Skiathos town Nick Karvounis
Scroll
Heute
22°
TUE
24°
WED
23°
THU
23°
FRI
24°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Ein schickes Publikum, erstklassige Strände und eine reiche Geschichte locken Sie in dieses grüne Sommerparadies

Von dem tiefen Grün der Bäume bis zu den stylischen Bars und Restaurants – Skiathos zieht ihre Besucher mit einem einzigartigen Vibe in ihren Bann. Ideal für weltoffene, internationale Reisende mit Anspruch und ein Lieblingsziel für Segler und Yachtbesitzer. In dem lebhaften Yachthafen liegen Boote aller Art – auch zum privaten Chartern verfügbar – angedockt. Der Strand-Service ist einwandfrei und die Nächte in der Hora sind lebendig und bieten viel Spaß.

Die spektakulären Strände Lalaria und Koukounaria gehören zu den besten in Griechenland. Die Burg aus dem 14. Jahrhundert, der Lebensraum der Strofilias, die Höhlen… die Schönheit von Skiathos ist allgegenwärtig. Die Insel ist der perfekte Gastgeber und die Einheimischen sorgen dafür, dass die Besucher eine unvergessliche Zeit erleben werden. Es wird schnell klar, warum treue Fans Jahr für Jahr wiederkommen.

Besichtigen Sie auf Skiathos

Der Strand Lalaria

Dieser blendend schöne Strand und seine Landschaft bieten Ihnen ein unvergessliches Bild: Kristallklares Wasser, glatte, weiße Kieselsteine, steile Klippen, die ins Meer stürzen. Kleine Boote und Yachten bringen Besucher aus der ganzen Welt hierher, um diesen einmaligen Strand mit eigenen Augen zu sehen.

Koukounaries und der See Strofilias: Urlaub in der Natur

Entdecken Sie den zweiten Strand, über den ganz Skiathos spricht: Koukounaries. Berühmt für seinen goldenen Sand gilt dieser scheinbar endlose lange Strand als einer der natürlichsten im Mittelmeer. Der Strand ist von einem dichten Pinienwald umgeben, hinter ihm liegt der See Strofilias, ein einzigartiger Lebensraum, der vielen seltenen Vögeln eine Heimat bietet.

Hora und Bourtzi:  Ein stattliches Willkommen

Am Hafen werden Sie von Bourtzi begrüßt, einer kleinen Insel voller Kiefern und den Ruinen einer venezianischen Festung, die im 13. Jahrhundert erbaut wurde. Die Hora breitet sich wie ein Amphitheater über die Landschaft aus, die roten Dächer leuchten wie Rosenblüten im Stadtbild.

Treffpunkt: Papadiamanti-Straße

Dies ist der Haupttreffpunkt jeder Nacht. Cafés und Bars pulsieren mit Leben und die Restaurants, Tavernen und Boutiquen sind voller Menschen. Auch Sie werden hier Verabredungen treffen.

Lokale Legende: Alexandros Papadiamantis

Bekannt als der „Heilige der modernen griechischen Literatur“ war Alexandros Papadiamantis ein bedeutender und einflussreicher griechischer Schriftsteller. Er wurde in Skiathos geboren und erwähnt seinen Geburtsort häufig in seinen Arbeiten. In seinen Geschichten beschreibt er die Insel, wie sie im 19. Jahrhundert war. Das Papadiamantis-Museum befindet sich direkt im Zentrum der Hora.

Leinen los zur Burg!

Obwohl auch der Landweg zum Kastro (Burg) wunderschön ist, die Bootsfahrt ist doch noch beeindruckender. Wenn Sie kein eigenes Boot haben: es gibt täglich Touren von der Stadt Skiathos. Die Burg liegt im nördlichen Teil der Insel und wurde im 14. Jahrhundert gebaut, um Skiathos vor Piraten zu schützen. Heute ist der mystische Reiz immer noch fesselnd. Hier können Sie Kunstwerke in zwei der 22 überlebenden alten Kirchen bewundern, Wandmalereien der Geburt Christi und die Keramiken vom Heiligen Nikolaus. Eine Reise durch die Geschichte mit Blick auf die Ägäis.

Unendlich viele Strände

Hier haben Sie die Qual der Wahl zwischen den
Traumstränden  Big Banana, Troullos, Agia Paraskevi, Kanapitsa, Xanemos und Megalos Aselinos. Die Strandbars, Tavernen direkt am Wasser, Sonnenschirme, Sonnenliegen und Wassersportarten machen Skiathos‘ Strände zum Highlight.

Versteckte Juwelen auf Skiathos

Die Meereshöhlen

Urlaub heißt Entdeckungen und die Meereshölen von Skiathos warten nur darauf. Mit dem Boot (problemlos auch zu mieten) können Sie diese Naturwunder erforschen: Pounta, Fonissa und Altanous warten auf Entdeckung.

Der Leuchtturm

Heidnischer Altar, christlicher Turm oder venezianische Burg? Finden Sie das kreisförmige Gebäude bei Pyrgi in den Eichen und lassen Sie Ihrer Fantasie freien Lauf.

Das Kloster Evangelistria

Die Steinwände erinnern an die Kloster auf dem Berg Athos. Die Burg steht seit 1794 an der nordöstlichen Spitze von Skiathos.

Alongside its natural beauty, Koukounaries beach is accompanied by an array of sunbeds, watersports and bars

Erleben Sie das Beste von Skiathos

Koukounaries has been winning over the hearts of visitors to Skiathos for decades

Lassen Sie sich vom natürlichen Charme des Strandes von Skiathos in Koukounaries verführen

Naturliebhaber werden die hervorragende Lage am See und den goldenen Sandstrand am westlichen Ufer von Skiathos lieben.
Lalaria’s unique shiny pebbles and other-worldly setting make for an unforgettable day trip

Eine Bootsfahrt zum abgelegenen und wilden Lalaria-Strand von Skiathos

Wie kein anderer Strand auf Skiathos ist Lalaria berühmt für seine einzigartigen, glänzenden Kieselsteine und die weltfremd wirkende Umgebung, die für einen unvergesslichen Tagesausflug sorgen.
  • Der Strand Lalaria
  • Hora und Bourtzi: Ein stattliches Willkommen
  • Das Kloster Evangelistria
  • Leinen los zur Burg!
  • Koukounaries und der See Strofilias: Urlaub in der Natur
  • Die Meereshöhlen
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Navagio beach from above

Die 10 schönsten strände in Griechenland

Smaragdgrünes Wasser, vulkanische Felsformationen, goldener Sand oder glatte Kieselsteine. Lernen Sie die zehn besten Strände in Griechenland kennen
Gruppe von Freunden am Strand

Urlaub für jugendliche in Griechenland

Wunderschöne griechische Inseln, exotische Strände, Sonne und Meer, Roadtrips, Abenteuer in den Bergen und Nonstop-Nachtleben

Nearby destinations

You might also be interested in exploring

Skiathos

The emerald-green sparkle in the Sporades
Skiathos town Nick Karvounis
Scroll
Today
16°
FRI
18°
SAT
17°
SUN
17°
MON
17°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
A chic crowd, first-rate beaches and a rich history bring an irresistible allure to this lush green island

From its deep green trees to its rockin’ bars and restaurants, Skiathos invites you to take part in its distinctive and spirited vibe. Perfect for those who demand high standards, it has long been a premier destination for cosmopolitan travellers, particularly those on yachts and sailboats cruising the Mediterranean. At its lively marina, boats of all kinds – many available for private charter – are docked side by side. 

Meanwhile, the beach service is flawless. Nights in Hora are lively and fun and the spectacular beaches Lalaria and Koukounaria are among the best in Greece. The 14th-century castle, the habitat of Strofilias, the caves… there’s beauty on Skiathos at every turn. Youthful and exuberant, this is an island on which you can be sure that the locals will go out of their way to make your stay unforgettable!

What to do on Skiathos

Lalaria beach: Beauty that knows no bounds

This dazzlingly beautiful beach and surrounding landscape put Skiathos on the map. Prepare for crystal-clear waters, smooth white pebbles, steep cliffs that plunge into the sea. Little boats, yachts and day cruises bring visitors here to experience its splendour.

Natural wonders: Koukounaries and Lake Strofilias

Discover the second-most talked about beach on Skiathos, Koukounaries. Famous for its golden sand, this seemingly endless beach is considered one of the most naturally beautiful in the Mediterranean. It is embraced by a dense pine forest, behind which is Lake Strofilias, a unique habitat that is home to a variety of rare birds.

Hora and Bourtzi: A stately welcome

Entering the port, you are welcomed by Bourtzi: A pine-wood islet that is home to the ruins of a 13th-century Venetian fortress. Across the way, Skiathos’ main town (Hora) rises up from the shore like an amphitheatre, with its cluster of homes with blossom-red rooftops.

Meet you at Papadiamanti St

This is the main meeting point every night and where your holidays will take on the rhythm of the island. Cafes and bars throb with life, while restaurants, tavernas and stylish boutiques are sure to entice you in.

Local Legend: Alexandros Papadiamantis

Known as the “patron saint of modern Greek literature", Papadiamantis was an influential Greek writer. Here’s your chance to find out more about this towering figure. Born on Skiathos, his work frequently features his birthplace. You will discover in his stories another side to the island, as it was in the 19th century. The Papadiamantis house-museum is located right in the centre of Hora.

Sail away ... to the castle

Although also accessible by land, a great way to arrive at beautiful, isolated Kastro (Castle) is by boat. (If you don’t have your own, tours leave from Skiathos town daily.) Located in the northern part of the island, it was built in the 14th century to protect the Skiathians from pirates. Today, its mystical allure is captivating. Admire the art in two of the 22 surviving churches and marvel at the murals depicting the Nativity of Christ and the ceramics of St Nicholas.

An infinite ring of beaches

There are so many terrific beaches on Skiathos that you’ll be scratching your head about where to go first. Here’s a sample of some of the names to pique your interest: Big Banana (that got your attention!), Troullos, Agia Paraskevi, Kanapitsa, Xanemos and Megalos Aselinos. With beach bars, water-front tavernas, umbrellas, sunbeds and watersports, Skiathos’ beaches have your maximum comfort and enjoyment as their primary design feature!

Hidden gems of Skiathos

The sea caves

Holidays mean adventure and exploration and, so, the sea caves of Skiathos await! As long as you have a boat (and it’s easy to hire one with a skipper) Pounta, Fonissa and Altanous are all waiting to be discovered.

The watchtower

Pagan altar, Christian spire or Venetian castle? Find the circular building at Pyrgi, hidden among the oaks, and let your imagination run wild.

The monastery of Evangelistria

The stone walls make it look like a monastery on Mount Athos. Located on the northeastern tip of Skiathos, it has been there since 1794. 

Alongside its natural beauty, Koukounaries beach is accompanied by an array of sunbeds, watersports and bars

Experience the best of Skiathos

Koukounaries has been winning over the hearts of visitors to Skiathos for decades

Be seduced by the natural charms of Skiathos’ Koukounaries beach

Nature lovers will adore the lakeside setting and a beach of golden sand on the western shores of Skiathos.
Lalaria’s unique shiny pebbles and other-worldly setting make for an unforgettable day trip

A boat trip to Skiathos’ remote and wild Lalaria beach

Like no other beach on Skiathos, Lalaria is famous for its unique shiny pebbles and other-worldly setting that make for an unforgettable day trip.
  • Lalaria beach: Beauty that knows no bounds
  • Hora and Bourtzi: A stately welcome
  • The monastery of Evangelistria
  • Sail away ... to the castle
  • Natural wonders: Koukounaries and Lake Strofilias
  • The sea caves
Highlights
The very best of Skiathos in 6 days
An island of radiant blues and greens, Skiathos shares its gifts generously with everyone who visits – from the vibrant main town to the legendary beaches that celebrate everything magical about the Aegean,
Discover It
A boat trip to Skiathos remote and wild Lalaria beach
12 incredible places in Greece you have to see to believe
You know the feeling when you find a place you can’t wait to tell people about. Somewhere you know everyone should visit at least once.
Discover It
Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

Plan your trip

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Navagio beach from above

10 of the best beaches in Greece

They’re award winners all. You’ve seen their photos, peacock blue-green waters and golden sand and smooth pebbles.
Group of friends having fun on the beach

Where to go with your friends in Greece

Beautiful Greek islands, exotic beaches, off-road adventures and nonstop nightlife: the recipe for a fun-filled holiday in Greece

Nearby destinations

You might also be interested in exploring