L’Épire

Carrefour des lieux, des saveurs et des cultures
Vikos Gorge, the kingdom of the river and the eagles
Scroll
Aujourd'hui
11°
FRI
13°
SAT
14°
SUN
15°
MON
14°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Nature sublime, montagnes abruptes, criques cachées, forêts à la tranquillité absolue, cultures ancestrales, villages traditionnels et activités exaltantes

Dans la région de l’Épire, les gens semblent se fondre dans le paysage. Vous allez connaitre une autre Grèce à ce carrefour des civilisations et des paysages dans la Grèce Occidentale, entre la chaîne du Pinde et la mer Ionienne. Les sommets des montagnes, les gorges, les plantes rares et les animaux, les lacs, les rivières et les plages de sable se mélangent aux anciennes ruines de Dodone et aux dizaines de châteaux médiévaux, monastères, ponts en arc et villages traditionnels en pierre.

Les destinations sont nombreuses et différentes, elles ouvrent l’éventail d'options pour des vacances toute l'année: depuis les villages pittoresques de ZagoriMetsovo et Tzoumerka, à la jolie ville d’Ioannina et les stations estivales de Parga et Sivota, l’Épire vous accueille à tout moment de l’année et vous promet une expérience inoubliable.

Le littoral de l’Épire: des petites criques et des plages cachées

Des plages idylliques aux eaux bleu-vert et au décor tout vert. C’est une surprise qui vous attend au cœur de la Grèce Occidentale pour remplir de richesses votre âme et vos sens. Sur les plages sablonneuses de l’immense côte allant de Préveza jusqu’à Parga, les beach-bars fort nombreux vous servent des boissons, des cocktails originaux et de l’humeur estivale. Autour de Parga et Sivota, vous serez impatient de naviguer autour des baies dentelées et des criques afin de découvrir votre plage privée. A Drepano près d’Igoumenitsa, une magnifique plage fusionne avec son lagon.

Action et aventure

Les hautes montagnes et les rivières tumultueuses offrent de nombreuses montées d’adrénaline. Essayez faire du kayak sur la rivière Aoos, en tête de liste pour sa beauté et son niveau de difficulté élevé, du raft sur les rivières Voidomatis et Arachthos et de la randonnée au bord de la rivière Acheron en été. Envolez-vous en parapente depuis Profitis Ilias, marchez dans les gorges de Vikos, escaladez les montagnes et les rocs ou pagayez sur le lac de Ioannina.

Pour profiter plus calmement de la nature, pratiquez l’observation des oiseaux dans le golfe Ambracique, un des plus grands marécages d’Europe. Quoi que vous fassiez, essayez d’inclure les sites suivants dans votre exploration: les Zagorohoria (les villages du Zagori), le lac Aoos, Tzoumerka, le trajet entre Igoumenitsa et Metsovo sur la nouvelle autoroute d’Egnatia par le col de Katara, le plus élevé de Grèce qui reste ouvert tout l’hiver malgré la neige.

Immergez-vous dans la culture locale

L’histoire de l’Épire est incroyablement riche. Vous allez vous en apercevoir sur le magnifique site archéologique de Dodone avec son célèbre théâtre antique, dans la ville romaine de Nicopolis et à l’oracle d’Efyra, célèbre dans l’antiquité. En outre, vous en ferez également l’expérience à Ioannina avec son château, son musée byzantin d’Its-Kalé, ses huit monastères byzantins et post-byzantins sur l’île du lac. Les monastères abondent aussi dans la région de Zagoria; ceux d’Aghios Ioannis Rangovos et d’Aghia Paraskevi sont les plus remarquables. 

Dans toute la région de l’Épire, vous admirerez la fabrication traditionnelle d’objets artisanaux de toutes sortes, allant du travail de la pierre à l’art délicat de l’orfèvre. Vous pourrez découvrir ces arts avec un voyage aux magnifiques villages préservés qui se distinguent par leur architecture, comme Zagoria, Metsovo, Syrrako et Kalarytès mais aussi ainsi sur les ponts en pierre qui parsèment le paysage tels Kaloyeriko à Kipi, Plaka, Konitsa et – le plus célèbre de tous – Arta, ainsi, enfin, que dans les ateliers d’orfèvrerie de Ioannina.

Une gastronomie originaire de l'Épire

L’héritage pastoral de l’Épire se traduit par une forte prépondérance de viandes et de produits laitiers. La feta de l’Épire est à juste titre célèbre ainsi que de nombreux autres produits laitiers, allant du babeurre aux fromages à pâte dure. Les plats de viande sont aussi typiques que variés, notamment le kleftiko et l’agneau à l’oseille, tandis que ses tourtes faites avec de la pâte phyllo faite maison et fourrée de tout ce que vous pouvez imaginer – courgettes, viande, poulet, fromage – sont réputées dans toute la Grèce. 

