L’Attique

Historique et cosmopolite
Here she is, standing proudly at the top of the Sacred Rock… the best known temple of the ancient world, the Parthenon
Scroll
Aujourd'hui
33°
FRI
32°
SAT
32°
SUN
31°
MON
31°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Avec Athènes, au centre de l’histoire et de la civilisation moderne, des plages innombrables et un accès facile aux merveilleuses îles saroniques.

Attique: Synonyme d’Athènes, la ville la plus historique de l'Europe et en même temps une métropole vibrante. L'Attique, entre autres, comprend la plus large région d'Athènes qui s’étend autour du centre historique, les banlieues, le littoral de la "Riviera athénienne» sur la côte sud, la côte est, les îles près d'Athènes, mais aussi Cythère qui se trouve au sud du Péloponnèse. Découvrez l’Attique: elle offre une pléthore d'options et constitue la destination la plus facilement accessible grâce à sa connexion directe à tous les pays. Votre connaissance avec la région de l’Attique commence bien sûr à partir d’Athènes. 

Athènes de la culture, de l'Acropole, de l'Agora Ancienne, du Nouveau Musée de l’Acropole, de Plaka, du centre historique. La ville entière d'Athènes est un musée en plein air à l'intérêt immense et rempli de découvertes. La richesse historique et culturelle d'Athènes se complète de son profil jeune et moderne qui en fait une ville idéale pour les vacances en ville. Des hôtels de luxe, d'excellents restaurants avec toutes sortes de cuisines, des cafés en terrasse, des centres commerciaux pour des heures infinies de shopping, mais aussi pour les vieux marchés pittoresques, les galeries avec des expositions d'art contemporain, les boutiques d'art et les antiquaires.

Les magnifiques plages de l’Attique et du golfe Saronique

À quelques minutes du centre d'Athènes, découvrez la cosmopolite “Riviera athénienne”, cette ligne côtière du sud qui s’étend de Palaio Faliro jusqu’au Cap Sounion. Avec des esplanades sur l'eau, des bars de plage, des ports de plaisance et des grands groupes hôteliers, des dizaines de choix pour la restauration et le divertissement à côté de la mer, vivant en permanence dans le rythme des vacances d'été. Vous allez vous tenir étourdis au Cap Sounion devant l'imposant Temple de Poséidon et le magnifique coucher de soleil. 

Vous trouverez aussi des plages de sable fin aux eaux belles et claires, organisées pour la plupart, dans les lilliputiens îlots-bijoux du golfe Saronique. En hydroglisseur, à partir du port du Pirée, vous découvrirez Égine, Poros, Hydra avec sa ville préservée ainsi que l’île noble de Spetsès. Ces îles sont idéales pour une excursion d'une journée. L’île de Cythère, d'autre part, revendique plus de jours de votre programme puisqu’elle demande à vous déplacer au sud du Péloponnèse. Il est incontestablement bien mérité de découvrir cette île unique avec ses châteaux, ses grottes sacramentelles, ses criques pittoresques, ses villages et ses plages pour tous les goûts.

De la Culture jaillissant de partout

L'Acropole avec le Parthénon et le Nouveau Musée de l'Acropole -parmi les meilleurs musées archéologiques à travers le monde- est un must pour les visiteurs. De Thisseio à la Pnyx, la rue piétonne Dionyssiou Areopayitou, et Plaka avec son quartier d’Anafiotika et Monastiraki, vous admirerez des sites archéologiques, des monuments antiques et byzantins, des temples, des bâtiments néoclassiques avec une grande histoire. 

Des musées tels que le Musée Archéologique National, le Musée d'Art Populaire Grec et le Musée des Instruments Grecs Traditionnels, le Musée de la Guerre, le Nouveau Musée Benaki, le Musée Numismatique, le Musée d'Art Cycladique et des dizaines d'autres à travers l'Attique, vont enrichir vos connaissances sur Athènes et la civilization grecque à travers leurs collections et expositions. De même que la Pinacothèque Nationale, le Planétarium, la Fondation du Monde Hellénique et des dizaines de galeries et espaces d'art dans le centre-ville. Au cap Sounion vous allez vous tenir étourdis devant l'imposant Temple de Poséidon, et à Égine vous ressentirez l'énergie unique qui dégage le temple d'Athéna Aphaia sur un emplacement de pins magnifique.

