Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens
EXPERIENCE

Une visite au centre culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos à Athènes

L'Opéra, la Bibliothèque nationale, le jardin méditerranéen, l'évasion préférée des Athéniens et bien plus encore... le centre culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos (SNFCC) est un joyau culturel moderne d'Athènes.
Thrace region-id="pin-13"; Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
1-2 heures
Par saison
Toute l’année

APERÇU

A tour of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center in Athens

Le centre culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos (SNFCC) a ouvert en 2017 dans le but de redéfinir l'espace public à Athènes et est ainsi devenu, du jour au lendemain, la principale attraction culturelle moderne de la capitale grecque. 

Conçu par le célèbre architecte italien Renzo Piano, il abrite la Bibliothèque nationale de Grèce et l'Opéra national dans un complexe ultramoderne qui a remporté de nombreux prix pour sa durabilité environnementale (notamment l'ingénierie bioclimatique ainsi que les économies d'énergie et d'eau)

Mais il est également connu comme un espace ouvert et gratuit qui est devenu l'escapade préférée des Athéniens et des visiteurs, avec un jardin méditerranéen et des jeux d'eau, qui a complètement rénové les quartiers de Kallithea et de Paleo Faliro de la grande Athènes.

Les événements organisés par la SNFCC comprennent des lectures de livres, des projections de films et des représentations musicales et théâtrales en plein air, ainsi que des événements éducatifs et sportifs organisés sur le site. Mais la plupart des gens s'y rendent pour le sentiment d'appartenance à une communauté et pour se sentir proches de la nature, où ils peuvent simplement se promener ou apprécier un pique-nique sur l'herbe dans l'un des parcs les plus populaires d'Athènes. 

Vous pouvez louer un vélo et découvrir les alentours, faire de l'exercice dans le gymnase extérieur ou sur la piste de course, et visiter les bâtiments. Les vues depuis le phare situé au dernier étage sont inoubliables.

Lire la suite Read Less

A NE PAS RATER

Bibliothèque Nationale de la Grèce 

Plus d'un million de livres et de magazines, ainsi que des codex manuscrits datant du 9ème au 19ème siècle, sont conservés à la bibliothèque de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos, ce qui en fait la principale source du patrimoine littéraire grec. Le cadre ne pourrait être plus différent de celui de la Bibliothèque nationale, qui se trouvait auparavant dans le manoir néoclassique Vallianeio, au milieu des bâtiments historiques du centre d'Athènes. Les tomes sont présentés sur plusieurs niveaux dans un espace qui maximise la lumière naturelle, avec des espaces de lecture séparés pour les enfants, les adolescents et les adultes, ainsi que des salles de recherche et des programmes éducatifs et interactifs.

Le Parc Stavros Niarchos

Fondé en 1939, l'Opéra national de Grèce a trouvé son foyer naturel lorsqu'il a quitté le théâtre compact Olympia, dans le centre d'Athènes, pour s'installer au SNFCC, où un programme complet d'opéras et de ballets locaux et internationaux, ainsi que des spectacles expérimentaux et pour enfants, prennent vie grâce à des acoustiques de classe mondiale. L'ambiance est toujours inspirante, comme ce fut le cas lors de la représentation inaugurale en 2017 - Elektra de Richard Strauss, la première fois que l'Opéra national de Grèce présentait cette pièce.

Le Parc Stavros Niarchos

Couvrant 21 hectares (85% de la superficie de la SNFCC), le parc Stavros Niarchos est considéré comme le plus grand parc méditerranéen accessible au public dans le monde. Il est à la fois vaste et intime, avec des éléments tels qu'un labyrinthe et des aires de jeux conçus pour se fondre harmonieusement dans l'environnement et des jets d'eau particulièrement appréciés les jours de grande chaleur. La pièce maîtresse est la grande pelouse, où sont organisés des événements estivaux en plein air et où les familles et les amis peuvent organiser des pique-niques ou prendre un en-cas à la cantine située au bord de la pelouse. Le parc joue également un rôle dans la mise en valeur de la flore méditerranéenne, avec des oliviers et des caroubiers, ainsi que des lauriers et des cyprès et une vaste collection de plantes aromatiques indigènes. Au total, le parc compte 16 espèces d'arbres et 161 espèces de plantes.

Le Canal

Le canal de 400 m de long et 30 m de large a pour effet d'unir le complexe de la SNFCC au front de mer. Il est alimenté par l'eau du delta de Faliro, qui retourne à la mer après avoir été filtrée, et accueille des activités de voile et de kayak pour les enfants et les adultes. Il s'agit également d'un élément visuel important, qui introduit l'élément eau dans l'architecture et reflète la façade en verre du bâtiment principal. Vous pouvez déguster des gaufres, des crêpes et des friandises dans les cantines mobiles le long du canal.

