View from Lycabetus hill in Athens
EXPERIENCE

Remplissez vos poumons dans les espaces verts inattendus d'Athènes

Sereins, parfaits pour des pique-niques, des promenades et des joggings, les parcs et les collines d'Athènes contrebalancent l'énergie et l’agitation du centre-ville.
Thrace region-id="pin-13"; Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
2 - 5 heures
Par saison
Toute l’année

APERÇU

Vous connaissez la culture qui vous attend à Athènes et probablement avez-vous déjà entendu parler de la révolution dans le domaine de la nourriture, des bars et des divertissements, qui a fait de la ville l'un des endroits les plus prisés pour un city trip ou une escale. Mais qui connaît ses espaces verts ?

Vous serez surpris du nombre de collines, de parcs et de bois qui se trouvent en plein centre de la capitale. Envie d'une petite glace ou d'un café glacé avant ou après la visite d’un musée ? D'un pique-nique pour changer des déjeuners dans une taverne ? D’un endroit où les enfants puissent se défouler, ou d’un coin à l'ombre où lire votre livre (peut-être avec une vue sur l'Acropole) ? D’un lieu pour votre jogging matinal ou vos exercices de yoga ? Où que vous soyez, vous trouverez à proximité un espace vert. 

Chacun offre une bonne dose d'air frais et une agréable parenthèse par rapport à l'énergie et à l'animation du centre ville. Et comme vous le découvrirez rapidement, ils font partie intégrante de la vie quotidienne de nombreux Athéniens. 

Lire la suite Read Less

A NE PAS RATER

Le jardin national

Si un espace vert athénien se distingue des autres, c'est bien celui-ci. Avec le parc du Zappéion voisin, le jardin national couvre plus de 64 hectares au cœur de la ville. Créé au début du XIXème siècle à la demande de la Reine Amalia (l'épouse du premier roi de Grèce, Othon), il offre tranquillité et évasion juste à côté de la place Syntagma et du Parlement. On y trouve plus de 500 espèces d'arbres et de plantes du monde entier (dont des palmiers de 25 m. de haut plantés par Amalia et un superbe phytolaque d'Amérique du Sud), ainsi que des étangs, des sculptures et des bustes de Grecs célèbres, une mosaïque romaine et un cadran solaire original. Il y a aussi une aire de jeux et un café traditionnel, où vous pourrez faire une halte pour un café ou un mezzé. Passez par l'impressionnant Zappéion, qui fut construit pour les premiers Jeux olympiques modernes, en 1896 et qui est maintenant un espace consacré aux événements culturels et politiques.

La colline du Lycabette

Impossible de manquer la colline du Lycabette : c'est le point culminant d'Athènes. Un trajet jusqu'à son sommet est l'une des expériences recommandées dans la capitale, à cause de la vue de 360° que l'on y découvre. La manière la plus courante d'y accéder est le funiculaire mais, si cela vous tente, n'hésitez pas à marcher jusqu'au sommet (environ 300 m. au-dessus du niveau de la mer). C'est plus facile qu'on pourrait le croire, car en règle générale, le chemin pavé monte progressivement, à travers une forêt de pins plantée à la fin du XIXe siècle qui comprend des ponts, des bancs et même un théâtre en plein air. Votre vue sur la chapelle immaculée d'Agios Giorgos, au sommet, n'en sera que plus spéciale. Le café-restaurant vous permettra de mieux savourer cet instant.

La colline de Philopappos

La colline en face de l'Acropole est riche d'histoire. À quelques pas de Dionysios Areopagitou, la rue piétonne qui longe l'Acropole, un chemin mène à la colline des Nymphes et à la Pnyx. Toutes deux forment la colline de Philopappos, nommée ainsi d'après un consul romain dont le monument funéraire se trouve au sommet, avec un observatoire du XIXe siècle. L'histoire de la colline vous intéressera. La Pnyx était le lieu où se tenaient les assemblées législatives démocratiques dans l'Antiquité. En vous promenant, vous y trouverez aussi la prison de Socrate et l'église byzantine de St Dimitrios Loumbardiaris. La colline constitue également une oasis pour des oiseaux et des tortues rares, avec des pins et d'autres plantes méditerranéennes. Ne manquez pas la vue du sommet, avec l'Acropole et Athènes qui s'étend devant vous.

