Mykene

Eine reise in die mythische bronzezeit
Tomb of the House of Atreus Victor Malyushev
Heute
26°
SAT
25°
SUN
25°
MON
22°
TUE
23°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Eine der wichtigsten archäologischen Stätten in Griechenland, zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe erklärt

Hier ist die Geschichte deutlich sichtbar. Das wichtigste, palastähnliche Zentrum der Spätbronzezeit in Griechenland: Homers goldreiches Mykene. Nach der antiken griechischen Mythologie  gründete Perseus, der Sohn von Zeus und Danae, die Stadt. Der Mythos der Zyklopen und die Geschichte von Heinrich Schliemanns Entdeckung der so genannten Maske des Agamemnon faszinieren seit Jahrzehnten  Besucher, die sich auf einen unvergesslichen Rundgang durch die archäologische Stätte machen. Herlich willkommen in Mykinen

Besichtigen Sie in Mykinien

Die Zyklopische Mauer

Laut Mythos hatte Mykenes Gründervater Perseus den Zyklopen – riesigen, einäugigen Fabelwesen aus Kleinasien – den Auftrag gegeben, die Mauern zu bauen. Daher der Name.

Das Löwentor. Reisen Sie durch die Zeit

Ein Symbol für die Macht des mykenischen Königreichs. Es ist perfekt symmetrisch angelegt und ein besonders gut erhaltenes Beispiel für monumentale Skulpturen in Europa. Der Haupteingang zur Zitadelle von Mykene stammt von etwa 1250 v. Chr. Das Denkmal ist nach dem Relief von zwei Löwinnen über dem Eingang benannt. Bis heute ist nicht bekannt, wie es gebaut wurde. Vielleicht sind die Mythen von den Zyklopen als Bauherren doch nicht so weit hergeholt…

Die Maske des Agamemnon

Fünf vergoldete Masken wurden in einer archäologischen Grabstätte in Mykene von dem renommierten Archäologen Heinrich Schliemann entdeckt. Er hatte die Burg ausgegraben, weil er fest an Homers Geschichten glaubte. Er war überzeugt, dass er die Überreste von König Agamemnon entdeckte und benannte seine Entdeckung nach dem berühmten König. Neuere Studien zeigen, dass die Masken von 1500-1550  v. Chr. stammen, fast drei Jahrhunderte bevor Agamemnon angeblich lebte. Allerdings blieb der Name der Maske. Sie ist im Archäologischen Nationalmuseum von Athen ausgestellt.

Das Grab des mythischen Atreus

Eines der größten und am besten erhaltenen Tholoi aus dem altenGriechenland in Mykene. Seit der Zeit des Schriftstellers und Geographen Pausanias wussten die Bewohner der Region, dass dieses Denkmal eine Schatzkammer von König Atreus war. Heute ist es immer noch als das Schatzkammer des Atreus oder Grab von Agamemnon bekannt. Es wurde noch vor Pausanias Zeit geplündert und für Jahrhunderte davor diente es Hirten als Unterschlupf.

Das Archäologische Museum von Mykene

Die Ausstellung ist in vier Abschnitte unterteilt. Hier wird alles über das Leben und die Aktivitäten der Mykener, ihre Bestattungsriten und ihr Raumverständnis erzählt. Besichtigen Sie das Museum und lassen Sie die Geschichte des alten Griechenlands vor Ihrem Auge wieder auferstehen.

Versteckte Juwelen in Mykene

Das religiöse Zentrum der mykenischen Kultur

An der Südwestspitze der Akropolis wurde dieser Gebäudekomplex für religiöse Zwecke errichtet. Darauf lassen die architektonischen Elemente und die gefundenen Artefakte schließen, die in religiösen Zeremonien verwendet wurden.

Der Palast auf dem Gipfel

Der Palast steht auf dem höchsten Punkt der Akropolis auf einer künstlichen Terrasse.

Kreisgrab B

An der Westseite der Akropolis von Mykene gelegen, ist diese Grabanlage eine der wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten in der Umgebung. Sie gibt einen tiefen Einblick in die mykenische Grabarchitektur und die Bestattungsriten. Insgesamt liegen hier 26 Gräber, die sich bis auf etwa 1650 bis 1550 v. Chr. datieren lassen. Sechs Schachtgräber mit reichen Verzierungen gehörten den Herrscherfamilien, darunter wurde auch eine Totenmaske aus Elektron gefunden.

