Thessaloniki Archaeological Museum
EXPERIENCE

Un tour du musée archéologique de Thessalonique

Que vous y êtes en séjour à la ville ou juste en escale entre deux destinations en Macédoine ou en Chalcidique, une visite au musée archéologique de Thessalonique s’impose pour mieux comprendre cette célèbre terre et ses habitants.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
2 - 3 heures
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

C’est inévitable que la plus grande ville Grecque du nord et la région qui a donné naissance aux plus grandes dynasties Macédoines devrait posséder un musée archéologique pour être classé parmi les meilleurs au pays. 

De l'extraordinaire Petralona Hoard, datant du 3e millénaire (oui, millénaire !) avant J.-C. à l'époque où la Macédoine était une province de l'Empire romain, le musée décrit une histoire considérable des débuts de la vie humaine, des grandes civilisations et de l'explosion économique, sociale et commerciale qui a conduit à la métropole dont nous jouissons aujourd'hui.

Les objets et les monuments découverts sur place ou dans la région (dont le mont Olympe et le mont Athos) sont exposés. Vous y verrez l'évolution du travail de la pierre (de l'architecture à l'art) et du travail du métal qui a fait la renommée de la région, notamment l'utilisation de l'or, qui a atteint son apogée avec les couronnes d'or ornées des Macédoniens. 

Clairement aménagé et doté d'affichages audiovisuels et d'écrans tactiles qui donnent vie aux histoires... le musée retient toute votre attention, avant de ressortir à la ville et la regarder d'un œil nouveau.

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

La période de l'histoire (ou de la préhistoire) au sein du musée est extraordinaire. Rien que les expositions permanentes vous donneront le sentiment qu'aucune pierre n'a été négligée pour raconter l'histoire d'une partie fascinante du monde.

La Macédoine Préhistorique 

En vous emmenant à l'époque précédant les hommes modernes, vous découvrirez la Macédoine préhistorique grâce à des objets tels que le crâne de Petralona, trouvé dans une grotte en Chalcidique et sensé remonter à plus de 200 000 ans. Découvrez l'ère néolithique et, grâce à des collections telles que l'étonnant trésor d'outils et d'armes de Petralona, l'âge du bronze, qui montre comment les premiers hommes chassaient, pêchaient, cultivaient, fabriquaient des outils, faisaient du commerce et formaient des communautés.

Vers la naissance des villes 

Si souvent dépeint comme une époque de ténèbres, l'âge du fer (1100-700 avant J.-C.) est mis en avant par les dernières fouilles révélant d'importants changements dans la vie économique et sociale des colonies de l'époque. Dans ce contexte, la Macédoine est montrée comme appartenant à un réseau plus large, échangeant des biens et des savoir-faire, notamment dans le domaine des métaux.

La Macédoine du 7ème siècle A.J jusqu’à la fin de l’Antiquité 

Du royaume indépendant à la province de l'Empire romain, c'est l'époque où la Macédoine s'est épanouie politiquement, socialement et économiquement. À travers des centaines d'objets, vous découvrirez les institutions qui ont défini l'histoire de la région et l’organisation de la vie : l'armée, l'éducation, les sports, l'agriculture, l'artisanat, le commerce et bien sûr les arts et la religion. Parmi les faits marquants, citons le décret de conscription générale du roi Philippe Vin (197 av. J.-C.), qui appelait tous les hommes âgés de 15 à 50 ans à prendre les armes contre les Romains. Et la porte en marbre du tombeau macédonien d'Agia Paraskevi, un monument funéraire élaboré montrant la complexité de l'artisanat macédonien et les coutumes funéraires de l'élite.

Thessalonique, la Métropole de la Macédoine

Dédié à la ville ancienne depuis sa fondation en 315 avant J.-C. jusqu'au début du 4ème siècle après J.-C. Vous apprécierez les origines du système de grille moderne de Thessalonique, y compris l'organisation de la vie publique et privée ancienne, et serez introduit à certains monuments moins connus de la ville. Parmi les points forts, citons la statue d'Auguste, le premier empereur romain (24 av. J.-C. - 14 ap. J.-C.) et la statue la mieux conservée du musée, et le petit arc de Galère, qui couronnait à l'origine un petit temple à l'époque de Gaius Galerius Valerius-Maximianus, le César romain qui a donné à Thessalonique son complexe palatial.

