8

8 DES MEILLEURES CHOSES À FAIRE À KEA (TZIA)

READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour boire un verre d'ouzo

Située à seulement 1h en ferry du port de Lavrio, dans l'est de l'Attique, Kéa, l'île des Cyclades la plus proche d’Athènes, alliant détente et liberté, offre aux visiteurs tout le confort attendu. Connue sous le nom d’Hydroussa dans l'antiquité et baptisée Tzia par les Francs (nom qu’elle a gardé jusqu’à aujourd'hui), elle vous récompensera par ses belles plages propres, ses sentiers merveilleux et les jolies villas de pierre disséminées sur toute l'île. Vous serez accueilli par sa charmante ville principale, Ioulis (ou Ioulida). C'est une destination merveilleuse en soi ou un supplément parfait pour une escapade à Athènes. Vous ne nous croyez pas ? Voyez par vous-même. Voici quelques-unes des meilleures choses à faire à Kea, pour commencer vos vacances.

Balade dans d'Ioulis

Les vacances à Kéa (Tzia) doivent toujours commencer à Ioulis. Votre première impression en arrivant au port, Korissia, est que Kéa partage le paysage aride des autres îles des Cyclades, mais Ioulis (à 8km à l'intérieur des terres) est différente de n'importe quelle autre ville principale (ou Chora, comme on appelle souvent la cité principale des îles grecques) du plus célèbre archipel d'îles de la Grèce. Ses maisons colorées, souvent ornées de carreaux de céramique, et ses jolies petites rues pavées lui donnent un air de village. Offrez-vous une glace et prenez le temps de découvrir cette charmante petite cité. Allez jusqu’au beau bâtiment néoclassique de l'ancien hôtel de ville et de l’école (construit en 1902), ainsi qu’au petit Musée archéologique. Et ne manquez pas le célèbre lion de pierre de Kéa, au sourire énigmatique étonnant les visiteurs et datant d’environ 600 av. J.-C.

Une randonnée à l'antique Karthéa

Accessible seulement à pied ou par bateau, la beauté du site archéologique et préhistorique de Karthéa vous charmera par son atmosphère, encore plus impressionnante que la longueur de son histoire. Ce site habité pendant 1 400 ans (abandonné au 6ème siècle après J.-C.), était l'une des quatre cités antiques de Kéa. De nombreux sentiers de randonnée bien marqués sillonnent l'île, mais notre préféré est celui qui vous mènera d’Ioulis (au centre) en passant par Mésaria, Profitis Ilias, Astra, Ellinika, Agios Siméon pour atteindre Karthéa sur la côte sud. C'est une randonnée 12,5km exigeante mais merveilleusement gratifiante, encore plus appréciable si vous êtes accompagné d’un guide (pouvant organiser le transport de retour), de Kea Terra Active, par exemple. Vous avez également un sentier descendant sur 35-45mn (le chemin du retour est un peu plus long) partant du village de Havouna ou Stavroudaki et allant jusqu’à Karthéa, où vous serez accueilli par les temples dédiés à Apollon et Athéna et par l’ancien théâtre. D’ici, la vue est incroyable, et une plage en contre-bas du site archéologique vous attend pour une baignade bien méritée. Préparez-vous bien, munissez-vous d’un chapeau et d’une paire de chaussures adaptées, emportez de l’eau et profitez-en ! 

Une excursion au village de Vourkari

Un autre point fort de Kéa (Tzia) est le minuscule Vourkari, un merveilleux petit village de pêcheurs avec de grandes surprises pour les repas et les cocktails, et une vue magnifique sur les bateaux à voile et les yachts. C'est l'un des endroits les plus animés (malgré sa petite taille) de Kéa, avec son enfilade de cafés et de restaurants en bord de mer (voir la liste des restaurants ci-dessous), vous offrant le cadre idéal pour un repas de fruits de mer et de poissons. Et si vous n'avez pas l'intention d'aller jusqu’à Karthéa, visitez le site préhistorique d'Agia Eirini, juste à côté.

Baignade et sports nautiques sur les plages de Kéa

Passer des vacances à Kéa signifie des baignades dans les eaux bleu-vert de la mer Egée et la détente sur les plages de sable et de fins galets blancs. Vous trouverez des plages pour tous les goûts, plus ou moins fréquentées, et d’autres plus à l’écart. La plage de Gialiskari est parmi les plus cosmopolites, alors que celles de Koundouros et Spathi sont à juste titre également très appréciées. Si vous désirez plus de calme et d’intimité, Sikamia est tout simplement divine, tout comme Kaliskia (avec l’ombre naturelle de ses tamaris). De nombreux routins de terre sillonnent Kéa et vous mèneront à des plages magiques encore(la location d’un 4x4 peut s’avérer judicieuse) ; sinon vous pouvez toujours terminer la dernière partie du chemin à pied jusqu’aux plages. Et si vous recherchez les sports nautiques, Koundouraki (à côté de la plus grande plage de Koundourou) accueille Kea Water Sports, qui vous offrira des heures de plaisir en mer avec de nombreuses activités, du SUP et du pédalo, du wakeboard et même des hors-bords ou plus ludiques, des beignets et des bananes gonflables.

Faites de la plongée sous-marine et explorez les épaves d’un bateau et d’un avion WW2

Kéa est devenue une destination de plongée sous-marine importante en Grèce. Quatre naufrages ont été repérés dans les eaux de l’île, dont le Britannic (navire jumeau du Titanic), coulé par une mine pendant la 1ère Guerre mondiale et qui fonctionnait comme un hôpital flottant. Mais, alors que l’épave du Britannic git à une profondeur de 117m et se trouve hors de portée des plongeurs amateurs, d’autres épaves restent accessibles aux plongeurs de tous niveaux. Les Kea Divers basés à Vourkari et à Koundouraki, vous offrent presque tout, en commençant par des cours pour débutants ou des plongées techniques jusqu’à l’exploration d’un avion allemand Junker 52 encore intact, de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, ainsi que le S/ S Burdigala datant de1897, à plus de 60m de fond. Mais ne craignez rien, certaines épaves gisent à seulement 10m et de nombreuses curiosités sous-marines restent à explorer, comme des digues ou des formations rocheuses étranges, refuges de nombreux poissons pélagiques.

Visitez les églises et les monastères de Kéa

Si vous avez fait la randonnée entre Ioulis et Karthéa, vous serez certainement passé par Agios Siméon, dans la partie de l'île de Kato Méria. Il s’y cache un autre des points forts de l'île, l'église d'Agios Siméon, construite sur le site d'un ancien temple dédié à Aphrodite, avec une magnifique vue sur la mer Égée. Et si cela vous a déjà beaucoup plu, attendez la vue du monastère de Panagia Katriani (le patron de Kéa), fondé en 1700 à Katri. En effet, il est construit au bord d'une falaise, et la vue d’ici est littéralement à couper le souffle. 

View from the Monastery of Panagia Kastriani

 

Les délices culinaires de Kéa

Enfin, vous serez surpris par la qualité de la cuisine de Tzia, grâce aux viandes, aux produits laitiers issus de la production locale, et aux délicieux plats préparés dans les restaurants (cuisine maison et cuisine gastronomique). Parmi les meilleurs plats, vous aurez les fameux spaghettis au homard à Kourkouri et des plats haut de gamme à Ioulis … et bien sûr les tavernes traditionnelles de toute l'île. Une spécialité locale est l’loza, une saucisse de porc bien relevée, mais aussi le miel de thym et des fromages comme le xerotyri, le ksino et le kopanisto. Entrez dans un tyrakeion, magasin spécialisé dans le fromage et les produits laitiers, à Iioulis et vous comprendrez. 

Assistez au Festival des contes de fées

Chaque année en juillet, Kéa accueille un événement célébrant la tradition littéraire de l'île, grâce à un festival d'été au cours duquel des écrivains, des artistes locaux et internationaux racontent des contes de fées et chantent des chansons dans divers endroits de l’île. Le but du festival est de perpétuer l’ancienne tradition de Kéa, qui consiste à écrire des mythes sur les nymphes et les fées.

Les meilleures choses à faire à Kéa

Qui savait que le charme des îles des Cyclades pouvait commencer si près d'Athènes ? À seulement une heure du continent, Kéa vous transporte instantanément dans la vie et l’ambiance des îles grecques, vous proposant de nombreuses promenades, des plages et une cuisine étonnante. Qu'attendez-vous ? Qu’est-ce qui vous a tenté le plus parmi les meilleures choses à faire à Kéa ?

 

Découvrez Kéa dès maintenant

FAQ sur Kea (Tzia), Grèce

  • Piatsa: Cuisine maison traditionnelle à Ioulis. C'est un des lieux de rencontre préférés des habitants de l’île pendant les mois d'hiver. Goûtez au bœuf en sauce accompagné d’okra.
  • Kylix: Un restaurant avec une forte personnalité à Ioulis. C'est le lieu gastronomique de l'île, avec son excellente cuisine, une merveilleuse présentation et des vins sélectionnés. Cet endroit vous offre également une vue magnifique sur Ioulis. Ne partez pas sans goûter à la taramosalata ! Elle vous restera inoubliable ! 
  • Paparounas: Un restaurant sur une place de Ioulis proposant une cuisine exceptionnelle. Il vaut la peine de discuter avec le propriétaire polyglotte, qui adore bavarder dans votre langue tout en servant vos plats. 
  • Vourkarion: Un restaurant à Vourkari avec une cuisine exceptionnelle (surtout des fruits de mer) et une vue tout aussi merveilleuse sur les bateaux à voile flottant dans le petit port. La salade d'oursins est un must ! Cela vaut largement le petit supplément.
  • Aristos: Une autre taverne à Vourkari, réputée pour ses spaghettis au homard. Demandez le poisson du jour tout en profitant de la vue.
  • Margarita’s Tavern: Une taverne à Pissès (ou Poissès) avec des plats frais et une sélection de plats de viande locale. Margarita (l'âme de la taverne) s'occupera de vous en vous préparant des plats généreux. Le coq aux spaghettis est un vrai délice ! 
  • Porto Koundouros Restaurant: Ce bar ouvert toute la journée à Koundouros, proposant une cuisine méditerranéenne, est idéalement situé après une journée à la plage. 
  • Leon Bar: Un des plus anciens bars de Kéa au cœur de Chora, dans une ambiance rock ! Vous pourrez y déguster une bière, un verre de vin ou un cocktail à des prix très raisonnables servis par un personnel très agréable.
  • Halkee:Dégustez votre cocktail en musique dans ce lieu très prisé. Vous le trouverez au-dessus du restaurant Aristos à Vourkari (prenez l'escalier en colimaçon).
  • Acqua: Repas léger exceptionnel, pizza et salades étonnantes que vous pouvez combiner avec un verre sur la véranda ou la terrasse, juste au bord de la mer. 
  • Breeze: Un bar en plein air à l'entrée de Vourkari où vous pourrez déguster un café ou une boisson et des crêpes savoureuses, avec vue sur le port.




Marietta Micha
Marietta Micha
Founder & Owner at Athens Luxury Homes

Marietta Micha, founder and owner of Athens Luxury Homes, specialises in the management and letting of boutique hotels and luxury properties in Athens and Kea (including the Iris Villa and Villa Petra in Kea). She cherishes Kea for its unpretentious luxury and the feeling of calm and freedom it offers visitors. 

 

 

Lire la suite

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€
Incredible Sarakiniko beach, a trip to the moon in Milos island

Destinations populaires pour des expériences de voile dans la mer Égée

Hydra's alleyways

Les îles à proximité d’Athènes

Spring is a beautiful season to visit Monodendri and other Zagori villages

12 inoubliables activités à faire à Zagori

The amphitheatrically built Old Town of Skopelos

9 des meilleures activités à faire à Skopelos, l'île de Mamma Mia en Grèce

Fine white sand and shallow water greet you at Fanaraki beach in Lemnos

10 des meilleures plages à Lemnos

The Changing of the Presidential Guard by the Evzones (special guards) protecting the Tomb on the Unknown Solider

12 bâtiments historiques à Athènes pour les amoureux de l'architecture

Aegina harbor

14 des meilleures activités à faire à Égine

Discover 12 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

12 des plus beaux glaciers d’Athènes

8

8 OF THE BEST THINGS TO DO IN KEA (TZIA)

READING TIME
As long as it takes to drink a glass of ouzo

Just 1hr by ferry from the port of Lavrio, in eastern Attica, Kea is the closest Cyclades island to Athens, combining relaxation and freedom and offering visitors all the comfort they desire. It was known as Hydroussa in antiquity and christened Tzia by the Franks (a name by which it also goes today) and will reward you with clean beaches, wonderful footpaths and the handsome, stone-clad villas found all over the island. It’s also got a charming main town, Ioulis (or Ioulida). It’s a wonderful destination in its own right or the perfect addition to an Athens getaway. Don’t believe us? See for yourself. Here are some of the best things to do in Kea, to get your holidays started. 

A stroll around Ioulis

All holidays on Kea (Tzia) should start at Ioulis. Your first impression on arriving at the port, Korissia, is that Kea shares the barren landscape of other Cyclades islands but Ioulis (8km inland) is unlike any other main town (or Hora, as the main settlement of Greek islands is often called) of Greece’s most celebrated island chain. Its houses are colourful and often have ceramic tiles, while the paved alleyways give it a village feel. Grab yourself an ice cream and explore as many as you can. Look out for the neoclassical old school building and town hall (built in 1902) and the small archaeological museum. And don’t miss Kea’s famous stone lion, smiling enigmatically at visitors since around 600 BC.

A hike to ancient Karthea

The beauty of prehistoric Karthea is that you can only reach it by foot or boat, meaning that it’s an archaeological site whose atmosphere is even more impressive than its long history. It was inhabited for 1,400 years (abandoned in the 6th century AD) and was one of four ancient cities on Kea. There are numerous well-marked hiking trails on the island, but our favourite is from Ioulis (in the centre) via Mesaria, Profitis Ilias, Astra, Ellinika, Agios Simeon and finally to Karthea on the south coast. It’s a demanding 12.5km hiking but wonderfully rewarding and is best done with a guide (who can arrange return transport), like Kea Terra Active. Alternatively, there’s a 35-45min downward trail (longer on the way back) from the Havouna or Stavroudaki village to Karthea, where you’ll be greeted by temples dedicated to Apollo and Athena and an ancient theatre. The views are amazing and there’s a beach below the archaeological site for a well

An excursion to Vourkari village

Another highlight of Kea (Tzia) is Lilliputian Vourkari, a wonderful fishing village with great options for food and cocktails and a view of bobbing sailing boats and yachts. It’s one of the liveliest (despite its small size) spots in Kea, with a row of seafront cafes and restaurants (see the list of restaurants below) that provide the ideal setting for a seafood meal. And if you aren’t intending to go to Karthea, make a point of visiting the prehistoric settlement of Agia Eirini, just next door.

Swimming and water sports at Kea’s beaches

Holidays in Kea mean swimming in blue-green waters and at beaches with sand and fine white pebbles. There are beaches for every taste, cosmopolitan and remote. Gialiskari beach is in the cosmopolitan category and Koundouros and Spathi are justifiably popular choices. For something quieter and more private, Sikamia is heavenly, as is Kaliskia (with its natural shade and tamarisk trees). There are many dirt roads on Kea that lead to magical beaches (a good reason to hire a 4x4) otherwise you can always complete the last stretch to the beach by foot. And if it’s water sports you’re after, Koundouraki (next to its big brother, Koundourou beach) is home to Kea Water Sports, offering hours of sea fun with everything from SUP and pedalos to wakeboarding and speedboats with donuts and banana inflatables.

Go diving to a shipwreck or sunken WW2 plane

Kea has established itself as a fully-fledged diving destination in Greece. There are four known shipwrecks in its waters, including none other than the Britannic (sister ship of the Titanic), sunk by a World War 2 mine whilst operating as a floating hospital. And while the Britannic’s 117m depth makes it out of reach for recreational divers, other wrecks are accessible for divers of all abilities. Kea Divers are based at Vourkari and Koundouraki and offer everything from beginner courses to technical dives to an intact Junker 52 German World War I airplane and the 1897-built S/S Burdigala, more than 60m down. But fear not, there are also wrecks at 10m and plenty of other underwater features to explore, such as sea walls and intriguing rock formations that attract pelagic fish.

Visit the churches and monasteries of Kea

If you hiked from Ioulis to Karthea, you’ll have passed by Agios Simeon in the area of the island known as Kato Meria. It hides another of the island’s highlights, the church of Agios Simeon, built on the site of a temple dedicated to Aphrodite and with views over the Aegean Sea. And if you think that’s special, wait for the view of the Monastery of Panagia Kastriani (the patron saint of Kea), founded in 1700 AD in Kastri. Built on the edge of a cliff, its views are literally breathtaking.

 

View from the Monastery of Panagia Kastriani

 

The culinary delights of Kea

Last but absolutely by no means least, you’ll be blown away by the choice of food in Tzia, with locally produced meat and dairy products, and delicious dishes in restaurants (from home-cooked food to gourmet cuisine). Highlights include lobster spaghetti in Kourkouri and the upmarket choices in Ioulis … and of course the traditional tavernas all over the island. A local delicacy to look out for is loza, a pork-and-spice sausage, thyme honey and cheeses like xerotyri, ksino and kopanisto. Pop into Tyrakeion, specialising in cheese and dairy products, in Iioulis and you’ll understand.

Attend the Festival of Fairy Tales

Every July, Kea plays host to an event that celebrates the island’s storytelling tradition, with a summer festival in which local and international writers and artists narrate fairy tales and sing songs to audiences at various locations. The festival’s aim is to continue Kea’s ancient tradition of myths of nymphs and fairies.

The best things to do in Kea

Who knew that the charm of the Cyclades islands could start so close to Athens? Just an hour from the mainland, Kea instantly transports you to Greek island life with walks, beaches and amazing food. What are you waiting for? Which of the best things to do in Kea tempted you most?

 

Discover Kea now

FAQs about Kea (Tzia)

  • Piatsa: Traditional home-cooked food in Ioulis. It’s a favourite hangout of locals during winter months. Try the beef in red sauce and okra.
  • Kylix: A restaurant with a big personality in Ioulis. It’s the gourmet choice for the island, with excellent food and wonderful presentation and selected wines. There’s also a great view of Ioulis. Don’t leave without trying the taramosalata! You’ll remember it forever. 
  • Paparounas: A restaurant in a square in Ioulis with exceptional food. It’s worth striking up a conversation with the polyglot owner who loves nothing more than rattling off the dishes being served in your language.
  • Vourkarion: A restaurant in Vourkari with exceptional food (mostly seafood) and an equally wonderful view of sailing boats in the little port. The sea urchin salad is a must! It’s worth the little bit extra that you’ll pay.
  • Aristos: Another fish taverna in Vourkari, known for its lobster spaghetti. Ask for the fish of the day and enjoy the view.
  • Margarita’s Tavern: A taverna in Pisses (or Poisses) with fresh food and a selection of local meat dishes. Margarita (the soul of the taverna) will look after you with generously sized dishes. The cockerel with spaghetti is a hit.
  • Porto Koundouros Restaurant: An all-day bar in Koundouros with Mediterranean food, handily located after a day at the beach. 
  • Leon Bar: One of the oldest bars in Kea in the heart of Hora with a rock aesthetic! You can enjoy a beer, wine or a cocktail at very reasonable prices with super polite staff.
  • Halkee: Enjoy a cocktail with great music at this favourite. You’ll find it above Aristos restaurant in Vourkari (look for the winding staircase).
  • Acqua: Exceptional light food, pizza and amazing salads that you can combine with a drink on the veranda or terrace, right by the sea. 
  • Breeze: An open-air bar at the entrance of Vourkari in which you can enjoy coffee or a drink and amazing savoury pancakes with a view of the port.

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates





Marietta Micha
Marietta Micha
Founder & Owner at Athens Luxury Homes

Marietta Micha, founder and owner of Athens Luxury Homes, specialises in the management and letting of boutique hotels and luxury properties in Athens and Kea (including the Iris Villa and Villa Petra in Kea). She cherishes Kea for its unpretentious luxury and the feeling of calm and freedom it offers visitors. 

 

 

Read More

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€
Incredible Sarakiniko beach, a trip to the moon in Milos island

12 Popular sailing destinations in the Aegean

Hydra's alleyways

7 islands close to Athens

Athenians take every opportunity to max out on outdoor time

8 best ideas for a spring or autumn break in Athens

Matala beach, Crete

12 of the best beaches in Heraklion

14 of the best beaches in Pelion

Kato Zakros beach, Crete

12 of the best beaches around Agios Nikolaos

10 of the best beaches in Kythira

10 unforgettable things to do in Lemnos