Spetsès

Sur l’île où la finesse rencontre la légende
Spetses the Argosaronic island of captains
Scroll
Aujourd'hui
MON
TUE
11°
WED
10°
THU
12°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
La Dolce Vita sur l’île des capitaines, des rois et des maisons bourgeoises sur fond du golfe Saronique

L’Armata, Bouboulina, le Vieux Port, l’air noble et la “Douce Vie”… À proximité d’Athènes, cette petite île cosmopolite à l’ambiance exceptionnelle, vous donnera l’envie d’y retourner. Destination idéale pour de petites escapades durant toute l’année, mais aussi pour les vacances d’été, Spetsès vous donnera le sentiment d’être unique, partie d’une « élite ». Vous prendrez votre café à Dapia, en contemplant en face la Costa et Porto-Heli.

Vous visiterez la Place de l’Horloge, les maisons bourgeoises à la plage d’Aghios Nikolaos, les chantiers navals, le musée de la capitaine de la Révolution Bouboulina et la maison de Hatzigiannis-Mexis. Vous verrez l’édifice historique légendaire « Poseidonion ». Vous ferez vos déplacements en calèche, à vélo ou à pied. Tandis qu’au Vieux Port, lîle de Spetsès vous offrira des moments inoubliables.

 

Attractions à Spetsès

Tour en calèche

Un air cosmopolite et noble. Vivez comme les personnalités célèbres d’antan, qui arrivaient au Poseidonion en calèche. Montez pour une expérience romantique dans l’après-midi dans une des 33 calèches qui existent encore sur l’île, en passant par le Vieux Port, Aghios Nikolaos, Dapia. Le tour de Spetsès en une promenade!

Une histoire de 5.000 ans

L’histoire de cette île compte 5.000 ans - les vases découvertes en forme de bec d’oiseau datés de 3.000 av. JC attestent de son... ancienneté! Des maisons néoclassiques, des maisons de capitaines, des ancres antiques, des canons de la Révolution de 1821, l’île a une grande histoire nautique. Ne manquez pas la maison qui abrite le musée de Bouboulina, cette femme importante de la Révolution de 1821, où il y a une exposition de ses objets personnels.

Aussi, il faut visiter la maison – musée de Hatzigiannis-Mexis, parmi les maisons les plus distinguées de Spetsès , où se trouve l’ossuaire de la capitaine héroïque. Vous rencontrerez également, dans des salles spécialement conçues du musée, des trouvailles de l’épave d’Irion datant de 1.200 av. JC.

Le port à ne pas manquer

Une fête commence tous les soirs autour du quartier animé du Vieux Port de Spetsès , lieu de rencontre des visiteurs et des locaux. Bougies sur les tables, quais et terrasses romantiques, plats de gourmet et du vin, musique douce, conversations vives, rires… Et quand la nuit avance, les bars et les clubs vous attendent pour la suite… Ce sont certainement des vacances avec du style dont vous profiterez sur cette île cosmopolite du golfe Saronique.

Kounoupitsa et « le Mage »

Flânez dans le quartier de Kounoupitsa et ne manquez pas la légendaire école Anargyrios et Korgialenios. Faites un tour dans les jardins et regardez les édifices néoclassiques qui se trouvent sur ce côté de l’île. Saviez-vous que, parmi les professeurs d’anglais qui ont enseigné ici était l’écrivain primé John Fowles, créateur du roman « Le Mage » qui se passe à Spetsès ?

 

Trésors cachés de Spetsès

Les vieux chantiers navals

Est-ce que vous saviez que Spetsès fut le deuxième centre de chantiers navals en Grèce ? Dans le cœur du Vieux Port, l’image des vieux chantiers navals et des charpentes qui sont encore construites ici, va vous impressionner. Et une surprise: à la fin de votre promenade aux chantiers navals, en bas du Phare, vous trouverez les sculptures de l’artiste Natalia Mela ayant l’air de contempler le golfe Saronique. 

La maison du bienfaiteur

Le nom de Sotirios Anarghyros est très connu aux habitants de Spetsès , comme c’est lui qui a financé, entre autres, la construction du fameux édifice historique de Poseidonion. Derrière la Dapia, vous verrez sa maison. Une des plus belles maisons de style néoclassique de la Grèce de 1904.

The beaches

Ne pensez pas qu’il n’y a pas de plages à Spetsès . Des plages de sable ou de cailloux, aux eaux cristallines et à l’ombre des pins, vous attendent à Aghia Marina, Kouzounos, Xylokeriza, Aghii Anarghyri, Vrellos, Scholes, Zogeria.