Pedion tou Areos 

Le Champ-de-Mars (c’est le sens de son nom grec) fut créé dans les années 1930 pour honorer les héros de la révolution de 1821. C’est un espace vert incontournable pour les Athéniens, au nord du centre-ville. Avec une superficie de quelque 93 hectares, il constitue l’endroit parfait pour une promenade ou un jogging parmi les platanes, les oliviers, les buissons méditerranéens et d’autres plantes. On y trouve des bancs ombragés et une aire de jeux, mais aussi un café, deux petites églises et un théâtre en plein air. Toutefois, ce qui donne à ce parc son atmosphère particulière, c’est l’ensemble de bustes de héros révolutionnaires. Une statue d’Athéna protectrice y a été ajoutée dans les années 1950, en mémoire des soldats de Grande-Bretagne, d’Australie et de Nouvelle-Zélande décédés en Grèce.

Le parc Eleftherias

Plus petit que les autres parcs, le parc Eleftherias se trouve à côté du Palais de la Musique d’Athènes (le Megaron). Il est dès lors l’endroit idéal où passer du temps avant ou après un spectacle, mais vous pouvez aussi vous y promener ou y pique-niquer, si vos pas vous mènent dans les environs. Il constitue l’antidote parfait à l’animation de l’avenue Vasilissis Sofias voisine. Vous trouverez des cafés et un restaurant parmi les arbres, ainsi qu’un élément incontournable du parc : la statue d’Eleftherios Venizelos, premier ministre du début du XXe siècle et l’un des hommes d’Etat les plus éminents de Grèce.

Alsos Ilision

Assez peu connu, Alsos Ilision (le bosquet d’Ilisia) se trouve à 10 minutes de marche de la station de métro Evangelismos et couvre pas moins de 60 hectares. Vous pourrez y accéder par la rue Iona Dragoumi, à côté de la cour de l’église Agios Charalambos Ilisia, où commencera votre promenade parmi les pins et les cyprès - vous passerez devant une aire de jeux. Le bosquet se trouve non loin du parc Rizari, un nouveau venu parmi les espaces verts d’Athènes, niché entre deux des artères les plus fréquentées de la ville : les avenues Vasileos Konstantinou et Vasilissis Sofias.

Lire la suite Read Less

Réservez votre voyage

athens-morning-bike-tour-logo
Group

Athens morning bike tour

3 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
963 Avis
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund
Ride with us and discover all the must-see locations and hidden gems of Athens! Get an overview of the city center and enjoy the city...
Group

From Athens: One Day Cruise to the Saronic Islands

12 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
712 Avis
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund
Discover the Saronic islands of Hydra, Poros and Aegina on a scenic full-day trip from Athens. Enjoy stunning views of the Greek coast and the...
  • Si vous êtes à Athènes en mai, vous verrez la nature sous son plus beau jour ; par ailleurs, en été, les parcs vous donneront de l’ombre et vous rafraîchiront.
  • Pour profiter au mieux de votre expérience à Athènes, venez entre octobre et avril, quand il n’y a plus la foule estivale. Vous profiterez mieux de la compagnie des Athéniens qui vaquent à leurs occupations quotidiennes et vous aurez peut-être plus l’impression d’être des leurs.

Vous pourrez profiter des parcs et des collines d’Athènes à toute période de l’année. Chaque saison a des couleurs et une ambiance différentes à offrir.

  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver

Depuis l'aéroport:

Jusqu'au jardin national

  • En métro: via la ligne bleue jusqu’à la station Syntagma, puis à pied pendant 450 m. (5 minutes).
  • En voiture ou en taxi: 32,6 km (30 minutes).

Jusqu’à la colline du Lycabette

  • En métro: via la ligne bleue jusqu’à la station Evangelismos, puis à pied pendant 1,2 km (35 minutes) jusqu’au sommet, ou à pied pendant 650 m. (11 minutes) jusqu’au funiculaire (la station est en haut de la rue Ploutarchou).
  • En voiture ou en taxi: 33,1 km (32 minutes) jusqu’au sommet.

Jusqu’à la colline de Philopappos

  • En métro: via la ligne bleue jusqu’à la station Syntagma, puis via la ligne rouge jusqu’à Acropolis et à pied pendant 800 m. (11 minutes).
  • En voiture ou en taxi: 35,2 km (40 minutes).

Jusqu’à Pedion tou Areos

  • En métro: via la ligne bleue jusqu’à la station Syntagma, puis via la ligne rouge jusqu’à Panepistimio et à pied pendant 1,7 km (22 minutes).
  • En voiture ou en taxi: 33 km (30 minutes).

Jusqu’au parc Eleftherias

  • En métro: via la ligne bleue jusqu’à la station Megaro Mousikis.
  • En voiture ou en taxi: 31 km (25 minutes).

Jusqu’à Alsos Ilision

  • En métro: via la ligne bleue jusqu’à la station Evangelismos, puis à pied pendant 900 m. (10 minutes).
  • En voiture ou en taxi : 30,5 km (30 minutes).


Depuis le port du Pirée:

Jusqu'au jardin national

  • En métro: via la ligne verte jusqu’à la station Monastiraki, puis via la ligne bleue jusqu’à Syntagma et à pied pendant 450 m. (5 minutes), ou jusqu’à Evangelismos et à pied pendant 1 km (16 minutes).
  • En voiture ou en taxi: 13 km (20 minutes).

Jusqu’à la colline du Lycabette

  • En métro: via la ligne verte jusqu’à la station Monastiraki, puis via la ligne bleue jusqu’à Evangelismos et à pied pendant 1,2 km (35 minutes) jusqu’au sommet, ou à pied pendant 650 m. (11 minutes) jusqu’au funiculaire.
  • En voiture ou en taxi: 16 km (30 minutes) jusqu’au sommet.

Jusqu’à la colline de Philopappos

  • En métro: via la ligne verte jusqu’à la station Monastiraki, puis à pied pendant 850 m. (12 minutes).
  • En voiture ou en taxi: 11,5 km (20 minutes).

Jusqu’à Pedion tou Areos

  • En métro: via la ligne verte jusqu’à la station Omonia, puis à pied pendant 1,4 km (20 minutes).
  • En voiture ou en taxi: 17 km (30 minutes).

Jusqu’au parc Eleftherias

  • En métro: via la ligne verte jusqu’à la station Monastiraki, puis via la ligne bleue jusqu’à Megaron Mousikis.
  • En voiture ou en taxi: 16,3 km (35 minutes).

Jusqu’à Alsos Ilision 

  • En métro: via la ligne verte jusqu’à la station Monastiraki, puis via la ligne bleue jusqu’à Evangelismos et à pied pendant 900 m. (10 minutes).
  • En voiture ou en taxi: 15 km (30 minutes).
  • Vous pouvez passer tout le temps que vous voulez dans les parcs d’Athènes, que ce soit pour une pause d’une demi-heure entre deux activités ou pour un pique-nique, un jogging ou une promenade tranquille.
  • Il existe plusieurs excursions à pied, qui comprennent une visite ou un pique-nique dans un parc et qui durent 2 à 5 heures.
  • À l’exception du parc Eleftherias, qui ne ferme pas, les parcs d’Athènes sont ouverts du lever au coucher du soleil (parfois plus longtemps en été).
  • Il existe des services qui vous apportent un pique-nique au parc; vous pourrez les trouver en ligne.

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Merci d’aider à préserver la magie des espaces verts d’Athènes pour les animaux et les plantes qui s’y épanouissent, ainsi que pour les générations à venir.

Utilisez les poubelles mises à votre disposition et si besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Optez pour une bouteille d’eau réutilisable et essayez de minimiser l’usage du plastique.
Respectez les monuments et les richesses culturelles.
Respectez l’environnement et ne cueillez pas de plantes ou de fleurs.
Respectez les autres visiteurs et les habitants.
Il est strictement interdit d’allumer du feu dans les parcs.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

Stay connected with Greece

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Une visite au centre culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos à Athènes

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Une visite à la galerie nationale d’Athènes

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

Visite du musée Benaki de la culture grecque à Athènes

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

Le spectacle de l’Odéon d’Hérodes Atticus à Athènes

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Un tour au stade Panathénaïque d’Athènes

National Museum of Contemporary Art

Le Musée National d’art Contemporain d’Athènes

Minoan Palace of Phaistos Festos, Crete

Découvrez le Palais minoen de Phaistos en Crète

Fiskardo village, Kefalonia

Découvrez les pittoresques villages de Céphalonie

Finikas Ave. - Neratzia Castle, Kos, Greece

Une promenade dans sites culturels de la ville de Kos

Strolling around Arnaia village

Découvrez les villages intemporels de Chalcidique

View from Lycabetus hill in Athens
EXPERIENCE

Fill your lungs with the unexpected green spaces of Athens

Perfect for picnics, strolls and jogs, Athens’ parks and hills offer a serene counterbalance to the energy and bustle of the city centre
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
2 - 5 hours
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

You’ll already know about all the culture that awaits you in Athens. And by now, you’ll have heard about the revolution in food and bars and entertainment that have made it one of the hottest holiday spots for city breaks or a stopover. But who’s heard about the greenery?

Well, you’ll be astounded by the number of hills, parks and even woods right in the city centre. Feel like a quick ice cream or chilled coffee before or after a museum visit? In the mood for a picnic rather than a taverna lunch? Want the kids to let off steam or looking for somewhere in the shade to read your book (maybe even with a view of the Acropolis)? Or what about your morning jog or yoga exercises? Wherever you find yourself, there’ll be a green space nearby.

Each offers a healthy dose of fresh air and a soothing counterbalance to the energy and buzz of the city centre. And, as you’ll quickly discover, they’re a cherished part of daily life for many Athenians. 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

National Garden

If there’s a jewel the crown when it comes to Athens’ green spaces, this is it. Together with neighbouring Zappeion Park, the National Garden covers a full 160 acres smack bang in the middle of the city. Created in the early 19th century at the request of Queen Amalia (wife of Greece’s first king, Otto), it offers tranquillity and escape right by Syntagma Square and the Parliament. There are more than 500 species of trees and plants from around the world (including 25m tall palm trees planted by Amalia and the magnificent Phytolacca tree from South America), as well as ponds, sculptures and busts of prominent Greeks, a Roman mosaic and original sundial. There is also a playground and traditional cafe, where you can stop for a coffee or a meze lunch. Look out for the impressive Zappeion Hall, built for the first modern Olympics in 1896 and now a space for cultural and political events. 

Lycabettus Hill

You can’t miss Lycabettus Hill. It’s Athens’ highest spot and a trip to the top is one of the city’s recommended experiences because of the 360-degree view. The most common way to get there is by funicular but, if you’ve got it in you, you should definitely walk to the summit (almost 300m above sea level). It’s easier than you think as the paved path ascends mostly gradually through a pine forest planted in the late 19th century, containing bridges, benches and even an outdoor theatre. It will make the view from the pristine white church of Agios Giorgos at the top even more special. There is also a café-restaurant for you to savour the moment. 

Philopappou Hill 

The hill opposite the Acropolis is steeped in history. Just a few steps from Dionysios Areopagitou (the pedestrianised street that takes you around the Acropolis), a path leads to the Hill of the Nymphs and Pnyx (both of which make up Philopappou Hill, named after a Roman consul whose funeral monument you will find at the top along with a 19th-century observatory). The history of the hill is intriguing. Pnyx was the meeting place of democratic legislatures in antiquity and you’ll also find the Prison of Socrates and the Byzantine church of St Dimitrios Loumbardiaris as you wander around. It’s also an oasis for rare tortoises and birds, with pine trees and other Mediterranean flora. And of course, there’s the view from the top, with the Acropolis and the Athens metropolis spreading out before you. 

Pedion tou Areos 

The Field of Mars (as the name translates) was created in the 1930s to honour the heroes of the 1821 revolution and is the go-to green space for Athenians just north of the city centre.  Within an expanse of around 230 acres, it’s the perfect space to amble or jog amongst plane and olive trees as well as Mediterranean shrubs and other greenery. There are shaded benches as well as a playground, cafe, two small churches and an open-air theatre. But what gives this park its special atmosphere is the collection of busts of revolutionary heroes. A statue of Athena the Defender was added in the 1950s, commemorating soldiers from Britain, Australia and New Zealand who died in Greece. 

Eleftherias Park 

Smaller in comparison to the other parks, Eleftherias Park is found right next to the Athens Concert Hall (Megaron), making it ideally suited for spending time at before or after a show, or for a walk or picnic if you’re in the area. It’s also the perfect antidote to the busy Vasilissis Sofias Avenue next door. You’ll find cafes and a restaurant within the trees and its centrepiece is the statue of Eleftherios Venizelos, an early 20th-century prime minister and one of Greece’s most prominent statesmen.

Alsos Ilision

Relatively unknown, Alsos Ilision (the Grove of Ilisia) is a 10min walk from Evangelismos metro station and covers an impressive 150 acres. You’ll find an entrance on Iona Dragoumi Street, next to the courtyard of the church of Agios Charalambos Ilisia, from where you begin your stroll between pine and cypress trees and past a playground. It’s also near Rizari Park, a recent addition to Athens’ green spaces, tucked away between two of the city’s busiest thoroughfares – Vasileos Konstantinou and Vasilissis Sofias avenues

Read More Read Less
  • If you are in Athens in May, you will enjoy the greenery at its best, while in the summer the parks offer shade and a cooling ambience.
  • To get the most out of your Athens experience, visit between October and April when the summer crowds have thinned and you’ll most enjoy the company of Athenians going about their daily lives and feeling like a local.

You can enjoy the parks and hills of Athens all year round, with each season giving a different colour and mood.

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

From the airport:

To the National Garden

  • By metro: Blue line to Syntagma station and then 450m walk (5 mins)
  • By car or taxi: 32.6km (30mins)

To Lycabettus

  • By metro: Blue Line to Evangelismos station and then 1.2km walk (35 mins) to the top or 650m walk (11mins) to the funicular station (at the top of Ploutarchou St)
  • By car or taxi: 33.1km (32mins) to the top

To Philopappou Hill 

  • By metro: Blue line to Syntagma station and then red line to Acropolis station, followed by an 800m walk (11 mins)
  • By car or taxi: 35.2km (40mins)

To Pedion tou Areos 

  • By metro: Blue line to Syntagma station and then red line to Panepistimio station and then 1.7km walk (22 mins)
  • By car or taxi: 33km (30mins)

To Eleftherias Park 

  • By metro: Blue line to Megaro Mousikis station 
  • By car or taxi: 31km (25mins)

To Alsos Ilision 

  • By metro: Blue line to Evangelismos station and then 900m walk (10mins)
  • By car or taxi: 30.5km (30mins)


From Piraeus port:

To the National Garden

  • By metro: Green line to Monastiraki station and blue line to Syntagma station and then 450m walk (5mins) or Evangelismos station and then 1km walk (16mins)
  • By car or taxi: 13km (20mins)

To Lycabettus Hill

  • By metro: Green line to Monastiraki station and then blue line to Evangelismos Station and then 1.2km walk (35 mins) to the top or 650m walk (11mins) to the funicular station.
  • By car or taxi: 16km (30mins) to the top.

To Philopappou Hill 

  • By metro: Green line to Monastiraki station and then 850m walk (12mins)
  • By car or taxi: 11.5km (20mins)

To Pedion tou Areos 

  • By metro: Green line to Omonia station and then 1.4km walk (20mins)
  • By car or taxi: 17km (30mins)

To Eleftherias Park 

  • By metro: Green line to Monastiraki station and blue line to the Megaron Mousikis station.
  • By car or taxi: 16.3km (35mins)

Alsos Ilision 

  • By metro: Green line to Monastiraki station and blue line to Evangelismos station and then 900m walk (10mins).
  • By car or taxi: 15km (30mins)
  • You can spend as much time as you want in Athens’ parks, from a half-hour break between activities to a picnic, jog or leisurely stroll.
  • There are many walking tours that include a visit or picnic in one of the parks, lasting 2-5 hours.
  • With the exception of Eleftherias Park, which never closes, the parks of Athens are open from sunrise to sunset. (This may be extended during summer months.)
  • There are companies that will bring you a picnic in the park, which you can find online.

Plan your trip

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Athens green spaces alive for all the animals and plants that live there and future generations of visitors.

Keep the environment as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect any monuments and cultural treasures.
Respect the flora and fauna and don’t remove plants and flowers.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
Lighting fires in the park is prohibited.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

A visit to the magical Temple of Poseidon at Sounion

View of Acropolis and Odeon of Herodes Atticus

The cultural wealth of Athens revealed in a stroll

Sunset in Poros island

A day cruise to the islands close to Athens

Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens is a gem of a museum and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making

A tour of the Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens

You can appreciate the museum’s stature even before you enter, with its imposing 19th-century neoclassical facade

Journey through time at the National Archaeological Museum in Athens

The Museum of Cycladic Art presents us with artwork so elegant that it still influences fashion trends today

A tour of the Museum of Cycladic Art in Athens

View of traditional tavern in Pythagoreio

Village-hopping in Samos, from mountain to coast

Heading northeast, you reach Ermoupouli’s magnificent main church, known locally as Agios Nikolaos of the Rich

A walking tour of colourful Ermoupoli in Syros

Idyllic landscape of Kalamata's Marina at sunset

A walking tour in up-and-coming Kalamata

The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

A walking tour of Skyros’ main town