Le Phare

Le Phare (ou Pharos) se trouve au dernier étage, au-dessus de l'Opéra national, et est surmonté d'une canopée de 2,5 acres produisant de l'énergie, équipée de panneaux photovoltaïques. Vous y trouverez le Pharos Café, mais le véritable attrait est la vue ininterrompue sur les îles du golfe Saronique et le centre d'Athènes. La nuit, la vue sur le Parthénon illuminé est l'une des plus spéciales d'Athènes.

Restaurants

Ne vous en faites pas si vous n'avez pas préparé votre pique-nique. Vous trouverez des options de cuisine méditerranéenne pour le petit-déjeuner, les collations légères et les repas principaux dans le bistrot Agora au rez-de-chaussée et une cuisine raffinée dans le restaurant Delta, au dernier étage, avec un choix de menus de dégustation alléchants avec une philosophie de la ferme à la table et une sélection de vins grecs. 

Bonus

Vous pouvez louer des vélos et emprunter une piste cyclable de 2,5 km dans l'enceinte de la SNFCC, et accéder facilement au front de mer. À environ 2 km de la côte, vous trouverez l'Averof, un croiseur blindé qui a joué un rôle clé dans la victoire de la Grèce lors des guerres balkaniques (1910-1920) et qui a été transformé en un musée flottant fascinant.

Lire la suite Read Less

Réservez votre voyage

Explore the vintage shops of Psirri
Group

Unexpected Athens Orientation Walk

4 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
188 Avis
Free cancellation
Until 73 hours prior to scheduled commencement date of service: no cancellation fee
Come with us around this very old modern city, and see how it evolved into one of Europe’s most interesting urban spaces.
olympic-games-workout-group-2-logo
Group

The Olympic Games Workout (Group)

2 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
63 Avis
Free cancellation
Until 73 hours prior to scheduled commencement date of service: no cancellation fee
Fulfill your olympic dream without all the really hard stuff! Get the background on what the Olympics were really about, in venues connected to real...

Comment se rendre à la SNFCC depuis le centre d'Athènes ?

  • Vous pouvez prendre un taxi depuis le centre d'Athènes (6km, 15 min). Vous pouvez alternativement prendre une navette gratuite de/vers la place Syntagma (angle de la rue Ermou) qui s'arrête à la station de métro Syngrou Fix et arrive au côté sud du canal SNFCC. Si vous avez loué une voiture, un parking est disponible 24 heures sur 24.

Quel est le meilleur moyen de rejoindre le centre d'Athènes depuis l'aéroport ou le port ?

  • Vous pouvez prendre un taxi (environ 38 € durant la journée) ou un bus, ou louer une voiture à l'aéroport international d'Athènes, ou prendre le métro directement pour le centre (ligne bleue jusqu'à Syntagma). 
  • Il y a également des taxis (25 € durant la journée), des bus et une station de métro (ligne verte) au port du Pirée (changer pour la ligne bleue à Monastiraki vers Syntagma). En fonction de votre quai de ferry, la station de métro se trouve à 15-20 minutes de marche.

Quel est le meilleur moment pour visiter le centre culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos ?

  • Le SNFCC est ouvert toute l'année et est conçu pour offrir une expérience différente toute la journée. 
  • Si vous visitez le matin ou en milieu de semaine, il y aura moins de monde. Le SNFCC est très fréquenté par les Athéniens le week-end.
  • Évitez la chaleur de midi pendant les mois d'été (il n'y a pas beaucoup d'ombre dans le parc) ou visitez le soir pour profiter du coucher du soleil ou du dîner. 
  • L'accès au parc et à de nombreuses activités est gratuit. 
  • Vérifiez le prix des billets pour les spectacles, la location de vélos et les autres activités. 
  • Vous trouverez plus d'informations sur les heures d'ouverture ici.

Quelle est la meilleure période de l'année pour visiter Athènes ?

  • Pour profiter au maximum d'Athènes, il est préférable de s'y rendre entre octobre et avril, lorsque la foule estivale est moins dense et que vous pourrez profiter de la compagnie des Athéniens dans leur quotidien.
  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver
  • Il est recommandé de consacrer une à deux heures à la visite du site, voire davantage en fonction du nombre d'activités que vous souhaiteriez faire.
  • Vous trouverez des informations sur les visites guidées des parcs et des immeubles ici.
  • Une boutique de souvenirs se trouve au rez-de-chaussée
  • La SNFCC est entièrement accessible aux visiteurs à mobilité réduite
  • Vous pouvez faire une visite virtuelle ici
  • Pour plus d'informations sur la location de vélos, cliquez ici.
  • Consultez le programme des événements du SNFCC et réservez vos tickets ici
  • Pour connaître les prix et les modalités de paiement du parking du SNFCC, cliquez ici.