Chaque lieu est une destination gastronomique autonome avec ses propres spécialités: les crevettes du golfe Ambracique; les cuisses de grenouilles et les desserts tels les tartes au lait, les kataïfi, les baklavas et les bougatsa à Ioannina; les fromages, les pâtes, le vin et les gâteaux de riz, vous allez les essayez à Metsovo. Zitsa est réputée pour ses vins mousseux et son eau minérale, qui est vendue sous les noms de Vikos et Tzoumerka.

Les plus populaires attractions de l'Épire

  • Les ZagoriaLes bâtiments en pierre de ces belles montagnes escarpées en font un endroit à visiter absolument. Visitez les monts de Mikro et Megalo Papingo où Aristi et Monodendri sont les villages les plus connus.
  • Le Parc National de Vikos-Aoos: Le phénomène géologique unique vous offrira des expériences inoubliables à travers des attractions remarquables comme lorsque vous vous promènerez dans les gorges de Vikos et le canyon d’Aoos et contemplerez les sommets abrupts du mont Tymfi.
  • Les Drakolimnès: Les lacs du "dragon" datant de l’âge de glace, à 2 km au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Les plus grands vous les trouverez à Smolikas et Gamila: tout simplement impressionnants.
  • Le pont de Konitsa: Les rivières Aoos et Voïdomatis se rencontrent sous ce célèbre pont.
  • Au nord de Konitsa: Du Mastorochoria (Pyrsogianni) à Sarantaporos, Bourazani et le couvent de Molyvoskepasti.
  • MetsovoLe plus célèbre des villages Valaques, à une altitude de 1160 m, encadré par l’impressionnant paysage des montagnes du Pinde, est un musée vivant de l’artisanat traditionnel (objets en bois et textiles), des produits laitiers et du vin.
  • IoanninaUne des plus jolies villes de la Grèce. Vous y découvrirez le lac Pamvotida et sa fameuse île parsemée de monastères byzantins. Cette ville animée possède des dizaines de lieux à voir pour leur beauté, de nombreux restaurants et cafés, de bons hôtels, une vieille ville des plus charmantes, et il fait bon la visiter en toute saison.
  • Syrrako & Kalarytès: Deux magnifiques vieux villages en pierre se faisant face comme des images miroirs - des destinations d’une beauté exceptionnelle en Épire.
  • La cascade de Tzoumerka: Deux cascades géantes chutent de 125 m: sublime.
  • Preveza: Faites une promenade sur l’esplanade animée de cette ville portuaire de l’Épire, à l’embouchure du golfe Ambracique.
  • Ioannina
  • Les Zagoria
  • Les gorges de Vikos
  • La cascade de Tzoumerka
  • Le magnifique site archéologique de Dodone
  • Parga: style insulaire et ambiance mondaine
Landmarks

Parga will make you feel as if you are actually on an island thanks to its waterfront location, picturesque alleys and architecture

Parga

L’île “Continentale” de la Grèce occidentale

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Wooden bridges criss-cross the 10km Epineas path along the densely-forested valley

Randonnée en Grèce: destinations populaires

Découvrir les secrets de la Grèce: les top destinations pour les sports de montagne
Holidays in Greece: Agios Sostis in Zakynthos island

Vacances en Grèce: Les ingrédients pour un séjour idéal

Plus de 200 îles magiques, un continent montagneux, des villes festives et un paradis gastronomique réunis en un seul pays.
age of chivalry - Rhodes

Les 10 plus célèbres monuments architecturaux en Grèce

Cités médiévales et villages traditionnels, maisons blanchies par le soleil et magnifiques châteaux: l’incomparable identité architecturale grecque

Epirus

Crossroads of Cultures, Flavours and Landscapes
Vikos Gorge, the kingdom of the river and the eagles
Today
THU
11°
FRI
12°
SAT
13°
SUN
14°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Rugged mountains, hidden bays, traditional villages, natural beauty and exhilarating activities: meet the myriad faces of Epirus

In Epirus the people seem to blend in with the land. You’ll meet a different Greece at this crossroads of civilisations and landscapes in Western Greece, between the Pindos mountain range and the Ionian Sea. Mountain peaks, gorges, rare plants and animals, lakes, rivers and indented sandy beaches complement the ancient ruins of Dodoni and dozens of mediaeval castles, monasteries, arched bridges and stone-built traditional villages.

The destinations are many and varied, creating a wide range of options for holidays all year round. From picturesque Zagorohoria, Metsovo and the Tzoumerka, to beautiful Ioannina and the summer resorts of Parga and Syvota, Epirus will welcome you at any time of year and deliver on its promise of an unforgettable experience.

Small bays and hidden beaches

On the sandy shores of the endless Epirot coastline in Western Greece, from Preveza to Parga, you’ll find beach bars to serve you drinks and summer spirit. Around Parga and Syvota you’ll be itching to sail around the rugged  bays and inlets to discover your own private beach. At Drepano near Igoumenitsa a glorious beach merges with a lagoon.

