Патмос

благородный остров «апокалипсиса»
High on the hill above Hora, The Monastery of St John the Theologian
Scroll
Сегодня
10°
SAT
11°
SUN
13°
MON
15°
TUE
14°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Остров Апокалипсиса приглашает вас в путешествие вдохновения и внутреннего покоя

Великолепие и покой. Это вы чувствуете, когда гуляете по улочкам столицы острова и посещаете его монастыри. Патмос вот уже много лет на Пасху или летом является самым главным маршрутом для философов, людей искусства и знаменитостей со всего мира. Это маленький, но важный остров. Остров Апокалипсиса. «Иерусалим Эгейского моря». 

Посетите остров Патмос, чтобы раскрыть его таинственный характер. Побывайте в тёмной пещере, где Апостол Иоанн написал свой Апокалипсис, в монастыре Святого Иоанна Богослова, побродите по улочкам столицы острова, с их впечатляющими особняками, посетите отшельнические жилища монахов - «кафизмы». Приезжайте сюда и  познакомьтесь с островом-памятником Всемирного Культурного Наследия ЮНЕСКО.

 

Стоит увидеть на Патмосе

В пещере Апокалипсиса

При свете свечей присядьте ненадолго в этой тёмной пещере, где согласно преданию Иоанн Богослов, после посетившего его видения, написал известную книгу Апокалипсис, последнюю книгу Нового Завета. Сосланный сюда в 95-ом году, он проповедовал и крестил местных жителей. Позже никому неизвестный до этого остров Патмос стал считаться священным островом, а пещера стала главным местом паломничества.

Паломничество в центре Эгейского моря

Монастырь Святого Иоанна Богослова. Мощный центр паломничества, монастырь  с великой историей и архитектурой. Он возвышается на Патмосе в самом центре Эгейского моря и доминирует в жизни острова. История монашества здесь насчитывает уже более 900 лет.

Мощи святых, редкие летописи, иконы и другие сокровища православия, которые есть в монастыре, бесценны... Он основан в 1088-ом году преподобным Христодулом Латриносом - одна из самых ярких фигур византийского аскетизма. На Пасху, в воскресенье вечером, доставляют сюда «Святой Огонь» прямо из Иерусалима, а в Страстной четверг проходит служба, которая вдохновляет всех присутствующих.

Самая характерная Хора Эгейского моря

Аристократы, капитаны, богатые купцы навсегда оставили свои следы в истории столицы острова Патмос с 16-го по 19-ый века. Узнайте, почему она считается одной из самых красивых и благородных столиц Эгейского моря, гуляя в тени внушительных зданий с готическим и неоклассическим декором, проходя под арками, поднимаясь по её улочкам, где с трудом могут разойтись два человека!

Попросите местных жителей показать вам особняки Варкидо, Палеолого, Валви, Фунди, и вы попадёте в другую эпоху. В особняке Николаиди, который был преобразован в превосходный музей, вы увидите  типичную обстановку дома на острове Патмос и сможете полюбоваться его коллекцией археологических находок.

Скала в Каликатцо

Огромная скала, похожая на скульптуру, стоит прямо в море. Это уникальное археологическое место. Исследователи полагают, что здесь было святилище Афродиты, которой поклонялись до христианской эпохи. Поднимитесь на неё, и вы увидите каменные барельефы в скале, предметы священных ритуалов, маленькие искусственные пещеры, где островитяне оставляли свои приношения. Не забудьте полюбоваться видом сверху... Он уникален! Эгейское море у ваших ног!

Скрытые сокровища Патмоса

 «Кафизмы»

Стоит на это посмотреть! Это необычное название имеют на Патмосе старые жилища отшельников, которые были основаны монахами в пещерах, рядом они строили келью или маленький храм.

Восхождение на холм Пророка Ильи

Уникальный вид открывается с самой высокой точки острова: крупные камни разбросаны повсюду, словно их бросили сверху, пещеры, а в дальше – Эгейское море.

Дорога Апортиано

Стоит пройтись по дороге Апортиано – это старая тропа, которая соединяет столицу острова с портом Скала. Это станет незабываемым впечатлением, одним из многих, которые вы получите на острове Патмос!