Weiterlesen Read Less

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Delve into the culture of Corinth, from canal-level to hillside fortress

Entdecke die 10 Top Kulturstätten des Peloponnes

Wenn du gerne in die Historie eines neuen Ortes eintauchen möchtest, bist du hier genau richtig. Die Liste der archäologischen Stätten auf dem Peloponnes ließe sich beliebig erweitern, ohne dass du sie auch nur annähernd vollständig abarbeiten könntest.
The Peloponnese is one of Greece’s most geographically diverse and historically rich destinations. It’s also somewhere you’ll eat like a god

Ein Foodie Guide über Peloponnes

Der Peloponnes ist eines der geografisch abwechslungsreichsten und geschichtsträchtigsten Reiseziele Griechenlands, das mit bedeutenden antiken Stätten und herkulischen Mythen aufwartet
The Tholos of Athena pronaia, originally consisted of 20 Doric columns arranges around 10 Corinthian columns

Die zehn brühmtesten Archäologischen Stätte in Griechenland

Sie befinden sich in der Geburtstätte der Zivilisation und jeder Ihrer Schritte ist eine Reise durch die Geschichte

Mycenae

A journey to the mythical bronze age
Tomb of the House of Atreus Victor Malyushev
Scroll
Today
25°
TUE
22°
WED
19°
THU
20°
FRI
21°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
One of the most significant archaeological destinations in Greece and a Unesco World Heritage site

The most important, and lavish, palatial centre of the Late Bronze Age in Greece: Homer’s “gold-rich Mycenae”. According to the mythology of Ancient Greece, its founder was Perseus, son of Zeus and Danae. The myth of the Cyclops and the story of Heinrich Schliemann’s discovery of the so-called Mask of Agamemnon is fascinating, as is a tour of the archaeological site in the Peloponnese.

What to do in Mycenae

The Cyclopean Walls

According to myth, Perseus, the founder of Mycenae, commissioned Cyclopses – huge, one-eyed mythical creatures from Asia Minor – to build the walls. Hence their name.

Lion Gate

A symbol of the power of the Mycenaean Kingdom, it’s perfectly symmetrical and unique in Europe. The main entrance to the citadel of Mycenae dates from about 1250 BC. The monument is named after the relief sculpture of two lionesses that stands above the entrance. As yet, nobody has discovered how it was constructed. So why not stick with the  Cyclopses theory?

The Mask of Agamemnon

Five gold-plated masks were discovered in Mycenae by the renowned archaeologist Heinrich Schliemann, who excavated this citadel because he believed Homer’s stories. He was convinced he’d discovered the remains of King Agamemnon and named his historical findings after the famous king. More recent studies revealed that the masks were from  1500-1550 BC, nearly three centuries before Agamemnon supposedly lived. However, the name remained and the findings can now be viewed in the National Archaeological Museum of Athens.

Tomb of the House of Atreus

One of the largest and best preserved of the famous vaulted beehive tombs found in Mycenae. Since the time of the traveller and geographer Pausanias, the inhabitants of the area knew that this monument was the "treasure" of King Atreus, and today it is still known as the Treasury of Atreus, or Tomb of Agamemnon. It was looted before Pausanias got to it and for centuries before that, shepherds used it as a refuge.

The Archaeological Museum of Mycenae

The exhibition is divided into four distinct sections. You’ll learn about the history, life and activities of the Mycenaeans, their burial customs and their use of space.

Hidden gems of Mycenae

The religious centre of the Mycenaeans

Situated on the southwest point of the citadel, this building complex was created for religious purposes. Aside from the existence of architectural elements supporting this, artefacts used in religious ceremonies have also been found here.

Palace on high

It stands at the highest point of the citadel, built on man-made terraces.

Grave Circle B

Located on the west side of the citadel of Mycenae, this burial complex is one of the most important monuments in the area and in Ancient Greece, giving us insight into Mycenaean funeral architecture and burial customs. It hosts a total of 26 graves and dates back to about 1650-1550 BC. Among these, six of the shaft graves belonged to the ruling family and rich ornaments were unearthed, including a death mask made of electrum.

The archaeological site of Mycenae, with ancient tombs, giant walls and the famous lions gate, Peloponnese

Experience the best of Mycenae

Nemea viniculture and winemaking has centuries-long tradition

Exploring the wine routes of Nemea

At vineyards that are all the more magical for the incredible scenery of the Peloponnese, enjoy a wine-growing tradition that feels like it was gifted...
  • The Cyclopean Walls
  • Lion Gate
  • The Mask of Agamemnon
  • The Archaeological Museum of Mycenae
  • The religious centre of the Mycenaeans
  • Palace on high
Highlights

Plan your trip

 

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Couple hiking in nature

Holidays for seniors in Greece

Spectacular beaches, thermal springs, spas: a dream of a lifetime has just begun in one of the most beautiful countries in the world
The Tholos of Athena pronaia, originally consisted of 20 Doric columns arranges around 10 Corinthian columns

10 of the most important ancient sites in Greece

In the country that gave birth to western civilisation, every step you take is a journey through history.