Epirus

Kreuzung von Orten, Geschmack und Kulturen
Vikos Gorge, the kingdom of the river and the eagles
Scroll
Heute
14°
MON
14°
TUE
14°
WED
14°
THU
17°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Schroffe Berge, versteckte Buchten, alte Kulturen und ruhige Wälder: Epirus hat viele Gesichter

In Epirus scheinen die Menschen mit dem Land eins zu werden. Hier können Sie ein anderes Westgriechenland an der Grenze von Kulturen und Landschaften, zwischen Pindos und dem ionischen Meer, kennenlernen. Berggipfel, Schluchten, seltene Pflanzen und Tiere, Seen, Strände, Flüsse und sandige Ufer bieten die Kulisse für die antiken Ruinen von Dodona und viele mittelalterliche Burgen, Klöster, Bogenbrücken und traditionelle Dörfer.

Die Destinationen sind vielfältig und unterschiedlich und öffnen Sie wie ein Fächer vor Ihnen. Hier können Sie Urlaub das ganze Jahr über mache. Von den malerischen Dörfern ZagoriMetsovo und Tzoumerka, zu den schönen Ioannina undim Sommer die kosmopolitischen "Treffpunkte" Parga und Sivota. Epirus begrüßt Sie das ganze Jahr über und verspricht einzigartige Erlebnisse und Überraschungen.

Kleine Buchten und versteckte Strände

Die Sandstrände der endlosen Küste von Preveza bis nach Parga sind voll von Strandbars. Rund um Parga und Sivota können Sie von Bucht zu Bucht segeln, um Ihren eigenen Lieblingsstrand zu entdecken. In Drepano in der Nähe von Igoumenitsa gibt es einen herrlichen Strand mit einer Lagune. Westgriechenland erwartet Sie.

Berge und Schluchten warten auf Entdeckung

Hohe Berge und rauschende Flüssen bieten Ihnen Adrenalin pur. Mit dem Kajak auf dem Fluss Aoos können Sie sich von seiner Schönheit beeindrucken lassen. Zum Rafting sind die Flüsse und Voidomatis und Arachthos ideal. Wandern Sie im Sommer entlang des Flusses Acheron. Mutige springen vom Profitis Ilias in die Tiefe. Erkunden Sie die Vikos-Schlucht und erklimmen Sie Berge und Felsen am Ioannina-See. Wenn ruhigere Aktivitäten bevorzugen, beobachten Sie Vögel in der Bucht von Amvrakia, einem der wichtigsten Feuchtgebiete Europas. 

Ob Sie auf Abenteuer oder Ruhe aus sind, diese Highlights sollten Sie nicht verpassen: die Zagorohoria, den Aoos-See, Tzoumerka und eine Fahrt von Igoumenitsa nach Metsovo auf der neuen Egnatia-Autobahn über den Katara-Pass, den höchsten in Griechenland, der den ganzen Winter über trotz schwerer Schneefälle geöffnet bleibt.

Tauchen Sie ein in die lokale Kultur

Die Geschichte von Epirus ist unglaublich reich. Angefangen mit der beeindruckenden archäologischen Stätte von Dodona mit ihrem antiken Theater bis zum Orakel von Efyra, das schon seit der Antike berühmt ist. Ioannina lockt mit der beeindruckenden Burg Its Kale, dem byzantinischen Museum und den acht byzantinischen und post-byzantinischen Klöstern auf der Insel im See. 

Sehenswerte Klöster in der Zagorohoria sind Agios Ioannis Rangovos und Agia Paraskevi. Epirus ist bekannt für das traditionelle Kunsthandwerk, Bildhauerei und wunderschöne Silberschmiede. Entdecken Sie mit einer Reise die unberührten Dörfer, die auch „Poesie in Stein“ genannt werden: Zagoria, Metsovo, Syrrako und Kalarrytes in der Tzoumerka. Auch die Steinbögen der Brücken prägen die Landschaft von Kalogeriko bei Kipi, Plaka, Konitsa und Arta. Die Juweliere in Ioannina sind stolz auf das traditionelle Handwerk.

Spezialitäten aus Epirus

Das Erbe der von nomadischer Viehzucht geprägten Landschaft schenkt uns unvergessliche, gastronomische Erfahrungen reich an Fleisch- und Milchprodukten. Der Feta aus Epirus ist zu Recht berühmt, genau wie auch die Buttermilch und der Hartkäse. Typisch sind auch verschiedene Fleischgerichte wie kleftiko und Lammfleisch mit Sauerampfer.

