Tomb of the House of Atreus
Scroll
Aujourd'hui
14°
MON
16°
TUE
15°
WED
17°
THU
13°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Un des sites archéologiques les plus importants de Grèce, un monument mégalithique étonnant de l’héritage culturel mondial

Ici l’Histoire crie haut et fort sa présence. Grèce ancienne. Mycènes, comme la décrit Homère, est riche en or. C’est le centre le plus important et le plus riche de la période de l’âge du bronze tardif dont le siège se trouve dans le Péloponnèse. Selon la mythologie grecque, il a été fondé par Persée, fils de Zeus et de Danaé. Vous serez séduit par le mythe du Cyclope et par l’histoire de la découverte du célèbre «masque d’Agamemnon» mis en lumière lors des fouilles menées par l’archéologue Schliemann. Votre promenade à travers le site archéologique de Mycènes vous sera inoubliable. Bienvenue à Mycènes!

Attractions à Mycènes

Les Murs cyclopéens : murs construits par les géants

Les murs sont appelés Cyclopéens parce que selon le mythe, Persée, le fondateur de Mycènes, a commandé à ces gigantesques êtres mythiques de l’Asie mineure, les Cyclopes, de les construire.

La majestueuse Porte des Lionnes: voyage à l’Histoire

Symbole de la puissance du palais royal de Mycènes, cette Porte a une symétrie remarquable. Ce monument mégalithique est considéré le premier exemple de sculpture monumentale que l’on connaît en Europe et constitue l’une des plus célèbres attractions que vous rencontrerez ici. Elle constitue l’entrée principale de l’acropole de Mycènes et elle a été construite vers 1250 avant J.-C.

Elle doit son nom au fameux bas-relief qui représente deux lionnes sculptées et qui décorent ce triangle de décharge. Personne n’a trouvé jusqu’à aujourd’hui comment ce monument a pu être construit. Donc, pourquoi ne pas croire au mythe qui veut que ce sont les cyclopes qui l’ont construit ? 

Le « masque d'Agamemnon » en or

L’archélogue Schliemann, séduit par les récits d’Homère, a mené des fouilles sur le site archéologique de Mycènes et il a découvert cinq masques faits de feuilles d’or épaisses. Il croyait avoir découvert le corps du roi Agamemnon d’où porte son nom cette trouvaille. Les recherches archéologiques contemporaines ont montré que ce masque date du 1500 – 1550 avant J.-C., période d’environ 3 siècles antérieure que celle où Agamemnon est supposé avoir vécu. Cependant, le masque a gardé son nom. Vous pouvez l’admirer dans le Musée National Archéologique d’Athènes.  

La demeure éternelle du mythique Atrée

Cette tombe est une de plus grandes et de plus parfaites tombes à coupole qu’ont été trouvées à Mycènes. Depuis la période de Pausanias déjà les habitants de la région reconnaissaient ce monument comme du trésor, c’est-à-dire comme la trésorerie du roi Atrée (aujourd’hui encore connue comme « Trésor d'Atrée » ou tombe d’Agamemnon). Elle avait été déjà pillée avant le départ de Pausanias et pendant les siècles précédents les bergers l’utilisaient comme refuge.

Le Musée Archéologique de Mycènes

Les objets exposés sont présentés sous quatre différentes  thématiques. Vous allez pouvoir apprendre des détails sur la vie et les activités des mycéniens, sur les coutumes funéraires et l’emploi de l’espace pendant la période protohistorique. Une des époques majeures de l’histoire de la Grèce est abritée ici. Elle mérite la découverte!

Trésors cachés des Mycènes

Le centre religieux de Mycènes

Il se situe au Nord-Ouest de l’acropole. Il s’agit d’un complexe de bâtiments au caractère religieux, chose dont témoignent tant les vestiges architecturaux que les trouvailles liés aux cérémonies du culte.

Le palais au sommet

Situé sur le plus haut point de l’acropole, le palais est construit sur une terrasse artificielle.

Le cercle de tombes Β

Il se situe à l’Ouest de l’acropole et il constitue un des monuments les plus importants de la région car on en tire beaucoup d’informations sur l’architecture et les coutumes funéraires des mycéniens. Il comportait 26 tombes et il date d’environ 1650 -1550 avant J.-C. Les fouilles ont mis à lumière 6 tombes à fosse royales, des riches offrandes parmi lesquelles un masque funéraire en électrum.

