As the capital of Greece, Athens offers an equally wide range of fine dining options
EXPERIENCE

Une visite culinaire d'Athènes

La scène gastronomique d'Athènes n'a jamais été aussi excitante, avec de nouvelles tendances et des quartiers jusque-là inconnus propulsés sur la carte des gourmets. Des classiques aux nouveaux goûts appétissants, il n'y a qu'une seule façon de découvrir
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
Toute la journée
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

De tous les souvenirs que vous emporterez chez vous après avoir visité Athènes, les goûts sont peut-être les plus inattendus. Il y a eu une révolution culinaire dans la capitale grecque, avec de nouvelles tendances qui ont changé la perception de la nourriture grecque - pas seulement parmi les visiteurs mais aussi pour les habitants. 

Vous reconnaîtrez de nombreux plats élevés à de nouveaux sommets inventifs, dans des bistrots branchés à base de meze jusqu'aux restaurants étoilés au Michelin. Et le souvlaki (viande grillée sur un bâton ou enveloppé dans une pita avec du yaourt, des tomates hachées, des oignons et des frites) est toujours un aliment de base de rue. Mais vous devez également vous préparer aux nouveaux arrivants inattendus de la scène culinaire, des brunchs et des restaurants ethniques. Pendant ce temps, les nouveaux bars sympas n'ont aucune difficulté à promouvoir les vins grecs et les bières brassées localement plutôt que les importations. 

Des quartiers entiers jusque-là inexplorés par les visiteurs sont devenus des destinations incontournables pendant le séjour en ville en Athènes, en grande partie à cause de leur identité culinaire. Koukaki, Keramikos, Exarchia, Psyrri, Pangrati, Petralona et Metaxourgio… vous n'en avez peut-être jamais entendu parler auparavant, mais vous en parlerez aux gens une fois que vous serez chez vous. Et un autre mot pour votre liste de vocabulaire de vacances - Koutouki - un restaurant à la gestion familiale proposant une cuisine authentique dans une atmosphère animée. 

Pour un repas de fruits de mer (cuisine traditionnelle ou gastronomique), il y a d'excellents choix du Pirée jusqu'à la Riviera d'Athènes, du delta du Faliro (juste à côté du centre culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos) le long de la côte sud à Vouliagmeni et au-delà.  

Pendant ce temps, l'émergence de restaurants végétariens ou végan n'est pas une vraie surprise, car toutes les cuisines grecques locales ont une riche histoire de délicieux plats à base de légumes. 

Un dernier conseil bonus consiste à coïncider votre visite avec le festival Taste of Athens. Certains des meilleurs restaurants, chefs et producteurs sont célébrés lors de l'événement annuel, qui est devenu un incontournable du calendrier des gastronomes athéniens. 

Taste of Athens

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

Manger et boire à Athènes sera une caractéristique de votre séjour, mais cela vaut la peine de consacrer une journée à l'expérience, ce qui pourrait impliquer ce qui suit:

Petit déjeuner 

Le petit-déjeuner pour les Athéniens n'est souvent rien de plus qu'un koulouri (un anneau de pain en croûte de graines de sésame), mais il y a beaucoup de boulangeries et de cafés servant des pains farcis avec un assortiment d'ingrédients ou des tartes faites à la main. Ou si vous voulez goûter à quelque chose de nouveau (et un début de journée plus tard), le brunch est entré avec passion dans le lexique grec. Les crêpes et les œufs bénédictine ne sont guère des plats grecs traditionnels, mais ils sont tout de même appréciés, tout comme les jambons et les fromages locaux.

Marchés et épiceries

Rien ne vous rapprochera davantage de l'âme de la scène culinaire athénienne que de visiter un marché. Le marché central du poisson et de la viande de Varvakios et le marché central des fruits et légumes à proximité sur la rue Athinas sont les points de départ évidents. Ensuite, dirigez-vous vers les épiceries de la rue Evripidou, où les magasins vous accueillent avec des arômes de thym, de sauge et de camomille et d'autres délices. 

Épiceries fines avec dîner sur place

Les épiceries fines avec dîner sur place font partie de la culture culinaire d'Athènes depuis des décennies, à l'origine en tant que supérettes où vous pouviez acheter en vrac (et prendre une collation et discuter avec le client pendant que vous attendiez). Les versions d'aujourd'hui contiennent de l'huile d'olive extra vierge, des vins, des jambons, des fromages et d'autres délices triés sur le volet par le propriétaire, et ont parfois un petit nombre de tables où vous pouvez manger un délicieux déjeuner cuit ou de la charcuterie. Dirigez-vous vers le quartier de Kolonaki et vous découvrirez, ou flânez dans les rues Mitropoleos ou Sokratous.

