route de Thessalonique. 

A la conquête du château de Platamon

Un premier aperçu parfait de Piérie, en tant que monument culturel parmi les mieux préservés. D'ici, vous pouvez tout voir : Le Mont Olympe, la riche verdure de la région (même à l'intérieur du château), et un front de mer apparemment sans fin, qui se détache sur le bleu profond du Golfe Thermaïque. 

Castle of Platamon from above

Construit au 13ème siècle, le château est stratégiquement situé à la sortie de la vallée de Tempi, avec des murs qui peuvent atteindre 9 m de hauteur et 2 m d'épaisseur. Le château abrite une grande tour centrale ainsi que l'église d'Agia Paraskevi.

Une plage avec un château et une vue sur les montagnes

Jusqu'à cette longue étendue de sable. La plage de Platamon est la première d'une longue série de plages à Piérie, idéale pour la baignade mais aussi pour la pratique de nombreux sports nautiques. Que diriez-vous de louer un stand-up paddleboard et de découvrir le littoral? 

A beach with a castle and mountain-view

Depuis la mer, vous apprécierez une fois de plus la verdure de la région, ainsi que la vue sur le château de Platamon et le mont Olympe au-delà. Il existe de nombreuses tavernes et possibilités d'hébergement dans la région, y compris dans la ville de Platamon.

Des plages qui n’en finissent pas

Partout où vous vous aventurerez le long de la côte, n'oubliez pas de prendre votre sac de plage. Vous trouverez des plages un peu partout : Methoni, Makrigialos et Pydna au nord et Plaka, Leptokaria, Skotina et Nei Pori au sud. Methoni se trouve à proximité du delta de la rivière Aliakmonas (une zone de marais protégée) et Pydna est proche des vestiges de l'ancienne ville du même nom, assiégée par les Athéniens en 432 avant JC et plus tard par Philippe II de Macédoine. Les plages sont soit de sable soit de galets, parfaites pour les couples et les familles, avec de nombreuses activités proposées.

La vie du village à Paleos Panteleimonas

Au pied du mont Olympe, vous découvrirez la vie traditionnelle des villages macédoniens. A près de 500 mètres d'altitude, la vue sur le golfe Thermaïque est saisissante - tout comme la satisfaction de s'asseoir à l'ombre d'un platane centenaire sur la placette, de grignoter du meze probablement fabriqué avec les produits du potager de celui qui vous le servira et de siroter un tsipouro distillé localement. 

The picturesque square of Palaios Panteleimonas village around sunset , Pieria

En vous promenant dans les rues pratiquement sans voitures, vous apprécierez l'architecture en pierre et les boutiques de produits locaux. De là, vous pourrez faire du VTT ou de la randonnée, avec la promesse d'un repas à la taverne à votre retour.

Le site sacré de l’ancien Dion

Il y a un côté spirituel à cette promenade à travers les statues et les monuments de Dion, dans ce qui ressemble plus à un jardin privé qu'à un site archéologique, avec des étangs et des arbres centenaires.  Cette zone était sacrée pour les Macédoniens et c'est là que Philippe II a choisi de célébrer ses victoires. Les fouilles ont révélé une colonie de 150 hectares - comprenant des maisons, des magasins, des lieux de travail, des théâtres, un gymnase et deux sanctuaires, dédiés aux déesses Dimitra et Isis. Ne manquez pas de visiter le musée (à 500 m) avec les objets et les statues mis au jour lors des fouilles, dont un hydraulis - un instrument de pipe du 1er siècle avant J.-C. qui est le plus ancien de ce type jamais trouvé.

Sanctuary of Isis at the Archaeological Park of Dion. Pieria, Macedonia

La capitale de Piérie … et encore une autre plage

Katerini réussit à combiner toutes les commodités d'une ville avec encore une autre plage généreuse. C'est peut-être la plage la plus animée du littoral, avec ses bars de plage et ses sports nautiques (de la planche à voile au parapente). Vous trouverez des hôtels et des chambres d'hôtes ainsi que de nombreuses formules de divertissement (tavernes, bars, etc.) à proximité. Si vous avez besoin d'un peu d'ombre et de verdure, le parc municipal situé au centre de la ville vous offre une douce évasion, avec sa fontaine d'eau et sa collection d'animaux.

 

La route du vin des dieux Olympiens

Les vignobles de Piérie existaient déjà dans l'Antiquité, mais la viticulture organisée est une pratique relativement récente, adoptée par un groupe de viticulteurs talentueux. Il y a plus d'une douzaine de vineries à visiter, dont certaines pourraient constituer une route des vins inattendue. Le terrain sur les pentes inférieures du Mont Olympe s'est révélé excellent pour la culture des classiques internationaux (du Chardonnay au Cabernet Sauvingon) ainsi que des favoris locaux (comme le Xinomavro). Près de Katerini, prenez la direction des villages de Rachi, AnoAgios-Ioannis et Kolindros, et au sud, vous trouverez des vignobles à Litochoro et Krania.

The wine route of the Olympian gods

 

Découvrez le meilleur de Piérie

Piérie est une région aux expériences à l'échelle de l'Olympe, avec un front de mer qui semble durer éternellement et l'aura toujours présente de la montagne choisie par les dieux anciens. À quelques kilomètres de Thessalonique, c'est une destination de vacances estivale alternative et attrayante.

Découvrez Piérie maintenant

 

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
The peak of Mt Olympus

Les 8 expériences les plus mythiques à Mt Olympe

Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 destinations grecques incroyables à voir absolument

5 raisons de ne pas manquer Kavala

Giola lagoon the natural pool carved into the rock by the sea in Thassos

5 raisons de ne pas manquer Thassos

Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Rafting & Canyoning: Destinations populaires en Grèce

7

7 OLYMPIAN-SIZED REASONS TO DISCOVER PIERIA

READING TIME
As long as it takes to drink a Greek coffee

You know you’re in Pieria because you have Mt Olympus, the legendary mountain of the gods, on one side of you and a beach-lined 70km coastline on the other. It’s a setting like no other in Greece, new to many international visitors and yet rich in history, culture, nature, traditional villages, great food and vineyards. It’s perfect for an alternative summer holiday, just a 1hr15min drive from Thessaloniki

Conquering the Castle of Platamon

A perfect first taste of Pieria, as one of its best-preserved cultural monuments. From here you can see it all: Mt Olympus, the rich greenery of the region (even within the castle), and a seemingly endless beachfront set against the deep blue of the Thermaic Gulf. 

Castle of Platamon from above

Built in the 13th century, the castle is strategically located at the exit of the Tempi Valley, with walls that are up to 9m tall and 2m thick. Within the castle are a grand central tower and the church of Agia Paraskevi.

A beach with a castle and mountain-view

Down to that long stretch of sand next. Platamon beach is your first of many tastes of beach-life in Pieria, ideal for swimming but also for a range of water sports. How about hiring a stand-up paddleboard and exploring the coastline?

A beach with a castle and mountain-view

From the sea, you’ll appreciate once again just how green the region is, as well as the view of Platamon Castle and Mt Olympus beyond it. There are plenty of tavernas and accommodation options in the area, including those in the town of Platamon. 

Beaches that go on and on

Wherever you venture along the coast, remember to pack your swimming gear. There are beaches everywhere: Methoni, Makrigialos and Pydna in the north and Plaka, Leptokaria, Skotina and Nei Pori to the south. Methoni is close to the Aliakmonas River delta (a protected wetlands area) and Pydna is near the remains of the ancient city of the same name, besieged by the Athenians in 432BC and later by Philip II of Macedon. The beaches are either sand or shingle, perfect for couples and families, with plenty of activities on offer.

Village life in Paleos Panteleimonas

Up into the foothills of Mt Olympus next and a taste of traditional Macedonian village life. From almost 500m up, the view of the Thermaic Gulf is special – as is the feeling of sitting in the shade of a centuries-old plane tree in the square,nibbling meze quite possibly made with produce from the vegetable garden of the person serving you and sipping a locally distilled tsipouro. 

The picturesque square of Palaios Panteleimonas village around sunset , Pieria

Strolling along the virtually car-free streets, you’ll enjoy the stone architecture and shops with local products. From here, you can go mountain biking or hiking, with the promise of a taverna meal upon your return. 

The sacred site of ancient Dion

There’s something spiritual about walking amongst the statues and monuments of Dion, in what feels more like a private garden than an archaeological site, with ponds and mature trees.  The area was sacred to the Macedonians and is where Philip II chose to celebrate his victories. Excavations have revealed a settlement of 150 hectares – including houses, shops, workplaces, theatres, a gymnasium and two sanctuaries, dedicated to the goddesses Dimitra and Isis. Make sure to visit the museum (500m away) with objects and statues unearthed during the digs, including a hydraulis – a 1st-century BC pipe instrument that is the oldest of its kind ever found. 

Sanctuary of Isis at the Archaeological Park of Dion. Pieria, Macedonia

The capital of Pieria… and yet another beach

Katerini manages to combine all the amenities of a city along with yet another generous beachfront. The beach is perhaps the liveliest along the coastline, with beach bars and water sports (from windsurfing to paragliding) and you’ll find hotels & guestrooms and plenty entertainment options (tavernas, bars etc) nearby. If you’re in need of a little shade and greenery, the municipal park in the centre of town offers quiet escape, with its water fountain and collection of animals.

 

The wine route of the Olympian gods

There were vineyards in Pieria in antiquity but organised viticulture is a relatively recent introduction, having been embraced by a talented group of wine-makers. There are more than a dozen wineries to visit, any number of which could form an unexpected wine route. The terrain on the lower slopes of Mt Olympus has proved excellent for growing the international classics (from Chardonnay to Cabernet Sauvingon) as well as local favourites (like Xinomavro). Close to Katerini, head to the villages of Rachi, Ano Agios Ioannis and Kolindros, and to the south there are vineyards in Litochoro and Krania.

The wine route of the Olympian gods

 

Experience the best of Pieria

Pieria is a region with experiences on an Olympian scale, with a beachfront that seems to go on forever and the ever-present aura of the mountain chosen by the ancient gods. Just a short drive from Thessaloniki, it is an enticing alternative summer holiday destination.

Explore Pieria now

Plan your trip

 

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Meet the Cycladic escapes neighbouring Santorini

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 reasons to make you want to explore Karpathos

8 unforgettable highs and hidden depths in Kalymnos

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 reasons why Astypalea will be your favourite summer hangout

A little before you reach Koumaros, you pass Exomvourgo Castle, high up on a 640m conical hill

9 steps to uncovering the authenticity of Tinos

Stroll along the maze of alleyways, through vaulted archways and past dazzlingly white and mostly immaculately maintained houses

9 ways to feel the spirituality of Patmos

The peak of Mt Olympus

8 mythical experiences on Mt Olympus

Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 incredible places in Greece you have to see to believe

Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Popular destinations for rafting & canyoning

The itinerary starts at the iconic White Tower and ends at the castles of the Upper Town

8 Authentic experiences in Thessaloniki

Favorite sunset spot-The Zongolopoulos Umbrellas

The 11 most popular experiences in Thessaloniki