Die Teigtaschen aus hausgemachtem Blätterteig sind mit allem gefüllt, was Sie sich vorstellen können – Zucchini, Lamm, Huhn, Käse. Jeder Ort hat seine eigene Spezialität: Probieren Sie Garnelen in der Bucht von Amvraka, Froschschenkel und Süßigkeiten wie Milchkuchen, Kataifi, Baklava, Bougatsa in Ioannina, Käse, Nudeln und Wein in Metsovo. Zitsa ist für seinen Sekt und das Wasser bekannt, das Sie unter den Namen Vikos und Tzoumerka finden können.

Die beliebtesten Ausflugsziele in Epirus

  • ZagochoriaSteinstrukturen in den schönen und schroffen Bergen machen diese Gegend so einzigartig. Besuchen Sie Mikro und Megalo Papingo, Aristi und Monodendri.
  • Vikos Aoos Nationalpark: Seltene Naturphänomene warten in den Schluchten von Vikos und Aoos und auf der Höhe des Mt. Tymfi auf Sie.
  • Drachenseen: Drachenseen aus der Eiszeit, zwei Kilometer über dem Meeresspiegel. Die größten Seen sind Smolikas und Gamila. Einfach beeindruckend!
  • Konitsa-Brücke: Στο περίφημο γεφύρι της συναντιούνται ο Αώος και ο Βοϊδομάτης.
  • Nördlich Von Konitsa: Die Flüsse Aoos und Voidomatis treffen sich an dieser berühmten Brücke.
  • Metsovo: Von der Mastorohoria (Pyrsogianni) nach Sarantaporos, von Bourazani zum Nonnenkloster Molyvoskepasti.
  • IoanninaEine der schönsten griechischen Städte. Hier liegt der See Pamvotis mit der berühmten Insel, die von byzantinischen Klöstern bedeckt ist. Die pulsierende Stadt hat Dutzende von Sehenswürdigkeiten, Restaurants und Tavernen, gute Hotels und eine attraktive Altstadt.
  • Syrakko & Kalarytes: Zwei schöne alte Steindörfer, die sich einander gegenüberstehen wie in einem Spiegelbild. Ein besonderes Reiseziel in Epirus.
  • Tsoumerka Wasserfälle: Zwei flüssige Riesen fallen von 125 Metern in die Tiefe. Atemberaubend!
  • Prevesa: Machen Sie einen Spaziergang an der lebhaften Promenade der Hafenstadt in Epirus.
  • Ioannina
  • Zagochoria
  • Schluchten von Vikos und Aoos
  • Tsoumerka Wasserfälle
  • Heiligtum von Dodoni
  • Pargas Inselflair kosmopolitischer Atmosphäre
Highlights

Destinationen in Εpirus

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Rafting & Canyoning: Die beliebtesten Reiseziele in Griechenland

Untertitel: Es sind nicht die Stromschnellen, weder die schwierige Passagen. Es ist die Natur um Sie herum die Ihnen einen einmaligen Abeteuerurlaub bietet.
Wooden bridges criss-cross the 10km Epineas path along the densely-forested valley

Wandern in Greichenland: beliebte Strecken

Entdecken Sie die Geheimnisse der griechischen Berge: die beliebtesten Urlaubsziele.
Holidays in Greece: Agios Sostis in Zakynthos island

Urlaub in Griechenland: Alle zutaten eines traumurlaubs

Über 200 magische Inseln, ein bergiges Festland, lebenslustige Städte und ein Paradies für Feinschmecker alles in einem

Epirus

A grand feast of nature, from mountain to sea
Vikos Gorge, the kingdom of the river and the eagles
Scroll
Today
18°
FRI
17°
SAT
17°
SUN
17°
MON
17°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Rugged mountains, hidden bays, traditional villages, natural beauty and exhilarating activities: meet the myriad faces of Epirus

In Epirus, the people seem to blend in with the land. You’ll meet a different Greece at this crossroads of civilisations and landscapes in the west of the country, between the Pindos Mountains and the Ionian Sea. Peaks, gorges, rare plants and animals, lakes, rivers and an indented coastline of sandy beaches complement the ancient ruins of Dodoni and dozens of medieval castles, monasteries, arched bridges and traditional stone-built villages.

The destinations are many and varied. From the picturesque Zagorohoria villages, Metsovo and Tzoumerka, to atmospheric Ioannina and the summer resorts of Parga and Syvota, Epirus will welcome you at any time of year and deliver on all its promises.

Small bays and hidden beaches

On the sandy shores of the endless Epirot coastline, from Preveza Parga, you’ll find beach bars to serve you drinks and summer spirit. Around Parga and Syvota, you’ll be itching to sail around the rugged bays and inlets to discover your private beach. And at Drepano, near Igoumenitsa, a glorious beach merges with a lagoon.

Mountains and gorges destined to be explored

High mountains and rushing rivers offer plenty of adrenaline-pumping excitement. You can kayak down the Aoos (top of the list in beauty and difficulty), raft the Voidomatis and the Arachthos and hike the Acheron River in the summer. You can base jump from Profitis Ilias, walk the Vikos Gorge, climb Pindos Mountains and rocks, or row in Ioannina’s lake.

If you’re inclined towards more sedate activities and want to relax in nature, there’s birdwatching in the Amvracian Gulf, one of Europe’s most important wetlands. Whatever you decide, try to fit in the following: the Zagorohoria, the Aoos Lake, Tzoumerka, the drive between Igoumenitsa and Metsovo on the Egnatia Highway and over the Katara Pass, the highest in Greece to remain open all winter.

Immerse yourself in the local culture

The history of Epirus is unbelievably rich. It’s all there to behold at the archaeological site of Dodoni, with its famous ancient theatre, and at Roman Nikopolis and the Oracle at Efyra. You’ll find it also at the castle of Ioannina, the Byzantine Museum of Its Kale, and the eight Byzantine and post-Byzantine monasteries on the island in the lake. Monasteries abound, with Agios Ioannis Rangovos and Agia Paraskevi being amongst the most noteworthy. 

Throughout Epirus, you’ll admire the traditional workmanship in crafts of all kinds, from stonemasonry to the delicate art of the silversmiths. Discover wonderful unspoilt villages, which have been dubbed ‘poetry in stone’ because of their exceptional architecture, like those in the Zagoria district, Metsovo, Syrrako and Kalarrytes in the Tzoumerka mountain range. The ubiquitous arched stone bridges such as at Kipi, Plaka, Konitsa and, most famously of all, Arta further attest to the local stonemasons’ flair. Not to leave out the silversmiths: a tour around their ateliers in Ioannina will leave you gasping with admiration at their skills.

The culinary specialities of Epirus

The pastoral heritage of Epirus translates to a plethora of meat and dairy products. Epirot feta is rightly famous along with other dairy products, ranging from buttermilk to hard cheese. Also typical are various meat dishes, such as kleftiko and lamb with sorrel, while the pies made with homemade phyllo and stuffed with anything you can think of – zucchini, meat, chicken, cheese – are renowned throughout Greece. 

Every place has its speciality: shrimp in the Amvracian Gulf; sweets like milk pie, kataifi, baklava and bougatsa in Ioannina; cheeses, pasta, wine and rice pie in Metsovo. And Zitsa is known for its sparkling wine and bottled water, sold under the names of Vikos and Tzoumerka.

The most popular sights and attractions in Epirus

  • ZagorohoriaStone-built villages in a beautiful and rugged mountain setting make this area a must-see. Mikro and Megalo Papingo, Aristi and Monodendri are among the best known.
  • Vikos-Aoos National Park: The rare natural phenomena here will accompany you as you walk the Vikos Gorge and the Aoos Canyon and contemplate the sheer heights of Mt Tymfi.
  • Drakolimnes: Left over from the Ice Age, the Dragon Lakes are two kilometres above sea level. You’ll find the largest ones at Smolikas and Gamila.
  • Konitsa Bridge: The Aoos and Voidomatis rivers meet at this famous bridge.
  • North of Konitsa: From the Mastorohoria (Pyrsogianni) to Sarantaporos, Bourazani and the Molyvoskepasti nunnery.
  • MetsovoThis most famous Vlach village, at an altitude of 1,160m and framed by the impressive mountain scenery of the Pindos Mountains, is a living museum of traditional handicrafts, dairy products and wine.
  • Ioannina: A vibrant city, with dozens of sights, places to eat and drink, good hotels and an attractive old town that is a delight to visit in any season. You must definitely visit Lake Pamvotis, Ioannina’s famous island, full of Byzantine monasteries. 
  • Syrrako & Kalarrytes: Two beautiful old stone villages that face each other like mirror images.
  • Tzoumerka Waterfall: Two liquid giants falling from a height of 125m!
  • PrevezaTake a stroll on the lively esplanade of this port-town in Epirus, at the mouth of the Amvracian Gulf.
  • Ioannina
  • Zagorohoria
  • Vikos Gorge
  • Tzoumerka Waterfall
  • Ancient Dodoni
  • The island feel of Parga
Highlights

Destinations in Epirus

Walk along the seaside esplanade where cafes and restaurants are sandwiched between neoclassical buildings

Preveza

A haven of beaches, history and seafood delights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Popular destinations for rafting & canyoning

It’s not the rushing water or the difficult rapids, it’s the dramatic scenery that burns the experience into your memory
Wooden bridges criss-cross the 10km Epineas path along the densely-forested valley

5 popular routes for trekking in Greece

If you love hiking through nature, Greece has everything you could want.
Holidays in Greece: Agios Sostis in Zakynthos island

Getting started with a dream holiday in Greece

Over 200 magical islands, a mountainous mainland, fun-loving cities and a foodie’s paradise all rolled into one