Un café et quelque chose de sucré

Aucune journée à pied n'est complète sans quelque chose de sucré et les choix ne manquent pas à Athènes, avec des pâtisseries partout. Vous pouvez choisir un baklava (couches de pâte filo, noix et sirop), une tranche de galaktoboureko (pâte filo, farce à la crème, trempée dans du sirop) ou des loukoumades (de petits beignets arrosés de miel ou de chocolat, fraîchement cuites). Et pour accompagnement, un café bien sûr. Grec ou glacé (freddo ou frappe)? Dépend de vous. 

Un dîner sur le toit

La fin parfaite de la journée est un dîner sous les lumières de l'Acropole. Vous avez l'embarras du choix - du dernier étage des hôtels aux restaurants aux toits convertis. 

Lire la suite Read Less
  • Des visites gastronomiques organisées commencent généralement dans le centre (place Syntagma ou Omonia ou des stations de métro telles que Acropolis ou Panepistimio), tandis que certaines visites privées proposent des transferts depuis et vers l'hôtel.
  • Le centre-ville est petit mais vous ferez beaucoup de marche, alors portez une paire de chaussures confortables et des vêtements adaptés à la saison. 
  • Athènes a un excellent système de métro, vous pouvez donc facilement visiter de nombreux quartiers mentionnés ici.
  • Il fait chaud en été, ce qui (en plus d'être inconfortable) peut affecter votre appétit. Par conséquent, si vous pouvez visiter pendant les mois d'été hors pointe, vous apprécierez encore plus Athènes. 
  • Il n'y a pas de visites organisées le dimanche lorsque les marchés sont fermés. 
  • Si vous explorez par vous-même, sachez que les épiceries fines et les magasins vendant des produits locaux suivent les heures d'ouverture générales des magasins. 
  • Il vaut la peine de téléphoner pour réserver un dîner dans une taverne.

Une visite culinaire d'Athènes est une expérience que vous pourrez vivre toute l'année. 

  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver

C'est à vous de voir à quel point vous voulez pénétrer la scène gastronomique d' Athènes. Combiné avec la visite de sites culturels, vous pouvez facilement remplir trois jours avec l' expérience. 

Les visites gastronomiques organisées durent généralement une demi-journée ou une journée complète. 

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Veillons tous à préserver la magie des villages, des villes et des cités grecs pour les générations à venir.

Gardez les rues propres en utilisant les poubelles mises à votre disposition et en cas de besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Utilisez une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Respectez les monuments culturels et les reliques. N’utilisez pas de flash si vous voyez une pancarte qui l’interdit.
Soutenez les petites boutiques familiales et les producteurs locaux en choisissant un souvenir local fait main.
Respectez les plantes et les animaux.
Ayez l’esprit curieux et n’hésitez pas à demander des bons plans aux habitants.
Respectez les autres visiteurs et les habitants.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
View of Acropolis and Odeon of Herodes Atticus

Découvrez en une promenade les richesses culturelles d’Athènes

Sunset in Poros island

Croisière d’un jour dans les îles proches d’Athènes

The Museum of Cycladic Art presents us with artwork so elegant that it still influences fashion trends today

Visitez le musée d'art cycladique à Athènes

Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens is a gem of a museum and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making

Visitez le musée d'art contemporain Goulandris à Athènes

You can appreciate the museum’s stature even before you enter, with its imposing 19th-century neoclassical facade

Voyagez dans le temps au musée archéologique national d’Athènes

Streets of Plaka, Athens

Ressentir l’ambiance d’Athènes autour de l’Acropole

Corfu old town and Spianada square from above

Découvrez les spécialités de Corfou

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Découvrez les racines de Mykonos par l'agrotourisme

Pyrgos, in the north, has a charming square where you can settle down to Greek coffee and a slice of galaktoboureko

Découvrez les spécialités de Tinos

Wine-making can be traced here to before the eruption of its legendary volcano, more than 3,000 years ago

Découvrez les routes du vin de Santorin

A crystal clear liquid is poured into a glass and in drops an ice cube, instantly emitting magical swirls of white

Vivre la tradition d’ouzo en Plomari

As the capital of Greece, Athens offers an equally wide range of fine dining options
EXPERIENCE

A culinary tour of Athens

The Athens food scene has never been so exciting, with new trends and previously unknown neighbourhoods being propelled onto the foodie map. From the classics to mouth-watering new tastes, there’s only one way to get to know Athens’ culinary underbelly
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Full day
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

Of all the memories you’ll take home after visiting Athens, perhaps the most unexpected are the tastes. There’s been a culinary revolution in the Greek capital, with new trends that have changed the perception of Greek food – not just amongst visitors but for locals too.

You’ll recognise many of the dishes elevated to inventive new heights, in trendy meze-based bistros right up to Michelin-starred restaurants. And the souvlaki (grilled meat on a stick or wrapped in a pita with yogurt, chopped tomatoes, onions and chips) is still a street food staple. But you should also prepare yourself for unexpected newcomers to the culinary scene, from brunch and ethnic eateries. Meanwhile, cool new bars have no difficulty promoting Greek wines and locally-brewed beers over imports. 

Entire districts that were previously unexplored by visitors have now become go-to Athens City Break destinations, in large part because of their culinary identity. Koukaki, Keramikos, Exarchia, Psyrri, Pangrati, Petralona and Metaxourgio… you may have not have heard of them before, but you’ll be telling people about them once you’re home. And another word for your holiday vocab list – Koutouki – a family-run restaurant offering authentic food in a lively atmosphere.

For a seafood meal (traditional or fine dining), there are excellent choices from Piraeus all the way up the Athens Riviera, from the Faliro Delta (just by the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Centre) along the south coast to Vouliagmeni and beyond.  

Meanwhile, the emergence of vegetarian or vegan restaurants is no real surprise, as all local Greek cuisines have a rich history of delicious veggie-based dishes.  

A final bonus tip is to coincide your visit with the Taste of Athens festival. Some of the best restaurants, chefs and producers are celebrated in the annual event, which has become a fixture in the calendar of Athenian foodies.  

Taste of Athens

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Eating and drinking in Athens will be a feature of your stay, but it’s worth dedicating a day to the experience, which could involve the following: 

Breakfast 

Breakfast for Athenians is often no more than a koulouri (a sesame seed-crusted bread ring) on the go, but there are plenty of bakeries and coffee shops serving breads stuffed with an assortment of ingredients or handmade pies. Or if you want a taste of something new (and a later start to the day), brunch has entered the Greek lexicon with a passion. Pancakes and eggs benedict are hardly traditional Greek food but they’re enjoyed all the same, as are local hams and cheeses. 

Markets and spice shops

Nothing will get you closer to the soul of the Athens food scene than visiting a market. The Central Varvakios fish and meat market, and nearby central fruit & veg market on Athinas Street, are the obvious places to start. Following that, head up to the spice shops of Evripidou Street, where stores welcome you with aromas of thyme, sage and chamomile and other delights. 

Dine-in delicatessens

Dine-in delis have been part of the Athens food culture for decades, originally as convenience stores where you could buy in bulk (and have a snack and a chat with the patron while you waited). Today’s versions stock extra-virgin olive oil, wines, hams, cheeses and other delicacies handpicked by the owner, and sometimes have a small number of tables where you can eat a delicious cooked lunch or cold cuts. Head to the neighbourhood of Kolonaki and you’ll find out, or stroll down Mitropoleos or Sokratous streets.

A coffee and something sweet

No day out on foot is complete without something sweet and there’s no shortage of choice in Athens, with pastry shops everywhere. You could choose a baklava (layers of filo pastry, nuts and syrup), a slice of galaktoboureko (filo pastry a custard filling, soaked in syrup) or loukoumades (freshly-cooked, small donuts drizzled with honey or chocolate). And to go with it, a coffee of course. Greek or iced (freddo or frappe)? Up to you. 

A rooftop dinner

The perfect end to the day is dinner under the lights of the Acropolis. There’s a whole selection to choose from – from the top floor of hotels to restaurants with converted rooftops.

Read More Read Less
  • Organised food tours usually start in the centre (Syntagma or Omonia Square or metro stations such as Acropolis or Panepistimio), whilst some private tours offer hotel pick-ups and drop-offs.
  • The city centre is small but you’ll be doing lots of walking, so wear a pair of comfortable shoes and season-appropriate clothes. 
  • Athens has an excellent metro system so you can easily skip between many of the neighbourhoods mentioned here.
  • It gets hot in the summer, which (apart from being uncomfortable) can affect your appetite, so if you can visit in the non-peak summer months you’ll enjoy Athens even more. 
  • There are no organised tours on Sundays when markets are closed. 
  • If you are exploring on your own, be aware that delis and shops selling local products follow general shop opening times.  
  • It’s worth calling to make a dinner reservation at a taverna.

A culinary tour of Athens is an experience you can enjoy all year round. 

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

It’s up to you how deep you want to get into the Athens food scene. Combined with visiting cultural sites, you can easily fill three days with the experience. 


Organised food tours usually last a half day or full day. 

Plan your trip

 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages, towns and cities alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect the cultural monuments and relics and don’t use flash photography if there’s a sign forbidding it. It’s to protect the relics.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect the plants and animals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Uncover the roots of Mykonos on an agro-tourism tour

Limnos offers a large variety of wines, red and white, that have a distinctive taste thanks to the volcanic soils

Tap into the deep-rooted wine culture of Limnos

Strolling around the picturesque alleyways of Plaka

Feeling the vibes of Athens around the Acropolis

Discover the wonder of the acropolis museum

Discover the wonder of the Acropolis museum