Karpenissi

Voyages à la magie de l’hiver
Lake Kremaston in Evritania
Scroll
Aujourd'hui
WED
10°
THU
FRI
SAT
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Aventures à la station de ski, séjour et divertissement à Karpenissi, visite à des villages traditionnels. Une destination d’hiver de conte de fées

Karpenissi vous offrira tout: sports d’hiver, confort moderne, divertissements, montagnes magnifiques, fleuves, gorges splendides, villages pittoresques et monastères historiques. Sur les pentes de la station de ski de Velouhi, familles et amis profiteront des voyages extraordinaires sur la neige. Dans le monastère de Panaghia Proussiotissa, les croyants s’inclinent devant l’icône miraculeuse.

À Koryschadès, vous marcherez à travers les ruelles en admirant l’architecture traditionnelle, et à Karpenissi, vous apprécierez les soirées animées avec nourriture et divertissements à foison. Dans les maisons d’hôtes traditionnelles, vous serez marqué par une atmosphère des plus chaleureuses. Dans les tavernes, vous apprécierez les saveurs alléchantes de la cuisine locale, dont les arômes remplissent les lieux douillets, réchauffés par les feux de cheminée scintillants. Karpenissi et ses villages environnants sont sans aucun doute une destination de vacances d’hiver idyllique. Sa magie vous captivera.

Attractions à Karpenissi

Velouchi: une station de ski de hauts standards

En Grèce Centrale, le plateau de Velouhi est le berceau d’une des plus grandes et des plus stimulantes stations de ski en Grèce. S’étendant sur plus de 5500 m², à une altitude de 1850 à 2000 mètres, la station a ouvert ses portes en 1974 et dispose de 11 pistes, dont une piste noire pour les skieurs et les surfeurs expérimentés. Profitez-en pour jouer dans la neige avec famille et amis, tout en admirant la vue incroyable.

Karpenissi: une ville accueillante et historique

Une ville dynamique qui reste animée toute l’année, Karpenissi possède de grands hôtels, des tavernes et des boutiques. Faites une promenade autour de la place pour découvrir les attractions: les monuments, les statues d’Antonis Katsantonis et Markos Botzaris (héros de la Révolution grecque de 1821), l’église d’Aghia Triada, les platanes et les fontaines d’eau gelée. Dans la rue principale, Zinopoulou, vous trouverez des cafés, des bars, des boutiques et des magasins vendant tout ce dont vous avez besoin, des skis aux produits locaux.

Koryschadès de la tradition

C’est un village traditionnel pittoresque qui répondra à vos attentes.Remontez le temps, à travers ses rues en pierre chargées d’histoire, avec ses anciennes maisons bien conservées. Sur la place principale, vous verrez l’église d’Aghios Athanassios, construite en 1865, et l’école publique historique de 1901, qui abrite aujourd’hui le fascinant musée de la Résistance nationale. En tant que destination d'hiver traditionnelle, ce village a pris soin de disposer de belles auberges accueillantes - il en vaut l'expérience d’y séjourner.

Le monastère Proussou: le miracle de la Vierge

Chaque année, des milliers de croyants se rendent dans ce monastère historique, un des pèlerinages les plus importants en Grèce, afin d’assister et d’embrasser l’icône de la Vierge Marie (Panaghia Proussiotissa), le thaumaturge. Selon la tradition, l’icône est arrivée d’une manière miraculeuse de Proussa (Bursa) en Asie Mineure, au cours de la période iconoclaste. On dit que son revêtement en argent et or est un don de Yeorghios Karaïskakis (un héros grec de la Révolution de 1821, la guerre d’indépendance qui libéra le pays). Située à 300 m du monastère, sur un rocher, se trouve l’élégante tour de l’Horloge.

Les trésors cachés de Karpenissi

La vue panoramique d’Aghios Dimitris

Aghios Dimitris, avec son adorable petite chapelle construite en 1886, est proche de Karpenissi. Les vues de la région depuis cette colline luxuriante, qui remontent jusqu’à Velouhi, sont spectaculaires.

Un petit miracle de la nature à “Panda Vrechi” (“il pleut toujours”)

En Grèce Centrale, à courte distance de Karpenissi, se trouve l’étroit passage de Krikellopotamou, entre deux montagnes, qui ressemble à un canyon. C’est un endroit magique avec des lacs, des cascades, des grottes, une végétation dense et des falaises abruptes. Il est situé aux pieds du mont de Kaliakoudas et des montagnes de Platanaki.

Les empreintes de la Vierge

Sur la route allant de Karpenissi à Proussos, non loin de l’intersection pour Karitsa, sept marques en marbre blanc sur la roche sombre remontent la pente et ont la forme d’empreintes de pas humains. Les croyants disent que ce sont les traces laissées par la Vierge Marie, quand elle a amené son icône dans la grotte.

  • Velouchi: une station de ski de hauts standards
  • Karpenissi: une ville accueillante et historique
  • Le monastère Proussou: le miracle de la Vierge
  • La vue panoramique d’Aghios Dimitris
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
In central Evia there is Dirfis and its alpine landscapes

Grèce-Centrale

Du noyau ardent du pays provient l’énergie vivifiante; don de la terre pour le voyageur.
The famous Dirfys forest. It is a natural forest located on a mountain in the central part of the island of Euboea, Greece at 1,743 m elevation.The path leads to Agali Canyon.

