Aujourd'hui
21°
FRI
21°
SAT
21°
SUN
22°
MON
21°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
L’île de l’Apocalypse et du style cosmopolite vous invite à un voyage d’inspiration et de paix intime

Grandeur et sérénité sont les sentiments que vous ressentez quand vous flânez dans les ruelles de la Hora et ses monastères. Depuis des décennies, pendant les Pâques orthodoxes ou en été, Patmos constitue une destination de prédilection pour les intellectuels, les artistes et les diverses célébrités venant des quatre coins du monde. Une petite île dans le complexe du Dodécanèse mais spectaculaire, Patmos est surtout l’île de l’Apocalypse.

La «Jérusalem de la Mer Egée». Visitez-la afin de découvrir son caractère mystique, sa relation profonde avec la religion et la paix intime dans la cave sombre où St Jean l’Evangéliste a écrit le texte de l’Apocalypse et son monastère à Hora. Laissez-vous perdre dans le labyrinthe des ruelles avec les demeures patriciennes et partez à la découverte des ermitages des ascètes. Vivez l’expérience d’une île-monument, classée Monument de l’Héritage Culturel Mondial par l’UNESCO.

 

Attractions à Patmos

La Grotte de l’Apocalypse

Vous êtes assis dans cette grotte sacrée, éclairée par la seule lumière des bougies, qui est considérée comme l’endroit où St Jean a eu des visions qu’il a transcrit dans le texte de l’Apocalypse, dernier livre de la Bible. Il y fut exilé à l’île en 95 ap. JC et il y a prêché et fait baptiser ses habitants. Ainsi, au fil du temps, l’insignifiante Patmos est devenue un important lieu de pèlerinage religieux mondial.

Un lieu de culte au cœur de la Mer Égée

Tout en haut de la Hora, au cœur de la mer Égée, se dresse le monastère de St-Jean l’Evangéliste avec son histoire séculaire et son architecture remarquable qui domine la vie de Patmos. La communauté monastique y compte plus de 900 ans de vie qui ont doté le monastère de reliques, de livres, d’icônes et d’autres trésors orthodoxes d’une valeur inestimable.

Il a été fondé par le moine St Chistodoulos en 1088, une des plus éminentes figures de l’ascétisme byzantin. Pendant la nuit de la Résurrection précédant Pâques, le feu sacré arrive directement de Jérusalem et le Jeudi Saint, le service de Niptir (du lavement des pieds), unique au monde orthodoxe avec celui de Jérusalem, attire nombreux pèlerins et visiteurs.

Une Hora sortie de l’histoire

Du XVIème au XIXème, les habitants de Patmos, des seigneurs féodaux, des riches marchands, des capitaines de vaisseaux, ont laissé des traces indélébiles à sa Hora. Elle est considérée, à juste raison, comme la plus impressionnante capitale des îles égéennes. En montant ses ruelles, qui ne peuvent accueillir à certains endroits que deux personnes seulement, vous serez impressionnés par le nombre des demeures imposantes, de style gothique ou néoclassique et vous traverserez des arcades et des arches remarquables.

Demandez à visiter les maisons des maîtres-attractions de la Hora et transportez-vous à des époques d’antan: les maisons de Vardikos, de Palaiologos, de Valvis et de Founti (avec les lions) vous éblouiront. Dans la résidence de Nikolaïdi, transformée en Musée, vous trouverez une maison traditionnelle de Patmos et beaucoup de découvertes archéologiques.

La pierre de Kalikatsou

Kalikatsou, un rocher surdimensionné, ressemble à une sculpture qui surplombe la mer. En fait, c’est un important site archéologique où, selon les archéologues, se trouvait un sanctuaire d’Aphrodite actif pendant fort longtemps, même pendant l’ère chrétienne. En l’escaladant, vous découvrirez les écorchures dans sa masse, les réservoirs d’eau pour les rituels sacrés et les petites grottes artificielles pour le dépôt des offrandes. La vue de son sommet est à couper le souffle. Toute la mer Égée est à vos pieds!

 

Trésors cachés de Patmos

Les Kathismata (sièges)

Vous n’allez pas vous y asseoir, mais si vous allez à leur découverte, ils vont vous récompenser. Car ces sont en fait des petites grottes aménagées par des ascètes, assorties parfois de petites constructions, dédiées au culte orthodoxe.

L’ascension à Profitis Ilias

Du haut de Profitis Ilias, le plus haut point de l’île, la vue est unique: des rochers dispersés tels tombés du ciel, des grottes et - au loin- la mer Égée . 

L’ancienne route d’Aporthianos

Aporthianos, l’ancienne route à travers les champs, qui conduit de la Hora à la Skala (le port) vous fascinera par sa beauté. Cette expérience vous sera l’une des plus fascinantes que l’île vous offrira.

