A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens
EXPERIENCE

Un tour au stade Panathénaïque d’Athènes

Ayant accueilli les premiers Jeux olympiques modernes en 1896 et ayant été le lieu d'événements sportifs et culturels dans l'Antiquité, le stade panathénaïque d'Athènes est riche d'une histoire fascinante et continue de marquer le quotidien des Athéniens.
Thrace region-id="pin-13"; Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
1-2 heures
Par saison
Toute l’année

APERÇU

Devant le stade panathénaïque d'Athènes, en forme de fer à cheval, vous pouvez facilement imaginer les 80 000 spectateurs de la cérémonie d'ouverture des premiers Jeux olympiques modernes en 1896, applaudissant les idéaux d'excellence, d'amitié et de respect établis par le sport. Ce qui est plus difficile à imaginer, ce sont les 50 000 spectateurs du milieu du 2ème siècle de notre ère, dans ce qui était (du moins dans sa forme) un stade similaire, se délectant des combats de gladiateurs et des combats d'animaux pendant l'occupation romaine d'Athènes.

Ces deux scènes font partie de l'histoire unique de ce site Athénien incontournable, bien que l'héritage olympique du stade soit sa caractéristique principale et la raison principale de sa visite.

Son histoire remonte à 330 avant J.-C., lorsque l'homme d'État athénien Lykourgos a construit le stade original en calcaire sur le site d'un hippodrome pour organiser les Jeux panathénaïques (une fête religieuse et athlétique célébrée tous les quatre ans en l'honneur de la déesse Athéna).
Il a été reconstruit par le bienfaiteur athénien Hérode Atticus en 144 après J.-C. (il a alors été doté d'une capacité de 50 000 places et est redevenu un monument majeur d'Athènes), mais il est tombé en désuétude au quatrième siècle après J.-C., jusqu'à ce qu'il soit choisi pour accueillir les premiers Jeux olympiques modernes. Evangelos Zappas a fourni la vision et George Averoff (un homme d'affaires grec de Metsovo) basé en Égypte) l'argent... et le résultat fut (ce qui est toujours) le seul stade entièrement en marbre au monde. Son autre nom (Kallimarmaro) signifie "beau marbre".

La vraie beauté du stade panathénaïque, cependant, est qu'il fait toujours partie de la vie quotidienne des Athéniens, avec les bois environnants et même la piste utilisée comme lieu de jogging. C'est la ligne d'arrivée du marathon annuel d'Athènes et, tous les quatre ans, il accueille la cérémonie de remise de la flamme olympique. Pendant les Jeux olympiques d'Athènes de 2004, il est redevenu un site olympique, accueillant la compétition de tir à l'arc. 

Pour le prix d'entrée, vous pourrez vous aligner sur la piste de course comme ces premiers olympiens modernes, poser pour une photo sur le podium des vainqueurs, visiter le musée du site et vous promener dans le passage voûté et le diodos, le passage souterrain utilisé par les athlètes antiques pour entrer dans le stade.

Lire la suite Read Less

Réservez votre voyage

Group

Athens morning bike tour

2.5 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
1082 Avis
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund
Ride with us and discover all the must-see locations and hidden gems of Athens! Get an overview of the city center and enjoy the city...
athens-highlights-mythology-tour-logo
Group

Athens Highlights Mythology Tour

4 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
1227 Avis
Free cancellation
Until 73 hours prior to scheduled commencement date of service: no cancellation fee
Join our Athens mythological tour & get to the heart of the ancient world by exploring Athens' landmark sites through timeless myths. Uncover fascinating stories...

Où se trouve le stade Panathénaïque d’Athènes ?

  • Le stade panathénaïque se trouve sous le jardin national d'Athènes (près de la salle d'exposition Zappeion) sur l'avenue VasileosKonstantinou, au début du quartier de Pangrati. Il se trouve à 1,2 km à pied (15 minutes) de la station de métro Place Syntagma (lignes bleue et rouge).

Quel est le meilleur moyen de rejoindre le centre d'Athènes depuis l'aéroport ou le port ?

  • Vous pouvez prendre un taxi (environ 38 € dans la journée) ou un bus, ou louer une voiture à l'aéroport international d'Athènes, ou prendre le métro directement pour le centre (ligne bleue).
  • Il y a également des taxis (25 € pendant la journée), des bus et une station de métro (ligne verte) au port du Pirée (changement pour la ligne bleue à Monastiraki). En fonction de votre quai de ferry, la station de métro se trouve à 15-20 minutes de marche.
     

Quel est le meilleur moment pour visiter le stade panathénaïque d'Athènes ?

