Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility
EXPERIENCE

Eine Tour im Demetertempel auf Naxos

Um den Ursprung der köstlichen Agrarprodukte von Naxos zu entdecken, besuchen Sie den Demetertempel aus dem 6. Jh. v.Chr., das Heiligtum der Göttin der Ernte und der Fruchtbarkeit… Ein Vorgänger von Parthenon.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Dauer
1 - 2 stunden
Nach Jahreszeit
Das ganze Jahr über

OVERVIEW

Eigentlich brauchen Sie keinen überzeugenden Beweis dafür, dass Naxos eine Insel ist, die praktisch alles hat: Strände, großartige Küche, Bergdörfer und jede Menge Traditionen. Was wäre nun, wenn Sie erfahren würden, dass es darüber hinaus einen Tempel hat, der von der Architektur her als Vorgänger des Parthenon gilt?

Der Demetertempel, in der Nähe von Sangri, einem Dorf im Inselinneren, ist genau das. Zwischen 530-520 v.Chr. errichtet (fast ein ganzes Jahrhundert vor dem Parthenon der Akropolis), stellt er ein wunderschönes Beispiel für den Einsatz vom Naxos-Marmor dar. Zu jener Zeit (nach Vollendung des Tempels) verfügte er sogar über eine Reihe von äußeren und inneren ionischen Säulen, die ein Dach stützten, sowie über alle Skulpturen und Marmorvotive eines antiken Heiligtums.  

Laut Inschriften wurden hier Apollon und Demeter (die Göttin der Ernte, des Getreides und der Fruchtbarkeit), aber auch Persephone, die Tochter von Demeter, verehrt. Der Tempel wurde im 6. Jh. n.Chr. zum Teil durch eine christliche Basilika ersetzt, doch Demeter muss sich bis dahin gut aufgehoben gefühlt haben, denn die fruchtbaren Ebenen von Naxos schenken der Insel immer noch ihre weit bekannten Agrarprodukte. 

Erkunden Sie die Ägäischen Inseln

Ein Restaurierungsprojekt hat einen Teil des Tempels wiederhergestellt und erlaubt uns, eine Vorstellung von dessen Ausstrahlung zu bekommen. Bei diesem Meerblick muss die Aura genauso beeindruckend wie jene einiger von den berühmtesten Heiligtümern Griechenlands gewesen sein.  

Das Erlebnis wird durch das – sozusagen unterhalb vom Tempel versteckte – Museum von Giroula abgerundet, in dem Sie Fragmente von Skulpturen und Votiven, aber auch eine Nachbildung der dreischiffigen Basilika finden werden. Das Museum wurde mit internationalen Preisen für seinen hervorragenden Einklang mit der Umgebung ausgezeichnet. 

Obwohl er einen besonderen Besuch wert ist, könnte man ihn ideal auch in eine Village-Hopping-Tour durch Naxos eingliedern. 

Weiterlesen Read Less

Von Hora

Von Sagri

  • Mit dem Auto: 6 Min. (2.3km)
  • Die archäologische Stätte und das Museum sind das ganze Jahr über geöffnet (außer an Nationalfeiertagen).
  • Vermeiden Sie lieber die Mittagshitze in den Sommermonaten.
  • Öffnungszeiten
  • Herbst
  • Frühling
  • Sοmmer
  • Winter

Die Dauer hängt davon ab, wie weit Sie sich vertiefen möchten. Man kann die archäologische Stätte und das Museum in 1-2 Stunden erkunden. 

  • Es gibt wenig Schatten, vergessen Sie also Hut, Sonnenbrille und Sonnencreme nicht und bringen Sie eine Wasserflasche mit.
  • Tragen Sie bequeme Schuhe.

Das Dorf von Sangri kombiniert mittelalterliche Architektur und die typisch kykladischen, weiß getünchten Gassen miteinander und verfügt über zahlreiche Cafés, Tavernen und Geschäfte, die einheimische Produkte anbieten. 

VERANTWORTUNGSVOLL REISEN

Bitte helfen Sie uns, den Zauber unseres Erbes für künftige Generationen zu bewahren, indem Sie alle Grundregeln für den Besuch archäologischer Stätten befolgen.