L’or de Macedon 

La métallurgie a prospéré en Macédoine non pas une mais deux fois, à la fin de l'Archaïque et début de l'époque classique et plus tard à l'époque classique et début de l'époque hellénistique. Le savoir-faire artisanal est remarquable, notamment en ce qui concerne les couronnes d'or et les collections funéraires (armes, récipients et bijoux). Les points forts sont le krater Derveni, un chef-d'œuvre du 4ème siècle avant J.-C., représentant le mariage sacré de Dionysos et d'Ariane avec un entourage de satyres et de ménades. Dans cette section se trouve également le papyrus Derveni, datant de 340-320 avant J.-C., le plus vieux livre d'Europe encore existant. Il n'a survécu que parce qu'il est carbonisé et figure sur le registre "Mémoire du monde" de l'UNESCO. La première partie décrit les pratiques cultuelles associées à la vie après la mort de l'âme et la seconde contient un hymne orphique.

Des sorties à l’air 

Champs, maison, jardin, tombe 

Des artefacts datant du 2ème au 4ème siècle après J.-C., lorsque Thessalonique était florissante, sont exposés ici, avec des sarcophages et des autels provenant des cimetières de la ville. On y trouve également la représentation d'une maison cossue de l'Empire romain, avec ses sols en mosaïque d'origine, et la reconstitution d'une salle à manger, de chambres, d'une cuisine et d'une salle de réception.

Souvenirs en pierre 

Centrée sur la période du 1er au 7ème siècle après J.-C., cette section se concentre sur la façon dont la pierre était utilisée dans la communication des lois et des édits des rois et des empereurs, et façonnée dans la construction des temples, des bâtiments publics et bien sûr des sculptures des héros, des dieux et des bustes des souverains et des citoyens éminents que nous admirons aujourd'hui. 

Lire la suite Read Less

Depuis la place d’Aristotelous 

  • A pieds : une promenade qui vaut le coup depuis la place d’Aristote Lous (1.4 km) tout le long de la côte ou vers la rue de Tsimiski, la rue principale du shopping.  
  • Par bus : No.33 (l’arrêt du musée de la culture Byzantine), No. 12, 39 (arrêt du musée), No.3k, 5, 6 (arrêt de la mairie ou DimarchiakoMegaro) 

Depuis l’aéroport

  • Par voiture ou taxi : 16.4 Km (22 min) 
  • Par bus : 01X (arrêt de la mairie ou DimarchiakoMegaro) ensuite à pieds environ 590m. 
  • La Thessalonique est une excellente destination de vacance tout au long de l’année et une escale naturelle lors d’une visite dans la région. 
  • Vous pouvez visitez le musée tout au long de l’année à l’exception des jours fériés. 
  • Horaires d’ouverture et billets d’entrée:
    Ouvert tous les jours 9 :00-16 :00 à l’exception des jours fériés 
    Plus d'informations

Il est recommandé d’éviter la haute saison et découvrir la ville plutôt au printemps, au début d’été et en automne. 

  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver
  • Vous aurez besoin d’environ 2 à 3 heures pour découvrir toutes les salles d’exposition. Mais vous pouvez tout de même passer plus ou moins de temps en fonction d’où est-ce que vous voulez y arriver. 
  • Une visite du musée archéologique est généralement incluse dans les formules de visite de la ville en une journée ou en demi-journée. 
  • Le musée possède des copies originales des objets exposés (moulages en plâtre, résine, bronze ainsi que des pièces de monnaie, des bijoux, des céramiques, etc. et une collection de livres et de cadeaux).
  • Il y a un café, bien qu'il soit temporairement fermé. 
  • Le musée est adapté aux visiteurs avec mobilité réduite.  
  • Des brochures d'information sont disponibles en 20 langues (en format imprimé et numérique) et en braille en grec et en anglais.
  • Pas loin du musée archéologique vous trouverez le musée de la culture byzantine, si vous avez envie d'un peu plus d'histoire.
  • Enfin, vous êtes proche de la mer, alors pourquoi ne pas terminer votre visite par une promenade sur la côte et trouver une petite taverne ou un café pour découvrir pourquoi tant de monde s'extasie sur la nourriture de Thessalonique

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Aidez-nous à préserver la magie de notre héritage pour les générations à venir, en suivant les règles de base lors des visites de sites archéologiques.