  • Les Murs cyclopéens : murs construits par les géants
  • La majestueuse Porte des Lionnes: voyage à l’Histoire
  • Le « masque d'Agamemnon » en or
  • Le Musée Archéologique de Mycènes
  • Le centre religieux de Mycènes
  • Le palais au sommet
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
The Tholos of Athena pronaia, originally consisted of 20 Doric columns arranges around 10 Corinthian columns

Les 10 sites archéologiques de Grèce les plus importants

Au pays qui a engendré la civilisation occidentale, chacun des vos pas est un voyage à l’histoire
Couple hiking in nature

Vacances pour seniors en Grèce

Plages magnifiques, bains thermaux, spa: un rêve de vie vient de commencer sur fond d’un des plus beaux pays du monde

Mycenae

A journey to the mythical bronze age
Tomb of the House of Atreus Victor Malyushev
Scroll
Today
25°
TUE
22°
WED
19°
THU
20°
FRI
21°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
One of the most significant archaeological destinations in Greece and a Unesco World Heritage site

The most important, and lavish, palatial centre of the Late Bronze Age in Greece: Homer’s “gold-rich Mycenae”. According to the mythology of Ancient Greece, its founder was Perseus, son of Zeus and Danae. The myth of the Cyclops and the story of Heinrich Schliemann’s discovery of the so-called Mask of Agamemnon is fascinating, as is a tour of the archaeological site in the Peloponnese.

What to do in Mycenae

The Cyclopean Walls

According to myth, Perseus, the founder of Mycenae, commissioned Cyclopses – huge, one-eyed mythical creatures from Asia Minor – to build the walls. Hence their name.

Lion Gate

A symbol of the power of the Mycenaean Kingdom, it’s perfectly symmetrical and unique in Europe. The main entrance to the citadel of Mycenae dates from about 1250 BC. The monument is named after the relief sculpture of two lionesses that stands above the entrance. As yet, nobody has discovered how it was constructed. So why not stick with the  Cyclopses theory?

The Mask of Agamemnon

Five gold-plated masks were discovered in Mycenae by the renowned archaeologist Heinrich Schliemann, who excavated this citadel because he believed Homer’s stories. He was convinced he’d discovered the remains of King Agamemnon and named his historical findings after the famous king. More recent studies revealed that the masks were from  1500-1550 BC, nearly three centuries before Agamemnon supposedly lived. However, the name remained and the findings can now be viewed in the National Archaeological Museum of Athens.

Tomb of the House of Atreus

One of the largest and best preserved of the famous vaulted beehive tombs found in Mycenae. Since the time of the traveller and geographer Pausanias, the inhabitants of the area knew that this monument was the "treasure" of King Atreus, and today it is still known as the Treasury of Atreus, or Tomb of Agamemnon. It was looted before Pausanias got to it and for centuries before that, shepherds used it as a refuge.

The Archaeological Museum of Mycenae

The exhibition is divided into four distinct sections. You’ll learn about the history, life and activities of the Mycenaeans, their burial customs and their use of space.

Hidden gems of Mycenae

The religious centre of the Mycenaeans

Situated on the southwest point of the citadel, this building complex was created for religious purposes. Aside from the existence of architectural elements supporting this, artefacts used in religious ceremonies have also been found here.

Palace on high

It stands at the highest point of the citadel, built on man-made terraces.

Grave Circle B

Located on the west side of the citadel of Mycenae, this burial complex is one of the most important monuments in the area and in Ancient Greece, giving us insight into Mycenaean funeral architecture and burial customs. It hosts a total of 26 graves and dates back to about 1650-1550 BC. Among these, six of the shaft graves belonged to the ruling family and rich ornaments were unearthed, including a death mask made of electrum.

The archaeological site of Mycenae, with ancient tombs, giant walls and the famous lions gate, Peloponnese

Experience the best of Mycenae

Nemea viniculture and winemaking has centuries-long tradition

Exploring the wine routes of Nemea

At vineyards that are all the more magical for the incredible scenery of the Peloponnese, enjoy a wine-growing tradition that feels like it was gifted...
  • The Cyclopean Walls
  • Lion Gate
  • The Mask of Agamemnon
  • The Archaeological Museum of Mycenae
  • The religious centre of the Mycenaeans
  • Palace on high
Highlights

Plan your trip

 

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Couple hiking in nature

Holidays for seniors in Greece

Spectacular beaches, thermal springs, spas: a dream of a lifetime has just begun in one of the most beautiful countries in the world
The Tholos of Athena pronaia, originally consisted of 20 Doric columns arranges around 10 Corinthian columns

10 of the most important ancient sites in Greece

In the country that gave birth to western civilisation, every step you take is a journey through history.