  • Tour en calèche
  • Les vieux chantiers navals
  • La maison du bienfaiteur
  • Kounoupitsa et « le Mage »
  • Les plages de Spetses
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Spetses the Argosaronic island of captains

Destinations populaires pour des expériences de voile près d’Athènes

En voilier au golfe Saronique
Hydra's alleyways

Les îles à proximité d’Athènes

Longue histoire, caractère unique, style élégant, visiteurs raffinés ; pour vacances ou petites escapades tout au long de l’année

Spetses

Style and sophistication in the Saronic Gulf
Spetses the Argosaronic island of captains
Scroll
Today
17°
SUN
19°
MON
19°
TUE
19°
WED
19°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Live a lavish lifestyle on the Argosaronic island of captains, kings and VIPs

The Armada, the Greek heroine Laskarina Bouboulina, the Old Port, the aristocratic ambience. This cosmopolitan island near Athens will make you want to return again and again. An ideal destination for a quick retreat all year round, Spetses has the ability to make you feel unique, special, exclusive. Enjoy a leisurely coffee in Dapia, taking in the view of Kosta and Porto Heli across the water.

Visit the Clock Tower Square, the well-kept captains’ mansions below Agios Nikolaos monastery, the boatyards, Bouboulina’s museum and the Mansion of Hatzigianni-Mexi. Experience the ambience of the legendary Poseidon building, which has hosted royalty, politicians and VIPs. Horse-drawn carriages, bicycles and walking will be your only modes of transportation. This island has forever been a favourite destination for high society, as reflected in the smart cafes, art stores and stylish boutiques that populate the Old Port. Luxury and local tradition coexist on this beautiful island.

What to do on Spetses

Aristocratic ambience

Since the use of cars is restricted on the island, horse and carriage remains the preferred mode of transport. Live like the luminaries and nobility that arrived in this manner at the world-renowned Poseidon hotel. Take a romantic evening ride in any of the 33 horse and buggies that still exist on the island, passing the picturesque Old Port, Agios Nikolaos and Dapia.

Local legends

Admire the local architecture: neoclassical captains' homes and cannons from the revolution of 1821. This island is steeped in 5,000 years of rich history, and locals are eager to tell the tales of their nautical victories and local heroes. Archaeological finds on the island date back to 3,000 B.C.  Don’t miss the Bouboulina Museum, where a plethora of her personal items is on display. The Mansion of Hatzigianni Mexi (the first governor of Spetses) is another must-see, as it’s one of the most spectacular stately homes.

A swanky scene

There is no end to the festivities in the cosmopolitan neighbourhood of the Old Port, where the rich rub shoulders with the locals. Here wealthy Athenians moor their yachts, and socialise with their international neighbours. Candlelit tables, jetties and romantic terraces, gourmet dining and fine wine, soft music and lively conversation. As the evening progresses, there are plenty of bars and clubs to choose from, promising stylish holidays on this lively island in the Argosaronic.

The magic of Spetses

Wander around the neighbourhood of Kounoupitsas and don’t miss the legendary Anargirio and Korgialenio School. Take a stroll in its well-tended gardens and admire the beautiful neoclassical buildings on this side of the island. Did you know that among the English teachers that taught here was the award-winning writer John Fowles, creator of The Magus, based partly on his experiences on the island?

See you at The Armata!

Thousands of visitors descend upon the island to experience the annual Armata – a week-long celebration (starting September 8), in honour of the naval victories of Spetses, Hydra and Psara against the Turks in 1822. In addition to the impressive fireworks and religious rituals, it is a week filled to the brim with cultural happenings, feasting and festivities.

Hidden gems of Spetses

The old boatyards

Did you know that Spetses was the second biggest shipping centre in Greece? In the heart of the Old Port, the sight of old boatyards is sure to impress you. You can still watch the builders practise their craft in time-honoured fashion. At the end of your stroll around the old boatyards, under the lighthouse, you’ll find the sculptures of Natalia Mela, gazing out at the Argosaronic.

The benefactor

The name Sotirios Anargyros means a lot to the locals of Spetses, since he is the one that financed, among other things, the building of the historical Poseidon. His house is located behind Dapia. Built in 1904, it is one of the most beautiful neoclassical homes in Greece.

The beaches

Agia Marina, Kouzounos, Ksilokeriza, Vrelos, Scholes, Zogeria … crystal-clear waters, secluded beaches with pebbles and sand, shaded by pines, are all just walking distance away. And at the beach of Agio Arnargyros, you’ll discover Bekiris Cave, one of the island’s most beautiful natural attractions.

  • Aristocratic ambience
  • The old boatyards
  • The benefactor
  • The magic of Spetses
  • Spetses' beaches
Highlights

Plan your trip

 

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Spetses the Argosaronic island of captains

Popular destinations for sailing experiences near Athens

Islands close to Athens
Hydra's alleyways

Islands close to Athens

Hydra, Spetses, Poros, Aegina, Tzia/Kea: the islands near Athens, with history, style and distinguished visitors are ideal for a quick getaway all year round
Trees with golden leaves at autumn in Valia Κalda

Autumn holidays in Greece