Hellenic temple at Corfu island
COVER STORY

Sur Corfou, les plus beaux lieux pour votre Instagram

READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour savourer une salade grecque

Ces couleurs, ces bâtiments, cette mer… et, par-dessus tout, cette incroyable lumière. Il y a tant de choses à partager sur Corfou! Nous faisons donc notre part du travail pour découvrir ce que nous préférons sur l’île… ses plages, ses villages, ses baies et ses marinas, et bien sûr ses habitants… en capturant Corfou dans ce qu’elle a de plus beau à montrer sur Instagram!

Plein feu sur les plages

Chaque plage a une histoire à raconter. Peut-être… mais sur Corfou, les centaines de plages qui bordent la côte – chacune avec son caractère, ses couleurs et son ambiance – vont plus loin encore. Elles racontent votre histoire. Empruntez la longue jetée en bois sur la plage d’Apraos : vous êtes aussitôt transporté sur un podium pour un défilé d’été. Mais au lieu d’un public admiratif, des deux côtés, vous êtes entouré par la mer Ionienne. Peut-être avez-vous plutôt besoin de 2 km de sable pour choisir l’endroit pour la photo idéale ? Alors, un panorama sur la plage d’Issos est fait pour vous. Pour des criques cachées qui ne révèlent toute leur majesté que vues d’en haut (avec le vert d’une forêt de pins et des eaux turquoises), vous enverrez un drone à Rovinia ou à Porto Timoni. Et pour la photo que tout le monde vous enviera une fois rentré chez vous, oubliez le sable et les chaises longues… jetez simplement un coup d’œil aux rochers de La Grotto, à Palaiokastritsa ! Sorry, not sorry !

Une vieille ville débordante de vie

Le plus captivant dans Corfou, c’est qu’elle est pleine de vie. La nature, la culture… mais surtout, la vieille ville elle-même. Vénitienne, française, anglaise et bien sûr grecque… les influences de jadis sont partout. Mais voyez comme elle vibre ! Où que vous vous tourniez, une story Instagram est possible. Prenez votre temps pour vous promener dans les ruelles et parmi les anciens monuments: les places Dimarchiou et Spianada (avec l’hôtel de ville qui domine la première), les marchés colorés et la majestueuse tour de l’horloge (d’autant plus mémorables pour les rues piétonnes). Prenez tout en photo et pensez à regarder vers le haut… oh, ces balcons, qui reflètent l’esprit de la Corfou d’aujourd’hui!

Où que vous regardiez, des bateaux dignes d’Instagram

Corfou entretient avec la mer une relation longue et très personnelle. Où que vous vous tourniez… au large de la péninsule de Kouloura, vers les plages de ChouchouliouAgios Stefanos et Palaiokastritsa, ou encore près du vieux moulin à vent de la baie de Garitsa… S’il y a un petit rocher ou une petite baie de rêve, un bateau digne d’Insta y a élu domicile. Ou peut-être un vieux bateau de pêcheur, au repos sur le rivage, abandonné mais qui s’accroche encore à ses contes de marins. Et puis, il y a les yachts étincelants de Gouvia Marina, la première marina privée de l’île, qui vous incitent à venir les voir de plus près.

Une tranche de vie dans les villages

Pourtant, impossible que vous restiez en ville ! Avec tant de villages parsemés dans l’île, vous pouvez vous diriger à l’intérieur des terres ou vers la côte – où que vous emmène votre instinct de photographe. Ces magnifiques tables rondes en céramique au kafeneio de Lakones, la cour remplie de bougainvillées violettes à Chlomos, l’accueillante petite taverna de pierre à Palaia Peritheia, les pavés d’Afionas et la verdure tropicale de Gastouri… Ou peut-être, simplement, un barman qui prépare fièrement une boisson l’après-midi attirera-t-il votre œil de photographe, ou encore les aînés du village qui regardent tranquillement la vie suivre son cours.

À chacun son coucher de soleil

Au moment de partir, vous cherchez le souvenir qui vous restera. Le coucher de soleil parfait pour Instagram. Nous n’allons pas prétendre vous connaître : vous allez devoir décider par vous-même. Que choisirez-vous…? La lueur dorée sur les paysages de montagne vus de Pelekas? Les longues ombres projetées par le soleil couchant, tandis que vous vous promenez dans la vieille ville? Un apéritif le soir dans un bar de Paramonas Beach? Vous et les enfants prenant des selfies à l’observatoire du Kaiser? Ou les mots chuchotés sur un banc pour deux à Afionas, dominant la légendaire mer Ionienne? Préparez vos réglages pour un time-lapse… il ne faut pas manquer cela!

Corfou

Sur Corfou, les plus beaux lieux pour votre Instagram

Vous pouvez déjà imaginer votre flux Instagram… tous ces bleus et verts de la mer Ionienne, ces plages de rêve tout à vous, les villages, les habitants et cette photo unique de coucher de soleil dont vous seul avez le secret seront parfaits dans vos Highlights.

Top des choses à faire à Corfou

Paleokastritsa bay

 

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 destinations grecques incroyables à voir absolument

5 raisons de ne pas manquer Kavala

Giola lagoon the natural pool carved into the rock by the sea in Thassos

5 raisons de ne pas manquer Thassos

Multiple footpaths allow you to explore the countryside of Central greece

Top 5 (+1) des activités physiques en Grèce centrale

Snorkeling in the Blue Caves of Zakynthos

9 raisons d'aimer Zakynthos

10 conseils d'habitants pour visiter Samos

Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 destinations grecques incroyables à voir absolument

Snorkeling in the Blue Caves of Zakynthos

9 raisons d'aimer Zakynthos

Vlacherna monastery and Pontikonisi in Corfu

Top 8 des choses à faire sur Corfou

Aerial photo of competition sport paddle surfing or sup between 2 men in tropical waters of Vouliagmeni beach, Athens riviera, Attica, Greece

Surfing, ski nautique, wakeboard: les plus populaires des destinations en Grèce

Easter pot smashing on Corfu

Pâques sur les îles Ioniennes

Aerial view of Corfu Old Town, Greece
COVER STORY

Most instagrammable places to visit on Corfu

Hide Video
READING TIME
until you eat your greek salad

Those colours, those buildings, that sea… and, above all, that incredible light. There’s so much about Corfu that simply has to be shared. So we’re doing our bit to find out what we love most about the island… its beaches, its villages, bays and marinas, and of course its people… capturing Corfu at its instagrammable best.

Beaches that steal the show

Every beach tells a story. Maybe… but on Corfu, the hundreds of beaches along the coastline – each with its own special character, colour and mood – go one step further. They tell your story. Take the long, wooden-planked pier on Apraos beach. Instantly, you’re transported onto a summer catwalk. But instead of admiring spectators either side of you, you’re flanked by the Ionian Sea. Or maybe you need a full 2km of sand to choose your spot? Well, then it’s a panorama shot on Issos beach for you. For hidden coves that only reveal their full majesty from above (pine-forest greenery and turquoise waters), you’ll be sending up a drone at Rovinia or Porto Timoni. And for that insta-envy shot to stoke up jealousy back home, forget sand and sun loungers … just take a look at the rocks at La Grotto, in Palaiokastritsa! Sorry, not sorry!

An Old Town brimming with life

What grabs you most about Corfu is that it’s so alive. Nature, culture… but, most of all, the Old Town itself. Venetian, French, English and of course Greek… the influences from days gone by are everywhere. But look at how vibrant it is. Everywhere you turn there’s an Instagram story in the making. Take your time to wander through alleyways and past landmarks: The squares, Dimarchiou and Spianada (with the Town Hall dominating the former), the colourful markets and the stately Clock Tower (all the more memorable for the pedestrianised streets). Take it all in and be sure to swipe up… oh those balconies, full of the spirit of today’s Corfu.

Exploring the atmospheric Old Town of Corfu

Insta-worthy boats everywhere you look

Corfu has a relationship with the sea that is long and very personal. Everywhere you turn… off the peninsula of Kouloura, or the beaches of ChouchouliouAgios Stefanos and Palaiokastritsa, or by the old windmill in Garitsa Bay. If there’s a dreamy little rock or bay, there’s an insta-worthy boat claiming it as its own. Or maybe it’s an old fishing boat, resting on the shore, disused but still clinging tight to its maritime tales. And then there are the gleaming yachts in Gouvia Marina, the first private marina on the island, winking at you to come take a closer look.

A boat trip to Paradise beach in Corfu

A slice of village life

There’s no way you’re staying in town though. With so many villages dotted around the island, you’re heading inland or up the coast… wherever your photographic instinct takes you. Those gorgeous ceramic-tiled, circular tables in the kafeneio up in Lakones, the courtyard overflowing with shock-purple bougainvillea in Chlomos, that homely little stone-built taverna in Palaia Peritheia, the paving stones of Afionas and the tropical greenery of Gastouri. Or perhaps it’s the simple snapshot of a barman proudly preparing an afternoon tipple or the village elders calmly watching the world go by that catches your eye.

A sunset for everyone

It’s time to leave, so you’re looking for that lasting memory. The most instagrammable sunset possible. But we won’t pretend to know you, so you’re going to have to decide for yourself. What’s it going to be… the golden glow on mountain scenery from Pelekas? The long-shadows cast by the dipping sun as you stroll through the Old Town? A sundowner at a bar at Paramonas Beach? You and the kids taking selfies at the Kaisar Observatory? Or the whispered words on a bench made for two at Afionas, high up over the legendary Ionian Sea? Get your timelapse setting ready. This one’s a keeper.

Corfu

Most instagrammable places to visit on Corfu    

You can picture your Instagram feed already… all those blues and greens of the Ionian Sea, the dreamy beaches you make your own, the villages and the people, and that chosen sunset spot you just know will make it into your Highlights.

Don’t just like Corfu… love it.

Paleokastritsa bay

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Scuba cave diving

Popular destinations for Scuba diving in Greece

Wooden bridges criss-cross the 10km Epineas path along the densely-forested valley

Popular routes for Trekking in Greece

Incredible Sarakiniko beach, a trip to the moon in Milos island

Popular sailing destinations in the Aegean

Stone houses with sea view in Monemvasia

Sailing destinations around Peloponnese

Spetses the Argosaronic island of captains

Popular destinations for sailing experiences near Athens

The lovely settlement of Frikes, with a sense of luxury

The best luxury experiences in Greece

Scuba cave diving

Popular destinations for Scuba diving in Greece

The lovely settlement of Frikes, with a sense of luxury

The best luxury experiences in Greece

Porto Katsiki beach

The best beaches in the Ionian islands

Holidays in Greece: Agios Sostis in Zakynthos island

Holidays in Greece: Ingredients of a dream vacation

Vlacherna monastery, Corfu

Top things to do when in Corfu

age of chivalry - Rhodes

The 10 most important architectural monuments in Greece