The windmills of Hora

Vivez le meilleur de Patmos

High on the hill above Hora, The Monastery of St John the Theologian

Découvrir l'aura mystique de Chóra de Patmos

Il y a un mysticisme byzantin et une finesse italienne dans la ville principale de Patmos qui se révèlent à chaque pas que vous faites....
  • Une Hora sortie de l’histoire
  • L’ancienne route d’Aporthianos
  • L’ascension à Profitis Ilias
  • La Grotte de l’Apocalypse
  • Un lieu de culte au cœur de la Mer Égée
  • La pierre de Kalikatsou
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Stroll along the maze of alleyways, through vaulted archways and past dazzlingly white and mostly immaculately maintained houses

9 façons de ressentir la spiritualité de Patmos

Il est incroyable de voir à quel point Patmos peut rendre la paix et la simplicité si gracieuses.
Painted pots – some filled with water for extra acoustics – are thrown with aplomb from balconies

Pâques en Grèce

La fête du printemps!
age of chivalry - Rhodes

Les 10 plus célèbres monuments architecturaux en Grèce

Cités médiévales et villages traditionnels, maisons blanchies par le soleil et magnifiques châteaux: l’incomparable identité architecturale grecque

Patmos

An island revelation with a touch of the divine
High on the hill above Hora, The Monastery of St John the Theologian
Scroll
Today
25°
FRI
23°
SAT
24°
SUN
25°
MON
25°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Surrender yourself to the mysticism and tranquility of the island of the Apocalypse

Grandeur and serenity. That’s what you feel when you enter the streets of Hora and the monastery of Patmos. For many years, during Orthodox Easter and all summer long, Patmos has been frequented by intellectuals, artists, royalty and discerning visitors from all over the world. Small and secluded yet spectacular all the same, it is the island of the Apocalypse, “The Jerusalem of the Aegean”, and has a deep relationship with religion.

Mystical experiences await you here in the Dodecanese: In the dark cave where St John the Divine wrote the book of Revelation, the Monastery of St John the Theologian, and the labyrinthine streets of Hora with its aristocratic homes. Discover an island-monument that Unesco has declared a World Heritage Site.

 

What to do on Patmos

The Cave of the Apocalypse

This sacred, candlelit grotto is believed to be the spot where St John the Divine received his visions from Christ and transcribed the Book of Revelation, the last chapter of the Christian Bible. Exiled on Patmos in 95 AD, he preached to and baptised the island’s inhabitants. Eventually, Patmos came to be considered sacred and the cave became the focal point of a significant religious pilgrimage.

Next to godliness

High on the hill above Hora, the Monastery of St John the Theologian is an important centre of worship. This monastery, with its significant religious history and imposing architecture, rises grandly over the Aegean and dominates life on Patmos. The monastic community here has existed for over 900 years and the relics, rare documents, icons and other Orthodox treasures in the monastery are invaluable.

It was established in 1088 by the Byzantine monk St Christodoulos the Blessed. Each Easter, on the night of the Resurrection, the Holy Light makes its way from Jerusalem to Patmos. Likewise, on Holy Thursday, the church service of Niptiros (which occurs only in Patmos and in Jerusalem) is an event that never fails to inspire.

Picture-perfect Hora

Feudal lords and wealthy merchants and captains from the 16th to the 19th century have all left their mark on Hora. As you walk in the shadow of the imposing buildings with Gothic and neoclassical features, pass under the arcades and archways and head long alleyways that barely fit two people, it isn’t hard to understand why it’considered one of the most stately island towns in the Aegean.

Ask to be shown the sights and stately homes of Vardikou, Palaiologou, Valvi, Foundi (of Leonton) and be transported to another time. At Nikolaidi, which has been converted into an exceptional museum, you will find a representation of a traditional home in Patmos, as well as many archaeological discoveries.

Kalikatsou: Solid as a rock

This huge rock juts out of the water and looks like a sculpture in the sea. It is a significant archaeological site. Researchers believe it was once a temple of Aphrodite and continued to be a place of worship well into the Christian era. Climb up and see the carving in the rock, water reservoirs for sacred rituals and small caves where offerings were made. The view from the top is breathtaking, as the Aegean Sea unfolds at your feet.

 

Hidden gems of Patmos

Kathismata

These small monastic units in caves were created by monks. Beside their hermitages, they also built small temples.

Prophiti Elias

Experience the view from the highest point of the island. All around you are caves and large rocks scattered everywhere, as if they were tossed from above. And in the distance is the reassuring presence of the big blue Aegean Sea.

A historic pathway

A walk on Aporthiano road is worth your while. This old trail unites Hora with the port, Skala.

The windmills of Hora

Experience the best of Patmos

High on the hill above Hora, The Monastery of St John the Theologian

Discovering the mystical aura of Patmos’ Hora

There’s a Byzantine mysticism and Italian finesse to Patmos’ main town that reveal themselves with every step you take.
  • Picture-perfect Hora
  • A historic pathway
  • Prophiti Elias
  • The Cave of the Apocalypse
  • Next to godliness
  • Kalikatsou: Solid as a rock
Highlights

Plan your trip

 

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Painted pots – some filled with water for extra acoustics – are thrown with aplomb from balconies

Celebrating Easter in Greece

Everywhere in Greece seems to celebrate Easter in its own way
age of chivalry - Rhodes

The 10 most important architectural monuments in Greece

Medieval cities and traditional villages, white houses bleached by the sun and formidable castles… a tour of Mediterranean architecture and history in a nutshell.
The windmills of Hora

The Dodecanese: An island chain made for hopping

From Rhodes and Kos to lesser-known Karpathos, Astypalea, Leros and Patmos