Фермопилы

Путешествие по героической истории греции
Leonidas statue Thermopylae
Scroll
Сегодня
12°
FRI
SAT
SUN
MON
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Место одного из самых славных сражений всех времён. Символ героизма на все времена

Вы в Центральной Греции. Долина простирается  до самого моря. Покой. Течение реки Сперхиос и течение веков сгладили пейзаж. Ущелье Фермопил  уже больше не узкий проход. Взгляните на Леонида. Он во всеоружии и готов атаковать. Отрывки картин сражения смущают разум. Долина заполняется ордами персов с одной стороны и горсточкой спартанцев с другой. Слышны крики и скрежет металла.  Откройте для себя величие души героев, идущих на верную гибель ради свободы, и вы почувствуете силу и энергию этого места – символа храбрости и самопожертвования.

Стоит увидеть в Фермопилах

Фермопилы, как ценность и образ жизни. Слово поэту:

Фермопилы

Честь вечная и память тем, кто в буднях жизни 
воздвиг и охраняет Фермопилы. 
Кто, долга никогда не забывая, 
во всех своих поступках справедлив, 
однако милосердию не чужд. 
Кто щедр в богатстве, 
но и в бедности посильно щедр 
и руку помощи всегда протянет. 
Кто, ненавидя ложь, лишь правду говорит, 
но на солгавших зла в душе не держит....

                                                (перевод С. Ильинской, изд. 1986)

Всемирно известный греческий поэт Константин Кавафис, вдохновлённый Фермопилами, написал одноимённый шедевр в честь Героев сражения.

Сражение на Фермопилах: урок истории всему человечеству

Стратегическое расположение между заливом Малиакос и горами Каллидромос, расположенный у берега моря в древности проход Фермопилы (Пилы – ворота) превратило эту местность в арену военных сражений. Самым знаменитым сражением  в 480 г. до н. э. стала битва между греками и персами. 300 Спартанцев во главе с Леонидом  и 700 Феспийцев, которых предал Эфиалт, сражались с невыразимым героизмом и были убиты  ордами воинов Ксеркса.

Памятник  Леониду, предводителю героев

Статуя Леонида возведена напротив исторического холма Колонос в 1950 году и размещена  у основного прохода, где и разыгрался заключительный этап битвы, о чём свидетельствует  количество найденных археологами  железных и медных копий  5 века до н. э.  у подножия холма. На протяжении многих лет монумент находился вблизи старой Национальной  дороги Афины-Ламия. В настоящее время, после постройки новой магистрали, вы можете добраться до памятного места, съехав со скоростной трассы по указателю Фермопилы или Камена Вурла.

Целебные источники в Фермопилах

Согласно мифологии горячие источники этой области созданы Гефестом по просьбе богини Афины, которая хотела сделать подарок Гераклу. Фермопилы действуют как водолечебный курорт с 1935 года, и в близлежащей деревне с одноимённым названием находится современный геотермальный курорт Центральной Греции.

Камена Вурла: остановка для отдыха в спа-центре

Для путешественников это красивое место – повод для того,  чтобы отдохнуть и выпить  кофе, наслаждаясь видом моря в тени деревьев. Для отдыхающих - современный курорт с горячими источниками, гостиницами, ресторанами, магазинами. Знаменитый курортный город, построенный у подножия горы Книмис, окружён прекрасными пляжами.

Скрытые сокровища в Фермопилах

Купальни Милос Кониавити и Источник Афродиты

Шесть бассейнов с горячей водой целебных источников бесплатно предоставляют путешественникам уникальную возможность оздоровления и омоложения.

Агиос Константинос: морские ворота к островам Спорады

Из этого прибрежного посёлка вблизи курорта Камена Вурла можно отправиться в путешествие на острова Скиатос, Алонисос, Скопелос и на другие острова Эгейского моря. Искупатесь в бирюзовой воде Агиоса Константиноса.

Монастырь Преображения Господня

На расстоянии 4 км выше купален курорта Камена Вурла, под сенью горы Книмис находится монастырь Преображения Господня. Ощутите благочестие этого места и насладитесь великолепным видом на моря, который открывается с балкона монастыря.

  • Сражение на Фермопилах: урок истории всему человечеству
  • Памятник Леониду, предводителю героев
  • Целебные источники в Фермопилах
  • Камена Вурла: остановка для отдыха в спа-центре
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
In central Evia there is Dirfis and its alpine landscapes

Центральная Греция

Из глубочайших недр Греции бьет неиссякаемый источник живительной энергии - дар земли путешественникам.

Thermopylae

Travel to the heart of history
Leonidas statue Thermopylae
Scroll
Today
12°
THU
13°
FRI
15°
SAT
14°
SUN
15°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Site of one of the most memorable battles in history and a timeless symbol of heroism

You are in Central Greece. You gaze out over the now serene valley spreading towards the sea. The Spercheios River and the centuries have tamed the landscape and widened it so that the pass is no longer narrow. But in your mind’s eye, you see Leonidas in full armour, ready to attack.

Images flash through your mind as you begin hurtling through the history of Ancient Greece. You see the site as it was, a truly narrow pass, with hordes of Persians on the one side and a handful of Greeks on the other. You can almost hear the clash of steel and the screams of the wounded. The real meaning of heroism and the glory of dying for the idea of freedom stand revealed. The power and force of the site’s symbolism move you more than you expect.

What to do in Thermopylae

In the words of the poet

Thermopylae

Honour be to those who choose
to devote their lives to guarding Thermopylae; steadfast in their duty;
just and measured in word and deed,
but also merciful and kind;
generous in times of wealth, and in times of hardship,
come what may, giving of their best;
always truthful themselves,
yet without rancour for the deceitful.
And even greater honour be to those
who foresee (and many do)
that Ephialtes will inevitably emerge
and the Barbarians will in the end break through.

The famous Greek poet Constantine Cavafy wrote these words in honour of the heroes of Thermopylae (translation Rania Vasileiadou, July 2017).

The Battle of Thermopylae: universal history lessons

In antiquity, the pass at Thermopylae, between Mt Kallidromos and the Maliakos Gulf, was the only practical route for large armies to reach southern Greece and thus the site of many a skirmish. The most famous battle occurred in 480 BC, when 300 Spartans under King Leonidas, along with 700 Thespians, delayed the vast army of Xerxes in a legendary last stand, following the betrayal by Ephialtes, who showed the Persians how to outflank the Greek forces.

Monument to the leader of heroes

A tribute to the memory and history of heroes: In the 1950s a monument depicting Leonidas in full armour was placed opposite the historic hill of Kolonos, at the central gate of the ancient pass where the final stage of the battle was fought. Mounds of 5th-century bronze and iron spearheads were found at the foot of the hill. In the past, the Athens-Lamia national road ran by here but the new national road requires that you use the exit at Themopyles or Kamena Vourla in order to visit the monument.

The hot springs of Thermopylae

According to mythology, the area’s hot springs were created by Hephestus at Athena’s request, as a gift for Hercules. The modern spa was built in 1935 and the village of Thermopyles – the name means Hot Gates – has developed into an important spa resort in Central Greece.

Kamena Vourla

For travellers, Kamena Vourla is a good place to stop for a coffee under the shade of trees next to the sea. For vacationers, it’s a timeless holiday resort offering hot springs, hotels, restaurants and shops. The spa, built at the foot of Mt Knimi, is surrounded by beautiful beaches.

Hidden gems of Thermopylae

Loutra Mylos, Koniaviti and Pigi Afroditis

Six cisterns fed by hot springs freely offer visitors a singular opportunity for revitalisation and invigoration.

Agios Konstandinos: gateway to the Sporades

This coastal town near Kamena Vourla is the point of departure for ferries to Skiathos, Alonissos, Skopelos and other north Aegean islands. Take a dive into the blue-green sea before you travel.

The Monastery of Metamorfosi Sotiros

Around 4km above the spa town of Kamena Vourla, you’ll find the Monastery of Metamorfosi Sotiros (Transfiguration of the Saviour). Feel the aura of this holy place from the monastery’s balcony and take in the amazing sea view.

  • The Battle of Thermopylae: universal history lessons
  • Monument to the leader of heroes
  • The hot springs of Thermopylae
  • Kamena Vourla
Highlights

Plan your trip

 

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
In central Evia there is Dirfis and its alpine landscapes

Tap into the life essence of Central Greece

For those seeking a holiday that revitalises in every way, get to the heart of the matter in Central Greece