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Aidez-nous à préserver la magie des œuvres d'art exposées pour les générations futures en respectant les règles de base de la visite des sites culturels.

Utilisez les poubelles mises à votre disposition et si besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Optez pour une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
La photographie amateure est autorisée dans toutes les zones, sauf dans l'aire de jeux pour enfants et pendant les spectacles.
Ne marchez pas dans les parterres de fleurs et les zones plantées.
Les animaux domestiques sont les bienvenus dans toutes les zones extérieures, à l'exception de la grande pelouse, du labyrinthe et des aires de jeux.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€
The Atrium of the Muses in the gardens of the Athens Megaron

Le Palais de la musique d'Athènes (Mégaron)

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Une visite à la galerie nationale d’Athènes

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

Visite du musée Benaki de la culture grecque à Athènes

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

Le spectacle de l’Odéon d’Hérodes Atticus à Athènes

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Un tour au stade Panathénaïque d’Athènes

National Museum of Contemporary Art

Le Musée National d’art Contemporain d’Athènes

You’ll find plenty more examples of Tinos’ famed marblework in the windows and doors, as you wander the streets of Pyrgos

Explorez les plus beaux villages de Tinos

The Arkadi Monastery in Rethymno has an architecture and history that will captivate you

Visite du monastère d'Arkadi en Crète

The Atrium of the Muses in the gardens of the Athens Megaron

Le Palais de la musique d'Athènes (Mégaron)

Minoan Palace of Phaistos Festos, Crete

Découvrez le Palais minoen de Phaistos en Crète

Fiskardo village, Kefalonia

Découvrez les pittoresques villages de Céphalonie

Finikas Ave. - Neratzia Castle, Kos, Greece

Une promenade dans sites culturels de la ville de Kos

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens
EXPERIENCE

A tour of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center in Athens

Opera House, National Library, Mediterranean garden, favourite escape of Athenians and much more… the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center (SNFCC) is a modern cultural gem of Athens
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1-2 hours
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

A tour of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center in Athens

The Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center (SNFCC) opened in 2017 with the aim of redefining public space in Athens and in doing so became, overnight, the Greek capital’s preeminent modern cultural attraction.

Designed by renowned Italian architect Renzo Piano, it houses the National Library of Greece and National Opera House in an ultra-modern complex that has won numerous awards for environmental sustainability (including bioclimatic engineering as well as energy and water conservation).

But it is equally well known as a free open space that has become a favourite escape of Athenians and visitors, with a Mediterranean garden and water features, completely revamping the Kallithea and Paleo Faliro districts of wider Athens.

SNFCC events include book readings, movie screenings and outdoor musical and theatrical performances as well as educational and athletic events organised within the grounds. But mostly, people visit for the sense of community and to feel close to nature, where they can just stroll or enjoy a picnic on the grass in one of the most popular parks in Athens. 

You can hire a bike and explore the area and exercise in the outdoor gym or running track, and take a tour of the buildings. The views from the top-floor Lighthouse are unforgettable.

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

National Library of Greece

More than a million books and magazines, as well as handwritten codices from the 9th-19th century, are held at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library, making it the foremost record of Greek literary heritage. The setting couldn’t be more different to the National Library’s previous location, in the neoclassical Vallianeio Mansion, amongst the historical buildings of central Athens. Tomes are presented over multiple levels in a space that maximises natural light, with separate reading areas for children, teenagers and adults as well as rooms for research and educational and interactive programs.

National Opera House

Having been established in 1939, the Greek National Opera found its natural home when it moved from the compact Olympia Theatre in central Athens to the SNFCC, where a full program of local and international operas and ballets, as well as experimental and children’s performances are brought to life with world-class acoustics. The ambience never fails to inspire, as it did with the inaugural performance in 2017 – Elektra by Richard Strauss, the first time the Greek National Opera had presented the play.

Stavros Niarchos Park

Covering 21 hectares (85% of the area of the SNFCC), the Stavros Niarchos Park is considered the largest publicly accessible Mediterranean park in the world. It feels both expansive and intimate, with features such as a labyrinth and playgrounds designed to blend harmoniously with the surroundings and water jets that are especially popular on hot days. The centrepiece is the Great Lawn, where summer outdoor events are staged and families and friends enjoy picnics or snacks from the canteen by the lawn. The park also plays a role in showcasing Mediterranean flora, with olive and carob trees, as well as laurel and cypress trees and an extensive collection of indigenous aromatic plants. In total, the park has 16 tree and 161 plant species.