Berühren Sie bitte keine Überreste oder Monumente. Die natürlichen Öle der Finger können äußerst schädlich für die Artefakte sein.
Verwenden Sie die dafür vorgesehenen Abfalleimer, oder nehmen Sie gegebenefalls Ihren Müll mit, bis Sie einen Abfalleimer finden.
Bleiben Sie auf den markierten Wegen und respektieren Sie die anderen Besucher.
Wenn ein Schild mit der Aufschrift "Kein Blitzlicht" vorhanden ist, beachten Sie es bitte. Es ist zum Schutz der Denkmäler.
Benutzen Sie eine wiederauffüllbare Wasserflasche, um Ihren Kunststoffverbrauch zu minimieren.
In Kulturstätten sind Haustiere (außer Blindenhunde) nicht erlaubt.
Rauchen ist verboten.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·
You could spend hours just walking the streets of Hora, building up an appetite as you go

Ein Rundgang durch Naxos' Hora, die gesamte Inselstadt

Beautiful paved streets, neoclassical buildings and a lively market and shops all testify to Halki’s past as the capital of Naxos

Village Hopping auf den Bergen von Naxos

Palaios Panteleiomonas is a centuries-old village whose inhabitants had chosen to relocate to the coast before returning to breathe new life into the village

Sagenhaftes Village-Hopping an den Hängen des Berges Olymp

Ηopping between villages is the perfect follow-up to enjoying the lively atmosphere of the towns and beautiful beaches of Paros

Entdecken Sie einen Zufluchtsort in den Dörfern von Paros

View of Acropolis and Odeon of Herodes Atticus

Der kulturelle Reichtum Athens in einem Streifzug

The Museum of Cycladic Art presents us with artwork so elegant that it still influences fashion trends today

Eine Tour durch das Museum für Kykladische Kunst in Athen

Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens is a gem of a museum and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making

Eine Tour durch das Goulandris-Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst in Athen

You can appreciate the museum’s stature even before you enter, with its imposing 19th-century neoclassical facade

Eine Zeitreise im Archäologischen Nationalmuseum Athen

Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility
EXPERIENCE

A tour of the Temple of Demeter on Naxos

To find the source of Naxos’ delicious agricultural produce, head to the Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility…and a forerunner of the Parthenon.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1 - 2 hrs
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

You’ll need no convincing that Naxos is an island that has everything: beaches, great food, mountain villages and traditions aplenty. Now what if you were told it has a temple which, architecturally, is considered a predecessor of the Parthenon?

The Temple of Demeter, near the inland village of Sangri, is just that. Built in 530-520 BC (almost a full century before the Acropolis’ Parthenon) it is a wonderful example of the use of Naxian marble which (when the temple was complete) would have had a series of outer and inner Ionic columns supporting a roof, as well as all the sculptures and marble votives of an ancient sanctuary. 

Inscriptions tell us that Apollo and Demeter (the goddess of harvest, grain and fertility) were worshipped here, along with Demeter’s daughter, Persephone. The temple was partially replaced by a Christian basilica in the 6th-century AD, but Demeter had clearly felt fully taken care by then because Naxos’ fertile plains continue to gift the island its famed agricultural produce. 

Explore the Aegean islands

A restoration project has partially reconstructed some of the temple, allowing us to imagine the full effect. With the sea view, the aura would have been every bit as impressive as some of Greece’s most famous sanctuaries. 

Completing the experience is the Giroulas museum, tucked away below the temple, in which you can find fragments of sculptures and votives as well as a reproduction of the three-winged basilica. It has won international awards for the way it blends in with the surroundings. 

Worth a visit in its own right, the temple is also a great addition to a day’s village-hopping in Naxos
 

Read More Read Less

From Hora

  • By car: 30mins (15km)
  • By bus (to Sangri village): More Info

From Sangri

  • By car: 6mins (2.3km)
  • The archaeological site and museum are open all year round (except national holidays).
  • It’s worth avoiding the midday heat summer months.
  • Opening hours
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

Depending on how much detail you want to go in to, it’s possible to tour the archaeological site and visit the museum in 1-2hrs.

  • There’s little shade so don’t forget your hat, sunglasses and sunscreen and bring a water bottle.
  • Wear comfortable footwear.

The village of Sangri combines medieval architecture with whitewashed alleyways typical of the Cyclades islands and has plenty of cafes, tavernas and shops selling local products.

Plan your trip

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of our heritage for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting cultural sites.

Refrain from touching any remains or monuments. The fingers’ natural oils can be extremely damaging to artefacts.
Use the bins provided or keep your rubbish with you until you find one.
Stay on the marked paths and respect your fellow visitors.
If there’s a “No flash photography” sign, please respect it. It’s to protect the monuments.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
No pets (other than guide dogs) are allowed in cultural sites.
Smoking is prohibited.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
You could spend hours just walking the streets of Hora, building up an appetite as you go

A walking tour of Naxos’ Hora, the complete island town

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

A visit to the magical Temple of Poseidon at Sounion

Palaios Panteleiomonas is a centuries-old village whose inhabitants had chosen to relocate to the coast before returning to breathe new life into the village

Mythical village-hopping on the slopes of Mt Olympus

View of Acropolis and Odeon of Herodes Atticus

The cultural wealth of Athens revealed in a stroll

The villages of Evritania overflow with everything magical about Central Greece

Village-hopping in the mountains of Evritania

Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens is a gem of a museum and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making

A tour of the Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens