The Asclepion was built over three landscaped terraces, each having a different function
EXPERIENCE

Spüre die heilende Energie des Asklepions von Kos

Das Asklepion von Kos wurde erbaut, um die Lehren des Vaters der Medizin, Hippokrates, zu verbreiten und war das ultimative Heilzentrum der Antike.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Dauer
1 - 2 stunden
Nach Jahreszeit
Das ganze Jahr über

OVERVIEW

Wieweit die Bedeutsamkeit des Asklepions von Kos heute noch spürbar ist, ist schlicht erstaunlich. Tausende von Jahren nach seiner Gründung, als eines der bedeutendsten Heilzentren der Antike, verkörpert es weiterhin das Ethos des Hippokrates, sowohl als Leitprinzip in der modernen Medizin als auch als Wert eines ganzheitlichen Ansatzes für das Wohlbefinden.

Wenn Sie durch die Ruinen gehen, werden Sie in eine Zeit zurückgeführt, als der Vater der modernen Medizin noch auf Kos lebte und lehrte. Er starb, bevor das Asklepion im 3. Jahrhundert v. Chr. erbaut wurde, aber es wurde entworfen, um die Lehre der Hippokratischen Medizinschule zu verbreiten, dass also die Krankheiten Auswirkungen der Natur waren, und nicht der Götter.

Als Solches war es ein religiöses Heiligtum (dem Heilgott Asklepius geweiht), aber auch ein modernes Heilzentrum mit Therapieräumen und einer voll funktionsfähigen medizinischen Fakultät. Es ist auch wunderschön gelegen, auf einem grünen Hügel. Das Ambiente des kühlenden Wald- und Meerblicks soll Teil des Heilungsprozesses gewesen sein.
 
Behandlungen, sagte Hippokrates, sollten weitgehend vorbeugend sein und auf natürlichen Therapien, wie Kräutern, basieren, sowie die vier Körperstimmungen und -elemente ausgleichen. Er lebte bis in seine 90er Jahre, bevor er um 370 v. Chr. starb.

Weiterlesen Read Less

DON'T MISS

Das Asclepion wurde auf drei angelegten Terrassen errichtet, von denen jede eine andere Funktion hat. 

Erste Ebene 

Die erste Ebene enthielt ein Propylon (Eingang) mit 24 Stufen und 4 Säulen, eine Reihe von Behandlungs- und Beratungsräumen sowie Brunnen (für rituelle Therapien) und Bäder aus der Römerzeit. Es ist nicht sicher, aber es wird angenommen, dass sich die medizinische Fakultät auf dieser Ebene befand.

Zweite Ebene

Eine Marmortreppe führt Sie zur nächsten Terrasse, die sich durch ihre Tempel auszeichnet. Die Überreste des Asclepius-Tempels aus dem 4. Jahrhundert v. Chr. sind die ältesten im Heiligtum. Sieben Säulen des Apollo-Tempels (Vater des Asclepius) wurden restauriert, um die Stätte wieder zum Leben zu erwecken.

Dritte Ebene

Eine 60-stufige Treppe führt Sie zu den Überresten des größten Tempels, der Asklepius geweiht ist. Auf jeder Seite befand sich ein dorischer Portikus (Stoa) mit Räumen für Besucher und Patienten. Es gibt auch die Überreste einer frühchristlichen Kirche, die Panagia Tarsou gewidmet ist. Von hier aus führt eine weitere Treppe zu einem Wald aus Zypressen und Kiefern, der Apollo gewidmet ist und von dem aus Sie einen Blick bis hin zum Meer haben.

Hippokrates Platane

Sie können Kos nicht besuchen, ohne Hippokrates ikonischen Platanenbaum aufzusuchen, unter dem er vor etwa 24 Jahrhunderten lehrte. Der Baum befindet sich gegenüber der Festung Neratzia neben der antiken Agora von Kos. Er hat einen Durchmesser von 4,7 m und erstreckt sich über eine Fläche von mehr als 12 m.

Das Hippocrates Foundation Museum & Botanische Gärten 

Etwa einen halben Kilometer östlich befindet sich die Internationale Hippokratische Stiftung von Kos, in der Hippokrates geboren sein soll. Es gibt ein Museum mit einer Fülle von Wissenswertem über die Hippokratische Medizin und botanische Gärten mit mehr als 100 therapeutischen Pflanzen und Kräutern, die einst vom großen Mann kultiviert wurden.

Weiterlesen Read Less

Von der Stadt Kos aus 

  • Mit dem Auto oder dem Taxi: 4km (10min)
  • Zu Fuß: 4km (50min)
  • Mit dem Bus: Ein Bus fährt im Sommer alle 30 Minuten und im Winter jede Stunde gegenüber dem Rathaus ab.
  • Die archäologische Stätte ist ganzjährig geöffnet (außer an Feiertagen).
  • Wenn Sie in den Monaten Juli und August anreisen, sollten Sie dies vormittags oder nachmittags tun, um Hitze und Stoßzeiten zu vermeiden.

Am stimmungsvollsten ist es im Frühling, wenn die Natur in voller Blüte steht, und im Herbst, wenn auch das Licht und die Temperaturen am besten sind. Mai-Juni und September-Oktober sind im Allgemeinen ganz besondere Monate auf der Insel. 

Museen und kulturelle Stätten

Archäologische Ausgrabungsstätte 

  • Tickets: €8 (€4 ermäßigt)
  • Sommer: Täglich geöffnet von 8:00-20:00 
  • Winter: Geöffnet Mittwoch bis Montag: 8:30-15:30 Uhr (dienstags geschlossen)
  • Tel: +30 22420 28763

Mehr Infos

Das Hippocrates Foundation Museum & Botanische Gärten 

  • Täglich geöffnet (es gelten saisonale Öffnungszeiten)
  • Tickets: €4

Mehr Infos

  • Herbst
  • Frühling
  • Sοmmer
  • Winter
  • Die Erkundung der archäologischen Stätte dauert 1 bis 2 Stunden.
  • Wenn Sie auch das Museum und den Botanischen Garten besuchen, dauert die Besichtigung ca. 3 Stunden.
  • Asclepion hat wenig Schatten. Tragen Sie also einen Hut, Sonnencreme und bequemes Schuhwerk.
  • Um die Stätte wirklich zum Leben zu erwecken und die volle Wirkung der Hippokratischen Medizin und des Heiligtums zu spüren und zu verstehen, lohnt es sich, einen Führer zu engagieren.
  • Eingeschränkter Zugang für Besucher mit Behinderungen. Rufen Sie +30 22420 28763 an, um weitere Informationen zu erhalten.

Da es sich um eine offene Stätte handelt, lohnt es sich in den Nicht-Sommermonaten, die Wettervorhersage vor dem Besuch zu überprüfen.

 

VERANTWORTUNGSBEWUSST REISEN

Bitte helfen Sie uns, den Zauber unseres Erbes für die künftigen Generationen zu bewahren, indem Sie alle Grundregeln für den Besuch von archäologischen Stätten befolgen.

Berühren Sie bitte keine Überreste oder Monumente. Die natürlichen Öle der Finger können äußerst schädlich für die Artefakte sein.
Bleiben Sie auf den markierten Wegen und respektieren Sie die anderen Besucher.
Verwenden Sie die dafür vorgesehenen Abfalleimer, oder nehmen Sie gegebenefalls Ihren Müll mit, bis Sie einen Abfalleimer finden.
Wenn ein Schild mit der Aufschrift "Kein Blitzlicht" vorhanden ist, beachten Sie es bitte. Es ist zum Schutz der Denkmäler
Benutzen Sie eine wiederauffüllbare Wasserflasche, um Ihren Kunststoffverbrauch zu minimieren.
Rauchen ist verboten.
In Kulturstätten sind Haustiere (außer Blindenhunde) nicht erlaubt.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·
The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

Ein Spaziergang durch den Hauptort von Skyros

Kamares village, the main port of Sifnos island

Village Hopping durch die kykladischen Dörfer von Sifnos

In the Medieval villages of Chios, you'll find beauty in the details

Village Hopping durch das mittelalterliche Chios

Nafplion town as seen from Palamidi Castle

Erklimmen Sie die Höhen der Palamidi-Burg in Nafplion

Agios Stefanos, one of the most photogenic beaches on Kos

Sonne, Meer und ein Spritzer Kultur am Agios Stefanos Strand auf Kos

Get a whole new perspective on Halkidiki by travelling to the birthplace of one of the Fathers of Western Philosophy

Folgen Sie den Spuren von Aristoteles

There’s a 13km cycle lane stretching right along the waterfront

Eine maßgeschneiderte Fahrradtour durch die Stadt Kos

Agios Stefanos, one of the most photogenic beaches on Kos

Sonne, Meer und ein Spritzer Kultur am Agios Stefanos Strand auf Kos

With virtually the entire southern coastline of Kos covered in beaches, there’s only one way to find your favourite

Eine Bootstour, um ein Degustationsmenü mit Stränden auf Kos zu genießen

The Asclepion was built over three landscaped terraces, each having a different function
EXPERIENCE

Feel the healing energy of the Asclepion of Kos

Built to further the teachings of the father of medicine, Hippocrates, the Asclepion of Kos was the ultimate healing centre of the ancient world.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1 - 2 hrs
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

The extent to which the significance of the Asclepion of Kos can still be felt today is simply astonishing. Thousands of years after it was established as one of the pre-eminent healing centres of the ancient world, it continues to embody the ethos of Hippocrates, both as a guiding principle in modern medicine and in the value of a holistic approach to wellbeing. 

As you walk through the ruins, you are taken to a time when the father of modern medicine lived and taught on Kos. He died before the Asclepion was built, in the 3rd century BC, but it was designed to propagate the word of the Hippocratic School of Medicine that diseases were acts of nature, not of the gods.

As such it was a religious sanctuary (devoted to the god of healing, Asclepius) but also a modern healing centre with therapy rooms and a fully functioning medical school. It is also beautifully situated, on a verdant hill. The ambience of the cooling forest and sea views would have been part of the healing process.
 
Treatments, Hippocrates said, should be largely preventative and based on natural therapies such as herbs, as well as balancing the four body humours and elements. True to form, he lived well into his 90s before dying in around 370BC. 
 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

The Asclepion was built over three landscaped terraces, each having a different function. 

First level 

Containing a propylon (entrance), with 24 steps and 4 columns, the first level housed a number of treatment and consultation rooms, as well fountains (for ritual therapies) and Roman-era baths. It’s not certain, but it’s believed that the medical school was on this level. 

Second level 

A marble staircase takes you up to the next terrace, notable for its temples. The remains of the 4th century BC Temple of Asclepius are the oldest in the sanctuary, and seven columns of the Temple of Apollo (father of Asclepius) have been restored to help bring the site back to life.

Third Level

A 60-step staircase takes you to the remains of the largest temple, dedicated to Asclepius. To each side was a Doric portico (stoa), with rooms for visitors and patients. There are also the remains of an early-Christian church dedicated to Panagia Tarsou. From here, there’s a further staircase leading to a forest of cypress and pine trees dedicated to Apollo, from where you get a view all the way to the sea. 
 

Hippocrates’ Plane Tree 

You can’t visit Kos without seeking out Hippocrates’ iconic Plane Tree, under which he taught some 24 centuries ago. Located opposite the Neratzia Fortress, next to the ancient Αgora of Kos, the tree is 4.7m in diameter and covers an area of over 12m. 

The Hippocrates Foundation Museum & Botanical Gardens 

Around half a kilometre east is the International Hippocratic Foundation of Kos, built where Hippocrates is believed to have been born. There’s a museum with a wealth of knowledge about Hippocratic medicine and botanical gardens with more than 100 therapeutic plants and herbs once cultivated by the great man. 
 

Read More Read Less

From Kos town 

  • By car or taxi: 4km (10min)
  • By foot: 4km (50min)
  • By bus: A bus leaves from opposite the Town Hall every 30min during summer and every hour during winter.
  • The archaeological site is open all year round (except national holidays).
  • If you do visit during July-August, do so in the morning or later afternoon to avoid the heat and peak times. 

It is most atmospheric during spring, with nature fully in bloom, and in autumn when the light and temperatures are also at their best. May-June and September-October are very special months on the island generally.

Museums and cultural sites

Archaeological Site 

  • Tickets: €8 (€4 reduced)
  • Summer: Open daily from 8:00-20:00 
  • Winter: Open Wednesday to Monday: 8:30-15:30 (closed Tuesday)
  • Tel: +30 22420 28763

More info

The Hippocrates Foundation Museum & Botanical Gardens 

  • Open daily (seasonal opening hours apply)
  • Tickets: €4

More info 

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • It takes 1-2 hours to explore the archaeological site.
  • If you also visit the museum and botanical gardens, the experience will take around 3 hours. 
  • There is little shade at Asclepion so make sure you wear a hat and sun cream and a comfortable pair of shoes.
  • As it’s an open site, it’s worth checking the weather forecast before visiting during non-summer months. 
  • Limited access for visitors with disabilities. Call +30 22420 28763 for more details.

To really bring the site to life and understand the full impact of Hippocratic Medicine and the sanctuary, it’s worth hiring a guide. 

Plan your trip

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of our heritage for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting archaeological sites.

Refrain from touching any remains or monuments. The fingers’ natural oils can be extremely damaging to artefacts.
Stay on the marked paths and respect your fellow visitors.
Use the bins provided or, if need be, take your rubbish with you.
If there’s a “No flash photography” sign, please respect it. It’s to protect the monuments.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Smoking is prohibited.
No pets (other than guide dogs) are allowed in cultural sites.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Agios Stefanos, one of the most photogenic beaches on Kos

Sun, sea and a splash of culture at Agios Stefanos beach on Kos

With virtually the entire southern coastline of Kos covered in beaches, there’s only one way to find your favourite

A boat tour to sample the beaches on southern Kos

Palaios Panteleiomonas is a centuries-old village whose inhabitants had chosen to relocate to the coast before returning to breathe new life into the village

Mythical village-hopping on the slopes of Mt Olympus

Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility

A tour of the Temple of Demeter on Naxos

View of Acropolis and Odeon of Herodes Atticus

The cultural wealth of Athens revealed in a stroll

Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens is a gem of a museum and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making

A tour of the Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens

You can appreciate the museum’s stature even before you enter, with its imposing 19th-century neoclassical facade

Journey through time at the National Archaeological Museum in Athens