Thermopyles

Voyage au cœur de l’histoire
Leonidas statue Thermopylae
Scroll
Aujourd'hui
22°
FRI
26°
SAT
27°
SUN
25°
MON
24°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Théâtre d’une des batailles les plus célèbres de tous les temps, symbole d’héroïsme à travers les siècles

Vous vous trouvez en Grèce Centrale. Vous observez la vallée qui s’étend nonchalamment jusqu'à la mer. La sérénité totale. Le fleuve Spercheios et les siècles ont aplani le paysage. Le passage de Thermopyles n’est plus si étroit. Vous tournez votre regard vers Léonidas, tout armé et prêt à attaquer. Des centaines d’images envahissent vos pensées. Voyage à l’histoire de la Grèce antique. La vallée redevient étroite avec les troupes des Perses d’un côté et une poignée de Grecs de l’autre. Vous entendez les cris, le bruit du métal et des corps qui se battent. Vous découvrez la grandeur d’esprit des héros prêts à mourir pour une idée: celle de la liberté. Vous comprenez la force et l’énergie d’un lieu qui symbolise le courage et le sacrifice.

Attractions à Thermopyles

Le symbolisme de la bataille de Thermopyles dans les mots du poète

Le grand poète grec Constantin Cavafy, en s’inspirant de l’histoire des Thermopyles a écrit le poème portant le même nom, un chef d’œuvre littéraire en l’honneur des héros de la vie.

Thermopyles

Honneur à ceux qui dans leur vie

se sont donnés comme tâche la défense des Thermopyles.
Ne manquant jamais à leur devoir;
justes et droits dans leurs actes,
mais cependant compatissants envers les autres; 
généreux s'ils sont riches, et s'ils sont pauvres 
encore présents, selon leurs moyens, 
prêts encore à porter secours; 
n'hésitant point à dire la vérité, 
et cependant sans haine pour les hâbleurs. 
Mais ils sont encore plus dignes d'éloge 
lorsqu'ils prévoient (et beaucoup le savent) 
qu'Ephialte ne manquera pas d'apparaître 
et qu'en définitive les Mèdes forceront le passage. 

La bataille de Thermopyles: les acquis universaux de l’histoire

Avec son emplacement stratégique entre le golfe Maliaque et le mont Kallidromo, le passage des Thermopyles a fait de la région le théâtre d’importantes opérations militaires. La plus célèbre dans son histoire, fut la bataille de 480 avant J.-C., entre les Grecs et les Perses. Les 300 soldats Spartiates et les 700 Thespiens de Léonidas, trahis par Ephialtès, ont tous été massacrés sous l’ordre de Xerxès, après avoir combattu héroïquement.

Un monument pour le commandant des héros

Hommage à la mémoire et à l’histoire. Un monument qui représente Léonidas tout armé a été placé en face de la colline de Kolonos dans les années ’50.  Il fut placé sur la porte centrale du passage, à l’endroit où a eu lieu le troisième jour de la bataille comme l’indique l’entassement de lances en fer et en bronze datant du Vème siècle avant J.-C. au pied de la colline. Pendant longtemps le monument donnait sur l’autoroute nationale d’Athènes- Lamia. Depuis la construction de la nouvelle autoroute, vous devez prendre la sortie pour Thermopyles ou Kamena Vourla pour le visiter.  

Les eaux thermales à Thermopyles

D’après la mythologie, les eaux thermales de la région ont été créées par Héphaïstos, à la demande d’Athéna qui voulait les offrir à Hercule. La station thermale existe depuis 1935 et le village portant le même nom est désormais une importante station thermale de la Grèce Centrale.

Kamena Vourla: une station de rafraichissement

Pour les voyageurs, Kamena Vourla est une bonne occasion de faire une pause pour prendre un café les pieds dans l’eau, sous l’ombre des arbres. Pour les visiteurs, c’est une station balnéaire classique des vacances avec ses eaux thermales, ses hôtels, ses restaurants et ses magasins. La station thermale de renom, construite au pied du mont Knimis, est entourée de belles plages.

Trésors cachés de Thermopyles

Les eaux thermales de Mylos Koniavitis et de la Piyi Afroditis (Source d’Aphrodite)

Six bassins aux eaux thermales sont gratuits et accessibles à tous les voyageurs qui souhaitent en profiter pour faire une pause de revivification et reprendre des forces.

Aghios Konstantinos: port d’entrée pour les Sporades

Ce village au bord de l’eau proche de Kamena Vourla est le point de départ de tous les voyageurs qui partent pour SkiathosAlonnissosSkopelos et les autres îles de la mer Égée. Cela vaut la peine de faire un plongeon dans ses eaux turquoises.

  • La bataille de Thermopyles: les acquis universaux de l’histoire
  • Un monument pour le commandant des héros
  • Les eaux thermales à Thermopyles
  • Kamena Vourla: une station de rafraichissement
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
In central Evia there is Dirfis and its alpine landscapes

Grèce-Centrale

Du noyau ardent du pays provient l’énergie vivifiante; don de la terre pour le voyageur.

Thermopylae

In the footsteps of the 300
Leonidas statue Thermopylae
Scroll
Today
25°
TUE
21°
WED
20°
THU
22°
FRI
24°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
The site of one of the most memorable battles in history and a timeless symbol of heroism

You gaze out over the now serene valley spreading towards the sea in Central Greece. The Spercheios River and the centuries have tamed the landscape and widened it so that the pass is no longer narrow. But in your mind’s eye, you see Leonidas in full armour, ready to attack. Images flash through your mind as you begin hurtling through the history of Ancient Greece. You see the site as it was, a truly narrow pass, with hordes of Persians on the one side and a handful of Greeks on the other. You can almost hear the clash of steel and the screams of the wounded. The real meaning of heroism and the glory of dying for the idea of freedom stand revealed. The power and force of the site’s symbolism move you more than you expect.

What to do in Thermopylae

In the words of the poet

Thermopylae

Honour be to those who choose
to devote their lives to guarding Thermopylae; steadfast in their duty;
just and measured in word and deed,
but also merciful and kind;
generous in times of wealth, and in times of hardship,
come what may, giving of their best;
always truthful themselves,
yet without rancour for the deceitful.
And even greater honour be to those
who foresee (and many do)
that Ephialtes will inevitably emerge
and the Barbarians will in the end break through.

The famous Greek poet Constantine Cavafy wrote these words in honour of the heroes of Thermopylae (translation Rania Vasileiadou, July 2017).

The Battle of Thermopylae: A universal history lesson

In antiquity, the pass at Thermopylae, between Mt Kallidromos and the Maliakos Gulf, was the only practical route for large armies to reach southern Greece and thus the site of many a skirmish. The most famous battle occurred in 480 BC, when 300 Spartans under King Leonidas, along with 700 Thespians, delayed the vast army of Xerxes in a legendary last stand, following the betrayal by Ephialtes, who showed the Persians how to outflank the Greek forces.

A monument to the leader of heroes

A monument depicting Leonidas in full armour is found opposite the historic hill of Kolonos, at the central gate of the ancient pass where the final stage of the battle was fought. Mounds of 5th-century bronze and iron spearheads were found at the foot of the hill. In the past, the Athens-Lamia national road ran by here but the new national road requires that you use the exit at Themopyles or Kamena Vourla in order to visit the monument.

The hot springs of Thermopylae

According to mythology, the area’s hot springs were created by Hephestus at Athena’s request, as a gift for Hercules. The modern spa was built in 1935 and the village of Thermopyles (the name means Hot Gates) has developed into an important spa resort in Central Greece.

Kamena Vourla

For those making long journeys up or down the National Highway, Kamena Vourla is a good place to stop for a coffee under the shade of trees next to the sea. For vacationers, it’s a holiday resort offering hot springs, hotels, restaurants and shops. The spa, built at the foot of Mt Knimi, is surrounded by beaches.

Hidden gems of Thermopylae

Loutra Mylos, Koniaviti and Pigi Afroditis

Six cisterns fed by hot springs offer visitors revitalisation and invigoration.

Agios Konstandinos: Gateway to the Sporades

This coastal town near Kamena Vourla is the point of departure for ferries to Skiathos, Alonissos, Skopelos and other islands in the northern Aegean. You can have a dip at a nearby beach if you have time.

The Monastery of Metamorfosi Sotiros

Around 4km above the spa town of Kamena Vourla, you’ll find the Monastery of Metamorfosi Sotiros (Transfiguration of the Saviour). Feel the aura of this holy place from the monastery’s balcony and take in the amazing sea view.

  • The Battle of Thermopylae: A universal history lesson
  • A monument to the leader of heroes
  • The hot springs of Thermopylae
  • Kamena Vourla
Highlights

Plan your trip

 

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Hiking to the Black Cave and Via Ferrata

11 ways to reconnect with nature in Central Greece

Whatever your reason for coming to Central Greece, you’ll revel in discovering a part of the country that’s way off the chart for most international visitors.
In central Evia there is Dirfis and its alpine landscapes

Tap into the life essence of Central Greece

For those seeking a holiday that revitalises in every way, get to the heart of the matter in Central Greece