Kalymnos

Kletterer mit blick auf die Ägäis
Kalymnos is an international climbing destination, overwatching the island of Telendos
Scroll
Heute
27°
FRI
26°
SAT
25°
SUN
24°
MON
24°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Heimat der berühmten Schwammtaucher: In dem Dodekanes gibt es eine Insel für die, die das authentische lieben.

Suchen Sie  nach reinen und unberührten Orten? Wünschen Sie sich Einfachheit und Authentizität auf griechischen Inseln? Mögen Sie Ruhe, Entspannung und Erholung im Freien? Sind Sie verrückt nach Klettern, Tauchen, oder beidem? Dann ab nach Kalymnos! Ein seltenes Juwel in der Ägäis und ein einzigartiges Stück Griechenland wartet auf Entdeckung.

Besichtigen Sie in Kalymnos

Schätze der Ägäis

Unberührt und felsig, so ist Kalymnos. Der einzige Ausweg für die Bewohner: das Meer. Großzügig versorgt es die Einheimischen mit seinen wertvollen Schwämmen, die sie dankbar sammeln. Wann genau es die ersten Schwammsammler auf Kalymnos gab, weiß niemand. Heute besitzen sie eine der größten Fischereiflotten in der Ägäis und produzieren jährlich etwa 30.000 Schwämme. Hier können Sie die verschiedenen Arten der Schwämme unterscheiden lernen und ihre Reise vom Meer bis zum Markt verfolgen.

Internationales Kletterziel

Einige der schönsten Kletterrouten Europas finden Bergsteiger hier. Kalymnos ist weltberühmt für seine wunderschönen (und sicheren) Klettertouren. Die Felsen auf der Insel haben eine ausgezeichnete Traktion und der Zugang zu den Klettergebieten ist ein Kinderspiel. Mehr als 60 Klettergebiete und mehr als 1300 markierte und sichere Routen stehen bereit.

Tauchen in der Tiefe von Kalymnos

Auf dieser Insel der Ägäis  findet jedes Jahr das Internationale Tauchfestival statt. Magische Welten – wie Nera, Telendos, Platy und die nahe gelegenen Insel Pserimos – bleiben in Erinnerung. Entdecken Sie die versunkene antike Stadt Telendos-Myrties unter dem Meer.

Der Esperidon-Fjord

Vielleicht der schönste Fjord in Griechenland. Seine tiefe und wundervolle Welt verzaubert seit Jahrhunderten seine Besucher. Das Tal, das von Mandarinen- und Orangenbäumen bedeckt ist, neigt sich bis hinunter zum Ägäis. Einwohner seit der Jungsteinzeit haben ihre Spuren hier hinterlassen.

Versteckte Juwelen in Kalymno

Telendos: früher Halbinsel, jetzt Insel

Ein schreckliches Erdbeben 554 n. Chr. trennte ein Stück von Kalymnos ab und versenkte die ganze Gegend von Pothaia. Heute gibt es dafür die Insel Telendos mit Fragmenten und Ruinen aus dieser Zeit, die genau gegenüber von Kalymnos liegt. Während Ihres Urlaubes können Sie mit dem Boot hinüber fahren, schwimmen gehen und zu Fuß die Insel und die verlorene alte Zivilisation erkunden.

Urlaub und dorianische Gastronomie

Die Küche auf Kalymnos basiert auf der Einfachheit und Strenge der Dorianer. Mououri ist Lamm gefüllt mit Reis, Mirmizeli ein Brotsalat mit Öl, Tomaten und Käse, Fylla sind gefüllte Weinblätter. Probieren Sie alle Leckereien in Ihrem Urlaub und verwöhnen Sie Ihren Gaumen.

Das Heiligtum Dalios Apollo

Das Heiligtum stellte den wichtigsten Ort der Verehrung des Schutzpatrons der Insel dar, aber wurde im antiken Kalymnos auch als politisches und religiöses Zentrum genutzt. Es gab noch andere Heiligtümer wie die Tempel für Apollo und Asklepios sowie ein Theater und ein Gymnasium. Die Ruinen liegen westlich der Hora auf der Straße nach Panormo. In der gleichen Gegend stehen auch zwei große christliche Kirchen aus dem 5. Und 6. Jahrhundert.

 

  • Internationales Kletterziel
  • Tauchen in der Tiefe von Kalymnos
  • Telendos: früher Halbinsel, jetzt Insel
  • Dorianische Gastronomie
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Emerald waters on the Island of Kato Koufonisi, Little Cyclades cluster

Die 10 versteckten Juwelen Griechenlands

Unerforschte Inseln, reich an Geschichte, geheimen Stränden, seltener Schönheit. Entdecken Sie die Schätze der griechischen Inseln und erleben Sie authentische Momente.

Kalymnos

So authentic, you can’t help but dive right in
Kalymnos is an international climbing destination, overwatching the island of Telendos
Today
11°
WED
13°
THU
14°
FRI
12°
SAT
11°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Home of the famous sponge divers, this island in the Dodecanese is ideal for modern-day adventurers and aspiring rock climbers

Are you looking for pure and pristine places? Do you crave simplicity and authenticity in the Greek islands? Do you like serenity, relaxation and outdoor recreation? Are you mad about rock climbing, scuba diving, or both? Well, if this is what you’re after, Kalymnos is a hidden gem in the Aegean, a unique piece of Greece that you must discover.

 

What to do on Kalymnos

Treasures of the Aegean Sea

Arid and rocky Kalymnos. The only exit for its residents is the sea. Generously, the sea provided the locals with its valuable sponges, which they gratefully began harvesting. Exactly when Kalymnians started sponge diving is lost in the mists of time. Today, they have one of the largest fishing fleets in the Aegean and they produce about 30,000 sponges annually. You’ll be able to see the numerous species of sponge, as well as witness the various stages they go through before reaching the market.

International climbing destination

Some of the most beautiful rock faces in Europe can be found here, and Kalymnos has become world-famous for its 60 stunning but safe climbing venues. The rocks on the island have excellent traction and access to climbing areas is a breeze. There are also an additional 1,300 marked and secure routes to be found here. It’s an adventurer’s paradise in the Mediterranean!

Diving in the deep of Kalymnos

The International Diving Festival convenes here every year. Magical worlds – like Nera, Telendos, Platy and the nearby island of Pserimos – will stay carved in your memory as you dive into their depths. Explore the sunken ancient city hidden under the Myrties-Telendos sea channel.

Esperidon fjord

Perhaps the most beautiful fjord in Greece. A deep, wonderful and centuries-old world captivates visitors.The valley, embroidered with tangerine and orange trees, slopes down to the waiting waters of the Aegean. Inhabitants from the Neolithic period onwards have all left their mark.

 

Hidden gems of Kalymnos

Telendos: once a peninsula, now an island

A terrifying earthquake in 554 AD sliced off a piece of Kalymnos, which sunk into the water at Pothaia.Today the island of Telendos lies across from Kalymnos, with ruins and vestiges of that era. During your holiday here, you can take the boat across, go for a swim, and walk the length of the island to feel the spirit of a lost civilisation.

Holidays and Dorian gastronomy

The cuisine of Kalymnos is based on the simplicity and austerity of the Dorians. Mououri is lamb stuffed with rice, mirmizeli is a bread rusk salad with oil, tomato and cheese, fylla are stuffed vine leaves. Delicious!

The Sanctuary of Dalios Apollo

The sanctuary constituted the most important place of worship of the patron saint of the island, but it also functioned as a political and religious centre for ancient Kalymnos. There were places of worship here, such as temples to Apollo and Asklepios, as well as a theatre and a gymnasium. It can be found to the west of the hora, on the road that leads to Panormo. As you explore the area, you’ll find two large Christian churches from the 5th and 6th century.

 

  • International climbing destination
  • Diving in the deep of Kalymnos
  • Telendos: once a peninsula, now an island
  • Dorian gastronomy
Landmarks

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Votsi beach, Alonnisos

Greece’s 10 Hidden Gems

Unexplored islands, with a rich history, secret beaches and rare natural beauty. Discover Greece’s island-treasures and experience authentic moments