  • Самая характерная Хора Эгейского моря
  • Дорога Апортиано
  • Восхождение на холм Пророка Ильи
  • В пещере Апокалипсиса
  • Паломничество в центре Эгейского моря
  • Скала в Каликатцо
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Painted pots – some filled with water for extra acoustics – are thrown with aplomb from balconies

Пасха в Греции

Главный весенний праздник!
The lovely settlement of Frikes, with a sense of luxury

Лучшие впеатления от роскоши в Греции

Особые впечатления от отдыха в стране, где роскошь встречается с мифом
age of chivalry - Rhodes

10 самых популярных архитектурных памятников Греции

Средневековые города и традиционные деревни, белые дома и высокие крепости - все это визитная карточка греческой архитектуры

Patmos

An island revelation with a touch of the divine
High on the hill above Hora, The Monastery of St John the Theologian
Scroll
Today
25°
FRI
23°
SAT
24°
SUN
25°
MON
25°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Surrender yourself to the mysticism and tranquility of the island of the Apocalypse

Grandeur and serenity. That’s what you feel when you enter the streets of Hora and the monastery of Patmos. For many years, during Orthodox Easter and all summer long, Patmos has been frequented by intellectuals, artists, royalty and discerning visitors from all over the world. Small and secluded yet spectacular all the same, it is the island of the Apocalypse, “The Jerusalem of the Aegean”, and has a deep relationship with religion.

Mystical experiences await you here in the Dodecanese: In the dark cave where St John the Divine wrote the book of Revelation, the Monastery of St John the Theologian, and the labyrinthine streets of Hora with its aristocratic homes. Discover an island-monument that Unesco has declared a World Heritage Site.

 

What to do on Patmos

The Cave of the Apocalypse

This sacred, candlelit grotto is believed to be the spot where St John the Divine received his visions from Christ and transcribed the Book of Revelation, the last chapter of the Christian Bible. Exiled on Patmos in 95 AD, he preached to and baptised the island’s inhabitants. Eventually, Patmos came to be considered sacred and the cave became the focal point of a significant religious pilgrimage.

Next to godliness

High on the hill above Hora, the Monastery of St John the Theologian is an important centre of worship. This monastery, with its significant religious history and imposing architecture, rises grandly over the Aegean and dominates life on Patmos. The monastic community here has existed for over 900 years and the relics, rare documents, icons and other Orthodox treasures in the monastery are invaluable.

It was established in 1088 by the Byzantine monk St Christodoulos the Blessed. Each Easter, on the night of the Resurrection, the Holy Light makes its way from Jerusalem to Patmos. Likewise, on Holy Thursday, the church service of Niptiros (which occurs only in Patmos and in Jerusalem) is an event that never fails to inspire.

Picture-perfect Hora

Feudal lords and wealthy merchants and captains from the 16th to the 19th century have all left their mark on Hora. As you walk in the shadow of the imposing buildings with Gothic and neoclassical features, pass under the arcades and archways and head long alleyways that barely fit two people, it isn’t hard to understand why it’considered one of the most stately island towns in the Aegean.

Ask to be shown the sights and stately homes of Vardikou, Palaiologou, Valvi, Foundi (of Leonton) and be transported to another time. At Nikolaidi, which has been converted into an exceptional museum, you will find a representation of a traditional home in Patmos, as well as many archaeological discoveries.

Kalikatsou: Solid as a rock

This huge rock juts out of the water and looks like a sculpture in the sea. It is a significant archaeological site. Researchers believe it was once a temple of Aphrodite and continued to be a place of worship well into the Christian era. Climb up and see the carving in the rock, water reservoirs for sacred rituals and small caves where offerings were made. The view from the top is breathtaking, as the Aegean Sea unfolds at your feet.

 

Hidden gems of Patmos

Kathismata

These small monastic units in caves were created by monks. Beside their hermitages, they also built small temples.

Prophiti Elias

Experience the view from the highest point of the island. All around you are caves and large rocks scattered everywhere, as if they were tossed from above. And in the distance is the reassuring presence of the big blue Aegean Sea.

A historic pathway

A walk on Aporthiano road is worth your while. This old trail unites Hora with the port, Skala.

The windmills of Hora

Experience the best of Patmos

High on the hill above Hora, The Monastery of St John the Theologian

Discovering the mystical aura of Patmos’ Hora

There’s a Byzantine mysticism and Italian finesse to Patmos’ main town that reveal themselves with every step you take.
  • Picture-perfect Hora
  • A historic pathway
  • Prophiti Elias
  • The Cave of the Apocalypse
  • Next to godliness
  • Kalikatsou: Solid as a rock
Highlights

Plan your trip

 

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Painted pots – some filled with water for extra acoustics – are thrown with aplomb from balconies

Celebrating Easter in Greece

Everywhere in Greece seems to celebrate Easter in its own way
age of chivalry - Rhodes

The 10 most important architectural monuments in Greece

Medieval cities and traditional villages, white houses bleached by the sun and formidable castles… a tour of Mediterranean architecture and history in a nutshell.
The windmills of Hora

The Dodecanese: An island chain made for hopping

From Rhodes and Kos to lesser-known Karpathos, Astypalea, Leros and Patmos