The canal

The 400m long and 30m wide canal has the effect of uniting the SNFCC complex with the waterfront. It is fed by water from the Faliro Delta, which returns to the sea after it has been filtered, and hosts sailing and kayaking for kids and adults. It is also an important visual component, introducing the element of water into the architecture and reflecting the main building’s glass facade. You can enjoy waffles, crepes and treats from the mobile canteens alongside the canal.

The Lighthouse

The Lighthouse (or Pharos) is found on the top floor, above the National Opera House and is topped by the 2.5-acre energy-producing canopy, fitted with photovoltaic panels. You will find the Pharos Café up here but the real draw is the uninterrupted vista of the Saronic Gulf islands and central Athens. The night-time view towards the lit-up Parthenon is one of the most special in Athens.

Restaurants

Don’t worry if you haven’t brought a picnic. You’ll find Mediterranean cuisine options for breakfast, light snacks and main meals in the Agora bistro on the ground floor and fine dining in the super-elegant top-floor Delta restaurant, with a choice of mouth-watering tasting menus with a farm-to-table philosophy and a selection of Greek wines.

Bonus

There are bikes to hire and a 2.5km cycle path within the SNFCC grounds, and easy access to the waterfront. Around 2km down the coast, you will find the Averof, an armoured cruiser that played a key role in Greece’s victory in the Balkan Wars (1910-1920), that has now been turned into a fascinating floating museum.

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
DIAMONDPL-photo-0 Offer
Accommodation

Athens Diamond Plus

Athens

Athens Diamond Plus is a stylistic boutique hotel in Plaka, the old town of Athens that opened its doors in May 2011. The theme of...

Official online rates

Accommodation

AthensWas Hotel

Athens

AthensWas is a superior, luxury hotel in Athens, situated in the beating heart of the city. Boasting an incredible location, on Dionysiou Areopagitou pedestr...

Official online rates

How do you get to the SNFCC from Athens city centre?

  • You can take a taxi from the centre of Athens (6km, 15 min). Alternatively, there is a free shuttle bus from/to Syntagma Square (corner of Ermou St) that stops at Syngrou Fix metro station and arrives at the south side of the SNFCC Canal. If you have hired a car, there is 24hr parking.

What is the best way to reach central Athens from the airport or port?

  • You can catch a taxi (about €38 during the day) or bus, or hire a car from Athens International Airport, or take the metro directly to the centre (blue line to Syntagma).
  • There are also taxis (€25 during the day), buses and a metro station (green line) at Piraeus port (change to blue line at Monastiraki to Syntagma). Depending on your ferry gate, it could be a 15-20min walk to the metro station.

What is the best time to visit the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center?

  • The SNFCC is open all year round and is designed to give a different experience throughout the day. 
  • If you visit in the morning or midweek, there will be fewer people. The SNFCC is popular with Athenians on weekends.
  • Avoid the midday heat during the summer months (there isn’t much shade in the park) or visit in the evening to combine with sunset or dinner. 
  • Access to the grounds and many activities is free. 
  • Check ticket prices for productions, bike rental and other activities. 
  • More information on opening hours can be found here.


What is the best time of year to visit Athens?

  • To get the most out of Athens, it is best to visit between October-April when the summer crowds have thinned and you’ll enjoy the company of Athenians going about their daily lives.
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • It is worth dedicating 1-2 hours to stroll around the grounds and more depending on how many activities you want to do.
  • Information about guided tours of the grounds and buildings can be found here.
     
  • There is a gift shop on the ground floor
  • The SNFCC is fully accessible for visitors with disabilities 
  • You can take a virtual tour here 
  • More information on hiring bicycles can be found here 
  • See the SNFCC events schedule and book tickets here 
  • Learn about prices and payment instructions for SNFCC parking here
     

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of our heritage for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting cultural sites.

Use the bins provided or, if need be, take your rubbish with you.
Amateur photography is allowed in all areas except in the children’s playground and during performances.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Do not walk in the flower beds and planted areas.
Pets are welcome at all outdoor areas except the Great Lawn, Labyrinth and playgrounds.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Επίσκεψη στην Εθνική Πινακοθήκη της Αθήνας

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

A tour of the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens

National Museum of Contemporary Art

A tour of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

The spectacle of the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

A visit to the magical Temple of Poseidon at Sounion

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Επίσκεψη στην Εθνική Πινακοθήκη της Αθήνας

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

A tour of the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens

National Museum of Contemporary Art

A tour of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

The spectacle of the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens