Minoan Palace of Phaistos Festos, Crete
EXPERIENCE

Découvrez le Palais minoen de Phaistos en Crète

Le Palais de Phaistos est l'un des plus importants centres de la civilisation minoenne en Crète, deuxième en importance après Knossos, et l'une des principales attractions culturelles de la région du sud d’Héraklion
Thrace region-id="pin-13"; Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
1-3 Jours
Par saison
Toute l’année

APERÇU

À environ 60km au sud de la ville d’Héraklion, à proximité de Matala et d'autres stations balnéaires du sud de la Crète, le Palais de Phaistos est l'un des vestiges les plus importants de la plus ancienne civilisation d'Europe, la civilisation minoennne. Mais avant de se dire qu’il ne s’agit encore que d’un autre site de ruines grecques, il serait bon de considérer l’ancienneté de ce site. 

Le premier palais a été érigé ici aux vers 2000 av. J.-C. Détruit lors d'un tremblement de terre, sur ses ruines, on a reconstruit un second palais aux alentours de 1700 av. J.-C., qui, malgré des destructions dues à un autre tremblement de terre, a établi Phaistos comme la ville la plus puissante du sud de la Crète, rivalisant ainsi politiquement directement avec le palais de Knossos à Chania.

Tel que mentionné par l'historien de l’antiquité, Pausanias, et immortalisé dans les poèmes épiques de la guerre de Troie écrits par Homère, mais aussi dans la mythologie, Phaistos a été le siège du roi Rhadamanthus, fils de Zeus et frère de Minos. Le site nous a également donné le disque de Phaistos, l'un des plus anciens et des plus fascinants exemples d'écriture, exposé au Musée Archéologique d'Héraklion

Bâti sur une colline surplombant la plaine fertile de Massara et offrant une vue imprenable sur le mont Psiloritis (la plus haute montagne de Crète), sur le mont Asterousia, ainsi que sur les montagnes de Lasithiotika, le palais est le prétexte parfait pour partir à la découverte de la région sud d'Héraklion. Mieux encore, dès que vous aurez terminé votre visite, les plages et les tavernes de la côte sud de la Crète vous attendent pour le reste de la journée. Les Minoens savaient parfaitement choisir leur emplacement !

Lire la suite Read Less

A NE PAS RATER

Points forts du palais minoen de Phaistos en Crète

Cour du nord-ouest (haute)

Votre visite commence par ce qui est considéré comme l'entrée principale de l'ancien et du nouveau Palais. En observant bien les vestiges, vous pourrez apprécier les techniques de construction du palais, érigé sur trois terrasses, comprenant une chaussée processionnelle orientée nord-sud, et une cour centrale dominant l’ensemble. C'est peut-être le meilleur point de vue pour observer ce qui reste des nombreuses pièces et entrepôts abritant et servant une communauté de 18 000 habitants pendant la période du premier Palais, population ayant atteint environ les 100 000 habitants, pendant la période d’expansion de la ville de 1700 av. J.-C.

Cour ouest (Théâtre)

Juste en dessous de la terrasse supérieure, la cour ouest est remarquable par ses 8 rangées de sièges en pierre, chacune de plus de 20m de long et capable de rassembler un public de plus de 400 personnes. D'après ce que nous savons de la civilisation minoenne, les manifestations organisés ici auraient été des cérémonies religieuses, des rassemblements politiques ou communautaires plutôt que des représentations théâtrales.   

Le Propylon (ou Propylaion)

Même si les bâtiments du palais sont en grande partie détruits, la disposition vous emmènera ensuite naturellement de la Cour ouest vers l’escalier monumental de 14m de large. Notez comment les marches sont inclinées vers le bas (probablement pour permettre à l'eau de pluie de les nettoyer naturellement) et regardez les restes des colonnes du Propylon ou portique autrefois couvert à son sommet, et servant de couloir menant à la Cour centrale.

Cour centrale

D’une longueur de 55m sur une largeur 25m, la Cour centrale était le centre de l'activité sociale et politique du palais. Bien que vous ayez pénétré dans la cour pavée par ce qui était autrefois son entrée principale, vous pourrez vous balader dans les vestiges d'autres couloirs et entrées, ce qui vous aidera à comprendre l’importance de la communication avec d’autres espaces et pièces du palais à travers sa disposition architecturale. De chaque côté, se seraient dressés des portiques présentant une alternance de piliers et de colonnes. 

Cour est

Au nord-est de la Cour centrale se trouvent les restes d'une section du palais comportant un four en son centre destiné à la forge, sans aucune autre caractéristique distinctive - jusqu'à ce que vous appreniez que c'est à cet endroit qu’a été découvert en 1908 le légendaire disque de Phaistos. On pense que ce disque d’un diamètre de 15cm date du milieu de l'âge de bronze minoen. Il est couvert de symboles imprimés de façon concentriques (241 idéogrammes, dont 45 distincts) dont la signification nous échappe encore. Puis, vous pourrez visiter le musée archéologique d'Héraklion, où le très précieux disque est exposé, et, peut-être tenter de le déchiffrer ! 

Les appartements de la reine

La dernière partie de votre visite vous amènera à la résidence royale, située dans l'aile nord du palais. Le plus petit appartement, celui de la Reine apparaît en premier, très lumineux (caractéristique typique de l'architecture palatale minoenne) ainsi que des sections de plancher et de murs constituées de dalles d'albâtre (gypse) et couverts de fresques d'origine. 

Le Mégaron du roi

Enfin, tout au nord, la chambre du roi bénéficiant également d'une excellente luminosité, présente un sol de dalles en albâtre et de murs ornés de fresques. La caractéristique principale, cependant, est un bassin lustral présent dans une petite chambre en contre-bas d'un petit escalier dans lequel des rituels de purification (un rituel religieux) aurait eu lieu. Il reste quelques vestiges de bassins lustraux dans d’autres parties du palais, mais celui-ci est le mieux conservé. 

Lire la suite Read Less

Réservez votre voyage

knossos-palace-city-tour-and-heraklion-logo
Group

Knossos Palace and Heraklio city tour from Chania

10.5 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund
Your stay in Crete is never complete without a visit to Knossos Palace. With this full day tour from Chania you will visit Knossos Palace...

Comment vous rendre au Palais minoen de Phaistos en Crète ?

  • Le palais minoen de Phaistos se trouve à 55km (environ 1h de voiture) de l'aéroport d'Héraklion et à 132km (environ 2h15) de l'aéroport de La Canée. 
  • Il se trouve à 60km du centre de la ville d’Héraklion. 
  • Il est également possible de s’y rendre en car au départ d’Héraklion. 
     

Pour plus d'infos

Comment vous rendre à Héraklion ?          

  • L'aéroport d'Héraklion est le plus grand aéroport de Crète et il accueille des vols internationaux directs pendant l'été et des vols intérieurs au départ d'Athènes et de Thessalonique tout au long de l'année. 
  • Si vous venez de La Canée (142km), vous pouvez prendre un car (KTEL) ou vous y rendre en voiture. De même que si vous séjournez à Réthymnon (82km), vous pouvez rejoindre Héraklion en bus ou en voiture. 

Pour plus d'infos

Quel est le meilleur moment pour visiter le palais minoen de Phaistos en Crète ?

  • Le Palais de Phaistos est ouvert toute l'année, mais la meilleure période sera en mai-juin ou en septembre-octobre quand le temps est encore assez chaud pour la baignade, et que l’affluence des visiteurs a suffisamment diminué.
  • Si vous visitez la Crète pendant les mois d'été, il est préférable de découvrir Phaistos le matin ou en fin d'après-midi, car il fait plus frais et il y a moins de monde.

Plus d'infos sur les horaires d'ouverture et les billets

  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver

How long do you need to visit the Minoan Palace of Phaistos in Crete?

  • Il faut environ de 1 à 2 heures pour visiter le Palais de Phaistos et obtenir un bon aperçu de la civilisation minoenne en Crète, mais vous pouvez toujours ajouter d'autres visites de monuments dans la région d’Héraklion pour compléter votre séjour ou votre journée, comme : les sites d’Agia Triada et de Gortyne tout proches.
  • La plupart des visites guidées durent de 1 à 3 heures, certaines incluant d'autres sites archéologiques à proximité.
     
  • À environ 15km du Palais de Phaistos, se trouve le site archéologique de Gortyne (célèbre au 5èmesiècle av. J.C. pour le Code de Gortyne, exemple le plus ancien et le plus complet de la loi grecque antique, gravé dans la pierre) et encore plus proche (à 3km) vous pourrez visiter le site archéologique d'Agia Triada
  • La visite de Phaistos peut être facilement associée à une baignade, sur l’une des meilleures plages de la région d'Héraklion. Vous aurez le choix entre Matala, Kokkini Ammos, Komos et Agiofarago (pour les plus aventureux).
  • Le site du Palais de Phaistos étant immense et très exposé au soleil, n’oubliez pas de vous munir d’un chapeau, de lunettes de soleil, et de crème solaire, et surtout d’emporter une bouteille d'eau.
  • Vous trouverez de l’eau et des collations à la petite cantine près du site.
  • Portez des chaussures confortables.
  • Vous pouvez réserver une visite organisée avec des Guides crétois.

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Aidez-nous à préserver la magie de notre héritage pour les générations à venir, en suivant les règles de base lors des visites de sites archéologiques.

Ne touchez pas les vestiges ou les monuments. Les huiles naturellement sécrétées par les doigts peuvent endommager les artéfacts.
Restez sur les chemins indiqués et respectez les autres visiteurs.
Utilisez les poubelles mises à votre disposition et si besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Optez pour une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Les animaux domestiques (autres que les chiens guides) ne sont pas autorisés dans les sites culturels et les musées.
Il est strictement interdit de fumer.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€
The Greek village of Loutro in Crete, Greece

Profitez d’une excursion en bateau jusqu'à la jolie carte postale de Loutro

Amazing view of a beach on Koufonisi island with turquoise waters

Une excursion en bateau vers l'île désert de Koufonisi en Crète

Minoan Palace of Knossos

Découvrez le palais minoen de Cnossos en Crète

Roman Collection of the Heraklion Archaeological Museum, Crete

Le musée archéologique d’ Héraklion

A boat trip to Chrissi, Crete's golden isle

Un voyage en bateau à Chrissi, L’île d’or en Crète

Elafonissi is an island you can easily wade to through knee-deep water

Le paysage magique de la plage crétoise Elafonisi

The Atrium of the Muses in the gardens of the Athens Megaron

Le Palais de la musique d'Athènes (Mégaron)

Fiskardo village, Kefalonia

Découvrez les pittoresques villages de Céphalonie

Finikas Ave. - Neratzia Castle, Kos, Greece

Une promenade dans sites culturels de la ville de Kos

Strolling around Arnaia village

Découvrez les villages intemporels de Chalcidique

Minoan Palace of Phaistos Festos, Crete
EXPERIENCE

Explore the Minoan Palace of Phaistos in Crete

The Palace of Phaistos is one of the most important centres of Minoan civilisation in Crete, second only in significance to Knossos, and one of the main cultural attractions of southern Heraklion
Thrace region-id="pin-13"; Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1-3 hrs
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

Around 60km south of the city of Heraklion, close to Matala and other seaside resorts in southern Crete, the Palace of Phaistos is one of the most important remains of Europe’s oldest civilisation, the Minoans. But before you get complacent about taking a tour around yet another Greek ruin, just consider how old that makes it. 

The first palace erected here was in around 2000 BC. Destroyed in an earthquake, it was replaced by a second palace in around 1700 BC which, despite also being destroyed in an earthquake shortly after, established Phaistos as the most powerful city in southern Crete, rivalling the Palace of Knossos in Heraklion for power.

It was mentioned by the historian Pausanias, immortalised as part of the tales of the Trojan War by Homer and, in mythology, was the seat of King Rhadamanthus, the son of Zeus and brother of Minos. It also gave us the Phaistos Disc, one of the earliest and most fascinating examples of writing, on display at the Archaeological Museum of Heraklion

Built on a hill overlooking the fertile plain of Massara and with views of Mt Psiloritis (Crete’s tallest mountain) as well as Mt Asterousia and the Lasithiotika mountains, the palace offers the perfect excuse to explore the wider region of Heraklion. Best of all, as soon as you’re done, the beaches and tavernas on Crete’s south coast beckon for the rest of the day. The Minoans clearly had a great eye for a location.
 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Highlights of the Minoan Palace of Phaistos in Crete

Northwest (Upper) Court

Your tour starts at what is believed to be the main entrance of both the Old and New Palace. Looking over the remains, you can appreciate how the palace was built over three terraces, with a Processional Causeway running from north to south, and a Central Court dominating the layout. This is perhaps the best angle to observe what little is left of the many rooms and warehouses serving a community of 18,000 during the time of the First Palace Period and reaching an estimated 100,000 in the wider city by 1700 BC.

West (Theatral) Court

Just below the Upper Terrace, the West Court is notable for the 8 rows of stone seating, each more than 20m wide and capable of gathering an audience of more than 400 people in total. From what we know of Minoan civilisation, the events staged here would have been religious ceremonies and political or community gatherings rather than theatrical productions.  

The Propylon (or Propylaion)

Even though the palace buildings are largely destroyed, the layout will naturally take you from the West Court towards the 14m wide monumental staircase next. Note how the steps slope downwards (presumably for rainwater to wash away) and look out for the remains of the columns of the once-covered Propylon or portico at the top, serving as a corridor to the Central Court.

Central Court

At 55m long and 25m wide, the Central Court was the hub of social and political activity at the palace. Though you will have stepped into the stone-paved courtyard through what was once its main entrance, you will be able to make out the remains of other corridors and entrances, helping you understand its architectural importance in communicating with other rooms and spaces of the palace. On either side would have stood porticos with alternating pillars and columns. 
 

East Court

Northeast of the Central Court are the remains of a section of the palace with a kiln in the centre for smelting metals and no other remarkable feature – until you learn that this is where the legendary Phaistos Disc was discovered in 1908. The 15cm in diameter disk is believed to date from the middle of the Minoan Bronze Age, with concentric stamped symbols (241 ideograms, 45 of them distinct) whose meaning still escapes us. Visit the Archaeological Museum of Heraklion, where the disk is one of the prized artefacts, and see if you can crack the code. 

Queen’s Apartments

The last part of your tour brings you to the royal residence at the palace’s North Wing. The smaller Queen’s Apartment comes first, featuring a lightwell (typical of Minoan palatial architecture) as well as sections of flooring and walling with original alabaster (gypsum) slabs and frescoes. 

The King’s Megaron

Finally, just to the north, the King’s room also features a lightwell, slabs of alabaster flooring and fresco-decorated walls. The key feature, however, is a lustral basin in a small chamber at the bottom of a short staircase in which cleansing (a religious ritual) would have taken place. There are remains of lustral basins elsewhere in the palace but none as complete as this. 
 

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

How do you get to the Minoan Palace of Phaistos in Crete?

  • The Minoan Palace of Phaistos is 55km (around 1hr by car) from Heraklion Airport and 132km (around 2hr 15min) from Chania Airport. 
  • It is 60km from the centre of Heraklion. 
  • You can also reach the palace by bus from Heraklion. 

More info


How do you get to Heraklion?     

  • Heraklion Airport is the largest airport in Crete and receives direct international flights during the summer and domestic flights from Athens and Thessaloniki throughout the year. 
  • If you are travelling from Chania (142km), take the bus (KTEL) or go by car. Likewise, if you are staying in Rethymno (82km) you can reach Heraklion by KTEL bus or car. 

More info
 

When is the best time to visit the Minoan Palace of Phaistos in Crete?

  • The Palace of Phaistos is open all year round, so the best experience will be to visit in May-June or September-October when the weather is still hot enough to swim but there are fewer visitors.
  • If you visit Crete in the summer months, it is best to experience Phaistos in the morning or late afternoon when it is cooler and not as busy.

More info for opening hours & tickets

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

How long do you need to visit the Minoan Palace of Phaistos in Crete?

  • Around 1-2hrs at the Palace of Phaistos will give you an insight into Minoan civilisation in Crete, but you could always add other cultural landmarks of Heraklion to your itinerary by including neighbouring Agia Triada and Gortyna to your day.
  • Most guided tours last 1-3 hours and some include other nearby archaeological sites.
     
  • Around 15km from the Palace of Phaistos is the archaeological site of Gortyna (famous for the 5th-century BC Gortyn Code, the oldest and most complete example of ancient Greek law, inscribed in stone) and even closer (3km) is the archaeological site of Agia Triada
  • Visiting Phaistos can easily be combined with a swim, with some of the best beaches in Heraklion found nearby. You can choose between Matala, Kokkini Ammos, Komos and Agiofarago (for the more adventurous).
  • There’s little shade and the Palace of Phaistos is expansive so don’t forget your hat, sunglasses and sunscreen and bring a water bottle.
  • There is a canteen for water and snacks near the site.
  • Wear comfortable footwear.
  • You can book an organised tour with Cretan Guides.
     

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of our heritage for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting archaeological sites.

Refrain from touching any remains or monuments. The fingers’ natural oils can be extremely damaging to artefacts.
Stay on the marked paths and respect your fellow visitors.
Use the bins provided or, if need be, take your rubbish with you.
If there’s a “No flash photography” sign, please respect it. It’s to protect the monuments.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
No pets (other than guide dogs) are allowed in cultural sites.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€
chania

Where to enjoy water sports in Chania

The Arkadi Monastery in Rethymno has an architecture and history that will captivate you

A tour of the Monastery of Arkadi in Crete

The Greek village of Loutro in Crete, Greece

Enjoy a boat trip to postcard-pretty Loutro

Amazing view of a beach on Koufonisi island with turquoise waters

A boat trip to Crete’s desert island of Koufonisi

Roman Collection of the Heraklion Archaeological Museum, Crete

The Archaeological Museum of Heraklion

Elafonissi is an island you can easily wade to through knee-deep water

The dreamscape of Crete’s Elafonisi beach

The Arkadi Monastery in Rethymno has an architecture and history that will captivate you

A tour of the Monastery of Arkadi in Crete

Fiskardo village, Kefalonia

Explore the scenic villages of Kefalonia

Finikas Ave. - Neratzia Castle, Kos, Greece

A stroll around the cultural landmarks of Kos town

Strolling around Agios Nikolaos, Crete

A walking tour of Agios Nikolaos in Crete