Voyages en mer à l'ombre de l'Acropole

En bateau, vous ferez l'expérience de l'ensemble des côtes de la «Riviera athénienne» et vous voyagerez aux îles du golfe Saronique situées à très courte distance d'Athènes. Vous trouverez des ports de plaisance organisés à Zea, Floisvos, Faliro-SEF, Alimos, Glyfada, Vouliagmeni et dans toutes les petites îles. Pour tous les sports nautiques dirigez-vous à la région de Vouliagmeni, à la plage d’Asteras, à la plage organisée de Varkiza, à Anavissos. Les eaux du lac Vouliagmeni disposent des propriétés curatives. Plusieurs endroits sur les plages de la "Riviera athénienne» et de Faliro sont idéaux pour la marche et le cyclisme.

Attique: mille et une offres de gastronomie 

Les offres gastronomiques en Attique sont immésurables, selon la zone que vous allez vous déplacer. À Athènes et sa banlieue vous trouverez des tavernes et des bars d'ouzo, des tavernes, des grillades, des restaurants avec cuisine grecque proposant en même temps la musique grecque live, des pubs et bars à vin, des cafés-restaurants servant 24 heures sur 24. En outre, des restaurants gastronomiques avec cuisine créative et chefs célèbres, toute sorte de cuisines - française, italienne, indienne, chinoise, japonaise, méxicaine-, des bar à tapas, des restaurants pour végétariens ou d'autres encore qui se spécialisent dans la fameuse cuisine crétoise. Cave à vins avec une variété de toute la Grèce et de l'étranger. 

Si vous allez vous diriger à la plage, vous pourrez profiter de poissons et fruits de mer frais, que vous accompagnerez d’ouzo et d'excellents vins, près de la mer. Dans les îles du golfe Saronique il y a aussi des dizaines de choix de restauration avec un accent sur les fruits de mer. À Égine, un déjeuner avec des fruits de mer, juste apportés par les pêcheurs, constitue une expérience authentique, de même que se restaurer au très pittoresque port de Perdika, fréquenté également par ceux qui disposent d’un bateau. À Spetses, vous vivrez des moments magiques dans les restaurants de luxe du Vieux Port.

Les plus célèbres attractions de l'Attique

  • Le Rocher de l'Acropole: La pierre angulaire de la Civilisation Européenne. C’est ici que vous admirerez les créations du Siècle d’Or de Périclès : le Parthénon, les Propylées, le Temple d’Athéna Niké, l’Erechthéion avec les fameuses Caryatides. De même que d’autres monuments majeurs comme le théâtre de Dionysos et le Théâtre d’Hérode Atticus, l’Aréopage, Pnyx, le Céramique, l’Agora Ancienne et l’Agora Romaine, les Colonnes du Temple de Zeus Olympien, la Porte d’Hadrien.
  • Le Centre Historique d’Athènes : À partir de la place Syntagma, descendez la rue Ermou jusqu’à Monastiraki, ou marchez jusqu’à Thissio et Keramikos. La place Avissinias est particulièrement pittoresque. Alternativement, dirigez-vous aux avenues Stadiou et Panepistimiou avec les bâtiments néoclassiques, le Musée Numismatique et les boutiques de toute sorte.
  • Κolonaki: Le quartier aristocratique du centre d’Athènes. Découvrez-le!
  • Plaka: Une promenade exceptionnelle à la rue Adrianou, aux ruelles de Plaka ou à Anafiotika dans le centre historique d’Athènes.
  • Psiri & Gazi: Les quartiers de Psiri et Gazi sont des lieux de rencontre branchés de la ville d’Athènes.
  • Le littoral spectaculaire de l’Attique: Des balades le long de la côte jusqu’à Glyfada, banlieue célèbre avec de nombreux bars et cafés branchés, des restaurants et son excellent marché. C’est aussi le terminus d’un tramway au trajet de toute beauté, en bord de mer, qui commence à Syntagma.
  • Les îles du golfe Saronique: Hydra avec ses manoirs et ses maisons de capitaine du XVIIIe siècle, Spetses la cosmopolite avec son Vieux-Port (Palio Limani) et Égine avec ses bâtiments «capodistriens» (du nom du premier Gouverneur du pays Kapodistrias) et ses épiceries flottantes,petit, Agistri la microscopique parsemée de pins, Poros la majestueuse.
  • Cythère: Découvrez le château vénitien de la Hora, Palaiohora, la cité-forteresse ravagée par le pirate terrible Barbarossa, la grotte d’Aghia Sofia aux stalactites et les figures des saints peintes sur les murs.
The temple of Poseidon, Sounio, Athens Riviera

