Лимнос

Неизведанная земля севера эгейского моря
Partial view of the town of Myrina, its castle and the beach you of Romeikos Gyalos
Scroll
Сегодня
14°
SAT
16°
SUN
15°
MON
16°
TUE
15°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Деревни - шедевры из камня, крепости, архаичные мистерии, а также уникальные продукты вулканической почвы

В очень старые времена, когда люди болели и нигде не могли найти нужное лекарство, был один остров - на севере Эгейского моря, - который обещал выздоровление и давал надежду. Несколько зёрнышек этой чудодейственной вулканической почвы с острова Лимнос было достаточно, чтобы выздороветь. Сегодня та же земля остаётся одной из самых гостеприимных, но в то же время и одной из самых неизведанных земель Эгейского моря.

Остров с разнообразной береговой линией, золотыми пляжами и поразительным вулканическим пейзажем. Редкие археологические места, крепости, а также с посёлки, построенные в традиционными стиле.  Пользующиеся большим спросом ещё с древних времён продукты (мёд, вино, сыр), изобилие рыбы и гостеприимные  жители. Лимнос - один из немногих островов, который предлагают тем, кто ищет спокойный отдых и жаждет открытий.

Стоит увидеть на Лимносе

Мирина: в крепости теней и оленей

Крепость построена на скалистом и каменистом полуострове в Мирине, между Римским и Турецким пляжами, и сообщается с сушей только с востока. Это главная достопримечательность острова.  Построена она императором Андроником Первым Комниносом (1118–1185 г.) поверх участков старой стены, возможно архаичной.  В семидесятые годы 20-го века мэрия города Родоса подарила острову Лимнос три оленя (вид Dama dama), самку и двух самцов. Они размножились, и сегодня  приблизительно 50 – 70 оленей живут и гуляют свободно по крепости.

Полиохни: доисторическое поселение Эгейского моря

Столетия и исторические эпохи отличаются друг от друга своими цветами: чёрный, голубой, красный, зелёный, жёлтый - и проходят торжественным шествием по одному из самых важных доисторических поселений в Эгейском море. Селение Полиохни на острове Лимнос основано в конце 4-го - начале 3-го тысячелетий до н. э. на холме в бухте Вроскопос. Полиохни прошла через различные стадии архитектурного и культурного развития, которые археологи  обозначили цветным кодом.

Деревни острова Лимнос  

Отдых в простом месте, созданном из камня. Деревни на острове Лимнос  - это настоящие каменные шедевры. В каком бы посёлке вы ни побывали, от Мирина до Контопули, или в Романос, Контьяс, Каталакос, везде вы увидите искусную обработку камня, удивительную технику шлифования, невероятные каменные барельефы и, конечно же, «мантру» (ограда). «Мантра» Лимноса – это не просто строительство одного стойла, одной овчарни или одного загона для скота. Это место деятельности и сосуществования людей и животных, объединённых в одно целое.   .

Знаменитые местные продукты

Лимнос имеет свои традиционные местные продукты: молочные, в основном, сыры (мелихлоро, кашкавал, калатаки), мёд и злаки (сухари, пшеничная мука и ручной работы макаронные изделия, фломарья), а также большое разнообразие вин, белых и красных, с особенным вкусом благодаря вулканической почве острова. Самый известный сорт красного вина – каламбаки или лимньё. Что касается белого вина, то самый популярный сорт – это мускат Александрии. Украсьте свой отдых вкусами острова Лимнос и вы не пожалеете!

Скрытые сокровища Лимноса

Ифестия и Мистерии Кавиров

Путешествие по северу Эгейского моря проходят и по некоторым важным местам острова. Посетите Ифестию – это древний город на острове Лимнос, который процветал в период  5-го и 4-го веков до н. э. Город считался важным центром поклонения богу Гефесту, который был его покровителем. Севернее археологического места на мысе Хлои вы найдёте потрясающее Святилище Кавиров, посвящённое культу Гефеста. В греческой мифологии Кавиры были детьми Гефеста, и в святилище проходили Мистерии Кавиров, которые имели связь с возрождением природы и плодородием.

Золотые дюны

Знаменитые дюны Лимноса находятся на севере острова. Они считаются исключительно редким природным явлением. Этот нереальный пейзаж всё больше и больше привлекает посетителей. Дюны - это песчаные холмы, которые образуются вследствие коррозии почвы и отложения песка, и обычно находятся в прибрежных районах. Здесь есть дюны  не только рядом с морем, но и на значительном расстоянии от него.   .

Остров с солёными озёрами

Рядом с Контопули находится водный заповедник, который состоит из трёх озёр: Алики, Хортаролимни и Аспролимни. Озеро Алики самое большое. Оно соединяется с морем через маленький канал и летом, когда озеро высыхает, на его дне остаётся соль высшего качества. Все три озера включены в каталог памятников природы НАТУРА-2000, и дают приют многим перелётным птицам.  

