The bridge of Arta is one of the most famous attractions in Epirus
Scroll
Heute
12°
FRI
16°
SAT
15°
SUN
15°
MON
15°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Artas berühmte Brücke verbindet Legende und Geschichte in einer spektakulären Urlaubskulisse in Epirus.

Jeder Grieche kennt die Legende um die Brücke von Arta. Aber nur wenige wissen, dass die Stadt im südlichen Epirus voll von historischen Monumenten aus vielen verschiedenen Epochen ist. 

Eine antike Mauer, byzantinische und moderne Kirchen und eine gut erhaltene, mittelalterliche Burg mit Turmuhr geben der freundlichen Stadt ihre Farbe. Wer auf der Suche nach Natur pur ist, der ist hier in der Region Epirus richtig.

Von Arta aus sind die steinigen Hänge von Tzoumerka, der Stausee bei Pournari und die außergewöhnlichen Feuchtgebiete und Fischerdörfer am Rande des „geschlossenen“ Ambrakischen Golfes leicht zu erreichen. Dank der vielen Wälder und Flüsse, Wasserfälle und Seen ist die Gegend ideal für einen erholsamen Urlaub in der Natur. Diese Seite Griechenlands hält einige angenehme Überraschungen in petto, aber zuerst muss das Geheimnis um die berühmte Brücke gelüftet werden.

Besichtigen Sie in Arta

Die Legende um die Brücke

Sie ist eine der wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Region. Wer den eleganten Bogen dieser gefeierten Brücke genau betrachtet, dem fällt zunächst nichts Ungewöhnliches auf. In Epirus gibt es viele solcher Zeugnisse der Steinmaurer, die eine lange Tradition und ein genaues architektonisches Verständnis verraten. Aber diese ist die einzige, die mit dem düsteren Volksmärchen um den Baumeister verbunden ist. Er musste seine eigene Frau als „Grundstein“ nehmen, um die Brücke vor dem Einsturz zu bewahren. Sie wurde unter dem Despotat von Epirus im 14.

Jahrhundert errichtet. Die Geschichte hat zahlreiche Theaterstücke, Opern und Volkskundler inspiriert und ist laut dem griechischen Dichter Kostis Palamas „ein Meisterwerk der Volkskunst, wie ein Vers aus einer homerischen Hymne und wird der Poesie und Musik, solange sie existieren, als Inspiration dienen.“ Lassen auch Sie sich inspirieren! 

Wassergeschichten vom Ambrakischen Golf

Auf einer Rundfahrt mit dem Auto oder Boot lässt sich das Schauspiel, das die Natur in Urzeiten geschaffen hat, am besten bewundern: ein reizvolles Labyrinth aus Feuchtgebieten, wo sich das Süßwasser der Flüsse Louros und Arachthos seit zwei Jahrtausenden mit dem Salzwasser des ionischen Meers vermischt. Eine überschäumende Landschaft aus Lagunen und Röhricht, Salzsümpfen, dichten Wäldern und Sandbänken, die nur aus Muschelschalen bestehen. Die ganze Schönheit von West Griechenland an einem Ort versammelt.  Es bietet 270 Vogelarten, von denen 71 vom Aussterben bedroht sind, ein von der EU unter Schutz gestelltes Zuhause. Mit etwas Glück schwimmen hier sogar ein paar verspielte Delfine um die Boote. 

Entdecken Sie die Geheimnisse Artas

Der Ort Arta am Flussufer des Peranthis verbindet Vergangenheit und Gegenwart mit fröhlichem Flair. Die byzantinische Burg aus dem 13. Jahrhundert, die sich über die alten Stadtmauern erhebt, ist eine wichtige Sehenswürdigkeit und spielt immer noch eine wichtige Rolle im Leben der Bewohner. Viele Veranstaltungen und Events finden im Stadttheater gleich am Eingang statt, wo die Turmuhr steht. Das pure Leben spielt sich um den Platz des Nationalen Widerstands, auf den Gassen, in den Geschäften, Cafés und Bars ab, wo sich die jungen Leute aus Arta zum Plaudern treffen. 

Die antike Mauer Ambrakia

Zu den imposantesten Sehenswürdigkeiten in Arta gehört die Mauer, die die antike Stadt vor ihren Feinden schützen sollte. Wann genau sie gebaut wurde, ist nicht bekannt. An den ruinen der Mauer erkennt man noch den massiven Wall aus grossen, ungeschnittenen Steinen. 

Die verborgenen Schätze von Arta

Wasserphänomene in Theodoriana

In diesem Teil Westgriechenlands lädt sie die Natur auf viele Ausflüge ein. Vorallem ein Ausflug zu dem Dorf Theodoriana in der östlichen Teil des Tzoumerka-Massivs lohnt sich: Das Dorf ist von zwei Flüssen, dem Goura und dem Weißen Goura, eingerahmt. Sie fließen um das Dorf herum und treffen sich in einer tiefen Schlucht. Bevor die Flüsse ineinander münden, bietet der Weiße Goura noch ein spektakuläres Schauspiel: Zwei rauschende Wasserfälle auf 1300 m Höhe. Ein Paradies

Die Platane von Arta

Am Fluss Arachtos nur einige Meter weiter von der legendären Arta-Brücke steht diese zeitlose und eindrucksvolle Platane von Arta (O Platonas tis Artas), die auch als Ali Paschas Platane bekannt ist und eine der ältesten Griechenlands ist. 1976 wurde sie zum geschützten Naturdenkmal erklärt. Unter dem Schatten des Baumes können Sie perfekt einen Kaffee mit Blick auf den Fluss und die Brücke genießen.

  • Die Brücke von Arta
  • Die Arachthos Schlucht
  • Wassergeschichten vom Ambrakischen Golf
  • Wasserphänomene in Theodoriana
  • Die Wände der antiken Amvrakia
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Frühling auf der Insel Santorini

Frühling in Griechenland

Mildes Klima, aufblühende Natur, traditionelle Sitten und Gebräuche: Frühjahr in Griechenland ist ein Schauspiel, das man sich nicht entgehen lassen sollte
Bäume mit goldenen Blättern am Herbst in Valia Κalda

Herbstferien in Griechenland

Arta

Holidays in the land of legends
The bridge of Arta is one of the most famous attractions in Epirus
Scroll
Today
MON
TUE
10°
WED
12°
THU
11°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Arta’s famous bridge links legend and history in a magnificent holiday setting in Epirus.

Every Greek knows the legend of the bridge of Arta. Fewer know that this city in southern Epirus is studded with historic monuments from many eras. You’ll see sections of ancient wall, Byzantine and post-Byzantine churches and a well-preserved mediaeval castle with a clock tower, which all add colour to this friendly town. And if it’s stunning nature you’re after, you’ve also come to the right place.

Arta’s location in the region of Epirus makes it easy to explore the stony slopes of Tzoumerka, the new man-made lake at Pournari and the remarkable wetlands and fishing villages on the rim of the ‘closed’ Ambracian Gulf. The whole region is blessed with forests and with rivers, waterfalls and lakes – the ideal nature holiday setting. This side of Greece will surprise and delight you, but first find out the story behind that famous bridge. 

What to do in Arta

The bridge and the legend

It is one of the most famous attractions in the region: Look closely at the elegant arched span of this celebrated bridge. There are many like it around Epirus and they all display the stone mason’s art, a long tradition and a singular vision  of architecture. But this is the only one associated with the dark folk tale of the unfortunate builder who, in order to stop the arch from collapsing, used his wife as the foundation stone!

Its construction was completed during the Despotate of Epirus (c 14th century). The story has inspired numerous plays, operas and folklore studies. According to the great Greek poet Kostis Palamas, ‘It is a folk masterpiece, like a verse from a Homeric hymn and it’s there to be mined by poetry and music, for as long as they exist.’ Now, it’s your turn to be inspired.

Watery stories from the Ambracian Gulf

With a drive or boat ride in the Ambracian Gulf, you’ll discover a spectacle that nature took eons to craft; an enchanting, labyrinthine complex of wetlands, where fresh water from the Louros and Arachthos rivers has been mingling with the salt water from the Ionian Sea for more than two millennia.The entire beauty of Western Greece concentrated in one place: Here you’ll come face to face with lagoons and reed beds, salt marshes and thick forests, sandbars consisting solely of shells. It’s home to 270 bird species, 71 of which are endangered, protected under European legislation. If you’re lucky, you may spot some playful dolphins cavorting around you.

Getting to know Arta

The town of Arta, built on the banks of the Peranthis River, is a happy combination of past and present. The 13th-century Byzantine castle, which rises into view above sections of the ancient city wall, is an important attraction and still plays an active role in people’s lives. Dozens of happenings and events take place in the municipal theatre near its entrance, where the clock tower stands. Present-day tales are spun in National Resistance Square, on the sidewalks, shops, cafes and bars where you’ll see Arta’s lively young people getting together.

The Wall Of Ancient Amvrakia

Among the most impressive sights in Arta. It was built to protect the ancient town from enemies, but it’s not known exactly when its construction began. The parts that remain show that it was an imposing wall, made with impressively large uncut stones.

Hidden gems of Arta

The water wonderland at Theodoriana

When you travel to Epirus, its wild nature is waiting to be explored. Take a side trip to the village of Theodoriana, in the eastern Tzoumerka range. There, in the middle of a dark green fir forest, you’ll stumble upon a magical scene; a village encircled by two rivers, the Goura and the White Goura. They flow around it to meet in a deep gorge. Before the White Goura meets its other half, it has a surprise in store for you in the shape of two stupendous waterfalls falling from a height of 1,300m.

The Arachthos reservoir

Not far from Arta, you’ll come to the village of Pournari. There, an enormous earth dam, the second largest in Greece after the Mornos, stops the river flow to form the Pournari artificial lake. Human endeavour and nature’s grandeur join forces to impress.

The Arta Plane Tree

On the left bank of the Arachthos River, just a few metres from the legendary Arta Bridge, is the ageless and imposing Arta Plane Tree (O Platonas tis Artas), also known as Ali Pasha’s Plane Tree. One of the oldest and most beautiful in Greece, it was declared a protected natural monument in 1976. It provides the perfect shade for an enjoyable coffee break while you take in the view of the bridge and the river.

  • The bridge of Arta
  • The Arachthos reservoir
  • Drive or boat ride in the Ambracian Gulf
  • The water wonderland at Theodoriana
  • The Wall Of Ancient Amvrakia
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Springtime on the island of Santorini

Spring holidays in Greece

Warm weather, nature in full bloom and unique customs. Spring in Greece is an experience not to be missed
Trees with golden leaves at autumn in Valia Κalda

Autumn holidays in Greece