Vivez le meilleur de l’Attique

Here she is, standing proudly at the top of the Sacred Rock… the best known temple of the ancient world, the Parthenon

Le rocher sacré de l’Acropole

Découvrez personnellement la raison derrière laquelle l’un des plus grands monuments du monde continue à émettre cette énergie spéciale sur toute la ville qui l’a...
Discover the wonder of the acropolis museum

Découvrez les merveilles du musée de l’Acropole

Le musée raconte si chaleureusement l’un des meilleurs voyages culturels dans le monde, un musée qui devrait figurer dans la liste des meilleurs endroits à...
Streets of Plaka, Athens

Ressentir l’ambiance d’Athènes autour de l’Acropole

En utilisant l’acropole comme boussole, une ville aux charmes et contrastes extraordinaires s’ouvre devant vous.
As the capital of Greece, Athens offers an equally wide range of fine dining options

Une visite culinaire d'Athènes

La scène gastronomique d'Athènes n'a jamais été aussi excitante, avec de nouvelles tendances et des quartiers jusque-là inconnus propulsés sur la carte des gourmets. Des...
  • Acropoli
  • Musée d’Acropolis
  • Temple de Poséidon
  • Riviera Athénienne
  • Anafiotika, Plaka
  • Jardin national
Highlights

Destinations

Spetses the Argosaronic island of captains

Spetsès

Sur l’île où la finesse rencontre la légende
Birdsview of Poros island

Pôros

L’île charmeuse du Golfe Saronique
Fisherman in Hydras port

Hydra

L’île noble “noble” de l’Argosaronique

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Incredible Sarakiniko beach, a trip to the moon in Milos island

Destinations populaires pour des expériences de voile dans la mer Égée

Naviguer sur la mer Égée au choix d’îles et d’îlots innombrables et aux expériences uniques. Faites-en la découverte à l’aide du vent, sur votre voilier
Stone houses with sea view in Monemvasia

En voilier autour du Péloponnèse

Destinations populaires pour des expériences de voile inoubliables
Spetses the Argosaronic island of captains

Destinations populaires pour des expériences de voile près d’Athènes

En voilier au golfe Saronique

Athens - Attica

Historic and cosmopolitan, from city to coast
Here she is, standing proudly at the top of the Sacred Rock… the best known temple of the ancient world, the Parthenon
Scroll
Today
11°
MON
11°
TUE
10°
WED
10°
THU
10°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Attica means Athens: the epicentre of history and culture, endless beaches along the glamorous Athenian Riviera and easy access to the beautiful islands of the Saronic Gulf

Attica is synonymous with Athens, one of the world’s most historically significant cities and a modern metropolis, buzzing with life. But its magic extends far beyond the centre, all the way down the Attica peninsula as far as Cape Sounion. Its coastline is filled with beaches, marinas, five-star resorts and smaller hotels, and dozens of restaurants and bars overlooking the sea. And let’s not forget the islands near Athens and Kythira, just south of the Peloponnese.

The historical and cultural wealth of Athens, combined with the modern and youthful vibe, make it an ideal city break destination. On the one hand, you have the iconic Acropolis and its world-famous museum, the Ancient Agora, Plaka and the historic centre. And on the other, the high-end restaurants, sidewalk cafes, shops, picturesque markets, galleries with contemporary exhibitions, and art and antique shops.

So whether part of a city break or an add-on to a longer holiday, your stay in Attica will have everything.

The beautiful beaches of Attica and the Saronic Gulf

The Athens Riviera stretches along the southern coastline of Attica, from Paleo Faliro (north of Piraeus) to Sounion on the southeastern peninsula. Many are organised, with sunbeds and umbrellas and lively beach bars and restaurants on the water. And there are dozens of dining options, including seaside tavernas serving fresh seafood. Life here moves to the rhythms of summer all year long. 

At Sounion, you will stand awe-struck before the imposing Temple of Poseidon, especially during an energising sunset. And the easy-to-reach island gems of the Saronic Gulf, with their sandy beaches, are perfect for a day trip or weekend getaway. From the port of Piraeus, take the hydrofoil or ferry to Aegina, Poros, Hydra or Spetses. Kythira, on the other hand, will claim a few more days of your itinerary, as it requires you to travel towards the south of the Peloponnese to reach it. But this unique island (which administratively belongs to Attica) is worth discovering. It has castles, sacred caves, picturesque coves, villages and beaches for all.

Culture springs eternal

Athens is an open-air museum. Must-sees are the Acropolis and the Acropolis Museum, one of the finest in the world. Strolling along the pedestrian walkway of Dionysiou Areopagitou, and through the districts of Anafiotika and Monastiraki in the shadow of the Acropolis, you’ll admire archaeological sites, ancient and Byzantine monuments, churches and neoclassical buildings steeped in history. 

Museums such as the National Archaeological Museum on Patission Avenue, the Museums of Greek Folk Art and Musical Instruments, the War Museum, the new Benaki Museum on Pireos Street and the original Benaki Museum in Kolonaki, the Numismatic Museum and the Museum of Cycladic Art will enrich your knowledge of Athens and its history. As will the National Gallery, the Planetarium, the Foundation of the Hellenic World and the dozens of art galleries in the city centre. 

Head to the coast

The best way to get to know the Athens Riviera and the islands of the Saronic Gulf is by boat. You’ll find marinas to dock your yacht in Zea, Flisvos (with shades of Monaco), Faliro, Alimos, Glyfada, Vouliagmeni and all of the nearby islands. For all sorts of water sports, make your way to Vouliagmeni, as well as the organised beaches of Varkiza and Anavysos, often ideal for wind- and kite-surfing. The warm water in Lake Vouliagmeni is known for its therapeutic properties. And the coast also boasts paved paths that are perfect for walking and biking.

A thousand-and-one gourmet options

Your choices for dining in Athens are infinite and vary according to neighbourhood. In Athens and the suburbs, you’ll find ouzeries and mezedopolia serving delectable small dishes, and of course tavernas and local restaurants offering traditional Greek cuisine often accompanied by live music. The city also has several beer halls and wine bars, and all-day cafe-restaurants. 

The city offers an international array of cuisines – French, Italian, Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Mexican and tapas, as well as restaurants specialising in vegetarian and vegan food. You’ll find cellars stocked with wines from all over Greece and the world. And if you head towards the southern suburbs, you’ll find tavernas on the water serving freshly-caught seafood with ouzo and fine wine. On the islands of the Saronic Gulf, seafood is the speciality. Ιn Aegina, the food at the picturesque port of Perdika is particularly noteworthy. And in Spetses, head to the restaurants that line the Old Port.

The most popular sights

  • The Acropolis: The cornerstone of European civilisation, the Acropolis is a reminder of what mankind is capable. You’ll learn about the timeless creations of Athens’ Golden Age, including some of the most famous monuments in the world: the Parthenon, the Propylaia, the Temple of Athena Nike and the Erechtheum with its famous Caryatids. For a fuller picture, you’ll also want to visit other important Athenian monuments: the Theatres of Dionysos and Herodes Atticus, the Areopagus, Pnyx, Ancient Cemetery of Kerameikos, Ancient Agora, Roman Forum… The list goes on.
  • The historic centre: From Syntagma Square, stroll down the famous shopping street of Ermou until you reach Monastiraki, and from there you’ll enter the old markets with souvenir and antique shops. Avissinias Square, with its flea market, is particularly picturesque. And head Stadiou and Panepistimiou avenues, with their iconic buildings, historic cafes and all manner of restaurants and stores.
  • Kolonaki: This aristocratic neighbourhood of central Athens offers a wide array of choices, with chic cafes, high-end restaurants and cool boutiques.  
  • Plaka: The walk from Adrianou Street, through the shaded squares and streets of Plaka, to Anafiotika with its Cycladic architecture, is one of a kind.
  • Psyrri & Gazi: The neighbourhoods of Psyrri and Gazi are hip hangouts emitting youthful energy, full of restaurants, cafes and bars.
  • The coastline: Walk along Attica’s coast, especially around Glyfada, the stylish southern suburb with its trendy bars, excellent restaurants and vibrant shopping scene. You’ll find it towards the end of the tram line that starts at Syntagma and follows a scenic route along the sea.
  • Saronic Gulf islands: On these islands close to Athens, you’ll be greeted by an entirely different atmosphere. You’ll visit Hydra with its grand mansions and 18th-century captains’ homes, cosmopolitan Spetses with its picturesque Old Port, Aegina with its Capodistrian buildings and floating grocers, stately Poros and tiny, pine-studded Agistri.
  • Kythira: Further afield is Kythira, where an imposing Venetian castle rises above the Hora, overlooking the pretty seaside village of Kapsali, with its twin bays. Worth visiting are the smaller Venetian castle at Mylopotamos and the cave-chapel of Agia Sophia with its frescoes among the stalactites.
The temple of Poseidon, Sounio, Athens Riviera

Experience the best of Attica

Here she is, standing proudly at the top of the Sacred Rock… the best known temple of the ancient world, the Parthenon

The sacred rock of the Acropolis

Discover up close and personal why one of the greatest cultural landmarks of the world continues to emit a special energy over the city it...
Discover the wonder of the acropolis museum

Discover the wonder of the Acropolis museum

One of the great cultural journeys of the world is beautifully told in a museum that deserves to be at the top of the bucket...
Strolling around the picturesque alleyways of Plaka

Feeling the vibes of Athens around the Acropolis

Using the Acropolis as your compass, a city of extraordinary contrasts and charms opens up beneath your feet
As the capital of Greece, Athens offers an equally wide range of fine dining options

A culinary tour of Athens

The Athens food scene has never been so exciting, with new trends and previously unknown neighbourhoods being propelled onto the foodie map. From the classics...
  • The Acropolis
  • Acropolis Museum
  • Temple of Poseidon, Cape Sounion
  • Athens Riviera
  • Anafiotika neighborhood, Plaka
  • National Garden
Highlights

Destinations around Athens

Spetses the Argosaronic island of captains

Spetses

Style and sophistication in the Saronic Gulf
Birdsview of Poros island

Poros

The vintage isle with a pine-green charm
Fisherman in Hydras port

Hydra

The noble isle in the Argosaronic Gulf

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Incredible Sarakiniko beach, a trip to the moon in Milos island

Popular sailing destinations in the Aegean

What better way to see the Aegean than by boat? All you have to do is decide which islands to hop to and which unexplored bays to anchor in
Stone houses with sea view in Monemvasia

Sailing destinations around Peloponnese

Discover secluded coves, historic ports and ancient settlements in an unforgettable seafaring setting
Spetses the Argosaronic island of captains

Popular destinations for sailing experiences near Athens

Islands close to Athens