Ne touchez pas les vestiges ou les monuments. Les huiles naturellement sécrétées par les doigts peuvent endommager les artéfacts.
Utilisez les poubelles mises à votre disposition et si besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Optez pour une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Si vous voyez une pancarte interdisant de photographier avec flash, merci de la respecter. C’est une mesure destinée à la protection des monuments.
Il est strictement interdit d’emmener des animaux de compagnie (à l’exception des chiens guides).
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
The immense armour of King Philip II, displayed in evocatively dimmed light

Ressentez la majesté des tombes royales de Vergine

White Tower Thessaloniki aerial view

Creusez dans l’âme de Thessaloniki à la tour blanche

We start at the emblematic White Tower, the 15th century prison that is now a museum

Une promenade pédestre à la ville historique de Thessalonique

Domaine Porto Karras, the largest organic vineyards in Greece

A la découverte des routes de vins du Chalcidique

Thessaloniki reveals its unique identity with every bite you take

Une visite gastronomique de Thessalonique

Palaios Panteleiomonas is a centuries-old village whose inhabitants had chosen to relocate to the coast before returning to breathe new life into the village

Le tour des villages mythiques sur les flancs du Mont Olympe

Ηopping between villages is the perfect follow-up to enjoying the lively atmosphere of the towns and beautiful beaches of Paros

Une escapade dans les villages de Paros

Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility

Une visite du temple de Déméter à Naxos

View of Acropolis and Odeon of Herodes Atticus

Découvrez en une promenade les richesses culturelles d’Athènes

The Museum of Cycladic Art presents us with artwork so elegant that it still influences fashion trends today

Visitez le musée d'art cycladique à Athènes

Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens is a gem of a museum and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making

Visitez le musée d'art contemporain Goulandris à Athènes

Thessaloniki Archaeological Museum
EXPERIENCE

A tour of the Archaeological Museum of Thessaloniki

Whether you’re on a city break or a stopover on your way elsewhere in Macedonia or Halkidiki, a visit to the Archaeological Museum of Thessaloniki is a must to understand everything about this famous land and its people.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
2 - 3 hours
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

It’s only right that Greece’s biggest city in the north and the region that gave us the great Macedonian dynasties should have an archaeological museum to rank amongst the very best in the country. 

From the extraordinary Petralona Hoard, dating from the 3rd millennium (yes, millennium!) BC to the time when Macedonia was a province of the Roman Empire, the museum describes a sweeping story of early human life, grand civilisations and the economic, social and commercial explosion that led the metropolis we enjoy today.

On display are artefacts and monuments excavated locally or in the wider area (including Mt Olympus and Mt Athos), through which you’ll witness the developments in stonework (from architecture to artistry) and the metalwork for which the region is famed – notably the use of gold, reaching its zenith with the ornate gold wreaths of the Macedonians. 

Clearly laid out and with audio-visual displays and touch screens bringing stories to life… the museum keeps your full attention, before you step back outside and see the city through new eyes.
 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

The timeframe of history (or pre-history) within the museum is extraordinary. The permanent exhibitions alone will make you feel that no stone has been left unturned in telling the story of a fascinating part of the world.

Prehistoric Macedonia 

Taking you to the time before modern humans, you are introduced to prehistoric Macedonia through exhibits such as the Petralona Skull, found in a cave in Halkidiki and believed to be more than 200,000 years old. Discover the Neolithic era and, through collections such as the astonishing Petralona Hoard of tools and weapons, the Bronze Age, showing how early humans hunted, fished, farmed, made tools, traded and became communities.

Towards the birth of cities

So often depicted as a time of darkness, the Iron Age (1100-700BC) is brought to light through the latest excavations revealing important changes in the economic and social life of settlements at the time. In this context, Macedonia is shown to belong to a wider network, exchanging goods and know-how, particularly in metalwork.

Macedonia from the 7th century BC until the late antiquity

From independent kingdom to province of the Roman Empire, this was the time when Macedonia flourished politically, socially and economically. Through hundreds of artefacts, you’ll learn about the institutions that defined the region’s history and how life was organised – the military, education, sports, farming, crafting, trading, and of course arts and religion. Highlights include the General conscription decree of King Philip V in 197 BC, calling on all males aged 15 to 50 to take up arms against the Romans. And the Marble door of the Macedonian Tomb of Agia Paraskevi, an elaborate burial monument showing the intricacy of Macedonian craftsmanship and burial customs of the elite.

Thessaloniki, Metropolis of Macedonia

Dedicated to the ancient city from its founding in 315 BC to the early 4th century AD. You’ll appreciate the origins of Thessaloniki’s modern grid system, including the organisation of ancient public and private life, and be introduced to some lesser-known monuments in the city. Highlights include the Statue of Augustus, the first Roman emperor (24 BC-14 AD) and the best-preserved statue in the museum, and the Small Arch of Galerius, originally crowning a small temple during the time of Gaius Galerius Valerius Maximianus, the Roman Caesar who gave Thessaloniki its palatial complex. 