Mountains and gorges destined to be explored

High mountains and rushing rivers offer plenty of adrenaline-pumping excitement. You can kayak down the Aoos, top of the list in beauty and difficulty, raft the Voidomatis and the Arachthos rivers and hike the Acheron River in the summer. You can base jump from Profitis Ilias, walk the Vikos gorge, climb mountains and rocks or row in the Ioannina lake.

If you are inclined towards more sedate activities, and want to relax in nature, there’s bird-watching in the Amvracian Gulf, one of Europe’s most important wetlands. Whatever you decide, try to fit the following into your explorations; the Zagorohoria, the Aoos Lake, Tzoumerka, the drive between Igoumenitsa and Metsovo on the new Egnatia highway and over the Katara pass, the highest in Greece to remain open all winter despite heavy snow.

Immerse yourself in the local culture

The history of Epirus is unbelievably rich. It’s all there to behold at the magnificent archaeological site of Dodoni with its famous ancient theatre, at Roman Nikopolis and at the Oracle at Efyra, renowned in antiquity. You’ll meet it also in Ioannina with its castle, Byzantine museum of Its Kale, eight Byzantine and post-Byzantine monasteries on the Island in the Lake. Monasteries abound in the Zagorohoria, too, with Agios Ioannis Rangovos and Agia Paraskevi being the most noteworthy. 

Throughout Epirus, you’ll admire the traditional workmanship in crafts of all kinds, from stone masonry to the delicate art of the silversmith. Discover the wonderful unspoilt villages, which have been dubbed  ‘poetry in stone’ because of their exceptional architecture, like those in the Zagoria district, Metsovo, Syrrako and Kalarrytes in the Tzoumerka range. The ubiquitous arched stone bridges such as at  Kipi,Plaka, Konitsa and, most famously of all, Arta further attest to the local stone masons’ flair. Not to leave out the silversmiths, a tour round their ateliers in Ioannina will leave you gasping with admiration at their skills.

The culinary specialities of Epirus

The pastoral heritage of Epirus translates to a heavy preponderance of meat and dairy products. Epirot feta is rightly famous along with other dairy products, ranging from buttermilk to hard cheese. Also typical are various meat dishes, such as kleftiko and lamb with sorrel, while its pies made with homemade phyllo, stuffed with anything you can think of – zucchini, meat, chicken, cheese – are renowned throughout Greece. Every place is a culinary destination in its own right, with its own speciality: shrimp in the Amvracian Gulf; frogs’ legs and sweets, like milk pie, kataifi, baklava, bougatsa in Ioannina; cheeses, pasta, wine and rice pie in Metsovo. Zitsa is known for its sparkling wine and bottled water, which is sold under the names Vikos and Tzoumerka.

The most popular sights and attractions in Epirus

  • ZagorohoriaStone structures in a beautiful and rugged mountain setting make this area a must-see. Visit Mikro and Megalo Papingo, Aristi and Monodendri, which are among some of the best known.
  • Vikos-Aoos National Park: The rare natural phenomena here will present you with unforgettable experiences as you walk the Vikos Gorge and the Aoos Canyon and contemplate the sheer heights of Mt Tymfi.
  • Drakolimnes: Left over from the Ice Age, the Dragon Lakes are two kilometres above sea level. You’ll find the largest ones at Smolikas and at Gamila.
  • Konitsa Bridge: The Aoos and Voidomatis rivers meet at this famous bridge.
  • North of Konitsa: From the Mastorohoria (Pyrsogianni) to Sarantaporos, Bourazani and the Molyvoskepasti nunnery
  • MetsovoThis most famous Vlach village, at an altitude of 1,160m, framed by the impressive mountain scenery of the Pindos mountains, is a living museum of traditional handicrafts, dairy products and wine.
  • Ioannina: One of the prettiest cities in Greece. Here you’ll find Lake Pamvotis with its famous island full of  Byzantine monasteries. The vibrant city has dozens of sights, many places to eat and drink, good hotels, an attractive old town and is a delight to visit in any season.
  • Syrrako & Kalarrytes: Two beautiful old stone villages face each other like mirror images – destinations of exceptional beauty in Epirus.
  • Tzoumerka Waterfall: Two liquid giants fall from 125m. Simply stunning.
  • PrevezaTake a stroll on the lively esplanade of this port-town in Epirus , at the mouth of the Amvracian Gulf.
  • Ioannina
  • Zagorohoria
  • Vikos Gorge
  • Tzoumerka Waterfall
  • Ancient Dodoni
  • The island feel of Parga
Landmarks

A walk by the lake with the mist for company

Ioannina

A trip to the lake and its legends

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Holidays in Greece: Agios Sostis in Zakynthos island

Holidays in Greece: Ingredients of a dream vacation

Over 200 magical islands, a mountainous mainland, fun-loving cities and a foodie’s paradise all rolled into one
age of chivalry - Rhodes

The 10 most important architectural monuments in Greece

Mediaeval cities and traditional villages, white houses bleached by the sun and formidable castles
Homemade apricot marmalade

Greek breakfast

Fruits of the season, handmade baked treats and uncomplicated tastes of the traditional Greek breakfast.