Limnos offers a large variety of wines, red and white, that have a distinctive taste thanks to the volcanic soils

Лучшее в Лимноса

Limnos offers a large variety of wines, red and white, that have a distinctive taste thanks to the volcanic soils

Лимнос - винная традиция, уходящая корнями в античность

История Лимноса, островка в северной части Эгейского моря, неразрывно связана с винодельческой традицией - от древних виноградников до современных сортов белого и красного вина.
  • Мирина: в крепости теней и оленей
  • Полиохни: доисторическое поселение Эгейского моря
  • Деревни острова Лимнос
  • Ифестия и Мистерии Кавиров
  • Золотые дюны
  • Остров с солёными озёрами
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Gerovassiliou winery

Греческие вина, Исторические и знаменитые

История вина в Греции аналогична истории самой Греции; Родина Диониса приглашает вас испытать магию греческих виноградников

Limnos

An unexplored island in the North Aegean
Partial view of the town of Myrina, its castle and the beach you of Romeikos Gyalos
Scroll
Today
17°
SAT
14°
SUN
12°
MON
11°
TUE
14°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Castles, a 5,000-year-old city, stone villages, impressive attractions and indescribably delicious local food and wine

In the days when people got sick and no suitable medicine could be found anywhere, there was an island in the eastern North Aegean that promised hope and healing. Just a small handful of the miraculous volcanic soil of Limnos would – it was said – do the trick and banish the malady.

Today, this very island retains its healing qualities in another sense. Though well off the beaten track, its friendly inhabitants, serene, open landscapes and golden sand dunes offer balm to body and soul. And as if these were not enough, there are unusual archaeological sites, romantic castles and scrumptious local products. Among them are the abundant, affordable fish and seafood dishes, wonderful wines, honey, cheese and pasta from the land that used to be one of the breadbaskets and vineyards of ancient Greece.

What to do on Limnos

Myrina: A castle town with two seafronts

The castle in Limnos’ principal town occupies a steep, rocky promontory flanked by two seaside neighbourhoods – the Romeiko (Greek) and Turkiko (Turkish) Yialo (shore). One of the island’s major attractions, its only access is from the east. It was erected by the Byzantine emperor Andronikos I Komninos (1118-1185) on the site of older walls, most probably ancient. In the 1970s, the municipality of Rhodes donated to Limnos three deer of the Dama dama species, two does and a buck. They went forth and multiplied and there are now some 50 to 70 deer living freely within the castle walls, adding to the pleasure of your visit.

Poliochni, a prehistoric settlement in the Aegean

Founded in the late 4th-early 3rd millennium BC, on a hillock overlooking Cape Vroskopou, this was one of the most important Neolithic-Bronze Age settlements in the Aegean. It went through so many different building phases in its 2,000-plus years of existence that archaeologists have assigned them colours for clarity – black, blue, green, red, yellow, brown and violet.

The villages of Limnos

Holidays in traditional villages made up of genuine stone masterpieces. No matter which one you happen to stop in –  Myrina,  Kontopouli, Romanos, Kontia, Katalako or any other – you’ll be introduced to the art of the stonemason; the decorative reliefs, the remarkable finishing techniques and the ‘mantras’. These are not the usual isolated sheep pens or stables you’d find elsewhere, but more sophisticated complexes of farm buildings.

Famous local flavours

Limnos has a long tradition in certain types of food. It’s famous throughout Greece for its dairy products, honey and durum wheat. Look for cheeses (such as melichlorokaskavali and kalathaki), rusks, whole-wheat flour and handmade noodles, as well as a large variety of wines, red and white, that have a distinctive taste thanks to the volcanic soils. The best known red grape varietal is called Kalambaki or Limnio (Appellation of Controlled Origin). The most popular white is the Muscat of Alexandria. They were famous even in Homer’s day.

Hidden gems of Limnos

Hephaistia and the Cabeirian mysteries

Your trip to the North Aegean will include several significant attractions. Discover them all! The ruins of Hephaistia are what remains of an ancient city that flourished during the 5th and 4th century BC. The god Hephaistos was its protector and so he was worshipped here accordingly. North of Cape Chloe, you’ll find the celebrated sanctuary of the Cabeirians, also dedicated to the worship of Hephaistos. Going by the  myth, the Cabeiroi were the children of Hephaistos and the sanctuary was the scene of the Cabeirian Mysteries which were related to the rebirth of nature and fertility.

Golden sand dunes

These natural formations are found in the northern part of Limnos, covering an area of 70,000 sq m. An extremely rare phenomenon, in Greece at least, this surreal landscape is attracting more and more visitors by the year.

The island with the salt lakes

Near Kontopouli are wetlands consisting of three lakes – Alyki, Hortarolimni and Asprolimni (or Salt, Grassy and White). Alyki is the largest. It connects to the sea through a small canal and in summer the seawater dries to produce high-quality salt. All three lakes are under the protection of the EU’s Natura 2000 network, since many migratory birds spend time there, as any of you with a passion for nature will want to.

Limnos offers a large variety of wines, red and white, that have a distinctive taste thanks to the volcanic soils

Experience the best of Limnos

Limnos offers a large variety of wines, red and white, that have a distinctive taste thanks to the volcanic soils

Tap into the deep-rooted wine culture of Limnos

From ancient grapes to modern whites and reds, you’ll love hearing the story of the North Aegean island of Limnos through its family-owned wineries and...
  • Myrina
  • Poliochni, a prehistoric settlement
  • The villages of Limnos
  • Hephaistia and the Cabeirian mysteries
  • Golden sand dunes
  • The island with the salt lakes
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Gerovassiliou winery

Greek wine: Historic and Magnificent

With a history almost as old as the country itself, the homeland of Dionysus welcomes you to the magic of Greek vineyards