The Gold of Macedon

Metallurgy flourished in Macedonia not once but twice, in the late Archaic and early Classical times and later in Classical and early Hellenistic times. The craftsmanship is remarkable, particularly in the golden wreaths and the burial collections (weaponry, vessels and jewellery). Highlights are the Derveni Krater, a masterpiece of the 4th century BC, depicting the sacred wedding of Dionysus and Ariadne along with an entourage of satyrs and maenads. Also in this section is the Derveni Papyrus, from 340-320 BC, the oldest surviving book in Europe. It only survived because it is charred and is on the UNESCO Memory of the World register. The first part describes cult practices associated with the afterlife of the soul and the second contains an Orphic hymn. 

Outdoor exhibits 

Field, house, garden, grave 

Artefacts from the 2nd-4th century AD, when Thessaloniki flourished, are displayed here, with sarcophagi and altars from the city's cemeteries. There is also a depiction of a wealthy house during the Roman Empire, including original mosaic floors, and reconstructions of a dining room, bedrooms, kitchen and reception area.

Memory in stone 

Centring on the 1st to the 7th century AD, this section focuses on how stone was used in the communication of laws and edicts of kings and emperors, and shaped in the construction of temples, public buildings and of course the sculptures of heroes, gods and the busts of rulers and prominent citizens we admire today.  

Read More Read Less

From Aristotelous Square

  • By foot: It’s worth walking from the promenade from Aristotelous Square (1.4km) along the coast or down Tsimiski Street, the main shopping street.
  • By bus: No. 33 (Museum of Byzantine Culture stop), No. 12, 39 (Museums stop), No. 3Κ, 5, 6 (Town Hall or Dimarchiako Megaro stop)

From the airport

  • By car or taxi:  16.4km (22mins)
  • By bus: 01Χ (Town Hall or Dimarchiako Megaro stop) and from there by foot (590m). 
     
  • Thessaloniki is an excellent city break destination at any time of year or a natural stopover whilst on holiday in the region. 
  • You can visit the museum throughout the year, apart from on national holidays.
  • Opening Hours & Tickets:
    Open daily from 9:00-16:00 except public holidays
    More info

It’s worth avoiding the hottest and most popular summer months and exploring the city in spring, early and late summer and autumn.  

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • Around 2-3 hours are needed to enjoy all the exhibition halls. But you can spend more or less time in the museum depending on the depth you want to go into.
  • A visit to the Archaeological Museum is included in half- and full-day city tours.
  • The museum shop has original copies of exhibits (casts made of plaster, resin, bronze as well as coins, jewellery, ceramics etc and a collection of books and gifts). 
  • There is a cafe, although it is temporarily closed 
  • The museum is suitable for visitors with disabilities. 
  • Information booklets are available in 20 languages (in print and digital formats) and in Braille in Greek and English.
  • Next to the Archaeological Museum is the Museum of Byzantine Culture, if you’re in the mood for a little more history.
  • Finally, you’re close to the sea so how about finishing with a walk to the coast and finding a little taverna or cafe to discover why everyone raves about Thessaloniki’s food
     

Plan your trip

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of our heritage for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting archaeological sites.

Refrain from touching any remains or monuments. The fingers’ natural oils can be extremely damaging to artefacts.
Use the bins provided or, if need be, take your rubbish with you.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
If there’s a “No flash photography” sign, please respect it. It’s to protect the monuments.
No pets (other than guide dogs) are allowed in cultural sites.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Touring the vineyards and cellars will give you an appreciation of the first rate facilities

Exploring the wine routes of Thessaloniki

If there’s a city that’s become synonymous with nightlife and entertainment, this is Thessaloniki

The best of Thessaloniki’s legendary nightlife scene

We start at the emblematic White Tower, the 15th century prison that is now a museum

A walking tour of historic Thessaloniki

The immense armour of King Philip II, displayed in evocatively dimmed light

Feel the majesty of Vergina’s Royal Tombs

Domaine Porto Karras, the largest organic vineyards in Greece

Exploring the wine routes of Halkidiki

Palaios Panteleiomonas is a centuries-old village whose inhabitants had chosen to relocate to the coast before returning to breathe new life into the village

Mythical village-hopping on the slopes of Mt Olympus

Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility

A tour of the Temple of Demeter on Naxos

View of Acropolis and Odeon of Herodes Atticus

The cultural wealth of Athens revealed in a stroll

Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens is a gem of a museum and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making

A tour of the Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens

You can appreciate the museum’s stature even before you enter, with its imposing 19th-century neoclassical facade

Journey through time at the National Archaeological Museum in Athens