  • Le stade panathénaïque est ouvert toute l'année (fermé certains jours fériés). 
  • En raison du marbre, la température dans le stade en été peut être très élevée, il est donc préférable de le visiter le matin ou en fin d'après-midi.

Quels sont les horaires d'ouverture du stade panathénaïque et combien coûtent les billets ? 

  • De mars à octobre : 08:00-19:00 (dernier billet vendu à 19:00)
  • Novembre-février : 08:00-17:00 (dernier billet vendu à 17:00)
  • Les billets coûtent 5 € (2,50 € en tarif réduit).
  • Plus d'informations sur les heures d'ouverture et les billets ici  
  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver
  • La visite du stade et du musée prend 1 à 2 heures.
  • Vous trouverez plus d'informations sur les visites guidées ici.  
  • Le billet comprend un audioguide (11 langues) et l'entrée au musée du site, qui comprend une exposition permanente intitulée "Mémoires des Jeux olympiques : Affiches et flambeaux de 1896 à nos jours". 
    Une boutique de souvenirs d'inspiration kallimarmarienne et un café se trouvent à l'entrée. 
  • Le stade panathénaïque est accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite, bien que la zone des sièges comporte des marches raides. 
  • Si vous voulez une photo inoubliable, montez au niveau supérieur de la tribune 21, d'où vous pourrez photographier l'Acropole, la colline Filopappou, le temple de Zeus Olympien, le Zappeion, le jardin national et la colline Lycabettus.
  • Le marbre du stade panathénaïque peut être glissant, il faut donc faire très attention, surtout par temps humide. Portez des chaussures de marche ou de course confortables et évitez de porter des talons hauts.
  • La zone bordée d'arbres de part et d'autre du stade est idéale pour une promenade ou un jogging le matin ou l'après-midi. Pour utiliser la piste de course de 07h30 à 09h00, vous devrez remplir un formulaire à l'entrée du stade.
  • Le stade panathénaïque est adossé à deux des quartiers les plus intéressants d'Athènes, Pangrati et Mets, où l'on trouve de nombreux styles de nourriture différents et des cafés/bars en plein essor.

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Aidez-nous à préserver la magie de notre héritage pour les générations à venir, en suivant les règles de base lors des visites de sites archéologiques.

Utilisez les poubelles prévues à cet effet (notamment pour les chewing-gums, qui peuvent endommager le marbre).
Optez pour une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Les photos et vidéos amateurs sont autorisées dans toutes les zones.
Il est strictement interdit d’emmener des animaux de compagnie (à l’exception des chiens guides).
Il est strictement interdit de fumer.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€
The Atrium of the Muses in the gardens of the Athens Megaron

Le Palais de la musique d'Athènes (Mégaron)

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Une visite au centre culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos à Athènes

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Une visite à la galerie nationale d’Athènes

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

Visite du musée Benaki de la culture grecque à Athènes

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

Le spectacle de l’Odéon d’Hérodes Atticus à Athènes

National Museum of Contemporary Art

Le Musée National d’art Contemporain d’Athènes

The Atrium of the Muses in the gardens of the Athens Megaron

Le Palais de la musique d'Athènes (Mégaron)

Minoan Palace of Phaistos Festos, Crete

Découvrez le Palais minoen de Phaistos en Crète

Fiskardo village, Kefalonia

Découvrez les pittoresques villages de Céphalonie

Finikas Ave. - Neratzia Castle, Kos, Greece

Une promenade dans sites culturels de la ville de Kos

Strolling around Arnaia village

Découvrez les villages intemporels de Chalcidique

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens
EXPERIENCE

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Having hosted the original modern Olympic Games in 1896 and been the site of athletic and cultural events in antiquity, the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens is packed with fascinating history and continues to be a part of the daily lives of Athenians
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1-2 hours
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

Standing in front of the horseshoe-shaped Panathenaic Stadium in Athens, you can easily imagine the 80,000 spectators at the opening ceremony of the first modern Olympics in 1896, cheering the establishment of the ideals of excellence, friendship and respect through sport. What might be harder to imagine are the 50,000 spectators in the mid-2nd century AD in what was (in shape at least) a similar stadium, revelling in the gladiatorial battles and animal baiting during Athens’ Roman occupation.. 

Both scenes are part of the unique history of this Athens landmark, although the stadium’s Olympic legacy is its defining characteristic and its main reason for visiting. 

Its history goes back to 330 BC when the Athenian statesman Lykourgos built the original limestone stadium on the site of a racecourse to stage the Panathenaic Games (a religious and athletic festival celebrated every four years in honour of the goddess Athena).