Sports de montagne en Grèce

Escalade, alpinisme, randonnée, VTT, ski, rafting.. En Grèce, quel que soit votre sport préféré, vous en profiterez particulièrement.

Karpenisi

Travel to a winter wonderland
Lake Kremaston in Evritania
Scroll
Today
FRI
SAT
SUN
MON
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Skiing at Velouhi, après-ski in Karpenisi, touring the monuments, and a majestic landscape

Karpenisi has everything: winter sports, modern comforts, entertainment, magnificent mountains, rushing rivers, beautiful gorges, picturesque villages and historic monasteries. On the slopes of the ski resort in Velouhi, families and friends ski, snowboard and play games in the snow. In the monastery of Panagia Prousiotissa, believers bow to the miraculous icon.

In Koryschades, you’ll walk through alleys admiring the traditional architecture, and in Karpenisi you’ll enjoy lively evenings with generous helpings of food and entertainment. In the traditional guest houses, the warm atmosphere is inviting. In the tavernas, you’ll enjoy the tantalising flavours of the local cooking, whose aromas fill the cosy environs, warmed by the flickering fireplaces. Karpenisi and its surrounding villages are undoubtedly an idyllic winter holiday destination. The magic is captivating.

What to do in Karpenisi

Velouhi: a quality ski resort

In Central Greece, the Velouhi plateau is home to one of the largest and most challenging ski resorts in Greece. Spread over 5,500 sq m, at an altitude of 1,850 to 2,000 metres, it boasts 11 slopes and has been operating since 1974. Of these, there is one black trail for experienced skiers and snowboarders. Enjoy playing in the snow with family and friends, while you take in the incredible view.

Karpenisi town:  welcoming and historic

A vibrant town that stays lively all year round, Karpenisi has great hotels, tavernas, shops and sights. Take a walk around the square to see the monuments, the statues of Antonis Katsantonis and Markos Botsaris (heroes of the 1821 Greek Revolution), the church of Agia Triada, the plane trees and icy mountain-water spring. On the main road, Zinopoulou, you’ll find coffee shops, bars, boutiques and shops selling everything you need, from skis to local products.

Traditional Koryschades

This picturesque traditional village will surpass all your expectations. Walk back in time, through this historic settlement’s stone streets, with their well-preserved old homes. In the main square you’ll see the church of Agios Athanasios, built in 1865, and the historic public school from 1901, which now houses the fascinating Museum of National Resistance. Staying at one of the beautiful traditional guesthouses at this beloved winter destination is a special experience.

Monastery of Proussos: the miracle-worker

Every year thousands of believers make their way to this historic monastery, one of the most important pilgrimages in Greece, in order to witness and kiss the icon of the Virgin Mary (Panagias tis Prousiotissas), the miracle-worker. According to tradition, the icon was brought here from Proussa (Bursa) in Asia Minor, to protect it from the Iconoclastic purge taking place at that time. It has been said that the silver and gold cover was a donation from Georgios Karaiskakis (a Greek hero during the War of Independence). Situated 300m from the monastery, on a rocky hill, is the elegant Clock Tower.

Hidden gems of Karpenisi

The panoramic view from Agios Dimitrios

Agios Dimitrios, with its lovely little chapel built in 1886, is very near Karpenisi. The views of the region from this lush hillside, which stretches as far as Velouhi, are spectacular.

‘Always Raining’ canyon

In Central Greece, just a stone’s throw from Karpenisi, the narrow passage of Krikellopotamou, between two mountains, looks like a canyon. It’s a magical place with lakes, waterfalls, caves, dense vegetation and steep cliffs. It’s located at the base of Kaliakoudas and the Platanaki mountains.

Footprints of the Virgin Mary

On the road from Karpenisi to Prousso, not far from the junction for Karitsa, seven markings of white marble on the dark rock can be seen on the slope and have the shape of human footprints. Believers say that they are traces left by the Virgin Mary, from when she brought her icon to the cave.

  • Velouhi: a quality ski resort
  • Karpenisi town: welcoming and historic
  • Monastery of Proussos: the miracle-worker
  • The panoramic view from Agios Dimitrios
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
In central Evia there is Dirfis and its alpine landscapes

Central Greece: Tapping into a vital source

For those seeking a holiday that revitalizes in every way, get to the heart of the matter in Central Greece.
Multiple footpaths allow you to explore the countryside of Central greece

Top 5+1 ways to get active in Central Greece

Fir tree-clad mountains, glistening lakes and rivers, and traditional village life … every minute spent in Central Greece fills you with the urge to get active.
The famous Dirfys forest. It is a natural forest located on a mountain in the central part of the island of Euboea, Greece at 1,743 m elevation.The path leads to Agali Canyon.

Mountain sports in Greece

Rock and mountain climbing, hiking, biking, canyoning, skiing, rafting, riding… Whatever your sport, you’ll relish it in Greece