It was rebuilt by Athenian benefactor Herodes Atticus by 144 AD (when it was given a 50,000-seat capacity and resumed its place as a major Athens monument) but fell out of use by the 4th century AD, becoming derelict until it was chosen as the host venue for the first modern Olympics. Evangelos Zappas provided the vision and George Averoff (an Egypt-based Greek businessman from Metsovo) the money … and the result was (what is still) the only all-marble stadium in the world. Its other name (Kallimarmaro) means ‘beautiful marble’.  

The real beauty of the Panathenaic Stadium, however, is that it is still part of the daily lives of Athenians, with the surrounding woodland and even the track used as a jogging venue. It’s the finishing line for the annual Athens Marathon and, every four years, holds the Olympic Flame handover ceremony. During the 2004 Athens Olympics, it once again became an Olympic venue, hosting the archery competition.  

For the price of admission, you’ll line up on the running track like those first modern Olympians, pose for a photo on the winner’s podium, visit the on-site museum and walk through the Vaulted Passage and diodos, the underground passage used by ancient athletes entering the stadium.

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
Accommodation

Attalos Hotel Athens

Athens

The 3-star Hotel Attalos is located in the historic center of Athens, and has established its own history internationally and is recognized as "Your Home...

Official online rates

Accommodation

Parnon Hotel Athens

Athens

Τhe perfect place to discover Athens by walk is Parnon Hotel. The city of Athens is a major centre of commerce, art, culture, shopping and...

Official online rates

Where is the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens?

  • The Panathenaic Stadium is found below Athens’ National Garden (near the Zappeion Exhibition Hall) on Vasileos Konstantinou Ave, at the start of the neighbourhood of Pangrati. It is a 1.2km walk (15 mins) from Syntagma Square metro station (blue and red line). 

What is the best way to reach central Athens from the airport or port?

  • You can catch a taxi (about €38 during the day) or bus, or hire a car from Athens International Airport, or take the metro directly to the centre (blue line). 
  • There are also taxis (€25 during the day), buses and a metro station (green line) at Piraeus port (change to blue line at Monastiraki). Depending on your ferry gate, it could be a 15-20min walk to the metro station. 
     

When is the best time to visit the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens?

  • The Panathenaic Stadium is open all year round (closed on some national holidays). 
  • Because of the marble, the temperature in the stadium during summer can be very high so it is best to visit in the morning or late afternoon. 

 

What are the opening times of the Panathenaic Stadium and how much are tickets? 

  • March-October: 08:00-19:00 (last ticket sold at 19:00) 
  • November-February: 08:00-17:00 (last ticket sold at 17:00) 
  • Tickets cost €5 (€2.50 reduced) 
  • More information on opening hours & tickets here  
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • Visiting the stadium and museum takes 1-2 hours. 
  • More information on guided tours can be found here.  
  • Included in your ticket is an audio guide (11 languages) and entry to the on-site museum, which includes a "Memories of the Olympic Games: Posters and Torches from 1896 till today” permanent exhibition.  
  • There is a gift shop selling Kallimarmaro-inspired memorabilia and a coffee shop by the entrance. 
  • The Panathenaic Stadium is accessible for people with mobility difficulties, although the seating area has steep steps.  
  • If you want an unforgettable photograph, climb to the upper tier of stand 21, from where you can capture the Acropolis, Filopappou Hill, Temple of Olympian Zeus, Zappeion, National Garden and Lycabettus Hill. 
  • The marble in the Panathenaic Stadium can be slippery so special care is needed, especially in wet weather. Wear comfortable walking or running shoes and avoid wearing high-heels. 
  • The tree-lined area either side of the stadium is ideal for a walk or morning/afternoon jog. To use the running track from 07:30-09:00, you’ll be asked to fill in a form on entering the stadium. 
  • The Panathenaic Stadium backs onto two of Athens’ most interesting neighbourhoods, Pangrati and Mets, with plenty of different styles of food and up-and-coming cafes/bars. 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of our heritage for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting archaeological sites.

Use the bins provided (especially for chewing gum, which can damage the marble). If need be, take your rubbish with you.
Amateur photography/filming are permitted in all areas
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
No pets (other than guide dogs) are allowed in cultural sites.
Smoking is prohibited.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

A tour of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center in Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

A tour of the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens

National Museum of Contemporary Art

A tour of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

The spectacle of the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

A visit to the magical Temple of Poseidon at Sounion

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

A tour of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center in Athens

Hiking in Kefalonia’s Mt Ainos National Park

Hiking in Kefalonia’s Mt Ainos National Park

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

A tour of the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens

National Museum of Contemporary Art

A tour of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens